Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pearse Doherty's Education

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭North_West_Art

johngalway wrote: »
    Bertie did study Economics.

Precisely, how to be economical with the truth.

Where he studied it, well, that's another thread.

and he said he never owned a bank account.. him being the former minister for finance :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭cosanostra

I dont think anyone voted for pearse because they thought he was a civil engineer and i dont think anyone will not vote for him because he is a civil engineer technician!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

cosanostra wrote: »
    I dont think anyone voted for pearse because they thought he was a civil engineer and i dont think anyone will not vote for him because he is a civil engineer technician!

It can be a good idea not to vote for liars though, after the last Government I'd thought people would have at least figured that one out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,297 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

The same way people here 'lied' when they said qualifications when they really meant job title?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

johngalway wrote: »
    Bertie did study Economics.

Precisely, how to be economical with the truth.

Where he studied it, well, that's another thread.

He studied in Kinsealy at chez charlie.
    He was his prize graduate. :rolleyes:
    stimpson wrote: »
    Says here that he's a Civil Engineer Technician rather than a Civil Engineer. Smacks of a smear campaign to me.

http://www.oireachtas.ie/members-hist/default.asp?housetype=1&HouseNum=23&MemberID=2216&ConstID=205

BS.
    He was misleading and when he got caught out he changed the information he had previously been pedalling.
    To me it just shows he was blowing his own achievements up to make him look better.
    It is slightly similar to bertie actually, except bertie was a much bigger blower. :rolleyes:
    And at aleast doherty has the good grace to admit it, unlike bertie who still claims something patently untrue.

As someone who does have a proper engineering qualification (BE and MEng), I always find it amusing how many people there are out there who label themselves as engineers when in fact they have done some other course or qualification.
    And there is a bloody difference between one's job title and professional qualifications.

I have to say if I was interviewing the guy for a job and found this out, he would be immediately out of the reckoning.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

The same way people here 'lied' when they said qualifications when they really meant job title?
    The problem as I see it is this: to be a civil engineer, you have to study a difficult course for four years that requires a fair amount of brains - and to get a job in the area, you are in competition with lots of other folks who have done the same.

Completing a 2-year certificate in civil engineering does not show the same level of accomplishment.

That's where I have a problem (albeit not a terribly big one) with Pearse Doherty in this case. If I were voting for him, definitely his proving that he has a good academic background and career experience would be a factor.

Edit: by the way, I'm struck by the number of new posters who spring up on threads to defend Sinn Feiners. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

jmayo wrote: »
    And at aleast doherty has the good grace to admit it, unlike bertie who still claims something patently untrue.

As if he had any other choice.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

K-9 wrote: »
    As if he had any other choice.

Well certain members of his party have been living a lie for the last 30 odd years. ;)

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

This is all so pathetic really, I just think it shows the fear factor he has instilled in political rivals. When all they can do is dish up such drivel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Edit: by the way, I'm struck by the number of new posters who spring up on threads to defend Sinn Feiners. :confused:

Says the person who's been a member for 3 months. There is no moratorium on Boardsie's posting in the political forum btw. I also suspect there is no conspiracy here RE:SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

monty do you think that sinn fein dont deserve the right to be defended on the website or is it new posters that you are against?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭uprising2

serious case of trying to make mountains out of molehills

and it would still pale in comaprison to the lies of the outgoing government, especially Comical Lenny

"cheapest bailout ever"
    "we've turned a corner"
    "we're not talking to the IMF"

Let's not forget "Yes for jobs" (in Australia).

Yes this thread is a bit pathetic, and if this is the best lie the anti shinners can come up with, well it just shows the depths they will stoop to make something out of nothing.

Can somebody here please show a politician who doesn't lie?

I don't usually vote SF, but will be this time round as they are the only real alternative to the establishment bullsh1tters.

I'll be voting for a "technician" of sorts, Dessie Ellis.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dessie_Ellis

And he doesn't lie about his past.

Doherty, whatever his qualifications or not is a very intelligent young man, I was impressed with him when I heard him speak in the dail a couple of months ago, we need leaders with balls here anyway, not useless pieces of paper in a fancy frame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Ah lads, for God's sake, surely if there's one thing we can all agree on, it's that those putting themselves before the people for election, and especially those who portray themselves as possessing the higher ethical ground, shouldn't massage the truth when presneting their qualifications to the public. This isn't a SF bashing thing, as the extensive commentary over Bertie's alleded qualifications will testify to, so why can't SF supporters just come out and accept its not acceptable, as they would were it a member of any other party? Is there to eb one rule for SF and oen rule for everyone else? It's not even that big a deal, but the attempt to cover it up, and then defend it are making it into somethign altogether bigger. Better just to come out, issue a mea culpa, and then get back on with fighting the election. All this defensiveness on the part of SF and their supporters does, is reinforce a perception that SF has a capacity to talk out of both sides of its mouth simultaneously. Indeed, I wouldn't really care about the falsehood itself- it's the double standards that gets my goat up, and the instinctive defensiveness of SF supporters that worries me somewhat; it's not all that different from the actions of FF supporters when the party is challenged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Says the person who's been a member for 3 months. There is no moratorium on Boardsie's posting in the political forum btw. I also suspect there is no conspiracy here RE:SF.

