If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

whelan1 wrote: »
    yup , how do you reply to a 3 year old when they ask why they aren't together?

They're getting ready for a game of hurling/football, and look, they both have their own strips too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

another question. we put the eggs in 21 days ago , the ones that havent hatched by now do we assume they are not going to hatch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

another question. we put the eggs in 21 days ago , the ones that havent hatched by now do we assume they are not going to hatch?

Those ones make exceptionally good omelettes.:D You have both ateing and drinking in them.:cool: First thing in the morning after a feed of drink, the night before. You would foot ten hoppers of turf in a hour.

Tora Bora wrote: »
    Those ones make exceptionally good omelettes.:D You have both ateing and drinking in them.:cool: First thing in the morning after a feed of drink, the night before. You would foot ten hoppers of turf in a hour.
    :D lol at that one, might crack one open tomorrow just to see what its like , will let ye know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

throw in another splash of water into the incubator in case the last few eggs have dried out (the water will soften the shell and make it easier for the chick to pick its way out) and give them two or three days . You might be lucky and a few more might pop out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

was looking forward to a few beers in the sun with the oh this evening-didnt happen, was clipping the cows tails(herds comp next week) when i dropped the clippers with only 14left to do-took an hour to fix it and just as i was washing up i noticed the slats were full up. spent an hour and a half pumping into the overground tank. got home at 8.30 wrecked tired and alls the oh was going on about was her summer holidays-lucky teachers is all i say

moy83 wrote: »
    throw in another splash of water into the incubator in case the last few eggs have dried out (the water will soften the shell and make it easier for the chick to pick its way out) and give them two or three days . You might be lucky and a few more might pop out
    got 2 more this morning:)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,960 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

got 2 more this morning:)
    Torabora will be dissappointed so:D

No hangover cure

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

we opened 4 of the eggs just there, rotten stuff:eek: no chicks in them ... there are still 6 duck eggs and 6 hen eggs in there

the duck eggs take 28 days i think

ye thats what i think and do goose eggs take 35 days? the duck eggs will only be in 3 weeks on monday , we got them off a neighbour ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

reilig wrote: »
    My mother in law hatched 2 turkey eggs under a small hen last year and both hatched. She minded them for a couple of months until they got too big for her and they started taking bullying her and taking her food.
    Your poor mother in law:D

Just finished shearing the sheeps so in topping form and hoping to go for a few scoops tonight and check out the match and see how the other 95% of the population live.

And not a maggot in sight:D:D. Happy days

ye thats what i think and do goose eggs take 35 days? the duck eggs will only be in 3 weeks on monday , we got them off a neighbour ..
    goose eggs are around 35 days but it can change by a few days for different breeds i think geese are the easyiest things to mind once they hatched they grow rapid compared to hens or ducks . I had a few last year the had nothing but grass and fattened mighty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

stanflt wrote: »
    alls the oh was going on about was her summer holidays-lucky teachers is all i say

'walk a day in my shoes'..........

went away for an hour to come back to feathers everywhere 3 fooking dogs got our hens stll missing some . kids devastated , have the dogs locked in a shed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

went away for an hour to come back to feathers everywhere 3 fooking dogs got our hens stll missing some . kids devastated , have the dogs locked in a shed

Your dogs or someone elses?

we have no dogs since dd was savaged by a dog last year... i have the 3 dogs locked in a shed ... have rang the guards and dog warden- not much use as its a bank holiday weekend, dh wants to shoot them but i want to find out the owners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭what happen

we have no dogs since dd was savaged by a dog last year... i have the 3 dogs locked in a shed ... have rang the guards and dog warden- not much use as its a bank holiday weekend, dh wants to shoot them but i want to find out the owners
    the dh is right shoot them and no more trouble.you have to feed and water the dogs and clean the shed after them.thats why i got out of sheep savaged by dogs had 10 down to two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

5live wrote: »
    Just finished shearing the sheeps so in topping form and hoping to go for a few scoops tonight and check out the match and see how the other 95% of the population live.

And not a maggot in sight:D:D. Happy days

get any quotes for the wool ?

best I could get is €1.30/kg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Give a heads up to the local garda so they know what's happening. Take a note of the time of the call and name and rank of the garda
    Seems your husband has done this already

If the dogs reappear shot them dead.
    If you catch them in the act, shot them dead and try to trace them to the owner for compensation

Public liability insurance would cover this

Keep the local garda aware anyway
    If your husband shots the dog the owner may be straight to the gardaí. So you need to keep updating the local garda so they know the score.
    Get your story in first so to speak.

Again, always take a note of times and dates and name & rank when you make a call

thanks rang the guards last night... kids had nightmares , dd that was attacked last year wont go out of the house .... why do people have dogs if they wont look after them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,036 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

.... why do people have dogs if they wont look after them

Indeed - if someone can't be bothered to ensure their dogs don't stray in rural areas then they usually can't be bothered to do basic things like neuter their pet, which is why Ireland has some of the worst figures in Western Europe when it comes to the sheer number of strays destroyed every year:mad: :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,036 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056289825

Shocking stuff for June!! - Surely we can't be looking at a 6th poor summer in a row??:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Birdnuts wrote: »
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056289825

Shocking stuff for June!! - Surely we can't be looking at a 6th poor summer in a row??:(

ya fairly cold here this morning, rain just about to kick off

got a good days rain yesterday, was badly needed .... the triticale just shot out of it yesterday...make sure ye have the hi mag buckets with the sucklers lads , real tetany weather if there is going to be frost or snow:eek:

snowman707 wrote: »
    get any quotes for the wool ?

best I could get is €1.30/kg
    Havent looked yet. Just glad to be shorn. Off for 2 weeks as have to have op on wednesday morning so not able to stir for a week. But will get bored after a day or 2 and will start ringing around. But first a bit of fencing and fert spreading. What bank holiday:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

Milked the cows at 4this morning cause the cows were been judged for the herds competition at 4this evening-they looked great, had them all washed and tails clipped. a lot of work but enjoyable:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭delaney001

took delivery of a second hand version of this there saturday evening. Was planning to be in and watching telly by 8 after milking but couldnt resist going out and givin her a test drive across 4 acres.

http://www.fastline.com/flimages/internet/033/007/4003042_2.jpg

Brother went down to waterford there the other day to buy it, sneaky hoore never told me he got a handler and all. New McHale bale handler, fairly sweet now. Wouldnt really be big bale men or anything but contractor was looking for 40/hr to draw in a few bales, well have it covered id say with this season and half next years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭what happen

what the story now did you get the hens that are missing.