Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Plastered all over the paper today about Garda numbers. They (government) are on about bringing the whole public sector down to 2006 levels. The strength of AGS in 2006 was 12,700 so if that is anything to go bye were going to be waiting here a long time :(.

Again to reiterate what I said the numbers in the force is standing at 13,500 and not the 14,000+ the government is claiming. So in a passionate call to every single thug in Ireland go out plunder, burn, Steal shoot do whatever ye gotta do to draw attention on the currently UNDER-strength Garda Siochana. And we here will sit back and wait (were good at that).

Spoke to the Chief Super over the Limerick division who's an ex Press Officer and He said that there will be taking on in 2011!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    Again to reiterate what I said the numbers in the force is standing at 13,500 and not the 14,000+ the government is claiming. So in a passionate call to every single thug in Ireland go out plunder, burn, Steal shoot do whatever ye gotta do to draw attention on the currently UNDER-strength Garda Siochana. And we here will sit back and wait (were good at that).

So what happens to the Gardai, emergency services and members of the public who suffer through all that?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭slingerz

And then some.

I've been waiting over two years.

I know that feeling.

I was scheduled to do the tests the last time out and went and broke my leg 3 days before. ruled me out of all the sections so my application was cancelled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Daffydolly

Hey I just heard from a friend who graduated to AGS earlier this year. She said that there is loads of uncertainty among the new recruits regarding the future of their AGS careers as they had to sign a contract to say that they can be let go after 5 years if they are no longer needed.... Hopefully there will be loads of retirements so it won't come to that!

Daffydolly wrote: »
    Hey I just heard from a friend who graduated to AGS earlier this year. She said that there is loads of uncertainty among the new recruits regarding the future of their AGS careers as they had to sign a contract to say that they can be let go after 5 years if they are no longer needed.... Hopefully there will be loads of retirements so it won't come to that!

Yes the 5 year contracts are being brought in similiar to what the Defence Forces have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭itsgrand

I want to join the Garda Band,but I'm not sure how to apply as I didn't see anything anything about applying on their website. Can somebody help me out? Thanks.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

You have to be a Garda first!
    itsgrand wrote: »
    I want to join the Garda Band,but I'm not sure how to apply as I didn't see anything anything about applying on their website. Can somebody help me out? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Daffydolly wrote: »

Iirc this is to become standard practice across to civil service, in line with regular assesment.
    It's a good thing really.

eroo wrote: »
    So what happens to the Gardai, emergency services and members of the public who suffer through all that?:rolleyes:

The same thing that has been happening to them every other day,week month year decade etc up until now! Rolleyes all you want we need publicity on this and it's unfortunate that the only way to bring this is through negative activities. Crime!

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    The same thing that has been happening to them every other day,week month year decade etc up until now! Rolleyes all you want we need publicity on this and it's unfortunate that the only way to bring this is through negative activities. Crime!
    Your post stating every gouger in the country should start doing what they do best to highlight need for recruitment is ridiculous, as it wont be you who will be dealing them. It will be the Gardai.

I just want to say that I would love nothing more than a recruitment campaign to start, but I would rather wait 2-3 years than have AGS experience drained because of retirement. As it stands roughly 60% of the force have less than 10 years experience.

Well Mr Eroo we might be dealing with them if attention is brought to the matter. It's not ridiculous if you look at it half full instead of the usual half empty.

You may be contempt with waiting 2-3 years but I'm ambitious and hungry to join and waiting 2-3 years more is nothing short of frustrating. And I just stated the obvious as regards to every thug in the country going out to do what they do. Naturally crime rates will increase in recession. Ive waited for the last 2 years I don't fancy waiting another 3 although that seems a realistic possibility with the way things are going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Back on topic please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 conor48

hi im 16 nd will b leavin school this year, i want ta join d gards nd i know der nt recuiting. any advice ???????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

conor48 wrote: »
    hi im 16 nd will b leavin school this year, i want ta join d gards nd i know der nt recuiting. any advice ???????

Plenty of advice.

1) Please read the Forum Charter before posting. Text Speak is not permitted on this forum. It makes your posts difficult to read and you will find that people will skip over them and you will not get a reply.

2) Please also read the FAQ on Applying to Join. It answers alot of questions people have about joining.

3) Please post your questions in the correct thread. This thread will help you get started in that regard. I've moved your post into this thread where it is more suited.

4) You have to be 18 to apply. But until then there is alot of advice around this forum on how to prepare for the recruitment stages. Familiarise yourself with the forum, there is a wealth of information on here.

5) Welcome to the forum :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

conor48 wrote: »

Go and do something with your life until you are at least 21. Travel, work in different jobs, get life experience! I wouldnt recommend joining until you are at least 21 - Plus you wont get in if you leave school now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 conor48

Sorry when I ment leave school thats with my leaving cert like :)

Hi just a enquiry about garda application, is the two languages absolutely neccessary? I shall be coming out of college with a degree in law and just wondering would this degree have any chance of getting me into the guards without the languages.

Also if not does anybody know of any courses that do languages which would have a appropiate certificate i need?or would i have to resit the leaving cert?

Thanks for your time

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Your first question is answered in the forum FAQ. In short: You must have the languages.

You're probably looking at doing evening courses to pass the LC exams in whatever languages you choose. Check your local colleges to see if they teach languages to LC standard.
    Sirsok wrote: »
    Hi just a enquiry about garda application, is the two languages absolutely neccessary? I shall be coming out of college with a degree in law and just wondering would this degree have any chance of getting me into the guards without the languages.

