An Garda Siochana - Do you respect them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Not for the one who got stamped on

not if the riot squad were the ones who rushed him he didnt!

I cant begin to explain why this is wrong

They should have been slated for using horses, as I said many of the riot officers rushed the students. they hit people sitting on the ground and knocked a girl uncouncious. So its the videos fault now?

the gaurds hit people sitting on the ground, sitting on the ground is not a seige.

coming from a guy who thinks sitting on the ground is a siege thats a bit rich and that being in the area of a protest is warrant to be hit.

Well, I'll reserve judgement on the stamping incident. I'm not taking it as fact as many allegations prove false and tbh, I'm very surprised it isn't on the many videos from the day.

On that guy, I'm not going to get too dragged up on one individual but if you read the relevant threads, he wasn't so innocent as originally made out, nowhere near it. It clearly shows him kicking at officers protecting the DOF building and shock, horror, shouting police brutality later! I'd pick a better "victim" if I was you.

Oh, I watched a few videos of what happened. Very little backed up the original eye witness reports. Eye witness reports can be misleading.
    steddyeddy wrote:
    the gaurds hit people sitting on the ground, sitting on the ground is not a seige.

And we're back to naivety again.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

K-9 wrote: »
    It's loaded statement. Have you stopped beating your wife yet?
    Wow, who'd have guessed a cop would turn nasty when his "logic" didn't add up? How many points do you need in the LC to come up with that piece of incisive argument and rapier wit?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

10 % are ok

90% ****

It's naive to expect Gardai not to batter you if you are a peaceful law abiding protester?
    We just covered this. Start taking notes if you need to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Well, I'll reserve judgement on the stamping incident. I'm not taking it as fact as many allegations prove false and tbh, I'm very surprised it isn't on the many videos from the day.

On that guy, I'm not going to get too dragged up on one individual but if you read the relevant threads, he wasn't so innocent as originally made out, nowhere near it. It clearly shows him kicking at officers protecting the DOF building and shock, horror, shouting police brutality later! I'd pick a better "victim" if I was you.

Oh, I watched a few videos of what happened. Very little backed up the original eye witness reports. Eye witness reports can be misleading.

Heres a mad idea if your in a siege situation and feel threathend maybe dont hit the the guys sitting on the ground with batons and maybe focus on the people causing the trouble. the guy who kicked the gaurda was brought up by you Im talking about the people sitting on the ground getting whcked over the head.

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Wow, who'd have guessed a cop would turn nasty when his "logic" didn't add up? How many points do you need in the LC to come up with that piece of incisive argument and rapier wit?:D

I'm not a cop. The reference is clearly lost on you.

That response is just "well, have you, have you stopped beating your wife?
    It's naive to expect Gardai not to batter you if you are a peaceful law abiding protester?
    We just covered this. Start taking notes if you need to.

Huh, so it's cheap shots ye are reduced too?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

the guy who kicked the gaurda was brought up by you Im talking about the people sitting on the ground getting whcked over the head.
    Now there's a good example of a strawman. Thanks K-9!

Er, you're whining to ME about "cheap shots" seconds after asking "Have you stopped beating your wife yet?"?
    Did you start taking those notes yet?:rolleyes:

Heres a mad idea if your in a siege situation and feel threathend maybe dont hit the the guys sitting on the ground with batons and maybe focus on the people causing the trouble. the guy who kicked the gaurda was brought up by you Im talking about the people sitting on the ground getting whcked over the head.

The guys causing the trouble ran into the crowd, sitting down having the peaceful protest, big men that they are.

Classic tactics, the last refuge of the scoundrel.

Can you address the point? Nah, guess not. Better just call it cheap and hope it goes away.

The guys causing the trouble ran into the crowd, sitting down having the peaceful protest, big men that they are.

Classic tactics, the last refuge of the scoundrel.
    And the highly trained Garda Siochana couldn't identify ONE SINGLE GUY WHO HAS ATTACKED THEM and so battered everybody in sight. Great police work that.

Er, you're whining to ME about "cheap shots" seconds after asking "Have you stopped beating your wife yet?"?
    Did you start taking those notes yet?:rolleyes:

Sorry.

It's a well known phrase in discussions/debates.

