Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trying to conceive/Planned parenthood/Assisted Reproduction Chat thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

lazy, lazy doctors. Are you being treated privately - if so just tell them you want a scan next cycle. The prescribed dosage may not have even been strong enough for you, so you could have wasted 4 cycles.
    I didn't ovulate last month either, god knows how many times I did at all on the clomid - well I know of two for definite - my scan cycle and my pregnancy cycle - realistically though the others could have been duds. Can't wait to move on from clomid. Has great success for many, but I for one an done with it :)

why are they suggesting you move straight to IUI, are there sperm issues? You should ask about timed intercourse - it's a bit cheaper than IUI and % of preg are the same more or less (unless there are sperm issues, in which case IUI is the way to go)

• Registered Users Posts: 362 ✭✭Play Bunny

Tigeress wrote: »
    Play Bunny I'm attending Portlaosie too :) small world! Back there on 5th Oct for another scan and can't wait!

Neyite so excited for your scan :) not too far away now!

ah brill u must be living in kildare/portlaoise?, have u been to portlaoise before i had my dd there , it was grand bar 7 beds in a 6 bed ward but mine was grand...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Congrats Play Bunny.:D

Sickened for you applesock!!!

Well due the monthly this week, going by my usual 5 week calender though I'm bout as dependable as the weather report:rolleyes:

A wedding this weekend, where my little fella is page boy and I have to do a reading so scared shítless! Will only have the obligatory sip of champers in case there is more to report, but no signs of period yet so dunno what the story is! I was randomly emotional over the smallest things the last week and a bit! I cried at a programme I saw 3 times. What the heck???

Baby dust and hugs to all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,865 ✭✭✭✭January

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    Congrats Play Bunny.:D

Sickened for you applesock!!!

Well due the monthly this week, going by my usual 5 week calender though I'm bout as dependable as the weather report:rolleyes:

A wedding this weekend, where my little fella is page boy and I have to do a reading so scared shítless! Will only have the obligatory sip of champers in case there is more to report, but no signs of period yet so dunno what the story is! I was randomly emotional over the smallest things the last week and a bit! I cried at a programme I saw 3 times. What the heck???

Baby dust and hugs to all!

If you come to Go Kids Go pregnant next week and don't tell me I will bash you over the head with the big rocking horse thingy.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

January wrote: »
    If you come to Go Kids Go pregnant next week and don't tell me I will bash you over the head with the big rocking horse thingy.

I promise if there is new I will tell you first! :D Before daddy even ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭Nicky987

Hi, I took two cycles of clomid the.first 50mg then the second 100mg. Went private but just had blood test on day 21- both showed I didnt ovulate so he.booked me in for the hsg. Which is all done also so just waiting to go back to him in 4 weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Tigeress

Play Bunny wrote: »
    Play Bunny I'm attending Portlaosie too :) small world! Back there on 5th Oct for another scan and can't wait!

Neyite so excited for your scan :) not too far away now!

ah brill u must be living in kildare/portlaoise?, have u been to portlaoise before i had my dd there , it was grand bar 7 beds in a 6 bed ward but mine was grand...

I'm living in Portarlington :) not too far away thanks goodness! This is my 1st baba so I've only been there for scans.. Can't wait though!

I was at my GP appoint today and he had a feel of the baby and said it's big (eek) he also measured me uterus and said I'm measuring 2 weeks over my dates! He told me to get the Antenatal Clinic to check and amend the dates (hopefully) fingers crossed!

I'm living in Portarlington :) not too far away thanks goodness! This is my 1st baba so I've only been there for scans.. Can't wait though!

