Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Useful Info For New Maynoothians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 kildare18

Kaaatelyn wrote: »
    yeah it passes through Naas and Clane then after, the times are 8.10,10.15 and 11.15 as far as I know. They have the timetable on the NUIM website.
    thanks
    itchyblood wrote: »
    Yeah it's JJ Kavanagh's service. There should be loads of info on their site as well as NUIM's transport page. I think it's €42 for a weekly return ticket from Newbridge to Maynooth and back.
    and thank you as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Rafcam

itchyblood wrote: »
    They're literally a plain hoody with the NUIM crest I think. They get cheaper towards the end of the year to allow them to sell off stock. I may get one this year actually.

Ah okays, thank you! I'll wait and see how much they are this year although I might hold off till the end of the year ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭luv-eirexx

Just checked the website and it says the lease for on campus accommodation starts the 13th but i have planned to move up tommorrow because my orientation starts monday at 9 and my parents are also working so i wouldnt have a lift up that day.

Should i ring the residence office or would they even be open or will i just turn up tomorrow and hope someone working in the college takes pity on me :confused:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,442 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

luv-eirexx wrote: »
    Just checked the website and it says the lease for on campus accommodation starts the 13th but i have planned to move up tommorrow because my orientation starts monday at 9 and my parents are also working so i wouldnt have a lift up that day.

Should i ring the residence office or would they even be open or will i just turn up tomorrow and hope someone working in the college takes pity on me :confused:

They will be open! Don't worry!
    They were open from 2 last year! Sure I'm moving up tomorrow! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭ontour

Anyone know where room HF is, is it one of the rooms in the arts block? Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭Doodle53

ontour wrote: »
    Anyone know where room HF is, is it one of the rooms in the arts block? Thanks.

There's an index of the rooms here :rolleyes:

http://examinations.nuim.ie/teachingvenues.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

^Regarding that...

Any idea where [APT] is? It says: 'Student Apartments North Campus', but are there not squillions of Student Apartments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

mickstupp wrote: »
    ^Regarding that...

Any idea where [APT] is? It says: 'Student Apartments North Campus', but are there not squillions of Student Apartments?

It's around the back of the Residence Office. You know if you drive past it on the road (not through the apts) as if you were leaving the college, and there's a teeny tiny door between the bit that's the laundry room and the red brick bit? That's APT.

I didn't even know there was a laundry room...

I think I'm just going to camp outside the lecturer's office before the class and follow him over.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

I didn't even know there was a laundry room...

Also known as "your ma".

That's... an odd thing to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

I think he's referring to the way most people bring clothes home to get washed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 SVP Maynooth

The St Vincent de Paul Society (SVP) will be at Fairs Day at the SU all day so make sure to join or rejoin the society of charity, volunteering and having the craic. Like all other societies it is 2 euro to join and you can get involved as much or as little as you like :) CHARITY, VOLUNTEERING, HAVING THE CRAIC :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Anyone know how I go about getting a locker?...dragging a laptop around 2days a week isnt good for the back.

Do the 66 or 67a buses stop at Liffey Valley?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

Both of them do. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Anyone know how I go about getting a locker?...dragging a laptop around 2days a week isnt good for the back.
    Here's info on how to get a locker. They're really handy to have!

Both of them do. :)

Ah cool thanks, I may head out for some retail therapy some time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Here's info on how to get a locker. They're really handy to have!

Sorted..Thank you kind sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Sorted..Thank you kind sir.
    Kind lady :P and you're welcome.

Can anyone tell me where the Anthropology Department is? It says on the map that it's in Education House but I wandered around the building and couldn't see any signs for the Anthro dept at all. Does anyone know where abouts it is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Rafcam wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me where the Anthropology Department is? It says on the map that it's in Education House but I wandered around the building and couldn't see any signs for the Anthro dept at all. Does anyone know where abouts it is?
    It is in Rowan House, the new building beside Education House.

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    It is in Rowan House, the new building beside Education House.

Oh okay thank you! The map says Education House :S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭squishykins

I know when I went into first year last year I was chock-full of questions, so I gathered together all of the information I found to be perused at your leisure :P Even people who aren't in first year may want to look at this again ;)

*Disclaimer* I did not write this, merely combined it all in one handy place :)

Don't take first year too seriously, but at the same time keep up with the work. Go to your lectures, do your assignments and you'll be grand :) Just remember, this year doesn't count towards your degree!

If you are doing Arts, try to have picked what you think you might want to do by registratrion. As far as I know/remember there are enough places for everyone, no first come first served, especially seeing as registeration is done in alphabetical order. If you are not sure of your subjects, you can move around and try others for up to 3 weeks (I think), and once you have decided for definite you can change them/keep the ones you want.

Check the submission guidelines for your particular department, some (e.g. music dept) don't allow online submissions. I'd be wary of sending it just as a soft copy.

