If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Pimp My Knife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭davymoore

Hi Lads , Happy new year to all of you

I just wanted to give you an update. As you can imagine it was impossible to get anyone to do anything over the christmas period but last night I finally managed to get hold of someone to do the sandblasting.

He took away one blade to do a sample for me and hopefully al goes well and he will do the rest of the blades next week.

I was really Pi**ed off at the state of the stuff that came back from the Heat treater it's really black and oxidized so it will have to be blasted as I'd never get it done by hand.

The bowie turned out lovely , it was for our own Hibrion and he might post a pic of it some day hopefully

Davy

P.S. In case the bead blasting guy lets me down, do any of you know of a place where I could get some bead blasting done ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

I took a couple of pics of the Bowie, but I'm not completely happy with them yet. I'll post one tonight when I'm home. I even have the Winchester in the background ;) The two seem to go together very well!
    All I need now is a colt single action army and I'm all set for cowboy action shooting.. hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Gleeson engineering in Gortnahoe county tipp are very good...Its a bit out of your way but there good...

I had some old 4wd rims that I needed cleaned up and powder coated and was very impressed with the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

davymoore wrote: »

P.S. In case the bead blasting guy lets me down, do any of you know of a place where I could get some bead blasting done ?

Based in Galway
    http://www.caraghprecision.com/capabilities/production.html#blasting

Good company but medium size & for your volumes I don't know what they'd be like price wise.

Pictures of the bowie as promised. I'll take some more before emailing them on to you, Davy.

It has a 9.5 inch, CPM 154 blade and is fitted with a Sambar stag antler handle and hammered nickel silver fittings. There is also vine fine work along the spine.
    I think it is a real classic looking bowie and Davy has done a great job.

The sheath is fabulous too. Davy put a 1913 buffalo nickel I had into it for me.

That's my pre 64, Winchester 1894 in the background. It's a 30-30 and a dream to shoot.

Enjoy!

img1194i.th.jpg
    img1186eg.th.jpg
    img1171jn.th.jpg
    img1170gf.th.jpg

PS does anyone know how to make these pics appear bigger?

Hibrion wrote: »
    Pictures of the bowie as promised. I'll take some more before emailing them on to you, Davy.

It has a 9.5 inch, CPM 154 blade and is fitted with a Sambar stag antler handle and hammered nickel silver fittings. There is also vine fine work along the spine.

The sheath is fabulous too. Davy put a 1913 buffalo nickel I had into it for me.

That's my pre 64, Winchester 1894 in the background. It's a 30-30 and a dream to shoot.

Enjoy!

img1194i.th.jpg
    img1186eg.th.jpg
    img1171jn.th.jpg
    img1170gf.th.jpg

for fec sake....that is nice...very fecking nice...

as for your pics try photo bucket and mess with that to get em right..

Ps..did I say that bowie is nice?

Well done mate and good work Davy..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭J.R.

Enjoy!

That is an absolute beauty....some workmanship.

I'd be nervous bringing that in the field and using it...too good to be damaged or lost!!!

PHOTOS ENLARGED

img1170gf.jpg

img1171jn.jpg

img1186eg.jpg

img1194i.jpg

Thanks, JR. How did you do that?

I'm not too worried about it being damaged. It was designed with boar hunting in mind and I have every faith in Davy's craftsmanship.

Hopefully the 30-30 will do all the work though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭J.R.

Thanks, JR. How did you do that?

No problem!

I transferred them to Photobucket & them uploaded them to proper size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,215 ✭✭✭clivej

Davy anything in the pot for me?????

Good looking work your doing can't wait to see the finished knifes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

Enjoy!

img1194i.th.jpg
    img1186eg.th.jpg
    img1171jn.th.jpg
    img1170gf.th.jpg

Nice knife Hibrion,but the workmanship that went into the sheath unreal ,now thats craftsmanship;).

clivej wrote: »
    Davy anything in the pot for me?????

Good looking work your doing can't wait to see the finished knifes.

Have something cooking for you clive should be ready with the other lads

Davy

Hibrion,

Any chance you could show a pic of the hammerwork on the cross guard and maybe a photo of the filework

Davy

Just got a call from bead-blaster he said test blade went well, I have to see it tonight and hopefully all will be ok and I can push on from there

Davy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,215 ✭✭✭clivej

Have something cooking for you clive should be ready with the other lads

Davy

Yipee

Cheers mate. It'll be a big surprize for me as its all your input. You got me all excited now, can't wait. :)

Hibrion,

Any chance you could show a pic of the hammerwork on the cross guard and maybe a photo of the filework

Davy

I'll have a bit of free time later in the week and will take a few detailed pictures for everyone. I'm swamped at the moment.