I was at my GP appoint today and he had a feel of the baby and said it's big (eek) he also measured me uterus and said I'm measuring 2 weeks over my dates! He told me to get the Antenatal Clinic to check and amend the dates (hopefully) fingers crossed!

ah its a nice hospital, didnt have any complaints well bar them not showing me how to change a nappy or washing the baby etc other than that it was grand, this will be my 2nd pg, i thought my 1st dd was small but turned out 8lb 1oz, :O v.surprised.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

I may be stepping out for a couple of months ladies. Started college, it's fantastic but it's a huge work load...feel like I need to find my feet before I can risk vomiting with morning sickness every 5 mins :eek: :pac:

Was at the doc today and he reckons we should take a bit more time...He put me on a low dose antidepressant for a few months, just a wee pick-me-up. He said the anti-d will do no harm if I do get pregnant but he thought it might be wise to have a rest and get into a routine with college. Just trying to figure out if he's right :/

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

Lucyfur wrote: »
    I may be stepping out for a couple of months ladies. Started college, it's fantastic but it's a huge work load...feel like I need to find my feet before I can risk vomiting with morning sickness every 5 mins :eek: :pac:

Was at the doc today and he reckons we should take a bit more time...He put me on a low dose antidepressant for a few months, just a wee pick-me-up. He said the anti-d will do no harm if I do get pregnant but he thought it might be wise to have a rest and get into a routine with college. Just trying to figure out if he's right :/

Lucyfur, I had to delay a year in my course because of TTC. Its a two year course, and I planned to do it over 3 which became 4 - I felt if it was just TTC it might be ok to juggle coursework, work and that, but I found that when I started with the clinic, it became far too stressful to do it all. I plan to start into the books again and though I can sit my last 3 exams in May, I would be due the week they are on so gonna aim for August instead.

So, I would agree that you cant do it all just yet - you had surgery a couple of months ago ffs. I think maybe even in a couple of months, say Christmas, you can re-assess, once you know realistically what your courseload is like, and your body will have healed that bit more.

But, I can understand not wanting to put it off either - such a biological compulsion we have to get pregnant, its not easy to decide to stop TTC. I was on a low dose of anti-d's some years ago just, like you, to give me that extra little help. 6 months later I was off them and better than ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭Fri.Day

Good luck with college and the TTC Lucyfur
    I might need some counselling or antidepressants myself since I`m still very down but a lot more as time goes on rather than less.
    My sister-in-law had her baby y/day and it has hurt a lot, haven`t been able to text/ring yet to congratulate her yet :(

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭applesock

Lucyfur, congrats on college course. I can't only imagine how hard it is to make that decision, but maybe a little break could do you well aswel.

I feel pretty low today, just want to cry, girl i know had six month scan and was showing me the scan pictures. I started crying because I'm delighted for her but sad for me:mad: sound totally jealous and immature. Still no AF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭newbie!

Good luck with your course Lucyfur, I'll miss reading all your posts :(

Maybe the doc is right. If you do the course as something for you and you alone, it might revitalise you and give a more positive mental state. Good things then happen when you're in a good place. So maybe just enjoy the year and see what comes naturally :)

Sorry to hear you're feeling down Fri.Day and Applesock. I felt like that during the week although there wasnt anything in particular wrong. Well tonight I feel like a new woman. I got my first positive on the OPK test ...in SIX months!!! Just to be sure I did a cleareblue one and it was also positive :D:D:D

Needless to say there say be shall be lots of jolly rogering for the next few days :) Fingers crossed for this month.

oh, and my last two cycles were 37 days and i got my positive on day23 of this cycle so at least that's somewhat reliable. Agnus Castus did nothing to speed me up though....I also think there wasnt as much mucus this month. Not sure if that's a side effect of AC:confused:

Thank you so so much for your kind words ladies, you've no idea how much I appreciate them right now xxx

I should've gone to the doc ages ago. I was afraid he'd laugh at me :rolleyes:, of course, he didn't. He was nothing but lovely and he made me feel normal, just needing a little help;)

The course is only a year, it's fairly physical and I'd really really love to succeed in it, it'll lead me in to my dream career:D

I hate putting baby making on hold but it's only for a few months. And in that time I plan to get out of my rut and into a routine, and study hard!! And of course, come in here and annoy ye all with my hormonal woes :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Applesock, I'm so sorry you got a negative. I too was convinced you were going to have a positive :( fingers crossed the maca will help regulate your cycle and get your positive soon.

