Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 2009-2011

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

Don't know how he'd have saved them by simply standing up

Agree. When a keeper is one on one with an advancing forward and the backs that are supposed to be in front of him are pulled all over the place and are miles from where they should be it is very hard on a goal keeper. So many things will be going through his mind.

KevIRL wrote: »
    In regards to this years championship what do Waterford, Dublin and Limerick have in common?

Someone was listening to Damien Lawlor last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,046 ✭✭✭deisedude

Have just about stopped banging my head off the wall and the bloodflow has finally returned to my legs despite Pairc Ui Caoimhs best efforts to cripple me.

Where to even ****ing start! Well Clinton has to be dropped, simple as. He has been our best keeper in years but this year he has definately been on the decline. Power can stop shots, Clinton cant and Galway are going to shoot on sight. Not starting Power the next day would be ****ing lunacy so expect Clinton to start again!:rolleyes: Clintons puckouts were crap too, all on one side and no variation. Eoin McGrath didnt even have chance to prove he wasnt up to it because no puck outs went within 30 yards of him!

As for the backs, they were exposed by Davy's tactical inadequacy. Tipp's forwards thrive on space so what does Davy do, he tells the backs to follow their men all around the field creating enough space you could drive a bus through it and ensuring there is no Waterford defender facing the Tipp forward as he runs goalward. That might work for Davy when he is training his 4 or 5 mickey mouse teams but sweet jaysus this is Intercounty! The backs should have been told hold the line and leave their men off, sure Tipp may have scored a load of points but would we have conceded 7 goals? No fecking way

Could have completely wrecked Jerome Mahers confidence, could go the way of Dennis Coffey and never recover. Putting a guy making his championship debut with feck all experience even in the league against the hurler of the year is the equivalent of pairing a heavyweight boxer with a featherweight. This isnt a fecking daytime tv Disney movie, miracles like that dont happen

The half forward line cant win primary possesion. The backs couldnt survive when the ball was coming straight back at them every time. Eoin McGrath was no worse than anyone else yesterday but no way should he have been starting. Maurice Shanahan should be starting, he actually can win his own ball and fought hard but a few stupid wides

Yesterday was the only day i can remember Mullane looking like he had given up. As the guy behind me said; whatever Davy must have said at half time must have been total bollocks if he cant motivate Mullane.

Btw hate to say it but Eoin Kelly looks gone. Nothing but a pale shadow of what he was

Final thoughts, i'll gift wrap Davy and mail him back to Clare myself. I've stuck up for him in the past but he showed yesterday he hasnt learnt anything since the 2008 AI final tactically. Even in the unlikely event we beat Galway he has to go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

In Clinton's defence, what hope does any keeepr have one on one with the best forwards in the land clean through on goal? I haven't had the stomach to watch any replays yet but I don't think any of the gaals were stoppable from what I saw live. As for his puckouts, its not his fault he's aiming at a brutal hlf forward line containuing Eoin McGrath, a midfielder and a lad in hi second championship game, up against animals like paudie Maher. I actually think aiming the puck outs down the left was sensible enough, I saw it as a deliverate ploy to keep it away from Maher.

Its hard to see why the keeper would be singled out whe you had the man on the touchline making basic errors of judgement, and you had 12 or 13 players having absolute nightmares out the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

In regards to this years championship what do Waterford, Dublin and Limerick have in common?

all 3 will finish the year empty handed ?????:D

flahavaj wrote: »
    In Clinton's defence, what hope does any keeepr have one on one with the best forwards in the land clean through on goal? I haven't had the stomach to watch any replays yet but I don't think any of the gaals were stoppable from what I saw live. As for his puckouts, its not his fault he's aiming at a brutal hlf forward line containuing Eoin McGrath, a midfielder and a lad in hi second championship game, up against animals like paudie Maher. I actually think aiming the puck outs down the left was sensible enough, I saw it as a deliverate ploy to keep it away from Maher.

Its hard to see why the keeper would be singled out whe you had the man on the touchline making basic errors of judgement, and you had 12 or 13 players having absolute nightmares out the field.

