What is the funniest thing you have seen or heard during a sports match ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Ted walsh- This is really a lovely horse, I rode her mother once

Another from From dont feed the gondolas,classic!-

Man brushing teeth during match

Liverpool beachball goal-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Andre80Johnson

I read about this a few months back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Under 16's rugby, we were caught at home on the line by the opposition (the fúckers). Argy bargy later the ball went out over the line and the ref called to our team we could have a line out or a scrum. So shouting ensues from the group and captain of our team emerges shouting "Scrum... Captain....Scrum....".

He is known as Captain Scrum from then till now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

"What's it like to have a queen" was shouted at the Armagh supporters in Hill 16 back in the 2002 All-Ireland Semi-Final!

Used By LOI supporters against Derry city since 1984.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

"What's it like to have a queen" was shouted at the Armagh supporters in Hill 16 back in the 2002 All-Ireland Semi-Final!

The original quote was aimed at a Donegal lad in a certain Kerry establishment owned by a well known Kerry GAA figure.

"When ye lot won the All Ireland, the Queen will present the trophy".

Well Mary Robinson did present the trophy to us! Down got it twice and also Derry, Tyrone 3 times (sssshhhh) and Armagh before her Majesty graced our presence!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

last week - tipp and kilkenny. was in a pub and half time and went out for a bit of air, and this woman says within earshot " jesus conor i hope we get a try, we cant have them bastards getting any more trys we will lose the match" !

i nearly wet myself!!

It wasn't a sports match, but it's a sport alright, while watching a friend show jumping one day and doing pathetically, someone beside me noted "That horse needs to take a piss!" so another auld lad beside us yelled out "Here, whip yer mickey out!" My friend dropped the reins, horse faltered, thought she was gonna take a massive fall.... she was ok but god, the whole side of the arena where I was standing was rolling around laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

Under 21 match between Offaly and Westmeath a few years ago. One Westmeath supporter was firing out abuse the entire match. Someone shouted at him to "relax, its only a game". His response was "its not about a game, its about land".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Was over at West Ham v. Chelsea in Upton Park in December '09. Many of Chelsea's African players would be leaving in January to play in the African Cup Of Nations.

At one point in the game, Chelsea's German midfielder Michael Ballack misplaced a pass, much to the annoyance of the entire away contingent of Chelsea fans, including one little teenage scrote next to me, who came out with this classic: "For fúck sake, Ballack! God, I can't wait until he fúcks off to the African Cup of Nations!"

Chelsea would go on to earn a 1-1 draw, and the national I.Q. of England went down a couple of points...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Kilbane - in classic Kilbane fashion - decided that he would try and get past Di Maria by knocking the ball past him and then thinking he could outpace Di Maria and continue dribbling with the ball.

Ah yes, Kevin Kilbane and his back of trick. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭few cans?

I used to play for a football club when i was a teenager and at half time we all used to smoke a fag on the pitch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 swan19

Torres eventually scoring for Chelsea last season...was laughable!!! :D

Liverpool really do ruin players!!! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭lemonjelly

He's backing in well, all around the lads now ...and connected. :confused:

never trusted rugby people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Was playing a rugby match against a team of scummers, we got in a massive fight and i ended up in the middle of it, some random man walking by ran onto the pitch and punched me in the back of the head then ran off and jumped a wall, i didnt find it funny but the rest of the lads did.

Another time playing some soccer on astro turf in a dodgy estate, some tinker child threw a 2 litre bottle of milk at us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭flas

have two, once at a match a ref was being particulary bad and not letting anything run, so someone shouts in from the sideline "ah for feck sake ref, would ya not let it run" to which someone shouted "that fella wouldnt let a tap run"...
    then at another match, under18 in athlone, playing this team, some of their players were a little on the rough side, not bad on the pitch, but off it a complete different story! anyway, thses two lads up front, pa and pa, when they were shouting at each other all game to pass the ball myself and the other centre half couldnt stop laughing "pass the ball pa" to which pa would shout back "sher you will doin nothing with it pa"...like the un'believables!! during this match a child comes running onto the pitch, straight up to one of the pa's, child is about 3 or 4, and is shoutin daddy, daddy.. pa picks the child up, looks around him, see's who must be his missus, and shouts "if you dont keep an eye on my fcukin child il go over there and give you box"... i know domestic violence isnt funny but this happening during a game, with the game still going on was madness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Was playing u-18 soccer(i play in goal) and our opposition's striker had a tendancy to go down in the box when no one was near him. This one time he's clear through on goal and kicked the ball to far ahead of himself. I was going to get to it first.

