Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

got d silage all in yesterday:D started covering it this morning :eek: had to get d cousin and d brother out just to get d plastic spread out and rolled up. thought we were goin to end up in d next parish with some of d gusts. anyway just in now job done and d tanks agitated ready to create a smell;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

whelan1 wrote: »
    they left here at half 12 and they are still waiting to be seen, i would say the humour is fantastic , glad i am at home:D
    he's home , 2 pieces of metal in his eye, he was using the drill and the bit broke and flew into his eye... he was lucky...they gave him drops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Birdnuts wrote: »
    John - I thought you liked wind:eek:;)

PS: Another day of getting blasted with 20+ knots of wind at my front door - this has got to be the windiest bl**dy May ever:(

What MPH is Knots??
    I'm not into this nautical speak :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭stanflt

cut the uncles silage today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

Its 1 knot = 1.15 mph, on a fine day ;)

ye are fairly fond of the new hollands :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭stanflt

ye are fairly fond of the new hollands :D

theres an old saying- you can choose your friends but not your family:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Birdnuts wrote: »
    John - I thought you liked wind:eek:;)

With thistles, furze, and rushes to spray this is no longer funny. I've been doing the odd bit early in the morning or late in the evening, the odd dry day, when the wind dies down.

waiting on a dry day as well to put the second round of vector on the lambs.

I've also got a new batch of bullets to zero.

The great thing is the midges are kept down :D But, at this stage, it's the only advantage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭what happen

other half is on the way to the mater eye and ear as he got a bit of steel in his eye when angle grinding , this is the third time in 3 years:mad::mad: i asked him where were the goggles - there are 3 or 4 pairs in the shed , he said they are hanging up:confused::confused:
    i got a bit of steel in the eye two years ago very sore and i used eyewash to take it out but took two days.a man not too far from me who fixed tractors and worked at steel had a big horse shoe magnet stuck on a rsj outside the workshop. he used it to take steel out of his eye.

must tell dh that:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

In a lot of factories now, you wont even be let out onto the production floor without safety glasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭MfMan

Some of Newcastlewest's finest picked up here (rural Galway) day before yesterday, caught raiding an unoccupied farmyard in daylight hours. Apprehended by the guards in the act. Shows you that they are constantly on the look out for easy pickings and know where to go too. All transients visiting your home or farm should be shown the door immediately and not allowed to look around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

MfMan wrote: »
    Some of Newcastlewest's finest picked up here (rural Galway) day before yesterday, caught raiding an unoccupied farmyard in daylight hours. Apprehended by the guards in the act. Shows you that they are constantly on the look out for easy pickings and know where to go too. All transients visiting your home or farm should be shown the door immediately and not allowed to look around.

any chance was there a fairly respectable looking bloke offering to do gutters and repairs on sheds, a few weeks previous? he is the spotter

they were on patrol in this area also but a few of us got together, and let's say "interviewed" them and they didn't return

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭MfMan

snowman707 wrote: »
    any chance was there a fairly respectable looking bloke offering to do gutters and repairs on sheds, a few weeks previous? he is the spotter

they were on patrol in this area also but a few of us got together, and let's say "interviewed" them and they didn't return

Exactly, a lad in a van called in to offer roof painting services, stout boyo, 35ish. Left a flyer which I can't find, was from around Brackernagh, Ballinasloe. Said he'd do a good job, Polish lads working for him, very good, blah blah blah. Gave him short shrift. Gardai are aware of this lad also I believe.

MfMan wrote: »
    Exactly, a lad in a van called in to offer roof painting services, stout boyo, 35ish. Left a flyer which I can't find, was from around Brackernagh, Ballinasloe. Said he'd do a good job, Polish lads working for him, very good, blah blah blah. Gave him short shrift. Gardai are aware of this lad also I believe.
    ya irishbob was on about them they thined the paint with diesel:eek: stay well clear of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

I was out in the orchard with the strimmer today and couldnt believe the trees. Leaves all burned and very little green left. Looks like my apple crop will now just about make 1 apple tart:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

5live wrote: »
    I was out in the orchard with the strimmer today and couldnt believe the trees. Leaves all burned and very little green left. Looks like my apple crop will now just about make 1 apple tart:mad:

I notice some of the bracken in the ould lads place have the top leaves burned by what I guess was salt carried in the wind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Never thought of that:o. Only a mile from the atlantic as the crow flies, if any of them can fly in this weather. I wonder if i should put a bit of fert on them to give a bit of a boost

5live wrote: »
    Never thought of that:o. Only a mile from the atlantic as the crow flies, if any of them can fly in this weather. I wonder if i should put a bit of fert on them to give a bit of a boost
    its a bit late in the season now but you can put sulphate of potash around them and dig it in.this is for apples trees and other fruits.dont use farmyard manure around apples trees or other fruit bushes it puts up too much soft green growth and will lead to mildew.you will get sulphate of potash in garden centre.

sold 4 angus cross calves today , fine healthy calves , got a call from the person who bought them this evening to say one of the calves had done a runner:) now they live 20 miles from me , the calf in question is only a week old , last seen heading towards dublin... i posted the movement permits this evening.. they are after spending 4 hours looking for the calf , the calf is just off the cow

i never knew them angus were wild:D the man will be looking for money back:p hopefully the calf will turn up what sort of money did they make.

this person has bought 18 so far off me this year... and knows once the calf leaves here it not my problem, they let it get away... i am going to ring bandon this morning just to clarify that they had signed the movement permit yesterday and that it is now their animal... i am charging 175 each - i could get more but they have bought so many off me i want to keep them happy

phew! they found the calf this evening... thank god.... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Finno59

anyone going to this dairy farm walk on tuesday in killimor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

Finno59 wrote: »

hopefully if we get the slurry out to morro and monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭PMU

Finno59 wrote: »
    yes,wouldnt miss it!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

phew! they found the calf this evening... thank god.... :cool:
    How far did he get? :p

well she was a few miles up the road but turned and went back to a neighbours field.. think the guards saw her on the road ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Busy weekend
    Got up at 6 thursday and went on 4 hour trip and brought 10 heifer calves
    got up at 5 on friday and got a new baby son
    up at 7 saturday and dug out old hedging and trees in garden around 30 tractor trailer loads to surprise her and new arrival when they get home
    Long day again today cooking cleaning milking gardening feeding and farming
    tired now going to bed:o

djmc wrote: »
    Busy weekend
    Got up at 6 thursday and went on 4 hour trip and brought 10 heifer calves
    got up at 5 on friday and got a new baby son
    up at 7 saturday and dug out old hedging and trees in garden around 30 tractor trailer loads to surprise her and new arrival when they get home
    Long day again today cooking cleaning milking gardening feeding and farming
    tired now going to bed:o
    congrats .... fun starts now:D:D