Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for "Martial Law" on Public Sector Pay...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭sarumite

marknjb wrote: »
    how long do u think u would do that in the private sector before u got ure p45

I have gone from the Private sector to the public sector back to the private sector and now unemployment in the last 10 years. I survived in both. I worked with some great people in both and some very poor people in both. The only difference was that the poor people didn't survive the private sector as they did the public.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Japer

n97 mini wrote: »
    She is worried about how little work she has to do and how well paid she is for it, and is concerned that it is all going to end it tears. She's not happy to have her pay cut, and would happily do more work than her current 16 hours a week for the same money.

I think many other "common sense" type people in the public service also know they are overpaid and underworked for the pay they get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,069 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

the problem with cutting PS wages now is that anyone with a mortgage in the PS has borrowed on the strenght of the wage they are on, the PS wages have come down quite a bit in the last 18 months and is putting alot of people to the wall, granted there are still many people in the PS overpaid however you cant keep reducing their salary and expect them to be able to repay debts they incurred against their original pay it just doesnt make sense as itll lead to defaults and the rest

Likewise you can't keep paying people based on their outgoings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

The writing is on the wall for the public sector. The country is broke. Ye cannot hide behind the Croke Park agreement forever
    Its about time ye shared the pain of the private sector and come crashing down from your ivory tower ;)

What pain is that you refer to? The 1.5 million still in employment who have had an average cut of 7%. Or the poor scapegoated public servant who has been cut an average of 14%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

how long do u think u would do that in the private sector before u got ure p45

I'm sure that Jimmy\Japer\gigino can come up with some meaningless figure that would satisfy you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭Count Dooku

sollar wrote: »
    What pain is that you refer to? The 1.5 million still in employment who have had an average cut of 7%.
    apart from those who had compulsory 100% cut and not included into any statistic

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,494 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

apart from those who had compulsory 100% cut and not included into any statistic

There the ones that need the help most but bear in mind that although they lost their jobs, they will not get a 100% cut in income due to SW, FIS, mortgage relief etc etc

Still though it's not the same and hope they gt a meaningful job as soon as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

What pain is that you refer to? The 1.5 million still in employment who have had an average cut of 7%. Or the poor scapegoated public servant who has been cut an average of 14%.

What 7% cut is this. My income is down 35-40%. Unlike alot of people i do not begrudge people their jobs in the public sector. It's not about the individual it's about the bloated sector which we the majority of the workforce cannot now afford to pay. It's unfortunate but it's the case. Don't you think that most people would rather you stayed at your current wage levels than having to pump in all of those billions into the black hole that is the banking sector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

The private sector is not one big family. If someone loses their job its tough form them but its not for the other 1.5 million still in employment.

@Bullseye1 that is the 7% average brian lenihan quotes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

The same Brian that said the budget would be 3 billion and ended up being 6 billion. Can you really trust their figures.

There is a huge problem with the public sector and it's not frontline staff it's the people at the top who are unqualified to run a country. These guys are on more than the leader of the country and appear to be "Untouchable".

I regret the stick the ordinary worker in the public sector has had to endure when these faceless bureaucrats get away with negligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭marknjb

alot of the bad feeling towards the public sector comes from people having to deal with the muppets with no manners and no common sence at present i would say there is about 1 muppet for every 3 good civil servants unfortunatly people tend to remember the bad ones people always moaned a bit about the civil service but up to now we thought we could afoard them i have no problem with people getting good money but what sickens me is the wasters and muppets getting money just to turn up if the people could be sacked for not doing their job then they would sharpen up fairly lively
    just one example i know off is a council that hired on an engineer he was an older guy who the people hiring thought it would be an insult to put him on probation so they gave him a perm contract he was useless cost them a fortune in **** ups they could not sack him so they agreed that he go out on long term sick (stress) so they could get in another engineer
    personally i would have sacked him plus the ape that hired him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

The only "Martial Law" here is the generalisations and begrudery on the Public Sector. The majority of the public sector already have had €100 taken from their take home pay, one way or another.

People say I know 350k people are are excessively overpaid and excessively underworked.

Well I know 450k people who are excessively overpaid and do NO work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Anti Public service thread by begrudgers and people with their hand in the sand!!!!!

ITS ON

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

The only real question here is WHAT IS TO BE DONE about the useless civil servents and their overpaid/ protected jobs :confused:

The private sector is not one big family.