Barbiegirl, that is such terrible form about the clinic. I'm so annoyed on your behalf :mad: was that a private clinic? if it is can you write a letter of complaint to them. It might help vent your frustration & ensure that you get seen to quicker next time?
    I hope they don't leave you waiting too much longer for your next appt. x would it be an option to book an afternoon off next time you have an appt. so you're not stressing if you run late?
    I despise being left wait like that when I'm under pressure for time. I'm not impatient its the stress if you've to be back to work that kills me.

Tigeress, I'm doing great thanks :) how about you? not too many weeks left to go!it mightn't feel like it for you but the 26 weeks seem to have flown by!

Fri.day I'm sorry to read you're out this month.That sounds like a lovely idea taking your honeymoon soon. Have you picked where you're going yet?
    Be kind to yourself, its still early days yet. I was a mess emotionally for some months after my mc so its understandable that you would be upset about your sister in law's new arrival.

Lucyfur congrats on getting started with your course! Its a tough decision to make putting TTC on hold, especially when you've been so invested in it for so long.
    Hopefully the break will do you the world of good, or better still maybe things will happen of their own accord.
    Hopefully the workload in the course will ease off after the first few weeks & it'll be really enjoyable then :)
    I think anti-d's are a really good idea. My GP put me on lexapro after my miss. They didn't work for me (made me really nauseous & drowsy). but just having them to hand was a bit reassuring.

That's what he put me on :eek: I feel sick as a dog right now but he told me to expect that for a day or 2. But not drowsy or dizzy or anything. Hopefully they'll work:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Apparently if you take them at night when you go to bed then you sleep off the worst of the drowsiness & nausea. HTH :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

Fair play to you Lucyfur doing the course & getting stuck in. It could be one of those things where you get preg in a few months cos you're not neccessarily thinking about it.

One thing I'll say, just from hearing it from other peep's, is read the side-effects list on anything the GP gives you, particularly with anti-d's. They rarely if ever read the side-effects list themselves so just be aware of what you're putting in your bod. Some people only get mild side-effects but I know a few people who've gotten terrible ones, and then saw that they were listed on the leaflet in the box in the first place!

Sometimes a bit of counselling can be great to help get your head together & improve the mood. It worked wonders for me in the past during rough patches... and some very rough patches :D Best of luck with whatever you do.

Well I'm on CD 28, can't really test til Monday, this waiting is awful. We're going out for an wedding anniversary dinner/movie thing on Tues so I'd love to have the good news by then so we can celebrate that too.

Also, I think my hubby should be very grateful for this thread as otherwise I'd have the ears bent off him talking about TTC stuff!

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi ladies. I recently had a miscarriage at 4 weeks. I thought I was having my usual period but I passed what was clearly an embryo. It was tiny but perfect. I am currently breastfeeding a 5 month old and I've heard that bfing can lower your progesterone levels and low progesterone levels can cause a mis. Does anyone know if this is true? Thanks.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 12,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭iguana

Don't think sod's law is going to work for me. I'm due tomorrow on my 29 day cycle but I broke and took a test yesterday and not even a hint of a teeney tiny line. :(

I'm a little worried as I'm not 100% sure my husband should be off his medication. He insists he's fine and he'd tell me if he wanted to go back on it but I've noticed a few little things that are making me worried. He's just started a new job on Monday, with extra responsibilities (but still a pay cut - yay recession!) and is insisting he just has to find his stride. I really hope I get pregnant sooner rather than later so he has the option to go back on at least a low dose as soon as possible.