Also if not does anybody know of any courses that do languages which would have a appropiate certificate i need?or would i have to resit the leaving cert?

Thanks for your time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 reg121corp

well folks all your hopes and roumours and any other misleading information about a recruitment campaign will be rolled out tommorrow if there will be any recruitment in 2011 you will know for certain tommorow and you will also no if there wil be none the budget will bring the reality

reg121corp wrote: »
    well folks all your hopes and roumours and any other misleading information about a recruitment campaign will be rolled out tommorrow if there will be any recruitment in 2011 you will know for certain tommorow and you will also no if there wil be none the budget will bring the reality

I dont think anything will be made clear tomorrow. The budget wont announce anything in relation to Garda Recruitment.

you dont think i am tired of this speculation .the budget basicallly dictates how everyting will run for the year if there are not allocated enough funds ags will basically not recruit on the other hand if they do get enough allocaated to them they will start by replacing new car fleets as badly needed then they may consider taking a handfull of recruits to keep things going

reg121corp wrote: »
    you dont think i am tired of this speculation .the budget basicallly dictates how everyting will run for the year if there are not allocated enough funds ags will basically not recruit on the other hand if they do get enough allocaated to them they will start by replacing new car fleets as badly needed then they may consider taking a handfull of recruits to keep things going

nobody knows how they will spend their allocated funds. they dont even know this yet. Planning will start once they know how much they have to spend. Recruitment could be a priority to them, maybe it wont, who knows.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,766 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

It would be down to the Minister for Finance to make an exception to the recruitment embargo in order to allow recruitment, its certainly not only down to Garda chiefs at the moment.

If there is to be an intake within the immediate future then you will know about it over the next week or so - FF would use such good news to their advantage coming up to the general election. If things remain silent then things don't look so good for the immediate future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

Devil08 wrote: »
    nobody knows how they will spend their allocated funds. they dont even know this yet. Planning will start once they know how much they have to spend. Recruitment could be a priority to them, maybe it wont, who knows.

it has already been stated that they are reducing the force by 1500 (however long that takes), does this not indicate that there will be no recruitment until then.. no matter what the gardai want, what the government says goes. whatever change in government will bring is unknown, but for now there is no recruitment on the cards from the governments point of view.. unfortunately..
    as far as can see sierra oscar, i doubt the government are going to call a reduction in numbers and then turn around and say there will be recruitment 3 weeks later. i think an announcement will come when the 1500 have retired

The statment of reducing the force by 1500 was that of a plan and is not what will happen it is a sujjestion which the way the economy is going and the fact there is no recruitment it wil not happen natural wastage for a year and a half ny means of retirements will hit the region of 100 + and if they bring a tax on the gratuity payment tommoro allot could retire so tommoro will tell alot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭nogoodnamesleft

Devil08 wrote: »
    I dont think anything will be made clear tomorrow. The budget wont announce anything in relation to Garda Recruitment.

You recon?

Sorry lads but ive been following this thread for a while and the amount of rumours and no sources to back it up is astounding.

The National Recovery Plan outlines the what is going to be the governments course of action in order to reduce the operational cost of day to day running of the country.

I like a few of ye here was looking to join in any possible recruitment campaign in the near future (even had an aptitude course completed in Sept) but looks as If ill be heading abroad to earn a living instead. I might not like it but thats now the reality.

Sources

GRA:

http://www.gra.cc/national_recovery_plan_2011-20.shtml

http://www.budget.gov.ie/The%20National%20Recovery%20Plan%202011-2014.pdf

Page 64 outlines the projected cuts in the number of gardai they are expecting a 1000 member drop from 2010 to 2011 from retirements.

Last year (2009) was: 776

Source:
    http://www.kildarestreet.com/debates/?id=2010-06-30.385.0

Any current serving Gardai thinking of retiring in the next say 3-4 years where financially possible for them will do so this year as it wont pay them to remain in the force.
    The subsequent years after they are expecting a drop of 150 members per year until 2014.

yes there are a lot of senior members and the retirments are basically going to be the as they say reducing the numbers !!!so if 800 retire including the first six months of next year they wil be able to recruit at least 200-400 and still be reducing the size of the force

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 iarmhii

Hi All,

Is anyone aware if there are people still on waiting lists from the previous recruitment campaign? If so does this do further damage to the chances of a camapaign taking place in 2011 ? Don't mean to be all gloomy, i have no knowledge of when the recuitment will ocur and i'm just trying to logically make sense of what may happen. Very difficult to acquire any real concrete/reliable information at this time . Any opinions appreciated.

iarmhii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭Waiting Game

iarmhii wrote: »
    Hi All,

Is anyone aware if there are people still on waiting lists from the previous recruitment campaign? If so does this do further damage to the chances of a camapaign taking place in 2011 ? Don't mean to be all gloomy, i have no knowledge of when the recuitment will ocur and i'm just trying to logically make sense of what may happen. Very difficult to acquire any real concrete/reliable information at this time . Any opinions appreciated.

iarmhii

http://www.kildarestreet.com/wrans/?id=2010-12-14.1210.0&s=garda+recruit#g1214.0.r

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 irishgem30

Hi guys - new here so I apologise in advance if I post this wrong!
    I'm interested in applying for the Garda in the next recruitment campaign. However, in the meantime, I thought of joining the Garda Reserve to gain experience and a real taste for the job.
    My main query is if there is a recruitment drive for the Garda next year and an application is in process for the Garda Reserve at the same time - how would this work? Many thanks