Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

C+H Sports Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

Were you not getting a cycling team together? :pac:

And Conor, I reckon that Evans attacks, he's just got an awful reputation as a wheelsucker. He certainly was one in the past, but his palmarès suggest that he's reasonably attacking! Sure, he managed a stage win already this Tour. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Desire.

Aoibheann wrote: »
    Were you not getting a cycling team together? :pac:

Yeah, I am. The football is my main priority. Unfortunately, the cycling will be limited to the off-season. I will train all year but I will not be able to compete until the football season ends.

Also, depending on my success while playing with Ireland, I may only be able to win the Tour de France every second year. If we qualify for World Cups and European Championships regularly, that means I will only be able to compete and win one out of every two years.

It's tough being a sportsman at the highest level.

And what PEDs shall you be on, to manage all that?

I'm planning on becoming a professional biathlete as well as a pro-cyclist. That would leave very little overlap between the seasons, so I reckon it's a wiser plan. ;)

And what PEDs shall you be on, to manage all that?

I'm planning on becoming a professional biathlete as well as a pro-cyclist. That would leave very little overlap between the seasons, so I reckon it's a wiser plan. ;)

Heart. Hunger. Desire. Passion. They're the only PEDs I'll be needing. ;)

I had to google that. :P

A biathlon is usually a "winter sport that combines cross-country skiing and rifle shooting." Odd mix... :pac:

Yup, it's an amazing sport to watch. The complete difference in the types of skills required for skiing and shooting make for some fantastic athletes. A lot of them are army-trained, hence the good shooting skills. My favourite (since retired) was one such type, he also trained in ballet for balance and had the most graceful skiing style. *nods* Now, if only I could be less clumsy, I could manage it then..

And.. erm, I'll be, uh, looking forward to seeing you hit the headlines for your Tour and World Cup victories. :P

Yup, it's an amazing sport to watch. The complete difference in the types of skills required for skiing and shooting make for some fantastic athletes. A lot of them are army-trained, hence the good shooting skills. My favourite (since retired) was one such type, he also trained in ballet for balance and had the most graceful skiing style. *nods* Now, if only I could be less clumsy, I could manage it then..

And.. erm, I'll be, uh, looking forward to seeing you hit the headlines for your Tour and World Cup victories. :P

Well, to be honest, I doubt there will be any World Cup victories. Ireland, as a nation, does not have the coaching structure in place to produce a consistent supply of high calibre players. Playing at the World Cup will be a big achievement.

By the way, just in-case you think I'm not, I am 100% serious.

I'm not questioning how serious you are (or if I am, it's irrelevant :P). Serious hat on, I do, however, question one's ability to commit to playing two sports at the very highest level. Katie Taylor is one dual-sports player I can think of (not counting GAA, for anyone who plans to jump in), and considering the fact that the Irish ladies' soccer team haven't qualified for a World Cup or the European Championships as far as I can recall, she hasn't quite so much on her plate so she is probably much more focussed on boxing.

I'm not sure quite exactly how you plan to fit in playing for the national team (and presumably a half-decent club side) while putting in the training winning a Tour would require, the other events you'd need to enter even just as a training run (if you were planning on doing a Lance Armstrong by pretty much focussing on just the TdF, you'd still need a race like the Dauphine as practice!). I'm a crap cyclist, and even THAT takes training! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Bottleopener

Ah, the stage I've been waiting for in the tour! This is gonna be sweet!

Nico in the breakaway too which is cool to see :). Gonna agree with Aoibheann, I'm guessing it could be Evans to take the overall.

The next couple of days will be awesome :D

Different muscles involved in playing soccer and cycling too. Unless you're going to be a big tree-trunk legged defender, but even then, the upper-body strength you'd need to muscle players off the ball would just add unnecessary weight on the bike!
    I don't think anybody could do an endurance sport and a multi-sprint sport at the highest level at the same time.

S.S. for the Tour, still. :P

This stage, tomorrow and the time-trial on Saturday are going to be fantastic! I can't wait for the summit finish on Alpe D'Huez tomorrow - seeing as that's a short stage I expect to see a hell of a lot of attacks maybe from earlier than usual.

Different muscles involved in playing soccer and cycling too. Unless you're going to be a big tree-trunk legged defender, but even then, the upper-body strength you'd need to muscle players off the ball would just add unnecessary weight on the bike!
    I don't think anybody could do an endurance sport and a multi-sprint sport at the highest level at the same time.

S.S. for the Tour, still. :P

http://www.cyclingweekly.co.uk/news/latest/510863/pereiro-switches-career-to-fifth-division-football-in-spain.html

Oscar Pereiro is trying to change careers right now :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

Contador is looked like he was struggling badly at the end. Evans put in a mighty effort to chase Schleck, but it obviously wasn't enough. Quite the exciting stage! Good for Voeckler to hang on for another day, too.

Contador looked absolutely shot to pieces. If Evans can keep the time gap as is tomorrow, he'd have a reasonable shot at yellow in Saturday's TT. Andy was quite good in last year's TT when he was in with a shot of winning the Tour though. He looks so fresh in his interview! Amazing by Voeckler once again, surely he can't hold on to it tomorrow!

