Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

irishgem30 wrote: »
    Hi guys - new here so I apologise in advance if I post this wrong!
    I'm interested in applying for the Garda in the next recruitment campaign. However, in the meantime, I thought of joining the Garda Reserve to gain experience and a real taste for the job.
    My main query is if there is a recruitment drive for the Garda next year and an application is in process for the Garda Reserve at the same time - how would this work? Many thanks

Hi Irishgem. They are treated as seperate applications as far as I know, so apply away for both.
    Welcome to the forum ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

irishgem30 wrote: »
    Hi guys - new here so I apologise in advance if I post this wrong!
    I'm interested in applying for the Garda in the next recruitment campaign. However, in the meantime, I thought of joining the Garda Reserve to gain experience and a real taste for the job.
    My main query is if there is a recruitment drive for the Garda next year and an application is in process for the Garda Reserve at the same time - how would this work? Many thanks

Though keep in mind, a few hundred people (if not a few thousand) had the same idea and GR are also overwhelmed with applications.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 irishgem30

Thanks very much guys :)
    It's hard to know what to do for the best, the more I read on forums and other various websites - the more confusing it gets, alot of hearsay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭clayton1

does anyone know what numbers the force has at the moment?? he wants 13k by 2014

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Clayton there is an argument on-going over the ACTUAL number of Gardai!
    The government's figures put's the force at 14,500
    The GRA (Garda Representative Association) put's the number at 13,500
    Take your pick, However, I would be inclined to believe the GRA as there the guy's that represent the guys on the ground! check out there website it's very informative and up to date with basically everything regarding AGS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 petieboy

hey guys,

this is my frst post even though i have been following the thread for some time. Anyone got any recent news about the recruitment for 2011??? I am told it will happen soon but just putting all down to hot air at this stage.... cheers

No recent news petie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Annieapplepear

finishing my leaving certificate in june 2011 and want to go the guards.. I am thinking of doing a FETAC level 5 security and business course in portlaoise and is the guards doesnt come up in 2012 i am thinking of doing a higher certificate in Social Care. What are people opinions?? am i going the rite way?? so lost :mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,766 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Annieapplepear, do whatever you feel you want to do. At the end of the day while having studied in certain areas may help you when working as a Garda, they will not necessarily improve your chances of recruitment.

Besides there is lots that one can do in further education which may stand to them if they are successful in joining the Gardai . . . whether it be security courses or studying alcohol and drugs policy and the effects they have on society.

Annie...... Advancing your education is always an excellent path to go down. I'm doing Social Care myself and I will be finished next year (All Going Well). It's a fantastic course and any course in the field of Humanities will stand to you when you are in the force. You are very young and recruitment is dependent on the numbers exiting the force so use the time wisely gain life experiences, Join the Garda Reserve, Civil Defense etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Folks Im not one for the rumour machine (especially in this job) but word is trickling down that a new recruitment campaign could be as far as 2015. That is the worst case scenario.

For those of you thinking of joining or planning to, join the Reserves while you wait. Get the experience doing the job and therefore better your chances when interviews do come up. Also in the Reserves you do 16 hours a month but one of the lads I work with does 32 hrs a month because he is mad to join full-time.

Anything else you are thinking of doing such as college,travel etc... go do it. Dont wait around wondering what if....

It's actually funny how before we knew the effects of this Government employment control policy in that we said no way would they reduce the force sure wont there have to be a recruitment campaign soon blah blah blah. I don't think any one of us could make an accurate call after the past year and a half we all had and your assessment of 2015 it's actually hilarious because you know what? you could be right you just never know do ya? could be 2050 by the time they recruit again!:D

The current govt. won't last to 2015, there's no way it'll be that long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭!MAVERICK!

Im an LC student, can see myself as a competant Garda, what are the entry requirements, how long do you have to serve ? how long on average do you have to train/study ? and can you pick your duty hours?

Would you not consider college Maverick? when recruitment does start the quality of the candidate will be excellent and a person just leaving school and with little life experience will find it hard to compete. I'm not saying it wont happen but chances are that when you finish your LC recruitment probably wont have started.

Look into college and check out the Garda Reserve it will give you a good insight!

Regarding training, the college training program has changed it will now be delivered in 3 phases instead of 5 with attestation coming after 38 weeks of training instead of 58. You can get the information you need at www.gra.ie And no you can't pick your duty hours it is a 24hr service it's an incredible job with incredible un-social hours you will be required to work mornings, afternoons & nights. Typical hours nationwide are 2pm-10pm, 10pm-6am & 6am-2pm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

!MAVERICK! wrote: »
    Im an LC student, can see myself as a competant Garda, what are the entry requirements, how long do you have to serve ? how long on average do you have to train/study ? and can you pick your duty hours?
    Please read the FAQ sticky at the top of the page, the one marked *Read Before Posting* as it answers alot of those questions. Thanks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭!MAVERICK!

