Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for "Martial Law" on Public Sector Pay...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

have more holidays

some get more holidays, some get less, mass generalisation on your part there.
    oh and the sick days as well, time now to sort this, for once and for all

what is this sick day, do private sector workers not get sick......at all?
    if your sick, your sick end of, i dont think the cold/flu virus gives two fcuks wether your private or public sector to ne honest :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

kceire wrote: »
    what is this sick day, do private sector workers not get sick......at all?
    if your sick, your sick end of, i dont think the cold/flu virus gives two fcuks wether your private or public sector to ne honest :rolleyes:

I think the point is that public servents have sick days that they should take, sick or not. Everything in the public sector seems to be about waste and how to milk the system :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Japer

kceire wrote: »
    what is this sick day
    You colleague in the public service calls some of his " sickies " duvet days,

He "usually" takes his "duvet days" around the time that his spring lambs are born so he can keep an eye on them".

Lets face it, everyone knows the lack of productivity and poor value from our 300,000 + public servants, who are paid relatively so much extra to serve the population of this little country, which is equivalent to greater Manchester.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

How many times do ye need to be told that the largest pay differential is at the lower end of the payscales.

Let me guess you are one of those and want everyone above you to be cut instead.
    Read my post again: I said there is no excuse (i.e. reason) not to cut those above the average industrial wage. I said nothing about those below it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Merch

AndyPanty wrote: »
    None of you know what your talking about, your bull****ting through your ass. A job in the PS is a **** job in good times and a great job in bad times. I chose a career in the PS and I my wages were robbed by a FF/Green Gov. Dare they come to my door, Oh I'm looking forward to this election campaign How many of you have tried to evade tax or take in more than your allowance. Without the PS you would do it a lot more. Glad you sleep safely in your home at night without thinking of the checks that were made on the cable, the electric components in your house, Oh Yea some PS has checked these out, Without that PS you would have rubbish electrics in your home and you'd be waiting on a fire. I wasn't paid enough for the 50 60 hours a week I worked without o/t, I got out early,icon7.gif

I tend to disagree, having spent more than a few years in the PS, I got out, but a lot of layabouts hang on as it can be very handy/cushy. having said that there are plenty of hard working people in the PS and it is soul destroying watching layabouts and a$$kissers skive while you do your best, I dont know what the second half is about. If by get out, you mean leave completely, then I think thats understandable if you are motivated (still even I wouldnt recommend it these days, ie resigning) however the PS needs to be overhauled/made efficient.
    I also believe if we are to ask everyone across the spectrum to take cuts then that means the top should be first, we should stop handing money hand over fist in golden handshakes, massive pay and expenses to politicians/civil servants/public servants at the top, not that it will save as much as cutting a smaller amount off thousands, but they (politicians) need to take the pain too and lead by example, too idealistic???

As for the comment about reducing the salaries of clerical staff down to €22k, this will cause a lot of civil servants to default on their mortgages, and guess who will have to pay for putting them in social housing when that happens? The taxpayer.
    The tax payer (aka the private sector) pays for them all anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Officer Giggles

n97 mini wrote: »
    The tax payer (aka the private sector) pays for them all anyway.

since when did the public sector not pay taxes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

sollar wrote: »
    I think the new government will offer a redundancy package fairly soon after election and if they get adequate numbers the croke park agreement will stand.

If it's an attempt to clear dead wood it won't work.

The people who'll take redundancy will be the youngest, they might head off traveling for a year or back to college or do something new
    Or even older people who would try something new

If you've been in the same job for decades and set in your ways it's unlikely you'd apply for this

It won't be the worst staff who'll take redundancy, far from it

everyone pays (should pay) taxes but PS workers paying tax, doesnt fund the PS

Merch wrote: »
    everyone pays (should pay) taxes but PS workers paying tax, doesnt fund the PS

thats the same for every country i would imagine, no matter how small a PS you have their taxes aint gonna cover their pay

If it's an attempt to clear dead wood it won't work.

The people who'll take redundancy will be the youngest, they might head off traveling for a year or back to college or do something new
    Or even older people who would try something new

If you've been in the same job for decades and set in your ways it's unlikely you'd apply for this

It won't be the worst staff who'll take redundancy, far from it

Agree completely, they will never leave and they will be the ones unwilling to upskill without kicking up a fuss as they are too comfortable and they dont want to push the boundaries as they are afraid of their limitations, which they would realise anyone can push if they tried, but there is what motivation to do this by them (some of them anyway)?

The PS don't generate any wealth. That's solely the job of the private sector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

The_Thing wrote: »
    I have a farm and livestock which I must tend before and after my day job.