But public sector is
    And we can assume that 10% of all cuts was a solidarity tax in order to prevent compulsory redundancies and pension reductions

just one example i know off is a council that hired on an engineer he was an older guy who the people hiring thought it would be an insult to put him on probation so they gave him a perm contract

im sorry but this just cannot be true, you cannot, no way in hell, just simply cant walk into a Local Government job without the mandatory 12 month probationary period. Even permanent staff start out on a 12 month probationary period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭galway2007

The only real question here is WHAT IS TO BE DONE about the useless civil servents and their overpaid/ protected jobs :confused:

They should take martial law to the scumbags of private sector workers and employers who have **** up this country for even kids that are not born yet
    Those scumbags of private sector employers are still screwing Irish people today to help pay the waiters in the private sector high wages
    A lot of yea would be better off if yea stop moaning and stop writing the same **** over and over here. Some off yea are over 2 year moaning here and I have to ask do yea work at all????????????
    There are people employed in the private sector that should be deported from Ireland for what they have done
    Scumbags is what works in the private sector and if yea are not happy then **** off out of this country and I am sure www.ryanair.ie will screw you are you leave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 AndyPanty

I fully agree with you and the Private Sector are doing all this crying to try and cover up the damage that they have done. I chased few if any PS's in my job but I was all the time chasing down those in the private sector and the BLACK ECONOMY who were and are ripping us off and then crying lodly to cover up their wrong doings. GOOD ON YOU GALWAYcool.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭puffdragon

galway2007 wrote: »
    They should take martial law to the scumbags of private sector workers and employers who have **** up this country for even kids that are not born yet
    Those scumbags of private sector employers are still screwing Irish people today to help pay the waiters in the private sector high wages
    A lot of yea would be better off if yea stop moaning and stop writing the same **** over and over here. Some off yea are over 2 year moaning here and I have to ask do yea work at all????????????
    There are people employed in the private sector that should be deported from Ireland for what they have done
    Scumbags is what works in the private sector and if yea are not happy then **** off out of this country and I am sure www.ryanair.ie will screw you are you leave

What if we were to stabilise the pay structure within the public service so that there were no (so called) fat cats whose fees and wages add millions to hospital bills and local government costs, a wage structure which rewards experience and performance.

The private sector wage boom is what caused the problem to begin with and public sector pay was way behind for a few years and now that it has caught up it's too late as the economy can no longer afford it.

The rank and file in the public sector are not well off anymore since the universal charge and income levy's are making life hard for the lower paid there, but this ravaging of workers wages has to stop, and the public sector has to stand up and say "enough is enough".

I was self employed all through the boom and enjoyed the credit cards as much as the next man but was always appreciative of the educated young people who made lives for themselves here in hospitals, teaching,guards etc.

Without an affluent public sector the economy wont work, a steady job,good working conditions and a decent pension not much to ask in return for the cost of the education and time invested in getting there.

Unfortunately their efforts are not being recognised by management especially in the hospitals and certianally not the government who seem intent on giving their money away to the banks!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

on average the 1.5 million are earning more than a third less than the poor :rolleyes: 350 thousand who have seen an alledged 14 % pay cut , its all relative as they say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Surely it's not the pay scale but the number of ps that is the problem?

Personally I think a top to bottom restructuring based on private sectors equivalents and then all ps re-apply for their jobs.

Would that not sort out a lot of the problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭rumour

Lol don't worry your wish is coming true...you can tell it to the IMF or whoever else will listen...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

Can somebody translate this for me please? Why is a non-anglophone ranting in this thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 AndyPanty

You in private sector have caused all the sh**** and all you can do now to justify your position is to attack the Public Servants. Slow down, Pay your taxes, don't smuggle, don't place dangerous toys or electrical goods on the market, don't buy counterfit cigs, washed diesel, don't get sick, don't die and there would be no need for Public Servants. biggrin.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

Erm no... Enjoy the cuts lads, there's more on the way.

/fatcat

srsly78 wrote: »
    Erm no... Enjoy the cuts lads, there's more on the way.

/fatcat

there be cuts for everybody this year i'd imagine, PS and PrvS.

/fatdog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭fliball123

More paycuts = strikes

More people not supporting the ps and strikes = FG in gov

More paycuts = strikes
    More paycuts = strikes = more harder economy will be hit = less taxes will be collected = less money to pay public servants = more paycuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,940 ✭✭✭20Cent

A martial type law is required but not on the public service. It is needed for these financial crooks who ruined the economy. CAB was created after the murder of Veronica Guerin, something similar is required for these crimes.

Say the public service do agree to take one for the team, 30% paycuts all around. Then they see articles about people who owe tens of billions getting off scott free. Billions going to private investors who gambled and lost. Don't see how such an unfair society could remain civil after that.

Something has to be done about that first. Then look at the PS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭fliball123

dissed doc wrote: »
    No it hasn't. Public service in Ireland spending is significantly less per person compared to 1st world western-EU countries.

but it is overspending and borrowing a hell of a lot more than anywhere for the public services ?