Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Pearse Doherty's Education

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Fitzerb

Sinn Fein member is another lying shocker:rolleyes:

Slight change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Fitzerb wrote: »
    It has to do with educating the public about the type of Thugs he supports

What has that to do with "Pease Doherty's Education"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

I think it is a storm in a tea cup to be honest. There are much more serious skeletons in the Sinn Fein closet than misrepresenting ones qualifications.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

Keep it on topic, less of the anti SF tripe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

once again - read the thread title - Pearse Doherty's Education - nothing about his morals or policies or who he's friends with..

are we going to get "their all terrorists" every single time someone makes a thread that mentions SF...

Someone will start a thread "what do you think about sinn fein's plan to create 100,000 jobs for the country"
    response #1 - "sinn fein members are IRA men and kill people so don't vote for them"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

No. FFail have done so much in the field of bull**** and criminality, this would not warrant a mention, let alone a thread.

I know guys who mix live sound for bands for decades.....Sound Engineers they call themselves, not a cert amoungst them.
    It's wrong to call yourself something you're not, but in this case...meh.

If only FFail supporters held their own party to such standards, yet here we are with today's news of ten people a week commiting suicide. Great legacy lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

I am not sure why mentions of FF are used as some sort of defense here. How many threads have there been blasting FF and rightly so. Also, it would be a good smear campaign if this was false. But this seems to be all the info so far and it points to misrepresenting and dishonesty on Pearse Doherty's behalf.

The claim:
    http://www.highlandradio.com/2011/02/03/pearse-doherty-accused-of-misleading-public-on-his-education/
    http://www.thejournal.ie/sinn-feins-doherty-forced-to-clarify-job-qualifications-2011-02/

The edited personal info page:
    http://www.oireachtas.ie/members-hist/default.asp?housetype=1&HouseNum=23&MemberID=2216&ConstID=205

The original info page:
    http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:5rmGKQjBUmQJ:www.oireachtas.ie/members-hist/default.asp%3Fhousetype%3D1%26HouseNum%3D23%26MemberID%3D2216%26ConstID%3D205

The youtube video:

His website:
    http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:seFjVYyATpQJ:www.donegalsf.com/representatives/938
    http://www.donegalsf.com/representatives/938

"Qualified as a civil engineer technician from D.I.T Bolton Street"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

I studied on the same programme way back when in Waterford IT

In 2001 (when I started), nearly all of the IT civil engineering courses were the NCCE and Diploma in engineering, the latter of which was usually obtained by one year of optional further study.

Most graduated with the NCCE (2-year national certificate in civil engineering) - which is now replaced by the the 3-year ordinary degree. Some ended up on site work, but as best I remember it was common enough to refer to ourselves as civil engineers - even though by definition we were not (although it was IEI recognised if I remember - I still get their magazine for some reason).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I didn't know SF had a ranking policy when it came to telling lies, that's nice to know. So we've learnt lying about your qualifications is fine. Where does lying about policies rank? Is it more towards the "meh" end which makes it fine, or is it towards the far end which is basically any time an opposition party memeber lies then rabble rabble burn them all etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

When people mention IRA atrocities, Sinn Fein suppoters often raise the 'whataboutery' argument. But it seems they are doing it themselves here - 'never mind our guy, FFailure are worse'. That's whataboutery guys, which I know ye don't like.

As I said earlier, it's really not a big deal in my book, but it's worrying when any candidate is caught out in a small lie or misrepresentation - that's where it starts. All parties need to root it out, and the electorate must punish it, or we are right back to Bertie Ahern-types in office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭Shelga

Hmm I don't know about this one. While I think Doherty deliberately misled people by saying he was a civil engineer, the term is not protected in Ireland, so I don't know if one could go so far as to call it a lie: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055098938

As a qualified engineer myself, this annoys me no end, as a person can work in a chipper and call themselves a "food service engineer", for example. However, in my opinion, he knew quite well what he was doing, and the public would interpret "I worked as a civil engineer" as having a university degree, work experience in that field etc.

I don't vote for politicians who blatantly tell lies, but nor do I vote for ones who employ sneaky and underhanded tactics like these. The semantics of whether it was a 'lie' is one thing, but it is obvious that he wanted to conveniently gloss over the fact that he never finished college. It could be argued that this shows he has trouble seeing something through. :P As someone else pointed out, if it was a CV he had written this on, it would be subject to a lot more scrutiny.

Have never seen the appeal of the man myself- the so-called 'charisma' doesn't disguise his party's unrealistic economic policies, and personally I think the main reason he stands out in the Dail is that he's under 55 and has a full head of hair. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭goat2

Why should not have called himself a civil engineer?
    dont know the answer to that.....
    but some will be trying to put a good thing down as he is so right in all his points, i admire him, he is smart, has common sense, knowing full well that we as a country is in tatters, and asking that bank bonosus be reduced, he is for the people,
    i would like to see him have a seat in next dail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭John_C

"Astronaut" isn't a protected term but I've never been to space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Kennedy35

Sinn Fein member is lying shocker:rolleyes:

Has anyone asked Pearse Doherty himself since this "amazing Story " broke in the ragmag Daily Mirror?
    It's more of a shock to me that most of you superior beings resort to read ing such trash. All closet rag readers..!
    Like it or not, he is the best orator in th Dail, has the most sensible economic policies, as agreed by the most eminent economists in the country.
    Believe me, he does have charisma in spades. Maybe that's your problem.
    I can't believe that people would argue about such trivia when the country is falling down all around us. Don't forget, It's the economy, stupid.
    I don't care ifnhe's a civil engineer or not, he's a hell of a lot better than the shower who just left office. He's not a power hungry dope like th
    e Green Pary hypocrates and he's not like the Fianna Fail corrupt, greedy, self serving gangsters who just left office. I hope each and everyone of them loses their seat.
    The major parties are afraid of Sinn Fein and they are very right to be. Be afraid, be very afraid.. That dipstick Martin is insulting, trying to con people that he wasn't involved in the treasonous behaviour of our so called government. Sinn Fein are the champions of the middle to lower income population.