If there's no possible way you can get your assignment in on time, don't panic! E-mail the lecturer/tutor, explain the situation (and send an attachment to prove the assignment's done), if you're sick get a doctor's note, and just get it in as soon as you can. There's no point stressing over something that's out of your hands.

It's a good idea to get an A4 pad for each module, or if you're gonna keep up with your notes, get one A4 pad and rewrite your notes that night. I swear, no later.

If it's easier for you to use a laptop in lectures, use it. But don't start pissing everyone off by using facebook etc.

Don't just wander into a class looking for something you think you might have forgotten maybe. Especially when that class has been going on for half an hour and you're disturbing everyone in the room. Wait till it finishes up at five to.

Generally, attendance is marked, and in some departments (like the German dept), if your attendance drops below 70% (without a good excuse), you get an automatic 0%.

Find out when you need to sign up for tutorials/labs in the departments (usually told in the first lecture) and sign up QUICK if you want a good time.

PACR - Public Access Computer Rooms. You can use teh internetz here. But don't hog it using things like facebook (or boards!) on people that genuinely need it.

You can borrow laptops in the library for up to 3 hours at a time. Ask at the desk.

Consider the other people around you, the ground floor of the library is there for a reason.

Do not powernap during class :D

Go to fairs day. Join clubs and societies. Have fun.

DO NOT TROLL MOODLE. It's for genuine questions. You will get into trouble.

If you've been promised certain things in your lease, i.e. cutlery in your drawer, not broken furniture etc., don't be afraid to fight and nag for it!

If you can't live in Maynooth, make friends with some people who do. They're invaluable resources ;)

If you're living on campus, the ovens tend not to have markings on them, go to the Residence office and they'll give you a printout explaining the knobs :)

If you're living off campus and walking to college every morning ... always, always bring spare socks.

Good Pizza Places: Rebel Pizza/Papa Johns(Supermacs pizza place, surprisingly nice!)/Mizzonis

Good Pubs/Bars: O'Neills/Bradys/The Roost are excellent =D Mantra not so much :rolleyes:

If you enjoy writing or generally working with the media, send your details (i.e. name, email, phone number, area of interest) to communications@nuimsu.com

NUIM Medical Centre is behind JH. If you go out the back exit of JH it's the closest building to your right. http://studentservices.nuim.ie/medical-centre
    Opening hours are half nine until 16:45 and they take lunch from 12:45 until 2 pm.
    If you need a doctor after hours, call 01 6291169

It can get really stressful, don't be afraid to avail of the counselling service. http://studentservices.nuim.ie/counselling

If you have a problem, go to your first year rep! They're there for a reason! Also, don't forget to vote for them at the start of the year!

If you need it, use the maths support centre, nearly everyone does anyway, it's not shameful! http://supportcentre.maths.nuim.ie/

The pool and gym and astroturf are free, book the astroturf in advance though.

How to get a locker in the Arts block: http://campusservices.nuim.ie/StudentLockers.shtml
    DON'T leave your stuff in the gym lockers, after two hours they lock tight until 10pm.

Visit the SU shop in the Arts Block! NUIM Hoodies are only €25!

For anyone living in Meadowbrook, Beaufield, Cluain Aoibhinn or any of the estates around there you might see the odd student on their walk to college hopping the wall the lines the back of the South Campus. They are taking the infamous short cut, there are a few ways to take this but I myself find walking down the Canal a bit and then hopping the wall the best option but you do have to hung a wall for dear life and jump about 2 meters but its well worth the risk of your life to shave off 3 minutes of your walk into college.

Pay parking is now in place, so get the bus/train or carpool pleaseandthankyou :) Don't park in estates/Aldi, you will be caught ;)

Tesco is 24 hour. Dunnes is not. =D

Monday/Tuesday: 8.30 - 8
    Wednesday: 8.30 - 9
    Thursday/Friday: 8.30- 10
    Saturday: 8.30 - 8
    Sunday: 10 - 8

List of all rooms on campus - http://examinations.nuim.ie/teachingvenues.shtml

Lower Loftus is here! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7a7NTeR19O0

Your timetable will be here https://www.nuim.ie/timetable/

http://registrar.nuim.ie/ImportantDates.shtml

Map of Maynooth - http://www.openstreetmap.org/?lat=53.3813801407814&lon=-6.59071862697601&zoom=18

Good for student competitions and stuff :)http://www.studentcents.ie/
    http://www.oxygen.ie/

Past exam papers - http://library.nuim.ie/expert - USE THESE, they are a very valuable resourse coming up to exam time.

