What Cars Have You Owned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭ottostreet

2000 Fiat Punto Mk2...great little yoke until i wrote it off
    2000 Fiat Punto Mk2 ELX...****e.
    2000 Fiat pUNTO mk2 Sporting...fun but ****.
    97 Mitsubishi Mirage Asti Z...lovely car but slow and thirsty
    96 Mitsubshi Mirage Asti Z...death trap.
    99 E36 BMW 318is...my favourite car..so much fun to drive, quick enough, and economic too..had the full m kit and was black...gorgeous. regret selling it
    92 E36 BMW 318is.. grand yoke...i like it, but its just to keep me happy until my next yoke.
    99 Lexus IS200...in two minds about it...liked the looks and speed, but far too thirsty and was lowered and wasnt particularly nice to drive...use to emerge knackered from it.
    01 Peugeot 306 1.4...enough said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

1997 VW Polo 1.0l.
    2000 BMW 728i 2.8.

I keep the Polo in the boot in case the beamer breaks down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 993 ✭✭✭Twin-go

2001 Ford Focus 1.6 Ghia h/back. :)
    Parents car but I learnd to drive and did my test in it. Great car indeed.
    2000 Rover 25 1.4ie.:o
    Bought it the day I passed my test in 2003. served me well for 18 month untill the gearbox blewup. Traded it in 3 weeks before Rover went belly up.
    2005 Citroen C4. :):cool:
    Traded the Rover in for this. My first (and only) car bought brand new. Still have it and is now been driven by the wife.
    2001 Alfa 147 1.6Lusso. :mad::confused::D
    God dam it I loved this car. It was in the garrage every 3 months but when it did work, it worked so well.
    2004 BMW 318ti m-sport. :):cool:
    Current car. Very solid car, does not put as big a smile on the face as the Alfa but is still great fun on the back roads.

Not a Twingo in sight:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,657 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

1997 VW Polo 1.0l.
    2000 BMW 728i 2.8.

I keep the Polo in the boot in case the beamer breaks down.

That's some step up in fairness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Sure was, learnt to drive in a February from never having driven ever, and passed in May same year. Flew to UK a week later and bought the BMW, was never getting any other car.

For someone that loves cars, I left it bloody late to learn to drive. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭drunkymonkey

Started driving when i was 17 (7years ago) and i tend to hang onto my cars so i'v only had two of my own!

'98 Peugeot 106 XN 1.0litre............Actually such a fun car, it was my first car and everyone loves their first car whether its good or bad, so nippy and i cleaned it 2/3 times a week! Cried a little when i sold it! :o

'97 Toyota Levin BZR 1.6litre............. This is my baby i love this car so much and its very fast for a 1.6litre and handles beautifully! Bought her when she was rare here and now they're everywhere! Had a bit of trouble with her which put her in the garage at the moment getting fixed up, and that leads me to the loaner car that i borrow.....

'04 Honda CRV jeep 2.0litre.......... This isn't my car so can't say much on it, handles like a typical jeep, gussles petrol, bit girly looking, comfortable, not that powerful but handy for long trips!

At the moment waiting for my Levin to get back so currently freezing my ass off on the motorbike! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,582 ✭✭✭VW 1

1997 VW Golf mk 3 1.4- learner car bought for 17th bday, grand little thing to get going in
    2000 VW Golf mk 4 1.6- slight upgrade along with some alloys to ensure i could keep up with my mates, present to self for getting through first 2 years of college :)
    2008 VW Golf mk 1.4 TSI- present to self for finishing my degree and getting my first full time job, absolutely in love with it 10 months later. eyeing up 335 or m3s for this time next year when the finance is finished :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 selfbuildlost

88 fiesta - banger
    91 escort coupe (well 3 door) - loved it but kept breaking down
    91 Honda civic - good car but ugly
    90 escort - broke down more than the last
    88 VW golf - I bought it looking like a GTI
    99 Focus - great driving car
    02 Focus - saloon one so not as nice as the 3 door but good to drive
    03 3 Series- probably the best all round car I've had
    04 E Class - a bit too comfortable was like driving a couch it seemed to bounce around bends - I'd say you need to get all the sport options with it mine was bog standard
    04 CLK - dont know why I bought this one, drove OK but never liked it
    05 Porsche Boxster - picked it up new best looking car I've owned and driven - without a doubt - I would buy one again though getting - too old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

analfabets wrote: »
    2003 Mazda6 1.8L petrol. very reliable car. Never had any problems with it.Only sold it last week.
    Currently drive 2001 Fiat punto 1.2L petrol.