Shelga wrote: »
    Hmm I don't know about this one. While I think Doherty deliberately misled people by saying he was a civil engineer, the term is not protected in Ireland, so I don't know if one could go so far as to call it a lie: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055098938

As a qualified engineer myself, this annoys me no end, as a person can work in a chipper and call themselves a "food service engineer", for example. However, in my opinion, he knew quite well what he was doing, and the public would interpret "I worked as a civil engineer" as having a university degree, work experience in that field etc.

I don't vote for politicians who blatantly tell lies, but nor do I vote for ones who employ sneaky and underhanded tactics like these. The semantics of whether it was a 'lie' is one thing, but it is obvious that he wanted to conveniently gloss over the fact that he never finished college. It could be argued that this shows he has trouble seeing something through. :P As someone else pointed out, if it was a CV he had written this on, it would be subject to a lot more scrutiny.

Have never seen the appeal of the man myself- the so-called 'charisma' doesn't disguise his party's unrealistic economic policies, and personally I think the main reason he stands out in the Dail is that he's under 55 and has a full head of hair. :)

If you won't vote for a politician who blatently tells lies, you will end

up voting Sinn Fein.The appeal of this man ,Pearse Doherty, is immense, to anyone who can see and hear.

You really are absorbed in Trivia. I honestly don't know if Pearse left college before he finished hid degree, but he certainly learned more than all of the outgoing government put together.
    The dirty tricks campaign has started already. The last government, and the hypocritical Greens are included , made CJ Haughy look like a saint. What about Michael Noonan, hounding Bridget McCole to her death? What about Lenihan, Dempsey, Ahern and Martin lying about the IMF bailout? You should really establish that the allegations in the Mirror which is a ragmag are true before you decide to condemn Pearse. He is a breath of fresh air in politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Kennedy35 wrote: »

up voting Sinn Fein.The appeal of this man ,Pearse Doherty, is immense, to anyone who can see and hear.

Immense to who? people who want to hear a bunch of easy answers?? certainly does not appeal to me in any way shape of form. I think i will stay in the reality camp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

No chief, you brought FFail into it. I was simply responding.

Exactly. Slight difference between an elected offcial telling lies in office to the detriment of the country and some chap fluffing his C.V.
    I don't care if he's a plumber or an engineer. Again, you have a point, but if I thought he were to be elected mainly based on his claim of being a Civil Engineer, I would be as upset as you seem to be. Maybe it's my being war weary, but I don't see the big deal.
    Honestly, with all FFail have done it's tough to get too uptight over this. Again, you raised FFail not I.
    Would I be less likely to vote for him over this? Maybe but not by a big margin, pause for thought mayhap.

I know you're not a FFail supporter;), but you do seem desperate to tar all others with the same brush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

This has probably been mentioned , but didn't Bertie also exaggerate his academic career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Exactly. Slight difference between an elected offcial telling lies in office to the detriment of the country and some chap fluffing his C.V.

True, what's the harm in our politicians telling a wee white lie?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Kennedy35 wrote: »

Get off your soapbox please. Debate the points raised don't appeal to the "obvious glory that is Sinn Fein" or any similar nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

This has probably been mentioned , but didn't Bertie also exaggerate his academic career.

Yeah it has been mentioned and has pretty much nothing to do with the topic unless one was to try and argue that Bertie was a paragon of truth, honesty and straight-talking and that Pearse Doherty was merely imitating one of the few honest politicians that we've seen in this State.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I couldnt care less if a candidate was a binman, a technician or an engineer, it does not 'make him/her any less intelligent. Me thinks there is some snobbery in this thread.

Oh, some guy on the English version of The Apprentice lied on his cv and ended up winning the competition a couple of years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

absolute bull , you have an anti sinn fein agenda which makes you post utter nonsenses when anything to do with sinn fein is discussed . usually your posts on all other matters are factual , interesting and informative but when sinn fein is on the agenda a red(not your fav colour of course) mist descends. i cant believe somebody of your capacity stoops to that level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

efla wrote: »
    I studied on the same programme way back when in Waterford IT

In 2001 (when I started), nearly all of the IT civil engineering courses were the NCCE and Diploma in engineering, the latter of which was usually obtained by one year of optional further study.

Most graduated with the NCCE (2-year national certificate in civil engineering) - which is now replaced by the the 3-year ordinary degree. Some ended up on site work, but as best I remember it was common enough to refer to ourselves as civil engineers - even though by definition we were not (although it was IEI recognised if I remember - I still get their magazine for some reason).

How dare you bring your knowledge, experience and the reality on the ground into this thread!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Normally I would be lining up to give Sinn Fein a kicking but this just seems to be an instance where he fudged his qualifications a bit which lots of people do every day. Whether he's a civil engineer or a part-qualified civil-engineer dosen't really matter too much to his political career.

Btw...anyone mentioned the Northern Bank Raid yet? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Btw...anyone mentioned the Northern Bank Raid yet? :D

shhhhh, fff