Allright some good news.... the bead blasting went very well on the test blade and the guy took away the rest of the blades last night ... I'm expecting to have them all back here by Monday evening and it's onwards & upwards from there

Davy

Good news again, the blades are now all bead blasted. We'll be building again as from today. Should have most of the knives finished by the weekend. We'll get some pics early for ye next week and the voting can begin. Every one should then have their knife by the end of the month

Davy

Good news again, the blades are now all bead blasted. We'll be building again as from today. Should have most of the knives finished by the weekend. We'll get some pics early for ye next week and the voting can begin. Every one should then have their knife by the end of the month

Davy

cant wait.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Davy
    Great Davy, looking forward to seeing them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭baldyshane

Nice one:):):)

Ok lads here's where we're at so far

All blades satin ground finish

All scales/liners glued on

glue22.JPG

glue33.JPG

Setting pins rivets etc. tomorrow

Did you spot your knife ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

Look like mine second from the top on the left:-). The bog oak handles look very nice also. Can't wait to see the finished knives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

When do you hope to have them ready Davy?, no mad pressure just wondering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭baldyshane

Boo can't see mine ha ha:):):). Don't be in too much of a hurry I could do with another months wages before shelling out. Jokes aside getting excited to see the final result.

Mauser 308 wrote: »
    When do you hope to have them ready Davy?, no mad pressure just wondering.

Hopefully this week Mauser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

I'm looking forward to the pics of each competed knife with sheath, lanyard etc
    Some nice examples & mixes there. :cool:

Hi Lads

I got a couple of PMs asking about Final payments etc. so I thought i'd do a post explaining the last couple of steps.

Your knives will all be finished this week (Fingers Crossed) Once completed I will photograph each knife Each day next week I'll post some finished Pics Once your knife is posted the balance comes due After all knives have been posted we will vote for the best knife via a Poll As I receive final payment for each knife. I will immediately post your knife to you. (I will need a shipping address for each of you) Wait till i request it from you via PM Once voting is complete the winner can then name the model (either their own boards name or any other name of their choosing)

I hope this is clear enough

Regards

Davy

Moved to next page

Just getting things ready for the final stages (Pay no attention to this post yet)

#|USER NAME|DEP|L/R|Handle|Liners|Sheath|Fittings|Lanyard|Stitching|Lanyard Knot
    1|moby30|Paid|Right|J - Buckeye Maple|Red/Black|Black|Loveless|Leather|Red|Overhand Knot
    2|customrifle|Paid|Right|E - Quilted Maple|White|Brown|Corbys-SS|PC-D-Camo|White|Cobra Knot
    3|skippey|Paid|Right|C - Walnut|Red|Brown|Corbys-CP|PC-Red|Red|Square Knot
    4|EPointer=Birdss|Paid|Right|A - Spalted Teak|Green|Black|Loveless|PC-M-Camo|Green|Cobra Knot
    5|Mauser 308|Paid|Right|Q - BogOak|White/Green|Brown|Corbys-SS|PC-M-Camo|Brown|Cobra Knot
    6|dwighet|Paid|Right|B - BogOak|Black|Black|Corbys-B|Leather|Brown|Overhand Knot
    7|belowaverageiq|Paid|Left|M - Box Elder Burl|Green/Black|Black|Corbys-SS|PC-M-Camo|Green|Barrel Knot
    8|Bibio|Paid|Right|L - Spalted Teak|Red/Black|Brown|Corbys-B|PC-M-Camo|Red|Square Knot
    9|riflehunter77|Paid|Right|D - Black Pauya|Brick|Brown|Corbys-B|PC-D-Camo|Black|Cobra Knot
    10|Dupont|Paid|Right|G - Cocobola|Blue|Brown|Corbys-Al|PC-Black|Brown|Cobra Knot
    11|.220 Swift|Paid|Right|F - Box Elder Burl|White/Red|Brown|Corbys-SS|PC-Red|White|Cobra Knot
    12|underthethumb|Paid|Right|R - Striped Ebony|Grey/Black|Black|Corbys-SS|PC-Black|Black|Overhand Knot
    13|650gs|Paid|Right|N - Jarah Burl|White|Brown|Corbys-Al|PC-D-Camo|Brown|Turks Head Knot
    14|garveyjg|Paid|Right|I - Ambonya|Green|Brown|Corbys-SS|None|Green|None
    15|baldyshane|Paid|Right|T - Black Walnut|Brick|Brown|Corbys-Al|PC-H-Orange|Brown|Cobra Knot

#|USER NAME|Complete|Photo|Balance|Shipped|Received

1|moby30|No|No|No|No|No|No
    2|customrifle|No|No|No|No|No|No
    3|skippey|No|No|No|No|No|No
    4|EPointer=Birdss|No|No|No|No|No|No
    5|Mauser 308|No|No|No|No|No|No
    6|dwighet|No|No|No|No|No|No
    7|belowaverageiq|No|No|No|No|No|No
    8|Bibio|No|No|No|No|No|No
    9|riflehunter77|No|No|No|No|No|No
    10|Dupont|No|No|No|No|No|No
    11|.220 Swift|No|No|No|No|No|No