No justice in this country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    Not when they meet the banner this year;)

Finesse not required in this situation

More of an Ollie Baker hacket tackle :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

jive wrote: »
    Yeah I understand the not wanting your family to do it in case it escalates. Most people wouldn't bother giving someone a cheeky anonymous hiding and I don't blame them. Better just leaving it off cause chances are you'll only cause yourself more hassle. BUT if you're really annoyed even in a few weeks time then it's probably a good choice. Car with 4 people in, 3 hop out when he's drunk on his own walking home and just kick the **** out of him. Hop back in and cruise away living the dream. Cowardly some might say but headbutting a docile leaving certer when he's 2 years his senior ain't too favourable
    Might give the brother a little satisfaction too. It happens all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭amybabes

HoneyRyder wrote: »
    You clearly have no concept of selflessness at all so trying to engage with you about that is pretty pointless.

Not at all and good luck to you trying to find where I suggested otherwise. It just sickens me that people are so quick to jump on their high horse when they or their family are affected but largely couldn't give a toss what happens otherwise.

Essentially makes them no better than all the others out to look after themselves in this country. No concept of the greater good has basically put us in the mess we're in today.

I honestly don't know what to say to you.

Am shocked at your opinion of me!

Especially when I've already said what happens to other people is alot worse than what i've seen in my town.
    For example, the Collins family in Limerick who's son/brother was innocently murdered and now have to live under 24 hour garda protection.
    ONE example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

You clearly have no concept of selflessness at all so trying to engage with you about that is pretty pointless.

It just sickens me that people are so quick to jump on their high horse when they or their family are affected but largely couldn't give a toss what happens otherwise.

Essentially makes them no better than all the others out to look after themselves in this country. No concept of the greater good has basically put us in the mess we're in today.

Yeah.... that & all the know-all preachy types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

Same thing happened to a friend of mine. One scumbag knocked out his front teeth and gave my other friend a bloody nose. He also has to get a few thousand in surgeries to fix his teeth.

The friend who got the bloody nose was out last night and saw the same scumbag again go up to a guy and say "did you throw a chip at my cousin?" to which the poor chap replied "no.. I dont even have any chips I dont want any trouble.." He just knocked the poor chap out for no reason.

The best part? The 1st night the guards caught yer man and sent him home in a taxi aww isn't that nice :)

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Not at all and good luck to you trying to find where I suggested otherwise. It just sickens me that people are so quick to jump on their high horse when they or their family are affected but largely couldn't give a toss what happens otherwise.

This would be perfect for a new thread in Humanities, great debates over there

But yeah, you're not adding much to this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭icywind1980

It sickens you that people care about their families more than perfect strangers? That speaks a lot about your upbringing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

It sickens you that people care about their families more than perfect strangers? That speaks a lot about your upbringing.

You're not in a position to make assumptions about me or my upbringing. I've already extended my apologies regarding the OP's brother being involved in a scuffle but forgive me if I find it largely irrelevant in relation to the magnitude of crap that other people are experiencing right now.

Oh but its ok for YOU to make assumptions about other people but not for them to make them about you. I.E me not "giving a toss what happens" to people other than my own and that i have no concept of selflessness!

Hmmmmmmm
    Don't give it out if you can't take it!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

You're not in a position to make assumptions about me or my upbringing. I've already extended my apologies regarding the OP's brother being involved in a scuffle but forgive me if I find it largely irrelevant in relation to the magnitude of crap that other people are experiencing right now.
    your brain is literally the size of a pea.Prove me wrong......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Finesse not required in this situation

More of an Ollie Baker hacket tackle :pac:
    But Ollie was so eloquent:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

You are wasting your time posting this in after hours, post it in the legal discussion forum and see if there are civil suits etc. that you could bring against this scumbag, he could be paying your brother back for the rest of his life potentially.

I just wanted to vent anger - i have lost faith completely in the Gardai and the Irish legal/justice system.

Even if they made him pay 10 euro a week from his dole in compensation it would add up I know. But 480 a year - 10 years+ adding up to what its going to cost to get his teeth right. He's having a root canal treatment today that's costing E850 alone!

Unfortunately i don't think it will happen though......
    Its so sickening. Everyone I have told about it here are disgusted. If it happened in Australia he would have to pay around 10 grand compensation and get 2-3 years for assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,658 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

well you're in no position to make wild insinuations regarding the OP being selfish. honestly, it's a thread recounting a personal story. if you find it so offensive that people are actually replying to the topic of the thread and not what you think it should be, then stop bitching and go start a thread about what you want to talk about.
    amybabes wrote: »
    I just wanted to vent anger - i have lost faith completely in the Gardai and the Irish legal/justice system.

