Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Introduce yourself newbies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Davidson2k9

Where can i post to ask people to play a quick scope/no scope game with tomohawks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Desire.

Where can i post to ask people to play a quick scope/no scope game with tomohawks?

I'll play you, if it's a PS3 you have. If so, add me. My PSN ID is Conor-Buckley-.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Davidson2k9

Desire. wrote: »
    I'll play you, if it's a PS3 you have. If so, add me. My PSN ID is Conor-Buckley-.

Sorry forgot to add its xbox and black ops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Feck me, I've been avoiding this for years!

Was at a friends house last night, and we fired up Black Ops on the PS3. Talk about a wild bit of craic! Split screen, online multiplayer, 40 inch HD, complete clusterfúck on screen!

When I get my interwebs sorted out at home, I'm picking this up on the Xbox!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Suspiria79

Just got MW2 today on xbox and was trying to figure out what the big deal is about the game online? Random running around shooting, lucky kills is pretty much what sums the whole game up. And a sore thumb from the awful controls of sprinting by pressing the stick down and forward. Horrid.
    So, I was wondering what the big craze is about playing it online. It's not actually that fun. Yeah, I suck at it but there is nothing in it to make me wanna improve.
    I can see how fanboys would love it, though. The stats, kill streaks and all that ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

To be fair Suspiria, I hate online when I'm on my own. I'm an average player, but seeing some of the nonesense that goes on in public lobbies (people dyign needlessly to get a lucky killcam etc) does my head in.

Playing in a party is definitely where it's at. Ask anyone and 99% will agree it's more fun and satisfying playing with people from Boards in a party. Post your gamertag here and be proactive adding people. Check out this thread to see who's most active, I think a few people still play Mw2.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

What whitey said ^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭JoePie

Leeg17 wrote: »
    To be fair Suspiria, I hate online when I'm on my own. I'm an average player, but seeing some of the nonesense that goes on in public lobbies (people dyign needlessly to get a lucky killcam etc) does my head in.

Playing in a party is definitely where it's at. Ask anyone and 99% will agree it's more fun and satisfying playing with people from Boards in a party. Post your gamertag here and be proactive adding people. Check out this thread to see who's most active, I think a few people still play Mw2.

True, but there's no better feeling than going 30-3 in an FFA with a lobby full of quicksoping and 360-no-scopsie-backflip-swandivers.

These games are full of campers. Watching kill cam, guys are just staring in the one area from a distance. And when coming across that same area, the same guy in the same spot. And its all levels that are doing it.

Wouldn't ya just love to tel them to get a life. I do run all over the map. I'm here to play video games. If I wanted to play like they do, I'd just look out my window and watch the day pass by. Mind you, I am always getting killed with ease when running around like a headless chicken but it's still fun whe I do get a kill.

Fanboy nerds with their prestige boost domination blah blah talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭LumpyGravy

A lot of people seem to hate campers but sometimes there's a good reason.
    I am complete noob to both COD and also FPS (except for some quake on a pc back in the day), I'm only level 11 on black ops (PSN id: OrvarAri) and sometimes it get's a bit overwhelming and placing a camera spike or claymore on stairway and camping in a room it's usually just to find my bearings on the map and a little breather from getting slaughtered by level 40 players.

Also I DO have a life, which means sometimes the wife is asking me a question (how dare she interrupt me like that ;) ) which tends to break the concentration somewhat then you might want to go and camp out in a room and give her your undivided attention (or risk the ps3 controller mysteriously missing for a week)
    People seem to take this game way too seriously.
    If people dont like features like 'Ghost' and 'Second Chance' or don't like campers then they should probably complain to TreyArch instead of bitching about it on forums.

I say use any resource available to you.
    All is fair in love and war.
    And remember, it's just a game.

LumpyGravy wrote: »
    A lot of people seem to hate campers but sometimes there's a good reason.
    I am complete noob to both COD and also FPS (except for some quake on a pc back in the day), I'm only level 11 on black ops (PSN id: OrvarAri) and sometimes it get's a bit overwhelming and placing a camera spike or claymore on stairway and camping in a room it's usually just to find my bearings on the map and a little breather from getting slaughtered by level 40 players.

Also I DO have a life, which means sometimes the wife is asking me a question (how dare she interrupt me like that ;) ) which tends to break the concentration somewhat then you might want to go and camp out in a room and give her your undivided attention (or risk the ps3 controller mysteriously missing for a week)
    People seem to take this game way too seriously.
    If people dont like features like 'Ghost' and 'Second Chance' or don't like campers then they should probably complain to TreyArch instead of bitching about it on forums.

One thing I always wondered was how on earth you can use the PS3 controller for a COD game. Any FPS game for that matter.
    I have Killzone 2 for the PS3 and I just hate the sprinting in the game. Using the stick, it's terrible for sprinting.
    And in COD you really need to do it A LOT and I find the xbox controller really good for it. I'll never get a FPS on the PS3 again. Xbox all the way. Come to think of it, next PS3 game will be Uncharted 3. Long way away.