You obviously aren't aware of the context so unfair of me to go on about it.

Your reply was basically, Guards have beat up innocent protesters before.

Because you used beat up, the phrase "have you stopped beating your wife yet? came into my head.

Loaded question - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

And the highly trained Garda Siochana couldn't identify ONE SINGLE GUY WHO HAS ATTACKED THEM and so battered everybody in sight. Great police work that.

They generally don't in riot situations.

The focus isn't on arrests as you admitted earlier.

And we're back at the naivety point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Lots of respect for the gardai and the other folk making up the emergency services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

any guard I've ever had to deal with was just at a checkpoint - never had much wrong so they were always grand with me

maybe all the problems people have we the guards are brought on themselves - if your breaking the law you hardly expect them to let you go off - and because there the authoritarian figure out there people seems to have a problem..

just like in school you hated the teachers for enforcing rules - and the teacher that didn't give a ****e about rules was your favourite teacher and the strict f**ker was your least favourite...

I wonder how many of the people who voted NO in this poll have actually being on the receiving end of a warning or ticking off by a member of the gardai..

how many people just don't like them because they've broken a law - no matter how small it was - and are now resentful because of it... or have had a friend who got done and the friend's bitching session convinced them that the guards are pricks..

I've not come across any real bad guards that I can think off - if i'm not causing a problem they've not had a problem with me and any time I've looked for help from them they've been pretty helpful

The focus isn't on arrests as you admitted earlier.
    Better check back through the forum there buddy 'cos I never said that.
    Not fabricating a statement there by any chance?:D
    Why don't you make up some blustery slush to cover up your cock up now and we can move swiftly along. Thanks.

Sorry.

It's a well known phrase in discussions/debates.

You obviously aren't aware of the context so unfair of me to go on about it.

Your reply was basically, Guards have beat up innocent protesters before.

Because you used beat up, the phrase "have you stopped beating your wife yet? came into my head.

Loaded question - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    That's enthralling. Please feel free to tell us how this is connected in any way to this debate, at your leisure naturally.

Better check back through the forum there buddy 'cos I never said that.
    Not fabricating a statement there by any chance?:D
    Why don't you make up some blustery slush to cover up your cock up now and we can move swiftly along. Thanks.

Good job I wasn't quoting you then.

Do try and get something right in replies to posters.

Edit: I was! LOL. Caught on being a smart arse!

That's enthralling. Please feel free to tell us how this is connected in any way to this debate, at your leisure naturally.

At this stage, I'll refrain from banging my head against a brick wall. You'd need to read back the replies, in context and that is something I am not expecting from this discussion.

No evidence then. Ever thought of a career in the Donegal Gardai?

Have you stopped beating your wife?

If you read my first reply to this thread you'd know my thoughts on that, but if you had, you wouldn't be calling me a cop.

Then again it is Saturday morning and drink in, wit out.

Have you stopped beating your wife?

If you read my first reply to this thread you'd know my thoughts on that, but if you had, you wouldn't be calling me a cop.

Then again it is Saturday morning and drink in, wit out.
    I have never beaten my wife.
    You really backed me into a corner with your "loaded question" there mate!
    Funny how a supposed drunk guy is hammering your argument so easy, isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

No Respect for the Filth, I remember seeing an incident where A Garda and a BeanGarda approached a fight between three drugged-up blokes when the trio turned and started chasing the Gardai, the male made it back to their squad car first, got in and locked the doors allowing the female to take a flogging from the three Druggies! :eek:

If I did my job as badly as the Gardai I would be fired and rightly so.

I have never beaten my wife.
    You really backed me into a corner with your "loaded question" there mate!
    Funny how a supposed drunk guy is hammering your argument so easy, isn't it?

If I have accused you personally of beating up your wife, report me.

Surreal response! Most entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

Let's be honest here....we all hate them cause they took our CANS off us in the field when we were younger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

no

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

johnn wrote: »
    Let's be honest here....we all hate them cause they took our CANS off us in the field when we were younger.

I've learned to like Dutch gold, but it's taken time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

I respect the law and the organisation in general and each Guard I meet earns or loses it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

I find the the traffic cops on the motorbikes love themselves a bit too much.