Even if they made him pay 10 euro a week from his dole in compensation it would add up I know. But 480 a year - 10 years+ adding up to what its going to cost to get his teeth right. He's having a root canal treatment today that's costing E850 alone!

Its so sickening. Everyone I have told about it here are disgusted. If it happened in Australia he would have to pay around 10 grand compensation and get 2-3 years for assault.

unfortunately the law seems to heavily favor the criminal. so much of Irish law is ridiculous. My sympathies to your brother OP. i'd like to see justice done to that guy and all scumbags like him, but i'm not that naive. the sad thing is that the lack of consequences will make him feel more invincible than before (assuming he wasn't too f*cked to remember)

well you're in no position to make wild insinuations regarding the OP being selfish. honestly, it's a thread recounting a personal story. if you find it so offensive that people are actually replying to the topic of the thread and not what you think it should be, then stop bitching and go start a thread about what you want to talk about.

unfortunately the law seems to heavily favor the criminal. so much of Irish law is ridiculous. My sympathies to your brother OP. i'd like to see justice done to that guy and all scumbags like him, but i'm not that naive. the sad thing is that the lack of consequences will make him feel more invincible than before (assuming he wasn't too f*cked to remember)

Thanks for your support :)
    Yes that's what I've also said to my family when my mother was deliberating whether to let him go make a statement - she was worried it would bring more hassle on him.
    My reckoning was:
    1)He makes a statement, some of his friends make witness statements. He may or may not cause trouble/threaten them/assault them or their property
    2) Nobody makes a statement. He knows he got away scott free. Nothing to stop him doing all of the above again.

At least if he knows he has an upcoming court date he may think twice about getting into more trouble.

I don't know. Its hard for an 18 year old young fella to have the courage to pursue a court case against someone like him. I think it will make life very difficult for him in the town. Guys like this are not left into many of the bars in the town but they're the type that hang around on the street/in the takeaways afterwards looking for a fight.
    The general reaction from people is of disgust though. Even some of the emmm scumbag community have said it was disgraceful.

Myself, I would find it hard to sit back and do nothing if my teeth were destroyed and it was going to cost me thousands and alot of painful procedures to get them anyway fixed up. I would at least try to get it to court I think.

I just know that for hours after the attack, he was wandering around the town smirking and boasting that the Gardai couldnt touch him. SICKENING

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Yet you are in a position to make assumptions and judgements?

Me smell hypocrisy me thinks!!!!!!!!

Seriously, your comments are distinctly unhelpful and judgemental, with NO regard for the fact the OP is justifiable hurt and angry. There is little or no point in pointing out other people go through worse, that's a given! You may know someone going through worse, but we can all point out the poor mother in Africa loosing her baby to a curable and preventable disease. It's a scalable!

Bit of compassion wouldn't go amiss here.

@OP, I hope he gets better soon, and I hope that the psychological scars heal as quickly as they physical ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Predator_

So just needed to rant as I am so angry!
    My baby brother (18) was assaulted in our home town over the weekend by a complete scum of the earth ratbag (20), he walked up to him just outside a GARDA STATION and headbutted him into the face, driving some of his front teeth up into the roof of his mouth, breaking some of his teeth, splitting his lip open.
    Apparently he was drinking in the park with a gang of his scumbag friends, and was drunk and off his head on something. My brother had to be rushed a considerable distance to cork hospital for emergency dental surgery and treatement. Has been told it will take more surgery, root canal treatement to get his teeth anyway right.

My brother didn't even know the guy who attacked him, he was acting the big man in front of his scummer friends and assaulted him for no reason. My brother was brought straight into the garda station by his friends where they called an ambulance. I have to say, my brother is an absolute softie, a real harmless guy - I have other brothers to compare him to! It made my blood boil. He's a Leaving Cert Student so he's studying like mad, doesnt venture out a lot.

Well the Gardai have said that even if it gets to court - we could probably expect the guy to get a "slap on the wrists" and a E150 fine!! And to get it to court, my brother's friends would need to give witness statements. When the most likely court outcome is the above, it is hardly worth his friends giving statements against this guy when he will probably terrorise them for it leading up to court and afterwards. They are all afraid.
    The cost of the dental treatment (which we have been told to expect to be thousands) isnt even the worst part, my poor brother was choking on his own blood and had to endure a 2 hour journey to hospital, is now in considerable pain and is afraid to go outside the door.

Makes me sick that this scum of the earth will probably get away with it as he seems to be above the law. I might add this isn't the first time he's been in trouble, he seems to have a record.

