Why the disregard of Sinn Féin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭wee truck big driver

sligopark wrote: »
    any idea where one might obtain this said 'Green Book' ?

join the r.i.r.a

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

join the r.i.r.a

They have a rule book of principles outlining how not to be a criminal?

principle dont win wars especially when the enemy lacks any its also abit sickening to keep hearing about gerry mc cabe what an insult to all the other people killed in the last 40 years

Gerry McCabe was murdered in a robbery commited by Prov. IRA members - how was this to assit a united Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

From memory, I think the Green Book is printed as an appendix to Brendan O' Brien's book, The Long War. Years since I read it so could be mistaken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

principle dont win wars especially when the enemy lacks any its also abit sickening to keep hearing about gerry mc cabe what an insult to all the other people killed in the last 40 years

Gerry McCabe comes up for a number of reasons.

Firstly, because it was in this state.
    Secondly, because it was - supposedly - post-ceasefire
    Thirdly, because it shows that some SF members have no regard for the laws of a country they supposedly want to "join"
    Fourthly, because collecting those involved from prison was a very recent cock-up by SF
    Finally, because SF tried to get those involved released under the GFA, even though it would have meant that they'd broken the ceasefire, and engaged in even more double-standards in trying to imply later that they hadn't broken it

I mean absolutely no disrespect to anyone else murdered by terrorists, but we were asked to vote in the interests of the island to overlook all of the prior atrocities and release those involved; in the interests of the country, and to prevent any further murders of innocents, I did just that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

There's a book called 'The IRA' by Tim Pat Coogan its included in. Part of it is here

http://www.irishrepublican.net/forum/showthread.php?18482-The-IRA-s-Green-Book

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,896 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

And to hear g adams refuse to condemn Gerry McCabes killers/killing when confronted by his wife was just sickening. I wouldnt vote for them under any circumstances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Fitzerb

They have a rule book of principles outlining how not to be a criminal?

Gerry McCabe was murdered in a robbery commited by Prov. IRA members - how was this to assit a united Ireland?

It wasnt. In my view at that stage it was every man for himself to gain as much as they could before the end of the troubles. I view the northern bank raid as the money to pay redundancy to the IRA.

As bad as FF are / were and all the f ups made it will be a disaster for this Country if SF have a strong election. The message it will send accross Europe is that we support murderers SF will grow over the coming years but for too many people the memory is still raw and Europe is aware of that too. It would be like the Nazi party winning an election in Germany, think how we would view that in Ireland.

mickdw wrote: »
    And to hear g adams refuse to condemn Gerry McCabes killers/killing when confronted by his wife was just sickening. I wouldnt vote for them under any circumstances

that said not as bad as actually ordering him shot and buried on a beach - unless he actually authorised this robbery and murder too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Here we are in the politics forum mostly talking about a terrorist organisation, (the PIRA). No wonder most peoples disregard of Sinn Fein.

Fitzerb wrote: »
    I view the northern bank raid as the money to pay redundancy to the IRA.

It was. And why the loyalist volunteers were so up in arms (so to speak).

'where's our money - we were working for you and to maintain the British Union'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Fitzerb

tjhat said not as bad as actually ordering hi shot and buried on a beach - unless he actually authorised this robbery and murder too?

I dont believe Admas knew about the bank raid before it happened. A golden rule for the IRA was they acted in "cells" A group of 8-10 who told no-one what the planned operations were.

believe me - this was the exception

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

It wasnt. In my view at that stage it was every man for himself to gain as much as they could before the end of the troubles. I view the northern bank raid as the money to pay redundancy to the IRA.
    Quite possible.
    As bad as FF are / were and all the f ups made it will be a disaster for this Country if SF have a strong election.
    Lets not re-write history just yet. FFail didn't mess up from their point of view. They knew what the choices where, took them and to this day stand by them. That is the problem with them, not that they f'ed up, but that they don't see they did. Also I believe there was a conscious effort to channel funds to pals and put other pals in nice cushy posts...not quite the northern bank raid but...
    The message it will send accross Europe is that we support murderers SF will grow over the coming years but for too many people the memory is still raw and Europe is aware of that too. It would be like the Nazi party winning an election in Germany, think how we would view that in Ireland.
    That's a little over the top. Anyway these people are finance driven. If Ireland begins to make money they won't care who's in charge. They all do business with China don't ya know? Not exactly liberal or democratic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭maccored

im still looking for the evidence to say the ira robbed the northern bank. hopefully one of you can point the way ..... something tangible that is, or real actual, honest to goodness proof. you'll have a hard time.

50,000 sterling, traced to the bank, though was found in an ruc locker room

"The Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI) recovered £50,000 in unused Northern banknotes at Newforge Country Club, a sports and social club in Belfast for off-duty and retired police officers"

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northern_Bank_robbery

Anyone care to explain that one?

maccored wrote: »
    im still looking for the evidence to say the ira robbed the northern bank.

they didn't rob it - it was gifted. RUC no where to be seen in the city centre? How many runs does it take to physically loa dup £25 million?