Its not just this game. He was poor against Limerick and shaky in the league too. I'm not blaming Clinton for us losing, far from it but i said before the championship began that Power should be starting and on the evidence so far i still maintain that he should be. He may not be as good under the dropping ball but thats not the problem at the moment. I'm not going to hypothetically say Power would have saved some of the shots because it can never be proven so there is no point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

The last line of defense always takes the blame. How many would Cummins have saved I wonder. I thought Clinton only made the one save, but he actually saved from Bonner Maher near the end (I'm conceding I did leave after 65 minutes but the little brother was discontent, he had to be coaxed to go initially, so we had to leave really). Getting a lot of undue stick I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

deisedude wrote: »
    Have just about stopped banging my head off the wall and the bloodflow has finally returned to my legs despite Pairc Ui Caoimhs best efforts to cripple me.

Where to even ****ing start! Well Clinton has to be dropped, simple as. He has been our best keeper in years but this year he has definately been on the decline. Power can stop shots, Clinton cant and Galway are going to shoot on sight. Not starting Power the next day would be ****ing lunacy so expect Clinton to start again!:rolleyes: Clintons puckouts were crap too, all on one side and no variation. Eoin McGrath didnt even have chance to prove he wasnt up to it because no puck outs went within 30 yards of him!

As for the backs, they were exposed by Davy's tactical inadequacy. Tipp's forwards thrive on space so what does Davy do, he tells the backs to follow their men all around the field creating enough space you could drive a bus through it and ensuring there is no Waterford defender facing the Tipp forward as he runs goalward. That might work for Davy when he is training his 4 or 5 mickey mouse teams but sweet jaysus this is Intercounty! The backs should have been told hold the line and leave their men off, sure Tipp may have scored a load of points but would we have conceded 7 goals? No fecking way

Could have completely wrecked Jerome Mahers confidence, could go the way of Dennis Coffey and never recover. Putting a guy making his championship debut with feck all experience even in the league against the hurler of the year is the equivalent of pairing a heavyweight boxer with a featherweight. This isnt a fecking daytime tv Disney movie, miracles like that dont happen

The half forward line cant win primary possesion. The backs couldnt survive when the ball was coming straight back at them every time. Eoin McGrath was no worse than anyone else yesterday but no way should he have been starting. Maurice Shanahan should be starting, he actually can win his own ball and fought hard but a few stupid wides

Yesterday was the only day i can remember Mullane looking like he had given up. As the guy behind me said; whatever Davy must have said at half time must have been total bollocks if he cant motivate Mullane.

Btw hate to say it but Eoin Kelly looks gone. Nothing but a pale shadow of what he was

Final thoughts, i'll gift wrap Davy and mail him back to Clare myself. I've stuck up for him in the past but he showed yesterday he hasnt learnt anything since the 2008 AI final tactically. Even in the unlikely event we beat Galway he has to go
    <snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

PTH2009 wrote: »
    there still in both hurling and football senoir championships.

Another one they all have outside senoir hurling managers

It's cos we're pure class :D

To be fair, if the footballers beat Limerick this weekend and show up well against Wexford, I wouldn't consider that empty handed. It would at least add some joy to the summer and give Waterford fans a welcome new experience (even when we win in the hurling, the standard of the games often detracts from the enjoyment)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

snip
    We don't really want him either. He's very old school and as you said it's always about a battle. Tipp and Kilkenny beat teams by playing superb hurling all the time but Davy seems hell bent at times on wanting to murder the opposition.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Hurler on de ditch banned for personal attack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Sweatynutsack

We don't really want him either. He's very old school and as you said it's always about a battle. Tipp and Kilkenny beat teams by playing superb hurling all the time but Davy seems hell bent at times on wanting to murder the opposition.

Yesterday was the day Davy should have been jumping around and shouting abuse, yet i did'nt see him do it once.....i personally think he has given up already

deisedude wrote: »

I will head to the post office and buy a few stamps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Jarjohn

I know it wont happen but anyone thoughts on a 15 that didnt start yesterday. When you look at who didnt start and what was produced yesterday you have to wonder. A Power A Kearney L Lawlor S Fives D Prendergast J Murray W Hutchison J Nagle D O Sullivan E Kelly M Shanahan S Prendergast T Ryan S Casey. Any more????

