If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Taxi - 9 year rule

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭HappyHouseWife

RoverJames wrote: »
    Already in this thread a Dublin taxi driver has mentioned that he had two cars on the road, the 2nd being driven by a driver he has on the books, now that either means he is leasing out the car or he has a driver employed. My interpretation is that he has a driver employed, otherwise I would have thought he would have just said the 2nd car is leased out.

Just tells you what you know about the taxi industry, I also know VB tru hubby and I know Mr Spook from the protest march's. VB rents the car for a fixed fee ( remember that word "freight"?)
    Mr Spook is being nice to you, I won't be. Re your "BUSY BASE REQUIRE DRIVERS URGENTLY!" etc, you fail to mention that said drivers also require their own car, plate and licences before ANY base is interested in them.
    Your whole "expert on everything" persona is extremely tiring and you're beginning to make a fool of yourself in this thread so why don't you just run along and play with your dinkies, I've read some of your previous posts and I'm mildly embarrassed for you or as they'd say in parts of Dublin "I'm scarlet for your Ma (for havin' ya)":)

. Re your "BUSY BASE REQUIRE DRIVERS URGENTLY!" etc, you fail to mention that said drivers also require their own car, plate and licences before ANY base is interested in them.

No they don't :)
    They require a PSV license and that's that, and they drive the base cars :) Adds also specify owner drivers are ALSO required.
    As said before there is life outside of Dublin, ring your relations in Hoggy Bas and ask them ;)

Is your hubby a user on boards.ie btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

No they don't :)
    They require a PSV license and that's that, and they drive the base cars :) Adds also specify owner drivers are ALSO required.
    As said before there is life outside of Dublin, ring your relations in Hoggy Bas and ask them ;)

Of course there is another reason a base would advertise for drivers,, and that is the more owner drivers the base has, the more base rent the base owner gets,, busy or not he still gets the rent at the end of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,892 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

If things were as bad as folks make them out to be, for example earning €340/60 hours work I would have thought the guts of €2000 for driving an advertisement around would be fantastic. That's 6 weeks wages.

There's not that many companies usng the service, in a recession one of the 1st things companies tend to cut back on, wrongly inmy view, is advertising

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Onkle's already asked you to leave this alone, I've also infracted you on this thread for ignoring mod instruction.

Take a break for 48 hours and rethink your posting please.

Another very slow weekend in the taxi game,, I think Sun night was the quietest I can remember for a long time,, things will really have to pick up.:(
    Found this online "South Dublin County Council has this week adopted a Fine Gael motion, proposed by Cllr. Brian Lawlor (Tallaght South) and seconded by Cllr. William Lavelle (Lucan) calling “on the Taxi Regulator and the Minister for Transport to, abolish, or at the very least postpone the introduction of the 9-year rule and allow already overstressed and overstretched taxi drivers to continue to try to make a living.”

Cllr. Lavelle states: “The 9-year rule is a ridiculous piece of over-regulation. Hard-pressed taxi-drivers with perfectly-working, well-maintained cars should not be targeted in this way just because the regulator subjectively decides their cars to be too old. Taxi-drivers have led the campaign for proper regulation and enforcement of the taxi-industry and we support them. The current regulatory regime is an absolute failure."

ardle1 wrote: »
    Of course there is another reason a base would advertise for drivers,, and that is the more owner drivers the base has, the more base rent the base owner gets,, busy or not he still gets the rent at the end of the week.

And as I pointed out already, this is the way 99.9% of cab companies successfully operate but they do it differently in Cork (apparently:rolleyes:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭steph1

Another very slow weekend in the taxi game,, I think Sun night was the quietest I can remember for a long time,, things will really have to pick up.:(
    Found this online "South Dublin County Council has this week adopted a Fine Gael motion, proposed by Cllr. Brian Lawlor (Tallaght South) and seconded by Cllr. William Lavelle (Lucan) calling “on the Taxi Regulator and the Minister for Transport to, abolish, or at the very least postpone the introduction of the 9-year rule and allow already overstressed and overstretched taxi drivers to continue to try to make a living.”

Cllr. Lavelle states: “The 9-year rule is a ridiculous piece of over-regulation. Hard-pressed taxi-drivers with perfectly-working, well-maintained cars should not be targeted in this way just because the regulator subjectively decides their cars to be too old. Taxi-drivers have led the campaign for proper regulation and enforcement of the taxi-industry and we support them. The current regulatory regime is an absolute failure."