There is no justice

Dont blame the scumbag, hes just doing what he was put here to do. Blame our weak society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

If that happened to me, I wouldn't think twice about goin after the guy who did it and givin him a good swing back in return.

If your teeth were rammed into the roof of your mouth you probably wouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

Ah sure the poor fella who did it to him is probably from a "disadvantaged" background.

We spend far too much time, money and effort babysitting scumbags in this country and treating them like victims. Cut this scobes benefits completely (100% garaunteed he's on the dole/disability) and **** him in a cell for 23 hours a day for 5-10 years for the assault.

That's the long and the short of it. No deterrent anymore. And the Gardai seem powerless to do anything about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Honey Ryder, I hope irony doesn't call to your door anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

So just needed to rant as I am so angry!
    My baby brother (18) was assaulted in our home town over the weekend by a complete scum of the earth ratbag (20), he walked up to him just outside a GARDA STATION and headbutted him into the face, driving some of his front teeth up into the roof of his mouth, breaking some of his teeth, splitting his lip open.
    Apparently he was drinking in the park with a gang of his scumbag friends, and was drunk and off his head on something. My brother had to be rushed a considerable distance to cork hospital for emergency dental surgery and treatement. Has been told it will take more surgery, root canal treatement to get his teeth anyway right.

My brother didn't even know the guy who attacked him, he was acting the big man in front of his scummer friends and assaulted him for no reason. My brother was brought straight into the garda station by his friends where they called an ambulance. I have to say, my brother is an absolute softie, a real harmless guy - I have other brothers to compare him to! It made my blood boil. He's a Leaving Cert Student so he's studying like mad, doesnt venture out a lot.

Well the Gardai have said that even if it gets to court - we could probably expect the guy to get a "slap on the wrists" and a E150 fine!! And to get it to court, my brother's friends would need to give witness statements. When the most likely court outcome is the above, it is hardly worth his friends giving statements against this guy when he will probably terrorise them for it leading up to court and afterwards. They are all afraid.
    The cost of the dental treatment (which we have been told to expect to be thousands) isnt even the worst part, my poor brother was choking on his own blood and had to endure a 2 hour journey to hospital, is now in considerable pain and is afraid to go outside the door.

Makes me sick that this scum of the earth will probably get away with it as he seems to be above the law. I might add this isn't the first time he's been in trouble, he seems to have a record.

There is no justice

****in scumbag is just a leach on society

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 trek04

That's terrible..should have given reply with a big hit back on his face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

trek04 wrote: »
    That's terrible..should have given reply with a big hit back on his face.

Wha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Ah sure the poor fella who did it to him is probably from a "disadvantaged" background.

We spend far too much time, money and effort babysitting scumbags in this country and treating them like victims. Cut this scobes benefits completely (100% garaunteed he's on the dole/disability) and **** him in a cell for 23 hours a day for 5-10 years for the assault.

Two strikes law needs to be enacted, mandatory 10 year jail sentence for a second serious offence, say like assault or burglary. first strike cut his dole, no fines no jail sentences, nothing that will cost the exchequer money, just cut his dole. second offence jail. No ifs or buts.

****ing knackers have the run of this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭SparkyTech

Hope they serve him some justice OP. Scumbag is a nice word for these pathetic excuses of human biengs. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Predator_ wrote: »
    Dont blame the scumbag, hes just doing what he was put here to do. Blame our weak society.
    Do blame the scumbag. No amount of deprivation can excuse random attacks on innocent people, except maybe oxygen deprivation...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Heartbreaking stuff. Im always banging on about our liberal justice system. Its not as if we are asking for people to be executed, we just want some sort of justice. I agree with a previous post. Your brother should bring him to a civil court and milk him for everything he has and ever will have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

If it costing your brother that amount of money, take a civil action against the scumbag who hit him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Have you actually made a complaint to the Gardai OP? If the Garda is trying to fob you off go to a different one, if you're getting nowhere make a complaint to the ombudsman. In any case take out a civil action against the guy to reclaim expenses

Its amazing the amount of people who will say that these scumbags are not fit to be part of our society but in return say to kick the crap out of him. Get your brothers friends to give statements, if the scumbag threatens them make sure they tell the police.

It is a terrible situation to be in OP, but you cant make a statement like "theres no justice in this country" when you havent gone down any judicial route at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

Two strikes law needs to be enacted, mandatory 10 year jail sentence for a second serious offence, say like assault or burglary. first strike cut his dole, no fines no jail sentences, nothing that will cost the exchequer money, just cut his dole. second offence jail. No ifs or buts.

****ing knackers have the run of this country.

Ah but that would probably be deemed 'unconstitutional' and a 'breach of his human rights'. The PC mob would be out in force.