"The Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI) recovered £50,000 in unused Northern banknotes at Newforge Country Club, a sports and social club in Belfast for off-duty and retired police officers"

RUC man in pay of Prov.IRA - your point? That an RUC man may have been dishonest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

believe me - this was the exception

why should we just "believe" you?? were you involved or have you inside knowledge?

they didn't rob it - it was gifted. RUC no where to be seen in the city centre? How many runs does it take to physically loa dup £25 million?

Is this in your opinion, or is there proof of this (as in it was 'gifted'?)

RUC man in pay of Prov.IRA - your point? That an RUC man may have been dishonest?

You can look at it that way if you wish. doesnt really make much sense considering where it was found mind you. Plus, I thought the RUC were 'gifting' things. that would take more than one RUC member.

why should we just "believe" you?? were you involved or have you inside knowledge?

Blah - of course I wasn't involved or I would removed myself from my employment and have little time past sporting my leisure to come back to the reality of boards.ie

I unlike most on here lived up North during the troubles - it was more than a rumour and to remove physically that size of paper involved more that one three man cell and required a lot of laundering past the same.

Do you think a single Prov.IRA cell committed this robbery and it was not passed by army council given its occurrence post ceasefire?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

im still looking for the evidence to say the ira robbed the northern bank. hopefully one of you can point the way ..... something tangible that is, or real actual, honest to goodness proof. you'll have a hard time.

Anyone care to explain that one?

Evidence other than all the arrests made in the Republic of Ireland?

ira people where arrested and put in jail for the robbery? I must have missed that. chris ward, the guy in the bank, was charged - though he was released (he wasnt in the ira i assume) and a financial fella was found guilty of money laundering.

i still dont see your proof that the IRA robbed anything.

Is this in your opinion, or is there proof of this (as in it was 'gifted'?)

robbery occurred in the city centre - unlike Dublin in Leinster where you are located - if you knew Belfast and the City centre it is never left unpatrolled by the RUC/PSNI.

Suddenly it is not and a robbery requiring several returns to load up the van occurs and is not noticed or followed up depsite Automatic Number Plate readers placed all over the city.

Do you need proof or are you able to measure the lack of?

You can look at it that way if you wish. doesnt really make much sense considering where it was found mind you. Plus, I thought the RUC were 'gifting' things. that would take more than one RUC member.

Ok then lets go with your theory that the RUC committed the robbery - please expand this for me please since I have never heard of this theory before.

Its a new one on me.

I wonder how Bertie had Gerry in the frame when it was the RUC all along?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

Blah - of course I wasn't involved or I would removed myself from my employment and have little time past sporting my leisure to come back to the reality of boards.ie

I unlike most on here lived up North during the troubles - it was more than a rumour and to remove physically that size of paper involved more that one three man cell and required a lot of laundering past the same.

Do you think a single Prov.IRA cell committed this robbery and it was not passed by army council given its occurrence post ceasefire?

my reply was meant to be a light hearted response to your matter of fact tone. i dont know enough about the robbery to say who i think was and was not involved.

I think it was organised by an undercover british associated gang of some form.

Think back - trimble, who refused to speak to SF, was under pressure to do just that. what happened, like a miricle, before he had to meet them? the bank was robbed! Amazing! Now David could avoid talking to SF again!

A bit fecken coincidental if you ask me. add in the 50 grand in the ruc gaff and it should make sense.

To clarify - it was a politically motivated robbery that - due to the severe lack of evidence to point to the ira - more than likely had nothig to do with republicans. Others had much more to gain (and thats not counting the money)

robbery occurred in the city centre - unlike Dublin in Leinster where you are located - if you knew Belfast and the City centre it is never left unpatrolled by the RUC/PSNI.

I was born and bred in the north. sorry to ruin your little dreamscape there.
    Suddenly it is not and a robbery requiring several returns to load up the van occurs and is not noticed or followed up depsite Automatic Number Plate readers placed all over the city.

Do you need proof or are you able to measure the lack of?

what - that the IRA had invisible cars? Or that the RUC purposely werent looking? (they would have been busy robbing probably)

Ok then lets go with your theory that the RUC committed the robbery - please expand this for me please since I have never heard of this theory before.

Its a new one on me.

Youre the one talking about the RUC mysteriously not being about when the robbery happened - not me.
    I wonder how Bertie had Gerry in the frame when it was the RUC all along?

Oh aye - bertie. Sure he was the image of honesty :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

mcwhirter wrote: »
    If sinn fein get in then forget about ireland doing business with UK

Rubbish and you know it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

charlemont wrote: »
    Rubbish and you know it..
    Well they do hate the way of British life. British culture, British people, people in Ulster who are British. The British Army etc.

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Well they do hate the way of British life. British culture, British people, people in Ulster who are British. The British Army etc.

Im a paid up member of sinn fein and I dont hate the way of British life. British culture, British people, people in Ulster who are British. i dont have much time for the british army, after the way they went on for years, mind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,927 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

KeithAFC wrote: »
    What do you want Sinn Fein to do with them?

Respect their wish to remain within the United Kingdom.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Im a paid up member of sinn fein and I dont hate the way of British life. British culture, British people, people in Ulster who are British. i dont have much time for the british army, after the way they went on for years, mind you.
    Yeah but you don't run the Sinn Fein party. That is what Sinn Fein as a party is all about.

sf is about the people in it and the general man/woman on the street. im afraid your bias against sinn fein, doesnt mean you have a valid point.