Forgot to mention i think Lawlor deserves the no.3 jersey back. Can anyone honestly say he performed any worse than any other intercounty full back against Tipp in the last year? Aside from that game he didnt do a whole lot wrong

It would be worth your while looking at the game on TV. All these calls for Clinton to be dropped after leaving in seven goals yesterday are bloody mad. What could he do when there is one forward in an acre and half space running one on one in front of him, The answer surely is very little. Davy as a keeper should know that you give your keeper as much protection as is possible. How would he have liked it if when he was playing and Ger loughnane instructed his backs to follow their men and the two Lohans went off up the field and someone like DJ Carey or Paul Flynn came running in on him one and one.

Will say it again, look at the game again lads and you will discover that Clinton yesterday was not as bad as some of you are suggesting. The pictures from the camera high behind the goal will clearly show how exposed he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,776 ✭✭✭Speak Now

all 3 will finish the year empty handed ?????:D

Dublin won the league

It's cos we're pure class :D

To be fair, if the footballers beat Limerick this weekend and show up well against Wexford, I wouldn't consider that empty handed. It would at least add some joy to the summer and give Waterford fans a welcome new experience (even when we win in the hurling, the standard of the games often detracts from the enjoyment)

A win against Limerick and a good performance against Wexford, win loose or draw would be like winning a football all-ireland for Waterford and it would be seen as great progress for the game in Waterford to get so far and it might show once and for all that football is not as bad as some suggest it is in Waterford. A lot of people give out about Pat Spillane and his comments re-waterford football in Waterford but we have a lot of Pat Spillanes of out own here in the county.

Dublin won the league

Waterford won the Waterford Crystal Cup. :D

Deise Tom wrote: »
    Waterford won the Waterford Crystal Cup. :D

Actually Dubs have Walsh cup as well :pac:

And Limerick have the Division 2 League Final.

Cake Man wrote: »

Heard the minors drew KK this afternoon (don't ask how as I originally believed they'd either have Antrim or Galway, don't understand how Munster and Leinster runners-up can face each other)

Yeah Kilkenny in the minor Q.F.
    Wouldn't be an impossible task, KK are no where near as good this year as the team that beat Clare in last years All Ireland. This year they struggled past Westmeath and Wexford before being well beaten by Dublin (last minute goal made score look closer). If Waterford did win they'd face the Dubs in the semi's.

Oh yeah interesting game for Chuck seen as he's a long adopted Village man :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Anyone want to take a stab at a team against Galway? I'd go with...

Power
    Fives
    Lawlor
    Connors
    Browne
    Brick
    Moran
    Foley----Molumphy
    Kelly
    Sully
    Mahony
    Mullane
    Walsh
    Shanahan

The tactics will be more important than personnel though, and that's why the 15 that play need to hold their own position, especially Brick and Lawlor. I know 6 backs sticking to a version of zonal marking is quite risky because there could definitely be confusion as to who is picking up who, but there needs to be a consistent spine running through the middle. Lawlor is the best FB option we have so needs to stay there, and we don't need to say any more about why Brick should be at no.6.

The reason I'd go with both Kelly and Shanahan ahead of O'Sullivan is simply because the pair over a greater physical presence, especially in the air. I'd start with Shanahan in the full-forward line, but if that HF continued to struggle then I'd drop him deeper to create a 4 man half-forward line, leave Walsh at FF and let Mullane switch sides as he pleases and roam into the empty space.

Again, that is a good side. That is not a side that should have odds of 66/1 to win an All-Ireland at this stage of the summer. But we need to play our own game, play to our own strengths and stop letting other teams walk over us tactically before we've even started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Rumours on another GAA forum from 2 fairly reliable posters that Davy is gone.

can you supply a link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Members' only.

ye i tried to sign up last year user name westofdshannon but they turned me down lol

Copy and paste ?