Next thing he's in a heap on the ground with me 10 yards away and the defender 5 yards behind.

Whaqt happened next will keep me smiling till my dying day. My defender hits the ground about 2 seconds after yer man and covers his head. The ref gets to him first and asks whats up. Joe's answer led to the game being delayed 10 mins till me and the ref composed ourselves. His reply was " i thought their was a sniper in the crowd".

I nearly pissed myself.

Their striker got sent off for diving btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 suarez9

Years ago U14's when there loads of lads on bench manager gave me ten minutes as a sub in a game he then took me off again wtf... He said were doin better 14 again 15

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,897 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Friend of mine in his early 30s decided the best way to loose weight was to take back up the GAA. 15 minutes into his "long awaited" return match he pukes his ring up, then stands in goal smoking a fag.

Nearly wet myself laughing. He never came out after half time.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭teddy_303

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 titsmahgee

I remember playing a football match in primary school and the opposition had a huge harmless bastard on the bench, one of those huge lads who hits puberty and reaches 6 foot by the time he's 12. Only thing is he was absolutly useless, big and awkward, couldnt kick a ball to save his life.

So anyway these other lads are hammering us so they decide to bring on 'titch' as he was known. All his teammates on the sideline start riling him up,by the time titch gets on he's ready to do damage, he runs over to the little guy he's marking picks him up by the neck with one hand and kind of choke slams him to the ground. the ref tells titch to get off the pitch and the lad on the ground is too scared too play on.

Seemed more funny in secondary school when we went to school with titch and realised what a harmless lad he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

At a Shels match at Tolka some years ago, announced over the PA system:

"Could (whoever) plesae make his way to the ticket desk," pause, giggle, "where is wife is waiting for him."

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    At a Shels match at Tolka some years ago, announced over the PA system:

"Could (whoever) plesae make his way to the ticket desk," pause, giggle, "where is wife is waiting for him."
    If that was my missus and my name called out there'd have to be an immediate danger to my life to get me to stand up and leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

dunno how true this is but, when liverpool were playing arsenal i think it was, in the dressing rooms when kenny as telling the team who was starting he went to suarez and told him he was gonna start on the bench to which suarez allegedly replied "no problem boss, i play on the left i dont mind its no problem"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭bijapos

Effin Eddie, a genuine classic, there's a few longer versions on youtube too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Wasn't at the game myself, but Celtic fans used to sing to Rangers keeper and paranoid schizophrenic Andy Goram;

Schizophrenia is not multiple personality disorder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Schizophrenia is not multiple personality disorder.

Wtf is this, the medical journal? You know what the point of the chant was, stop being so pedantic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Wtf is this, the medical journal? You know what the point of the chant was, stop being so pedantic

It's not pedantic, it's a completely different disorder.
    Consider yourself enlightened, you learned something. \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭TaosHum

Was at the first game of the re-forming of the local GAA club after 20 years. Of course the team was made up of many lads well within their 30's.

Anyway, when the ball was thrown in at the start, the ball was kicked into the corner forwards. As one of the corner forwards was running to meet the ball, he pulls up and falls to the ground in a heap......pulled both hamstrings.

Never usually laugh at injuries, but even the lad it happened to was joking bout it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Playing Gaelic Football vs another school back in primary. The match was probably the roughest I've played in, fierce dirty.

We won in the end and our manager(The Principle) was saying well done to us etc in the dressing room after. All of a sudden the opposing manager/coach runs into our dressing room and grabs him and shouts out

"IM A TAX COLLECTOR, AT LEAST I DONT HAVE A FCUKIN MICKEY MOUSE JOB"

Was very funny in context :pac: Maybe its just one of those things you had to be there to get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

Seamen came for the ball and it spilled...