Ardle another very slow weekend indeed and not just the weekend my whole week has been slow just a few regulars and nobody going out. I think the monthly payers got a land this last week when they saw they payslips or paypackets. No disposable income for a lot of people now and taxis are going to suffer in the current situation.!
    I agree with Cllr Lavelle there. There is far too much over-regulation by this quango.
    My take on this is coming from driving in the west of Ireland, that my main problems are not too many taxis but too few punters. Money is scarce. Social life has changed. The uoung wuns have cop on go to the offie and get a tray of cans and some food and stay at home.
    Last Saturday night while there was a small queue for taxis at 3am in the morning there was little or no business until 1am and then it fizzled out at 4am. People do not care what year the taxi is once they can get home. Gone are the days when people were queuing for hours (I remember it well when I lived in Dublin) now its the other extreme.
    This 9 year rule should just be shelved for the moment. And we should put pressure on all our would be TDs and politicians to just stop it for now and give it a year or two and see what way the business is going. So all drivers should bombard their politicians by phone, letter or email and let them know their feelings.
    Some of the Dublin drivers are in favour of the 9 year rule as they think it will get rid of a lot out of the business. It may well do but the main problem in Dublin is the amount of rentals that are operating and some of these are heaps of junks. Owner drivers take care of their cars as it is in their interest to do so or they wont get any business.
    However I would never envisage putting a fairly new car on the road to taxi because of the way some punters treat cars, the diabolical state of the roads and the constant repairs and replacement of tyres, bulbs, shocks etc.
    Our fares are diminishing but our costs are not. So for those of us who have a regular business and want to stay in it and look after our regulars let us do that and not be bombarded with stupid rules and regulations that make no sense in a recession.

I have to say Steph what your going through is like a carbon copy of whats goin on here in Dundalk,, it's not just coincidence it's going on all round the country apart from of course a couple of major cities,, How can these new regulations go ahead without proper in investigation.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,376 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I was in a 01 taxi at the weekend. The driver told me he can use it until next year. Would that be down to date of original registration?

Not your ornery onager

Yes Esel it goes on date of first registration in the State.
    But from now on you will see some lovely Mercs (I had one) BMW, Lexus and Volvo taxis and hackneys being taken off the road just because of the reg number.
    Dont get me wrong I do not believe in heaps of **** being used as taxis either but it is the condition of the car that matters and owner drivers do look after their cars as its in their interest to do so. The NCT should be the deciding factor. But yet their are still **** heaps on the road - how come?? Now we have ended up with two tests, the nct and the suitability test. More money and waste of time for taxi drivers and more bureaucracy.
    There should be a one stop shop for taxi and hackney drivers to get their vehicles tested and passed out and the licences renewed and not running form pillar to post in order to comply with more and more bureaucracy that is being thrown at them.

I have to say Steph what your going through is like a carbon copy of whats goin on here in Dundalk,, it's not just coincidence it's going on all round the country apart from of course a couple of major cities,, How can these new regulations go ahead without proper in investigation.:confused:

Yes Ardle unfortunately that is the way things are now for rural drivers. You should have seen Ballina tonight/this morning hardly a sinner in the town. Got a couple of 'runs' from regulars but made feck all as I had to put diesel in the car. I depend on my phone business which is good on a Saturday night but that is now the only night worth talking about.
    Even on Saturday nights people are going out later and later as they stay in a house get ready have a few drinks and then head out at midnight for the last two hours at the late bar or disco then its to the chipper or chinese for some grub and then home again. You cannot blame them as there is so much unemployment in this town and almost a third of the town's population is on the dole.
    We are also having to contend with the numerous amounts of 9 seaters and minibuses which seem to have sprung up all of a sudden and bring people out to the rural areas charging so much per head.
    I think now when I have to change my car again I will go and rent one altogether which would cut out a lot of expenses like licence renewal, servicing, numerous tests etc. While these still have to be done I wont be paying for them. I fear that the days of the independent owner-driver are numbered. And it is a shame. Like me you probably have your regulars who you look after every week. I have a good few on a Saturday night and being a lady driver I have a lot of female passengers. Some of these people are almost like friends at this stage. They are looked after and picked up and brought home safely. Thats what I call a quality service. Pity the regulator does not look on our businesses like that. All she seems to see is a reg number on a car which she would do as she is based in Dublin which is awash with taxis.
    Too many licences were issued and the regulator was rubbing her hands in glee with all the money that was coming into that office. So when the takings dried up she decides to put some of us out of business. Great country we are livin in isn't it.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,376 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

steph1 wrote: »
    Yes Esel it goes on date of first registration in the State.
    Presume you mean date of first registration anywhere (i.e. real age of car)?