Still I've got my fertility monitor now so hopefully we'll make good next month. He's taking a basic* sperm test this month so we'll have an idea if there is any major issue with him. Hopefully there won't be and we'll be able to have sex every day that I'm high and peak fertility. :D

*Not the dna fragmentation yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Julybreeze

Hi ladies,

Looking for some advice for a female relation of mine, let's call her Mary. She's not really computer literate so she asked me to so some research for her.

Herself and her husband are TTC atm. They had a baby 18 months ago whom it took two years to conceive. They didn't have any medical investigations as Mary had been on the Depo injection for around 8 years.

Fast forward to the current day, they have now been trying for 5 cycles but have only really taken it seriously this month. By taking it seriously I mean that Mary has been using ovulation tests and paying closer attention to signs of ovulation.

We went to the health food shop together today, she was recommended to get 'Pregnacare Conception' and Zinc for himself. She got him the zinc and said she'd have a think about the pregnacare and maybe get it when her current pre-conception supplement is all gone.

Basically what she is looking for is recommendations for things like suppplements, conception related products such as lubricant etc ( she was overwhelmed by all of the products available) and also basic things like foods to eat more or less of.. A dummies guide to TTC I guess..

Thanks all in advance and good luck in all of your journey's.

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

Julybreeze wrote: »
    Hi ladies,

Looking for some advice for a female relation of mine, let's call her Mary. She's not really computer literate so she asked me to so some research for her.

Herself and her husband are TTC atm. They had a baby 18 months ago whom it took two years to conceive. They didn't have any medical investigations as Mary had been on the Depo injection for around 8 years.

Fast forward to the current day, they have now been trying for 5 cycles but have only really taken it seriously this month. By taking it seriously I mean that Mary has been using ovulation tests and paying closer attention to signs of ovulation.

We went to the health food shop together today, she was recommended to get 'Pregnacare Conception' and Zinc for himself. She got him the zinc and said she'd have a think about the pregnacare and maybe get it when her current pre-conception supplement is all gone.

Basically what she is looking for is recommendations for things like suppplements, conception related products such as lubricant etc ( she was overwhelmed by all of the products available) and also basic things like foods to eat more or less of.. A dummies guide to TTC I guess..

Thanks all in advance and good luck in all of your journey's.

My fertility specialist insisted on folic acid for me - this is the biggie, so Mary needs to go on that. Its very cheap and easily got. She said that there was no need for the pregnacare supplements as long as I took folic, but did say the supplements wouldnt do any harm. I put him on a multivitamin (containing zinc) because he eats more crap than me. :)

Its by far more important to pay attention to general overall good health and healthy practices for both in the couple. Its pointless to take lots of supplements if diet is poor. IF either smoke, thats the first thing that needs to be quit. Reduce alcohol, caffiene, fizzy drinks, eat more fruit, and vegetables, especially leafy greens, and drink lots more water. Avoid tuna due to mercury levels. I tried to up my intake of dairy products as I dont drink milk except in tea or coffee (and I reduced those) but added a yoghurt and cheese in my salad to my lunchtime intake. Its the little things like switching white bread for brown, and apple for a bag of crisps etc. But, let yourself have treats too, everything in moderation.

Exercise is also important, TTC can get very stressful very quickly, so if you can go for a swim/walk/ run or whatever to destress you will feel the benefit. I took up yoga, began (didnt finish :o) the couch to 5k, and started walking to work, and the OH took up football 2 nights a week.

Baths are out for himself, as are tight undies or trousers. He needs to keep his dudes cool.

With regards to 'equipment':
    There is a sperm-friendly lube called Pre-Seed, and is very nice to use. Its a bit pricey so you only need to use what feels comfortable at the time, and not their recommended amount, otherwise it will cost you a fortune.

Ovulation and pregnancy tests are expensive so source the cheap ones on ebay -there is a link if you search back this thread about them, or invest in a Clearblue monitor. I think these can be got second hand as well.