Blue Belle wrote: »
    Please read the FAQ sticky at the top of the page, the one marked *Read Before Posting* as it answers alot of those questions. Thanks :)

Only new to boards, ta bron orm. :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,766 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

One thing I had always meant to ask was the relationship between being a member of a political party and the application process.

I know one cannot be a serving member of the Gardai and also be a member of a political party, even if membership of that party is essentially just a name on the books. Do you however have to resign officially from a said political party prior to even applying, or are you only forced to resign if you are successful in the application process and actually get into Templemore?

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    Would you not consider college Maverick? when recruitment does start the quality of the candidate will be excellent and a person just leaving school and with little life experience will find it hard to compete. I'm not saying it wont happen but chances are that when you finish your LC recruitment probably wont have started.

Hrmph!
    I was going to join straight after finished school. In 2004. During the hyper recruitment stage.
    But the Garda that came to our school insisted that if you had any interest to go to college and/or travel etc...I should do it first, to be sure, and to get it out of the way.

By the time I had finished, so too had recruitment.

!MAVERICK! wrote: »
    how long do you have to serve ?

There is no minimum service period. Like any other job you can resign whenever you want.
    Hrmph!
    I was going to join straight after finished school. In 2004. During the hyper recruitment stage.
    But the Garda that came to our school insisted that if you had any interest to go to college and/or travel etc...I should do it first, to be sure, and to get it out of the way.

By the time I had finished, so too had recruitment.

You know I would still give the same advice even if I knew recruitment was about to end. With some exceptions, a person of 18yrs is far too young to join a job like this.

I disagree.

I kick myself sometime thinking that I could be a Garda now, with six years experience under my belt.

I disagree.

I kick myself sometime thinking that I could be a Garda now, with six years experience under my belt.

I know someone people will but think of it like this.

I remember when I was 18 (a long time ago now) and I was a molly coddled immature fella who thought he knew every thing. I joined when I was 30yrs old and my first call on my first day was to a cot death. I found it difficult at the time to deal with, I cant begin to imagine how I could have dealt with it at 18.

TheNog wrote: »
    I know someone people will but think of it like this.

I remember when I was 18 (a long time ago now) and I was a molly coddled immature fella who thought he knew every thing. I joined when I was 30yrs old and my first call on my first day was to a cot death. I found it difficult at the time to deal with, I cant begin to imagine how I could have dealt with it at 18.

I don't think age could prepare you to deal with anything like that.

I believe the only thing that would help is experience.
    And the best way to get experience is to be doing the job from as young an age as possible.

I don't think age could prepare you to deal with anything like that.

I believe the only thing that would help is experience.
    And the best way to get experience is to be doing the job from as young an age as possible.

Age, life experience and some peer support is what helped me. If i went to a call like that and the observer was as young as 18 or 19 i wouldnt let them near it. Neither would a unit skipper if he/she could help it.

Hmmm well I assume there is no official guideline on something like that.
    I guess it would be down to opinion on the day.

But I don't think it would be helpful to molly coddle a new recruit.

Hmmm well I assume there is no official guideline on something like that.
    I guess it would be down to opinion on the day.

But I don't think it would be helpful to molly coddle a new recruit.

Definitely agree with you there but there has to be limits though. Throwing something like that in the way of a spanking new probationer would not be a good idea and probably see them going sick or off the rails for a bit. Wouldnt look good for them in the long run with their assessments.

Anyways they would have the rest of their 30yrs to come across that sort of stuff.

*edit* we are probably way off topic and seeing as Im scared of Blue Belle Im going back off now. I enjoyed the discussion though*

Anyways they would have the rest of their 30yrs to come across that sort of stuff.

Yep, but going by my preference, they would be well prepared after the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭clayton1

i am a reserve member a few years now with ambitions of joining AGS full time, like a lot of people.

I am off to new zealand for a year on Feb 1st, i hope to God there won't be recruitment til latter end of 2011 anyway.

what are the chances folks?? I don't want to miss the next one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

I think you could go for 2 years, the panel of 450 will be used well before anyone else has a chance of being recruited.

Panel isn't near 450! think around 170 waiting 2 start and a further 100+ with various stages done. And your right to travel wouldn't bet on anything happening soon.