And it's only a game, you say? When you're getting into the heat of the battle with a few annoying high level feckers with their fancy ways, it becomes more than just a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

LumpyGravy wrote: »

Do you use Second Chance and Ghost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭LumpyGravy

Suspiria79 wrote: »
    One thing I always wondered was how on earth you can use the PS3 controller for a COD game. Any FPS game for that matter.
    I have Killzone 2 for the PS3 and I just hate the sprinting in the game. Using the stick, it's terrible for sprinting.
    And in COD you really need to do it A LOT and I find the xbox controller really good for it. I'll never get a FPS on the PS3 again. Xbox all the way. Come to think of it, next PS3 game will be Uncharted 3. Long way away.

And it's only a game, you say? When you're getting into the heat of the battle with a few annoying high level feckers with their fancy ways, it becomes more than just a game.

Well maybe some people take it more seriously than me. :)
    Often wondered tho do ps3 and xbox and pc all play on the same servers?
    Cuz i'm sure i'd do a helluvalot better with a mouse. Maybe I should get a different controller.
    Do you use Second Chance and Ghost?

Ghost for the first few levels when I was starting out, don't really see the point in Second Chance

Depends on what i'm playing tho but Lightweight, Steady Aim (cuz i'm sh*t with the controller) and Marathon mostly.

But I dont really care if other people use it which is my point, the makers put it in there, it's part of the game, it's not like theyre cheating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 oneshotfinch

'sup guys. I've been lurking for a while now and I guess I should introduce myself. I got really sick of playing by myself due to always ending up on the losing team. Being the best player on the losing team just didn't cut it eventually so I want to play with a team.

I've only got the PS3 version of Black Ops atm. I'd get the 360 one if I didn't have to splash extra cash on the maps.

What's the deal with boosting? I often get voice messages from UK kids inviting me to some boost crap. And once I accepted and next thing they were on the mic giving instructions to get in a circle and use a tactical insertion. I didn't have one and I just ended up shooting the lot cos I got fairly bored. Weirdo's

So, what does this boosting do? Cos it looks a load of ****e to me. I just play the game to kill kill kill.

Suspiria79 wrote: »
    What's the deal with boosting? I often get voice messages from UK kids inviting me to some boost crap. And once I accepted and next thing they were on the mic giving instructions to get in a circle and use a tactical insertion. I didn't have one and I just ended up shooting the lot cos I got fairly bored. Weirdo's

So, what does this boosting do? Cos it looks a load of ****e to me. I just play the game to kill kill kill.

It's a reportable thing, you die spawn die spawn etc.
    It's the favourite pastime of pre pubescent squeaky voiced kids.

You did us proud for shooting them. :)

So, I see guys jumping about 100 feet into the air a lot. I suppose this is some sort of hack? It looked ridiculous and just annoys the hell out of me when I see cheating, hacking or quick sniping from 2 feet away. Some amount of freaks out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

Howya lads
    Been hanging around the X Box forum a good while now and finally got into COD online with Black Ops so I said I'd join in here having gotten a recommendation from kersmash that yee're all "sound f**kers!" :D I'm on XBL GT is Nially88. Mostly play Core Dom/Dem and play a good bit of zombies. Hope to get a few vids up too, YouTube page is in my sig!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Welcome dude!

I've sent a FR there. Probably won't be on till tomorrow though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

Cheers man, won't be on for a few days myself either, four days of exams starting tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

Hi guise . Ima noob and would like to shoot people with you people :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

LakesKeane wrote: »
    Hi guise . Ima noob and would like to shoot people with you people :)
    I'm playing MW2 tonight, create a class with Marathon + Lightweight + Commando & a tac Knife, and meet me on Rust!

We'll soon have you a pro at the game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Mayo_Boy

Room for one more? :pac:
    eventhough I suck pretty bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Garseys

Sup Guys!

Pretty new to Black Ops and that, (I think I've added a few of the IRL Clan guys, yet to play with them though)

hit me up on XBL: garseys

and no, I don't use Second Chance! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Dues Bellator

Garseys wrote: »
    Sup Guys!

Pretty new to Black Ops and that, (I think I've added a few of the IRL Clan guys, yet to play with them though)

hit me up on XBL: garseys

and no, I don't use Second Chance! :p

Hi Garsey yeah ive got you on my friends list mate , just join my party any time you see me on , should be playing with a few IRL lads/girls , or better still go to http://www.irlclan.net/forum and say hello in the welcome thread we will all add you from there ;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

Welcome Garseys,you should check out the sharing gamertag thread and add a few guys from there too,there's usually a party or two going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭LC_x

add me on psn ---> Lisa_oX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

LC_x wrote: »
    add me on psn ---> Lisa_oX

Lads is a woman! HIDEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!! :P

Balfie wrote: »
    Lads is a woman! HIDEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!! :P

Lies. There are no women on the internet. :p