Just curious as to why the change from an 03 Mazda6 to 01 Punto? Were you not happy with the Mazda?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭analfabets

Just curious as to why the change from an 03 Mazda6 to 01 Punto? Were you not happy with the Mazda?

Decided to pay of my credit card which was maxed out. Mazda was unbelieveably reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 joecreed

Seems like this thread has gotten a little rusty but a good read all the same.
    My own choices were not great (although there are some of you who would say they are still sh1te!!)
    - 91 VW Polo Coupe - great little car that was my first. Drove from Naas to Bray every day for a year before the M50, handy town car but crap on the duallers!
    - 1995 Rover 214Si - I thought this car was brill, cos I had elec windows, remote central locking & power steering, til I rammed it into a rock sideways - it never drove in a straight line since!!
    - 1995 Ford Escort (1.3) - the rover made it as far as Killarney where I swapped it for the Escort in a garage down some back road. I lost the windows, central locking & almost the power-steering. Was cheap to run though.
    - 1995 Volvo 460 - dunno why I bought this - heap of ****e but it was 1.6 so kicked the ass of the escort for power.
    - 1997 Peugeot 306 1.4 - the first of many Pugs. I always wanted a 306, and this was the business. No electrics in this either, but the PAS was there, so that was cool.
    - 2001 Peugeot 306 1.4 (M5)- all the electrics are back & leather to boot. This is my all-time favourite car - kept it immaculate too!!
    - 2003 Peugeot 206 - bought from new by my other half - fantastic car - light & nippy.
    - 2004 Peugeot 307 - Never again - traded in the 206 for this - gas-guzzler that just felt like an empty vessel.
    - 2005 Peugeot 407 (2.0 Turbo diesel!!) - Always wanted one of these - traded in the 307 & the 306 for this - still have it today - fantastic power & economical. Tax is a bitch though.
    - 2001 Peugeot 306 (M5)- Got my little Pug back for commuting cos the bird has the 407 for the kids. Not the same as I had but its identical to it.

Some might say the Peugeot is a crap make, but even if the French are a shower of w**k**s, the Pugs are pretty cool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,251 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

I my current car owns me..........thanks depreciation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭zulfikarMD

Toyota Starlet - 2 door (1994)
    Ford Escort 1.4 (1997)
    Honda Civic 1.5 LSi (1995)
    Ford Fiesta Ghia 1.25 16V (1998)
    Now, looking for VW Passat Automatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭manatoo

1991 Daihatsu Charade carvan. Bought from an 85 year old man in 2004 for 2 reasons - 1 he only wanted €380 and I was still at college, 2 it was DOE and NCT exempt. Had 38,000 miles on it. 0.9 litre 3 cylinder engine, 4 speed gearbox. Christ it was noisy but so much fun to drive. Big go-kart. Thermo was stuck open so used to run stone cold on the open road. Heating didnt work then of course. Made many freezing trips across the country in it to visit the mot. Only had it a few months before I stuck it in a tree on xmas day 2004.

1989 Toyota Corolla 1.8 diesel van bought in 2005. Had 170,000 miles on it. Gave the guy €800 for it in a moment of madness. Was a disaster. In the next 2 months I got the head done and then 4 months later it developed a fuel starvation problem. Couldnt find a mechanic brave enought to take it on cos it appeared to be the fuel pump that was at fault. Fuel tank had to come out to get at it and it was so old they wouldn't risk it takin the tank out. Scrapped it after giving up

Finally decided it was time to get a loan and buy a decent car but then a guy at work was offering a 10 year old Carina E for sale. Decided reluctantly to have a look despite being sick of the bangernomics model. The car was family owned since new by this guy, had 63 k on the clock. Had just been NCT'd for 2 years and had been dealer serviced since new. He wanted a grand. It was just too good a deal to turn down. Paid €900 and 5 years later still driving it. It doesn't handle well and it's not sexy but motoring cannot be done any cheaper than this! Now has 140k on the clock, 16 years old and haven't had a single problem with it or NCT failure. Just change the oil and filters myself every 6 or 8 k. Do about 14,000 miles a year in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,533 ✭✭✭bladespin

Started off in a new 2002 Fiat Punto, passed my test in that car so I'll always love it just for that, never clocked up big mileage but think it was a great little car, done many Dublin to Cork trips in confort and without complaint (it was a 5hr trip then). Never missed a beat, only had to change it after the baby arrived, not because of him, more the 4x4 buggy the mrs wanted.