I usually take my "duvet days" around the time that my spring lambs are born so I can keep an eye on them.

You're funny.:D

Thing that public servants are missing is...this document here (http://www.merrionstreet.ie/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/EUIMFmemo.pdf) does not leave these decisions in the hands of the Gov. And whether you like it or not, numbers and pay has to be reduced.We all know it.They know it.The EU know it. The unions know it. There are a variety of ways it could be done to make it as a fair as possible, but who knows what convoluted methods they'll come up with.
    Strikes are unlikely to have an effect.We can no longer afford our PS.That's it, really.

n97 mini wrote: »
    The PS don't generate any wealth. That's solely the job of the private sector.

correct, the PS carry out a PUBLIC SERVICE, the PS is not there to create wealth in any country they are there to serve the country. nurses, gardaí, fire service, army

Yes, and by definition since the private sector are the money makers, they're the ones who pay PS salaries.

Agreed, they are there to serve the country, but it should be done as efficiently and cost effectively as possible, for the benefit of all tax payers.

Merch wrote: »
    Agreed, they are there to serve the country, but it should be done as efficiently and cost effectively as possible, for the benefit of all tax payers.

i dont disagree with you one bit, the PS has ballooned out of all proportion and would have continued the same way for years to come only for the arse falling out of the country, but it is unfair for people to come out with generalised comments implying there is no work being done as everyone is either reading the paper or having a duvet day, and everyone in the PS pays taxes and so contributes towards their own pay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

RichardAnd wrote: »
    Agreed. In the private sector, CEOs and high level executives get paid very well because what they do is essentially a difficult job. In the PS, similar positions SHOULD be paid a similar salary however the differences comes in accountability.

In my opinion, department heads should indeed get salaries on par with their private sector equivalents but they should also be as accountable. If the CEO of a large private company messes up, he could possibly see himself in court. I see no reason why a similar position in the PS should not be seen in the same light.

No.
    PS should never match private sector wages at the higher end. Bertie ahern was spouting this bull**** too, and led the coutry to ruin in the process awarding himself something like 13 pay rises. Leave the PS and go private if money is the priority. See can they make the grade.
    I didn't see E Sheehy or Goggin in court, but I did see them walk away with a couple of million. Some of our politicians are probably envious and feel their golden handshake was inadequate after all the years of service to the state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Trophywife

I deal with the revenue commissioners on a regular basis as I'm an accountant. The attitude of a lot of them is appalling. If I was to treat clients the way they treat they're "customers" I'd be out the door straight away. Its a disgrace to be treated like that especially when I'm the one who pays they're exorbitant salaries. I think they need reminding of that...

The whole system needs reforming. They are too well overpaid for the work the actually do. They took took took when the going was good, and complained in the process, and won't give an inch now when the going gets tough so all the rest of us have to subsidize this now. What happened to their benchmarking salaries now when the private sector takes the hit....double standards!!!

Oh this is great for venting frustration at the system...if only a canvaser would call to my door so I can have my say....none as yet and only a week to go!!

liammur wrote: »
    No.
    PS should never match private sector wages at the higher end. Bertie ahern was spouting this bull**** too, and led the coutry to ruin in the process awarding himself something like 13 pay rises. Leave the PS and go private if money is the priority. See can they make the grade.
    I didn't see E Sheehy or Goggin in court, but I did see them walk away with a couple of million. Some of our politicians are probably envious and feel their golden handshake was inadequate after all the years of service to the state.

its the likes of that s**t that really annoys me, what f**king company is going to hire half the people in the dail let alone bertie and pay him the sort of money he was on, sure he wouldnt be able to get paid i suppose seeing as he couldnt open a bank account

Indeed, bertie ahern & ALL his cabinet were an also-ran, with his bogus economics qualifications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

Japer wrote: »
    You colleague in the public service calls some of his " sickies " duvet days,

He "usually" takes his "duvet days" around the time that his spring lambs are born so he can keep an eye on them".

Lets face it, everyone knows the lack of productivity and poor value from our 300,000 + public servants, who are paid relatively so much extra to serve the population of this little country, which is equivalent to greater Manchester.

You call them "sickies", I call them "duvet days" - it rolls off the tongue easier than "spring lambing days"

The next time you tuck into a nice lamb chop for your tea just ask yourself how much did you really pay for it - if it came from my farm then certainly more than what you paid over the counter for it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

the PS is not there to create wealth in any country they are there to serve the country. nurses, gardaí, fire service, army

SO if a nurse works in a private hospital, he or she is creating wealth, but if they are in a state hospital they are not?
    What happened to their benchmarking salaries now when the private sector takes the hit

They were reduced by 14% on average, more than the private sector average reductions.

ardmacha wrote: »
    SO if a nurse works in a private hospital, he or she is creating wealth, but if they are in a state hospital they are not?