Train Timetable: http://www.irishrail.ie/your_journey/printed_timetable_pdfs/2010/Dublin%20Maynooth%2010-2.pdf

If you're commuting by bus, here's the timetables http://www.nuim.ie/location/student_buses.shtml

66 Bus Timetable: http://www.dublinbus.ie/en/Your-Journey1/Timetables/All-Timetables/66/
    67 Bus Timetable: http://www.dublinbus.ie/en/Your-Journey1/Timetables/All-Timetables/67/
    Yes, they both stop at Liffey Valley! Look for the deadmans pub on your left before you get off. Don't get off at the roundabout which signposts for Liffey Valley, wait for the next stop! Single fare is €2.30, say how much money you're putting in the machine, or the driver will stare at you!

If you go to any of the Maynooth taxi companies they generally have fixed fares for trips like that whereas taxis that come up from dublin will put the meter on and it'll cost you more. Arrange a set price before you get in the taxi.

If you're travelling a lot, get a student travelcard(http://www.studenttravelcard.ie/(you can get this made up instantly in the SU for €15) and use it to get a smartcard(http://www.dublinbus.ie/en/Fares--Tickets/Tickets/Student-Tickets/)

Free tea in the Arts Block on Wednesdays :)

Your degree is either 100% 3rd year marks, or 70% 3rd year, 30% 2nd year if you did better that way (This is done automatically).

dnt use txt spk in exams lyk, deyll fail u. ye dey cn read it u luk lyk a tool do. Also watch for words like: like, cos, cuz, gonna, wanna, should of (it's should have), loose (instead of lose, learn the difference), and the different meanings of there/they're/their, of/off and to/too/two. And brush up on your apostrophes!

DON'T talk about lecturers/tutors on moodle. Yes they CAN see it.
    (Aimed at the blokes. I have no knowledge of the ladies toilets. Thankfully.)

When using toilets:
    1. The toilet 'seat' is for sitting on. If you don't intend to sit down you might raise the seat before drenching the gaf. It's only polite.
    2. I don't know how full of it some of you are... but really no-one should need an entire roll of toilet paper to clean up. Really. Trust me. You don't need that much.
    3. You may notice a small handle on the side of the toilet, it is often metallic. This is to 'flush' the toilet. Flushing involves clearing out the stuff in the toilet 'bowl'. Flushing is really something you should do once you're finished using the toilet. It helps avoid general diseased clutter and extreme plumbing blockages.
    4. Regarding the above mentioned toilet 'bowl', this is where you should aim with whatever orifice you happen to be using at the time. Strangely enough, although many clearly do not think so, the toilet bowl is also where used toilet paper should be deposited. It's the large round section with the water in the bottom of it. There's a reason toilets have these things, they're not for decoration, honestly. The floor is not the place to aim.

When using urinals:
    5. Toilet paper is not needed in urinals. Please don't try to flush paper down the urinals. It's not going to work.

In general:
    6. I know there's been a lot of complicated and, dare I say it, newfangled terminology thrown around this post, but I'm afraid another brand new concept needs to be introduced. It is called "the washing of the hands". This is an important thing for many reasons. Suffice it to say that you and everyone you come into contact with will lead healthier and cleaner lives if you would please begin this process. You will notice on exiting a cubicle or turning around from the urinal that there are a number of 'sinks' in the same room. These have things called 'taps' which expel water on demand. They also have 'soap' beside them, this is for cleaning. With a squirt of soap and some water you too can escape death by other people's butt germs.

These facilities can be used for free! No charge! Please use them! Please! Really please! Because you're revolting! I'm not lying! You're quite seriously disgusting!

And the next time I see one of you leaving a cubicle with half a roll of dirty toilet paper on the ground beside an unflushed toilet, refusing to wash your hands and then putting your (literally) grubby mitts on every door handle from the Arts block to the library, I will tell your girlfriend how much of a filthy sod you are.

---
    I can't believe these people even eat their lunches without washing their hands...

You can get free refill pads and highlighters in the Academic Advisory Office!

Make sure your mobile is on the best network and price plan for you and use your free webtexts!

Don't rush out and buy books straight away, wait a week or two and see how essential it is - i.e. are you using it constantly for the subject or are you more likely to be dipping in and out of it in which case if there are a few copies in the library you may not need to buy the book.

Sell the ones you don’t need at the end of the year, don’t dump them!

Return your books to the library on time, especially short term loans - the fines really add up!

If you are buying a book check out the second hand shop on campus, the notices on boards.ie, keep an eye out for notices on notice boards in the department and try websites like bookswap.ie, adverts.ie, jumbletown.ie, apebooks.com, eBay and Amazon - you'd be amazed at the savings.

If you are going to buy some new books, Hodges figus on Dawson Street have a loyalty card so for every €80 you spend you get €10 off your next book. It comes in handy if you are doing a subject with expensive text books like economics, law or medicine.