99 Isuzu Trooper - company car (think it counts though), brilliant car/jeep, utterly relaible though hard on juice, done over 200k miles in mine before it finally gave up the driveshaft. Wasn't worth repairing so changed to

2008 Landcuriser - lovely jeep to drive, very conforthable and economical for what it was, didn't feel as sure footed as the Trooper which disappointed me a little but looked great (very posey, metalic black with full chrome pack, I know, cringe bit thought it was the dogs at the time).

Also had the use of a Mercedes Vito 01 in my last job, over the years I clocked up 50k miles or so, didn't like the gear shift (dash) but handled like a car and was very frugal, not bad poke either. Also had an E220 for a few trips, very confy, nice car to drive but I didn't really do enough miles to make up my mind on it, battery's in a funny place though lol.

Baby came along in 08 so needed a 4 door with a decent boot and found a
    2005 Alfa 156JTdM - brilliant car, what an engine!!! It handled like a sportscar and went like a train, constantly returned 40-50 mpg no matter how I drove and to top it all off it has a deceptively big boot.
    Alfas get a bad rap (usually from eegits who've never owned or driven them but mine stood the test of last winter well, even compared to several more reliable brands in the family (VW Passat reliability, what a joke) I had no problems with it in the 2 years I had it.

That was until someone else decided it shouldn't be on the road and squashed it :eek: their insurance coughed up without argument so it was replaced by a
    03 Mondeo Zetec TDCI, bought with an eye on the budget as Mrs BS is now expecting another. I got it cheap and with new flywheel, clutch, starter etc.etc pretty much anything that could go had been replaced by the last owner (friend who splurged on a cheap X5 he'd found). The best car so far IMO, it does everything so well, carrying capacity is a match for the Trooper!!! Performance is excellent and handles as good if not better than the Alfa :eek:, it's not as pretty but it's so easy to work on, uprated the bulbs and had a mooch around the engine while doing so :p, couldn't believe how accessible everything was.

On top of those there's a fair list of bikes I've owned, ridden and raced over the years but that's a different board.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Right, here goes:

198something Daihatsu Mini Bus 850 LF with 4 wheel drive (yes, more driven wheels than cylinders), fill up oil and check the petrol

1985 BMW 318i (ok, my dad's, but I drove it so it counts), nice on the motorway for cruising at 180 km/h

198something Ford Escort MKIII breadvan. Worst car in the world. Slow, unsafe, body flexes so bad you can't open the door when one wheel is on a curb. Every week something else broken. Sh*te.

Opel Kadet D 198something, rust brown colour to hide the rust, called Rusty James after Matt Dillon's Character in Rumble Fish, boring but reliable and it was mine, all mine!

1979 VW Transporter 1.6 Diesel, even slower than, well anything really with 50 bhp on tap. But comfy, comfy, comfy.

1986 VW Transporter, yep, the same as above but with 2-3 bhp more and no faster. Still comfy.

1984 Mercedes W123 200 Diesel. Well, 200 petrol actually, but converted in a shed with nothing but a pair of pliers and a vicegrips by a farmer.
    Stopped once a week like clockwork and had to be bled, but like driving a giant sofa.

after crashing the Merc due to some extremely unsafe and dodgy suspension mods from the above farmer and too much speed on my part (young and dumb)

1988 Mitsubishi Colt, though only 1.4 it's small and light, zippy across town and feels like it's made of paper machee after driving the the tank that was the Merc. Still fun.

1984 Mercedes W123 200 petrol, this time the real deal and with auto box and carburettors, making it even thirstier. Still giant sofa effect, but nothing beats the sight of that huge bonnet out front.
    The last of the proper Mercs IMO, everything that came after was mass produced crap that got only worse with every year. Merc ceased to exist in 1985 for me.

1973 Ford Cortina MKIII 200 GXL, 2 litre Pinto engine, Weber carb, 3 speed auto box, vinyl roof, green metallic, double headlights, leather(ette) interiour, great fun to drive but 60 mph feels fast and 70 needs nappies.

1994 Renault Megane Megavan.
    Comfy, but suspension made from marzipan and the 1.9 diesel without turbo seriously underpowered. great in a crash as I found out, hit a car that had decided to get into my lane of the road and give me absolutely nowhere to go with all of 50 mp/h and no chance to even reach the brakes.
    Hit other car, punted it several meters away from me and turned it 180 degrees, had enough momentum to keep going and hit a solid stonewall.
    Injuries: Slight scratch on my nose from my glasses. Car: totalled.