They were reduced by 14% on average, more than the private sector average reductions.

Yes, people must realise that most frontline staff in the PS do a very important job, and of course they contribute to wealth. To suggest otherwise is headbanging stuff.
    Private sector pay is a little more complicated, for instance, many were put on 3 day weeks, which in effect is a pay cut but it isn't classed as one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Japer

Its amazing some - but not all - public servants have the audacity and arrogance to try to depend the overpaid and underworked and inefficient elephant in the room, the public service. The sooner the EU / IMF reduces their pay to at least the level of those countries, the better.

Japer wrote: »
    Its amazing some - but not all - public servants have the audacity and arrogance to try to depend the overpaid and underworked and inefficient elephant in the room, the public service. The sooner the EU / IMF reduces their pay to at least the level of those countries, the better.

I am all for bringing in efficiencies but will a shock strategy to implement changes help? I'd prefer cut the numbers rather than the pay (firstly)
    Voluntary redundancies, then compulsorily but not arbitrary, instead trying to keep skilled workers and targeting the dead wood and managing it so anyone where two members of a family working in PS can be if possible allowed for one to keep a position if the other is made redundant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Thats a bit of a tricky one. Since this is the Irish economy forum I'll go into a bit more depth. There's what's known as the neo-Keynesian injection-leakage model, which is a fairly fundamental principle in economics.

Injections of capital into the economy are good, things like tourism, exports, FDI, mining natural resources, these all inject external money into our economy. We need lots more of these. Once this gets paid out in wages, or other expenditure, it creates a multiplier effect. This means that the real wealth being brought in creates more wealth, the actual amount varies depending on a lot of factors.

Leakage would be things like remittances and taxes, money that leaves the productive economy. PS wages and the dole are only partly leakage, since their pay goes into the economy like everyone elses. In effect they are channels for the redistribution of wealth, which is a good ramification of us living in a socialised country. That's all gone horribly wrong with the banks and mortgages as well, but that's another bucket of kettles.

However, the situation we're in right now is that the amount of wealth that needs to be drawn from the economy to pay for this redistribution mechanism is too much - it's going to damage the productive economy badly (diminishing returns), and the multiplier effect is very low or nonexistent due to loan repayments. So to balance the picture again, the amount that is being redistributed has to be reduced, and ultimately redirected to other channels when things get good again.

And the picture is worse than most people realise.

As a sort of cold comfort, for the overall economy, this is actually a chance to introduce efficiencies and reduce leakage - for example, Singapore went to an all electronic patient records system and saved 98% of the administration overheads involved. Imagine that hitting the HSE. In fact you won't need to, because eventually it will.

This means strikes, this means civil unrest, this means trouble, as the unions enact their roles and plunge the rest of the country into chaos to protect their members. This time however, there is going to be no public support for them, no help, it's a lost cause before it even begins.

While the unions are acting out of self interest, that's exactly how everyone else is going to act, and a lot of people have recently woken up to the way things operate in Ireland today. The connection between taxes and public pay packets has been drawn in emigrated children and family (a second brother of mine hits the plane for Australia next week), in increased taxes, in lost jobs and evictions, and in the international humiliation Ireland has been forced to go through. The knives are out.

Personally I think an intelligent phased plan could be put into place to identify and deal with other areas of waste, and there are many, to minimise the damage to the PS, but I doubt the voice of reason will be heard in the coming years. Everyone has too much to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Perhaps the Army, who received a giant 3% benchmarking increase, and a more recent 13% pay cut, will implement this "martial law".
    As a sort of cold comfort, for the overall economy, this is actually a chance to introduce efficiencies and reduce leakage - for example, Singapore went to an all electronic patient records system and saved 98% of the administration overheads involved. Imagine that hitting the HSE. In fact you won't need to, because eventually it will.

This is exactly the sort of thing that should be done, but there is little enough sign of this sort of thinking.

Perhaps the Army, who received a giant 3% benchmarking increase, and a more recent 13% pay cut, will implement this "martial law".

Compare Irish army pay to what NATO forces are on ,10% cut probably doesnt even get them near.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dissed doc

i dont disagree with you one bit, the PS has ballooned out of all proportion and would have continued the same way for years to come only for the arse falling out of the country, but it is unfair for people to come out with generalised comments implying there is no work being done as everyone is either reading the paper or having a duvet day, and everyone in the PS pays taxes and so contributes towards their own pay

No it hasn't. Public service in Ireland spending is significantly less per person compared to 1st world western-EU countries.