No conspiracy it's perfectly normal for Sinn Fein posters in particular to suddenly just appear around election time and disappear again afterwards. Has happened every election I've been around this forum for. Only people I've seen worse for it were Libertas supporters around Lisbon II.

Not that we don't welcome said posters but as a general warning posting only to soapbox and list all the good things about your party without engaging in debate in threads will get you banned. This is a discussion forum not a party political broadcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

Fiskar wrote: »
    I know the Institute of Engineers of Ireland will not be happy. They are unhappy in general about people claiming to be qualified Engineers when they are not. You are not qualified as an Engineer especially if you quit the course before taking and passing the exams. You simply cannot claim to be something you are clearly not.
    Smacks of ethics in office already being flouted already.
    Just like a typical politician to me, changing or misuse of the truth, amnesia of truth unless it is convenient for their purpose. Vastly Overinflated value of their true worth.

Einhard wrote: »
    Ah lads, for God's sake, surely if there's one thing we can all agree on, it's that those putting themselves before the people for election, and especially those who portray themselves as possessing the higher ethical ground, shouldn't massage the truth when presneting their qualifications to the public. This isn't a SF bashing thing, as the extensive commentary over Bertie's alleded qualifications will testify to, so why can't SF supporters just come out and accept its not acceptable, as they would were it a member of any other party? Is there to eb one rule for SF and oen rule for everyone else? It's not even that big a deal, but the attempt to cover it up, and then defend it are making it into somethign altogether bigger. Better just to come out, issue a mea culpa, and then get back on with fighting the election. All this defensiveness on the part of SF and their supporters does, is reinforce a perception that SF has a capacity to talk out of both sides of its mouth simultaneously. Indeed, I wouldn't really care about the falsehood itself- it's the double standards that gets my goat up, and the instinctive defensiveness of SF supporters that worries me somewhat; it's not all that different from the actions of FF supporters when the party is challenged.

It isn't just SF. The whatabout FF card is getting played everywhere at this stage.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭goat2

he only engineered the truth a little bit, it is not like he committed the worst, we all engineer the truth sometimes,
    look at the great engineers we have had running this country with the last decade, they should be an award for engineering the truth,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

It isn't just SF. The whatabout FF card is getting played everywhere at this stage.

With justification after what they've done to the country.

Indeed. It isn't much of a standard to compare too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

He will have been very aware of the difference between his cert and the hons degree he tried to pass himself off as having. He knew very well he was not a civil engineer and he made a significant gaff in trying to pass himself off as such.

Its negative in 2 ways; (1.) he is not as educated as people thought he was and (2.) he is not as honest..... or was it someone in sinn fein who advised him to present it that way (bad advice if so).

He'll still get elected in donegal though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

It can be a good idea not to vote for liars though, after the last Government I'd thought people would have at least figured that one out.

will someone tell me the difference between a civil engineering technician and a civil engineer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,297 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

A non-issue. Our country is falling apart and this is worthy of 8 pages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

dlofnep wrote: »
    Any reason to bash a SF Politician, some people have nothing better to do. Bottom Line, Pearse Doherty is a far superior politican than most of these people will vote for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

a can see the massive difference now :rolleyes:

and why that Pearse's election strategy is now going to be severely hampered by this lie because he put so much effort into promoting how he was a civil engineer...

SF bashers really do need to get over themselves for once in a while.. if Pearse was in FG would this have even made the papers :rolleyes:

dlofnep wrote: »

It was dying a death until the last 3 posts! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

You are right it is absurd and that is not the fault of you, me or Doherty. It results from not protecting the title Engineer. Anybody can call themselves an engineer and many people do and many companies offer engineer in the job that is more suited to technician. Now the key difference is if they call themselves a Chartered Engineer or Incorporated Engineer or Eur Ing then they have to have qualifications to obtain them.

An engineer is somebody who holds an honours degree in engineering.

Anybody else is just a technician. This has been abused in Ireland for a long time. For example when something breaks down and the company tells you that they are going to send an engineer out to fix it you can be pretty sure that that person is not really an engineer.

Pierce Doherty is a good addition to the Dail and is the future for Sinn Fein. For someone who likes to preach from the pedestal so much he's given the many enemies he will make some easy ammunition here. Poor judgement out of him but at least they've acknowledged it and moved on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Mylesie

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.
    Never heard of the old expression Turf Accountant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

It was dying a death until the last 3 posts! ;)

Perhaps, but it was bumped prior to my post ;) In anycase, I think the public knows that Pearse is a top bloke, and a good politician. This sort of nonsense is typical pre-election Sinn Féin tarnishing.