Sin‎ce this was a company car I then had to endure an endless succession of dull but comfy and reliable 1.4 Focus rentals.

Was given 1.6 Litre '98 Avensis station wagon, a tank and not exactly lively but utterly indestructible and will probably still be on the road somewhere and could possibly outlast the Earth to be found spinning in space by aliens who will bring it home, start it and put another few million years on it.

The revelation for me was a 1.8 litre TDDI Focus van and i know that the words diesel and van should never be called a revelation, but I have driven many cars with more horses and bigger engines, but never anything faster. Honest. 0-60 sub 10 seconds, top speed probably 190 km/h (never pushed it that far), great cornering, etc...
    Since there is no van version of a Focus we get them into Ireland and convert them here, mine had better suspension, gearbox, steering and engine (vvti) than bog standard Focus.
    The one car I'd take back any day.

08 Ford Transit Connect, yes I know the VW Caddy brigade always go on about the toys and gadgets in theirs, but whilst theirs is getting fixed in the garage, you'll be out there hauling ass. Lousy fcuking speakers with the stereo though. And the emergency jumpseat that folds forward will permanently cripple any passengers you have.

1999 Ford Focus Estate 1.8 TD.
    This one had a gearbox replaced and probably the wrong one put back, slow as fcuk, not that economical (compared to the next car on this list), leaked, warped alloys, dodgy electrics, dented, rusted, smelly, but hey, it got me around for very little money whilst out of work.
    And it had an LG aftermarket stereo installed that could blow the top of your skull off. Focuseseses have great speakers. I've seen many aftermarket speakers that are crappier than the standard set in a Focus.
    Then sold it (of all the places to sell it to) a Ford dealer who paid me more for it than I paid for it in the first place and got:

2006 Ford Focus CCMax 1.8 litre TDCI, fabulous car, 50 mpg, comfy, reasonably fast (heavy, so even with 115 bhp not as fast as my old Focus TDDI van), great for motorway cruising (which I mostly do), great stereo and lots of room for dogs and shopping. Wouldn't change it for the world, maybe in a few years for a low tax post 08 car since the tax on the 1.8 lump is hefty and I want to give as little money to thieves, liars, criminals and conmen (FF) as possible

And OP: The GF has an MX5 and it is one of the best things one can drive without spending a fortune, fast, reliable, nice looking, corners and on a nice day with the roof off there's nothing better.
    MX5 FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭Swampy

Don't remember most of the years...

Nissan Vanette - if you went over 50mph one of the side mirrors would fall down. O. One journey the radio broke, the wipers stopped working and it was lashing rain, then the boot wouldn't close so I used my tie to keep it kind of closed , then only my full beam headlights would work ( it was dark, on my way back from Wexford to dublin). Eventful journey.

Toyota Hi-ace. Great machine in fairness.

Opel cadette van. 1.7. Loved that one. Was nippy compared to the big vans.

2000 Golf van sdi. Savage car.

2002 golf van sdi.

2005 Renault megane.

2002 BMW 318i-- the wives car.

1997 Jaguar XJ6. 3.2 Straight six. Only have it a week. Love it to bits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

From the begining...

92 Fiat Tempra- My first car was a free motor!
    92 Seat Ibiza- Absolute rubbish
    89 BMW 525i- A car Ive wanted since a child and I still have it :D
    94 BMW 520i- Totally spotless car. Pity about the Vanos and HG...
    92 BMW 520i- 5 speed manual :cool:
    98 Fiat Punto 60- Best car ive ever owned (like new)
    99 Fiat Punto Sporting- Inconspicous broom yellow...
    93 Subaru Impreza- Riot of a car untill it broke :mad:
    91 Honda Civic- It was free and brown (shudder)
    02 Renault Laguna- Cheap with a long list of problems
    96 Ford Escort- Worst car EVER
    98 Fiat Seicento- Cheap and cheeky, I want another one!!
    99 Fiat Bravo- My modded and rebuilt daily hack ;) retiring soon... :(
    98 Fiat Bravo TD100- A rocket that never took off
    00 Fiat Bravo- The next project...
    01 Fiat Punto Sporting- Feels much faster than a 1.2!!!