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    Presume you mean date of first registration anywhere (i.e. real age of car)?

Sorry Esel this is the correct info as per the taxi regulator's website.

'The age of the vehicle is calculated from the exact date on which it was first registered (day, month and year).

If the vehicle was imported, the age is calculated from the date on which it was originally registered in its country of origin. You must check this date (on the Vehicle Registration Certificate) before applying for a change of vehicle on your licence – the year shown on the vehicle’s number plate is not a sufficiently accurate indicator of the vehicle’s exact age.'

With a court case pending, should the taxi regulator not issue a statement, declaring that the 9 year rule is on hold and that all unfortunate taxi/hackney drivers who are due licence renewal in the coming months should refrain from approaching lending institutions untill further notice.

Ardle its a waste of time anyone approaching a bank for a loan to buy a taxi or hackney. They are not lending they know full well the way the business is at the moment and taxi drivers are not a good risk. It does not matter what her highness did re writing to banks and other lending institutions. I'd say the same institutions had a good laugh at her.
    I agree that this new regulation should be put on hold until things pick up in the industry. But then you will have arguments from those who have been able to put newer cars on the road. Ye cant win.
    The public should also be aware that next year 2012 some other good quality cars are going to be put off the road because they fail on boot space and shoulder room. Example a peugot 407 is one and also all the volvo S40's and S60's as they also fail.
    Yet the regulator is going to allow Merc A and B Class cars to be used as taxis. :mad:

Yeah dont know if I told you about my colleague,, he came into a few €€€ in 2008 and fair play to him, he went away and bought a new Toyota Corolla,, I think it was about a year later he "DISCOVERED" you know like America was discovered,, it was there but nobody new anything about it,, anyway long story short,, he's in the game longer than I am (bout 12yrs) and believe me he's by the book,, my point is if he didn't know about these new regulations who did,, it's obvious the information wasn't distributed properly. Oh heres the sad part, he approached the garage were he bought the car, and asked what they'd offer him for it,, they basically told him that they wouldn't insult him.

Ardle I think the only way that drivers will get to know about a lot of these new rules and regulations is to trawl the regulator's website. Also there are the industry newsletters which to me are a disgraceful waste of our money.
    Sometimes its hard to find out information that we need to know as it is 'hidden' amongst a whole load of info and you need to keep going into different sections of the website.
    My feeling on these other rules in relation to boot space and shoulder width is that they also need to be put on the back burner for now. Imagine forking out for an 08 vehicle and then to be told its not suitable. Absolutely scandalous. I feel sorry for any driver that has to do this. That means that a car that is just three years or over is not not deemed to be suitable for use. As a night driver I am not concerned with boot space I dont have airport runs at 2 and 3am in the morning here in the West of Ireland. And a lot of rural drivers would never even do airport runs as people cut back and take the train or bus or get a relative or friend to drive them.
    I have spoken to a number of politicians here in Mayo over the last few months and I have told them in no uncertain terms just how bad things are. One of these politicians is a minister of state from the town here and he is in fairness to him well aware of our situation. Despite numerous letters and discussions with Minister's in Government Departments none of these politicians seem to be able to do anything for us.
    And as far as the regulator is concerned it seems to be her way or the highway. She has absolutely no concern for drivers who have invested in their business over the years and have provided good quality service to their loyal customers. I can tell you this Ardle the people here in Ballina are quite happy to get a taxi home at night and to be honest a lot of them are not that overly concerned about the reg number on the car. All they want is to get home safely and not be ripped off and have a nice clean car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Dai John

Have you received an Industry Update recently? I was looking forward to see how many cars and drivers have surrendered their licences since the last edition as I predicted a major downturn.