Roche did really well to stay out front as long as he did, he nearly had to be carried over the line. Should still move up a bit in the GC, as well as keeping his team in the top 3.

Tommy keeps yellow! =D. Contador really just died towards the end, and fair play to Roche for sticking it out as long as possible. Great stage - heres to more awesomeness tomorrow on the Alpe :)

Who does everyone want to win, actually? I have so much respect for what Andy Schleck did today, so it's him or Evans for me. Wouldn't complain if Voeckler won but I think Alpe D'Huez after the guts of 3 weeks racing will be the end of his run.

Voeckler just has to lose the jersey tomorrow sadly - in an ideal world I'd love to see him win, but realistically that won't happen. Coming into the tour I was for anyone but Contador - and after today I was really impressed with what AS did. However, of the top contenders it'd have to be Evans for me - I have a load of respect for him and feel it'd be great to see him take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

Voeckler, unlikely as it may be, then Evans. Frank Schleck winning it would be a nice surprise too.

Have to say I want Andy to win. You have to admire a guy who attacks with 60km to go.

Evans didn't even chase down until the end, never mind attack himself. :P I'm a big fan of attacking riders.

Ha, we all seem to be choosing anyone but Contador.. Funny that!

Ah Conor, Evans was dragging every single one of them up the Galibier, he was doing all the work on the front. How can you attack yourself? :P I don't think he could physically do any more!

Ha, we all seem to be choosing anyone but Contador.. Funny that!

Ah Conor, Evans was dragging every single one of them up the Galibier, he was doing all the work on the front. How can you attack yourself? :P I don't think he could physically do any more!

I don't just mean today. I mean all the tours ever!

I've DEFINITELY seen him attack on at least one Tour.. Maybe.. >_> <_<

I just have to admire his tenacity. Stubborn-ness overcoming all, etc. :P

I guess. He's like a mule. Whether he wins or Schleck wins (or Tommy!), at least we can say for once that somebody deserving won it, because I can't imagine any of those guys touching PEDs.

I remember when Evans came runner up to Sastre in 2008 being surprised that he actually attacked for a change. He seems to have really changed as a rider in the last couple of years, and I expect him to try something tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

Who does everyone want to win, actually? I have so much respect for what Andy Schleck did today, so it's him or Evans for me. Wouldn't complain if Voeckler won but I think Alpe D'Huez after the guts of 3 weeks racing will be the end of his run.

Andy Schleck, I've been a massive fan of his since he came second two years ago. Time Trials aren't his forte, so that could be the end of him on Saturday if things don't go well, but his lead over Evans and Contador will hopefully bring him over.

Though, I don't mind who wins as long as it isn't Contador. I just don't like the guy. Simple as that :P

I guess. He's like a mule. Whether he wins or Schleck wins (or Tommy!), at least we can say for once that somebody deserving won it, because I can't imagine any of those guys touching PEDs.

I really, really hope not. Evans especially is one of those people I really can't picture going near them, and while I've been surprised by some cyclists who have in the past, I just can't see it. He's beyond brutally honest, so.. yeah. It'd ruin cycling! :(
    I remember when Evans came runner up to Sastre in 2008 being surprised that he actually attacked for a change. He seems to have really changed as a rider in the last couple of years, and I expect him to try something tomorrow.

He actually needs to. Andy's time-trialling skills have improved - well, when he's in with a chance like with last year - so I don't expect Evans to gain as much time as he normally would have. With that said, Evans has the racing experience in this TT that others don't so I could be wrong. I hope he goes on the attack though, there's some absolutely wonderful places to do so on Alpe D'Huez if they haven't bothered up until then.

Argh! So excited. Most interesting Tour in a long, long time.

Tommy is crazy, fair play to him, he's showing incredible determination.

And yeah, if Evans ever tested positive that'd genuinely shock me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

I have just renewed the fantasy football league for the C&H today. Fantasy football is happening again for the C&H forum.

If you want to join PM me for the code.

Wow. Evans has been amazing today, it's difficult to watch Schleck getting absolutely slaughtered in the TT - I feel really bad for him, I thought this was his year!

EDIT: Voeckler did a decent TT, he'll keep 4th place. So proud. :)

Evans.. Wow, just wow. He was barely behind Tony Martin, who is a fantastic TTer. First Aussie to win the Tour now, it's almost certainly his.

I have so much respect for that TT from Evans today. Gutted for Andy though. I still can't bring myself to like Evans.

Evans used to really, really irritate me a few years back. Somewhere along the line, that flipped completely and I started rooting for him! I can't quite pinpoint it, but I have an awful lot of respect for him for contesting the Tour on occasions where he's had pretty bad injuries, e.g. holding the yellow jersey while suffering from a fractured elbow last year, and even when he knew he couldn't win it because of injuries, he kept on racing - most contenders pull out after that kind of incident. He's hardcore! :pac:

I feel awful for Andy, that's three second places in a row now. However, he's only 26 - barely out of the white jersey bracet - so I think he has plenty of time for Grand Tour victories. I really hope so anyway - I reckon that Rolland and Taaramae are going to be pushing for the top spots soon enough!