Bring your lunch to college with you, if not everyday then at least a few days a week. It'll be better quality in many cases and if you are like me and a bit of a fussy eater it will make food much more interesting - I don't eat meat so lived on egg mayo sandwiches (only vegetarian option) for much of first year! Also take an extra sandwich/something to snack on incase you’re caught up for an extra few hours for whatever reason, that’s the time the temptation to buy something hits! I tend to keep a bag of grapes with me to pop in my mouth.

Find the pharmacy/doctors with the best discount, locate your nearest Lidl or Aldi, and get your Dunnes/Tesco clubcards and use them as much as possible. Look out for special offers and use your coupons BUT don't buy something you wouldn't normally buy just because it is reduced! DO NOT do your groceries in Spar or Centra, and buy shop own brand where possible.

Remember freebies and samples are your friend. Yes the company's produce them to introduce a new product and make you want to have it but if you stay strong you don't actually have to purchase the product once your sample is gone.

When you want to buy something, ask yourself “Do I need it?” If you think you do, then wait. Don’t buy on impulse. Write the object of your desire on a piece of paper and pin it to the wall. Look at it every day for a week. If, at the end of the week, you still think you need it, then consider purchasing it.
    If you are living with people you get on with consider having a kitty for things like tea bags, instant coffee, sugar, milk, salt, pepper, bread and butter - often cheaper to buy larger amounts AND things like a bag of sugar or big thing of salt will last a fair while so no point in everyone getting a bag and maybe throwing it out when they move out at the end of the year.
    You don't need to be a brilliant chef to be able to cook decent cheap food for yourself so try and cook for yourself as much as possible rather than buying ready meals. If you find cooking for one boring, try getting together with housemates or friends few evenings a week to cook up a big pot of something. Or cook enough for two or three days, which is especially good if you have a freezer.

Use your student discount - most shops advertise them but don't be afraid to ask if you don't see a sign!! Discounts in some places are as much as 20% and Topshop even give you the discount on sale items which many other shops don't!!

If you’re one of those fortunate students with a car, use it as little as possible, for obvious reasons! If you are getting a bus/luas/train, check and see if a student monthly ticket will work out cheaper than just paying cash each time but be warned you do need to have a student travelcard for it to be valid and the inspectors are often to be seen on buses around September time. Cheaper again, invest in a bike, and a good lock.

I think it is VERY important to take advantage of the student travelcard (studenttravelcard.ie). It gives you various bus and rail discounts and money off in places like Heatons, HMV, Mc Donalds, Boots, Topshop/man etc. and some Dublin pubs. The student travelcard does cost money (€12 + €3 if they take your picture for you), and it lasts for 16 months if you buy in September (i.e. until next December) and there is new card produced every September to validate student status.

Cut down on your electricity bill by making sure there is a lagging jacket on your hot water tank - if there isn't, ask your landlord to get one. And also if there is a timer on the emersion, use it rather than leaving it on all the time - chances are no-one will need hot water at 3am!!! Take quick showers, turn off lights and most importantly, if it’s cold, put on a jumper or hoody, not the heating. I got a snuggie for Christmas, it’s perfect! Switch off the radiators in the rooms you’re not using, get yourself a hot water bottle! Charge your laptop, iPod, phone, digital camera etc. in lecture theatres.

If you have a fireplace, grab a couple of Argos catalogues, tear ‘em up and you’ve free heat!

Student houses can have a lot of bills, gas, ESB, sky, and internet. Most companies want bills paid by direct debit from a bank account. I would avoid being the person who takes responsibility for this. If it's your bank account the bills are being returned unpaid from this could affect your credit rating when applying for loans in the future. If at all possible have the landlord in charge of bills.

When you’re in college, if you have more than one friend, birthdays and Christmas can get expensive, so agree not to buy each other presents! Yeah you won’t get a few presents, but it’ll save you money through the year!
    If you are going out it is far cheaper to have drinks at home first. Not saying you need to drink yourself stupid but few people can buy bunch of frozen pizzas (or whatever), drinks of choice and have dinner and drinks for a fraction of the price you'd pay if you went out, and then just get bus into town for dancing/craic....

Instead of going out to dinner or on a date, try cooking for someone/friends, its way more impressive (or romantic) and friends can even help in the kitchen. Rent out a movie (or download if you’re computer savvy =D) for after instead of going to the cinema.

College can be really hard on the pocket, and liver! So take one week out of every month to resist alcohol (or even alcohol and cigarettes) and allow your body (and wallet) to detox. Don't give into peer pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭BuroniKiisu

Although I have only just skimmed these posts, I have decided that the First Year Handbook this year will be a slip of paper with this thread's URL.

Haha :D I was thinking maybe that this could be stickied so that it doesn't have to be done again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

There is one =P

I could merge them if you like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

don't start pissing everyone off by using facebook etc.
    don't hog it using things like facebook

Weird I would have thought that facebook was banned in most Irish third level institutions.