All we need do is vote Sinn Fein and all will be well in taxiland:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

All we need do is vote Sinn Fein and all will be well in taxiland:rolleyes:

Let's face it, if Sin Fein told you to do something you'd hop to it.;)

Hope I'm not getting too far away from this thread,, thought i'd throw this in the mix. Has anyone had any bad experiences with the taxi regulator inspectors,, I could talk about numerous episodes here in Dundalk. But this one REALLY annoyed me, anyway this is what happened. My colleague was driving a taxi for his boss (all legal all up to date) his boss called him and asked him to come down and jump in the mini bus, to do a quick job, nothing unusual bout that. He grabbed his ID jumped in the bus and away he went. An hour or so later he got back in the car, not realising he forgot his ID,, he sat at the rank for a while and the taxi regulator came along and jumped in beside him,, anyway long story short,, he fined him €250, for not displaying his ID, my colleague tried to explain and told him it wouldn't take him 10min's to go get the ID,, he(inspector) was having none of it,, no verbal warning, no written warning, an absolute disgrace. Poor guy,, by the way this was a tuesday night, lucky if he even earned his wages for the boss.

Ardle if I were your colleague I would appeal this. At one stage I had two taxis and often had to hop from one to the other when I had another driver working for me. I am fully aware that the id must be displayed but for heaven's sake this case is just stupid. I always carry the smaller id in my wallet. Did your colleague have that id on him on the night.??
    Most of my work here in a small town is by phone and nearly all the customers know me. So for committing a small breach like this the driver has to pay 250? I would tell him to write to the regulator's office and explain the position and also to get onto all his politicians and get them to write to the regulator and get this fine waived. 250 is a lot of money now for drivers especially those in rural areas some of who are taking in 30 and 40 a night if they are lucky bar Saturday night.
    Anyway there should be an appeals procedure in place one area where the regulator fell down badly. Maybe now that the regulator is subsumed into the National Transport Authority they might look at the whole area of taxis and do something for the drivers. The customers have been well catered for with receipts, meters, fire safety kits and first aid kits (I've never used mine) massive big roof signs which are laughable when you see the smaller signs that are in use on taxis throughout the world, stickers with fare information in the front and back of the vehicle, stickers on the front and back of the windscreens of the car to show it is a taxi, the list is endless. And all of these things cost a lot of money to provide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Hang on, a taxi driver was plying for hire without a ID card. He got caught he pays the fine simple as that. What would of happend if the driver had a fare in the car and for what ever reason they wanted to complain about him and he had no ID??

Obey the rules and you'll be fine.

My colleague was driving a taxi for his boss
    At one stage I had two taxis and often had to hop from one to the other when I had another driver working for me.

Surely ye both mean that the driver was actually renting the cars for a fixed fee? As in paying freight?

No Roverjames. I had a driver on with an hourly rate (more fool me) got rid as soon as I realised that they were missing in action half the time.
    In rural areas drivers will only work for so much an hour. Its different in big cities like Dublin where they are charged a rent on the vehicle usually by the week. I would have a driver on only now on an occasion if I am gone away for the weekend but I pay dearly for the privilege e.g nearly 500 a year insurance as they wont insure them on an as need basis. The insurance company insists on them being on the policy as a named driver.
    The way things are at the moment this is something I will be stopping shortly as I cannot afford it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

There's a taxi ('97 Carina E) that's been going around my area for the best part of two months and by the sounds of it has been in bad need of a set of spark plugs during that time. I was walking home from a night out on New Years morning and I could hear it from a mile away.

I can't help thinking that the likes of this guy, who is too stingy to spend twenty quid on a set of plugs, is responsible for the situation taxi drivers are in at present. If he can't justify that level of expenditure on keeping his car in roadworthy condition then I wonder what his attitude is towards his customers.

No Roverjames. I had a driver on with an hourly rate (more fool me) got rid as soon as I realised that they were missing in action half the time. .................. The insurance company insists on them being on the policy as a named driver.
    The way things are at the moment this is something I will be stopping shortly as I cannot afford it.

Cheers for that, good to hear that non self employed taxi drivers are not just a Cork myth :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭I Was VB

VolvoMan wrote: »
    There's a taxi ('97 Carina E) that's been going around my area for the best part of two months and by the sounds of it has been in bad need of a set of spark plugs during that time. I was walking home from a night out on New Years morning and I could hear it from a mile away.

I can't help thinking that the likes of this guy, who is too stingy to spend twenty quid on a set of plugs, is responsible for the situation taxi drivers are in at present. If he can't justify that level of expenditure on keeping his car in roadworthy condition then I wonder what his attitude is towards his customers.

Think that was one of (the very few) failings on a Carina E, whereby they've a faulty injector and run on 3 cylinders, they're a bastard to find and quite costly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

I Was VB wrote: »
    Think that was one of (the very few) failings on a Carina E, whereby they've a faulty injector and run on 3 cylinders, they're a bastard to find and quite costly.

Ah, that explains it.