The book "taking charge of your fertility" I hear, is very good, and informative. There is also a TTC section in "What to expect when you are expecting" but I found it hard some months to pick it up with a big happy pregnant woman on the front of it, and would only depress myself reading what I would be experiencing if I got pregnant.

Hope this helps :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

JulyBreeze - make sure Mary takes B12. This is often forgotten about. It is as essential for tissue growth/maintenance as folic acid. The doctors in my clinic are ALWAYS asking me if I'm on it so it must be important ;)

I have a good feeling about this month...

On CD31 today, period due tomorrow. Don't have any of the usual symptoms of an impending AF. Usually a couple days before I start getting horrendous spots & feel quite "meh" emotionally. But been feeling real good, skin is normal. No signs of cramping but even if I got that I wouldn't worry too much as I know from posts above that cramping can happen early on when preg.

I'll be gutted if get a period or BFN :( though I know we're really not TTC long at all. Going to get a clear blue test today & test Tues morning if no sign of AF. Oh the waiting...

Neyite wrote: »
    With regards to 'equipment':
    There is a sperm-friendly lube called Pre-Seed, and is very nice to use. Its a bit pricey so you only need to use what feels comfortable at the time, and not their recommended amount, otherwise it will cost you a fortune.

Where do you get this stuff Neyite. Is it supposed to help the swimmers on their way to the holy grail? It's a good idea as sometimes,esp if trying earlier in the month, things can be a bit... arid shall we say ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭Ms2011

Mink wrote: »
    Where do you get this stuff Neyite. Is it supposed to help the swimmers on their way to the holy grail? It's a good idea as sometimes,esp if trying earlier in the month, things can be a bit... arid shall we say ;)

I bought my Pre-seed online though I'm sure you could get in somewhere like Boots. I didn't use it the cycle I got a BFN but did used it the cycle I got pregnant so I would definately say it's worth a go :)

http://www.inhealth.ie/Products/PreSeed__4204.aspx

Mink wrote: »

I got mine online initially: www.accessdiagnostics.co.uk but then I noticed the local chemist stocks it so I got it there. I dont think Boots stock it - certainly not the Galway one anyway.

http://www.accessdiagnostics.co.uk/acatalog/copy_of_PRE-SEED-UK.html

It mimics the natural cervical mucus during your fertile time and helps swimmers swim to their destination. Even when not ttc its become my favorite when 'arid' conditions prevail ;). I found KY triggered thrush for me, and the durex ones are grand, but this feels far more natural.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭newbie!

Ms2011 wrote: »
    I bought my Pre-seed online though I'm sure you could get in somewhere like Boots. I didn't use it the cycle I got a BFN but did used it the cycle I got pregnant so I would definately say it's worth a go :)

http://www.inhealth.ie/Products/PreSeed__4204.aspx

No, boots don't stock it. I think McCabes do though.

Feeling quiet positive this month too. On day 25 now but i have a long cycle so I cant test for another while. Fingers crossed though. Boobs very sore during ovulation this month...moreso than usual.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 12,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭iguana

Boots stock Conceive Plus, which is the same as Preseed, just a different brand.

Period is a day late now, took a test. Negative.:(

Today in the spirit of forewarning my husband took a home sperm test. We've got a test tube of purple spunk in the kitchen right now. Results in about 30 minutes. I feel like a mad scientist.:o

i think i may have bad news, this morning when i was going to the toilet i noticed like a mucas with some blood running through it v.light tho, the next toilet trip nothing, then again more :(a little darker but nothing amazing... so went out and bought another clear blue test and it said not pregnant, so not sure what to think as i havent passed a cloth, and ive had nothing again after this time ...going to the toilet on the tissue, im also dying with a cold and its not helping matters, personally i dont think its looking good, mam had a m/c at 3mths and had to get a d&c done so im in limbo i just have to wati and see but i dont think it looks positive, there is no staining on my knickers (yet, ive no cramps) i just feel tired and worn out with this cold...boobs still sore-ish...