All bought at prices that suited me. And I'm not even 21 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭mjquinno

97 vw polo - grand car for learning
    00 skoda fabia 1.4 - ok car a bit meh to be honest
    97 mini cooper sportspack- loved it - it loved breaking my heart
    05 Alfa GT sportivo 1.9 diesel jtdm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭THE LINK WALSH

I started driving in 1995,since then ive had

89 Nissan Micra 1 litre,horrible heap of ****e,my last Nissan ever.
    94 Peugeot 306 1.9D,fairly dead but a trouble free machine
    98 Peugeot 306 DTurbo,bought it at 6 months old,best all round car ive ever owned
    02 Peugeot 307 1.4 HDI,bought it new,v light on diesel,quick eneogh for engine size
    05 Peugeot 307 1.6 HDI,a bit quicker version of the above
    07 Ford Focus 1.4,the Wife inspired this purchase,she drove it mostly,an underpowered unit
    08 Citroen C4 Grand Picasso 1.6 HDI,a smashing car to drive,plenty of spec,ok on juice,no trouble whatsoever with it in almost 3 Years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

01 punto...loved it, never missed a beat. travelled everywhere and cost nothing to run.
    04 astra....only had it a month, starting to like it now, only a 1.4 but 90bhp so fast enough.

punto!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

76 VW Beetle 1200
    81 Renault 4 Van
    77 VW Transporter

no car for a while but...
    BMW R60
    BMW R80 GS

93 Opel Vectra 1.6
    98 BMW 523i / 78 Yamaha XT500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭golfbgud

Mark 1 Escort 1300cc. Steel wheels, red leather seats from a jag and a recon 1.3 engine with a mexico head.

Mark 2 Escort 1100cc - dead as a dodo

Reno 12 TL

Renault 12 TS

Mini 1000 - 1 week

Opel Kadett 1.3 (first new car)

Fiat Punto 1.7 diesel (from new)

Peugeot 106 diesel 1.4 (from new, great little car and economical too)

1994 Honda Civic 1.5 saloon

1998 Avensis 1.8 Sol - great car. Still miss it. Someone got a nice cheap car!

2005 VW (100BHP) Diesel Passat

Also have a 1975 2000E Cortina for the summer days and a bit of blast from the past!..

I will eventually get a nice Merc or BMW........(WHEN WE ARE OUT OF THIS RECESSION)!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

97 fiat punto
    95 golf gti 16v
    98 renault laguna
    03 volvo s60 2.0T
    05 GOLF TDI
    88 GOLF MK1 GTI CABRIOLET

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Elbow

98 Citeron Xsara - Engine blew first night i had it, got it fixed and kept to for a year.
    00 Toyota Tureno - 1.6 but had a load of engine work done in japen before i bought it, Felt really quick at the time, didnt keep it long tough
    02 VW Golf - Boring!
    01 Opel Astra Coupe - Had it 6 months, it spent 6 weeks in the garage, serious ecu problems, whole electrical system was in trouble
    98 BMW 318is - Really liked this car, but stuff stated going/breaking so got rid of it after 18 months
    98 Nissan Silvia S14a - Loved this car, 300BHP tru the back wheels got the better of me going to work one morning though :(
    00 Toyota MR2 SW20 - One of the nicest cars ive ever driven, a proper sports car kept it for 2 years, In the end had to get rid of it for somthing bigger (wish i had the money to keep it dough)

Currently just borrowing a van from work.
    Hopefully by next weekend i'll be adding a 05 Saab 9-3 to the list :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

1990 VW Polo Coupe
    1992 Ford Fiesta 1.1l
    1992 Ford Fiesta XR2i
    1992 Opel Kadette 1.2l
    1993 Opel Astra 1.4l
    1994 Opel Vectra Diamond (lovely car)1.6l
    1997 Citroen Xsara tdi (Comfy)
    1995 Ford Fiesta turbo
    2001 Ford Focus 1.4l
    1992 Subaru Legacy 1.6
    1992 Subaru Legacy 2.0 Turbo
    1991 Subaru Legacy RS 2.0 Turbo
    2001 Peugeot 206 gti
    1996 Subaru Impreza STI wagon (beast)
    2002 Ford Focus RS (another beast)
    2001 BMW 318i (troublesome)
    2003 Honda Civic Type R (EP3) (Pure animal)
    1999 Mitsubishi Pajero Evo (Alcoholic)
    1996 BMW 318tds (loved this car would run on the smell of diesel)
    1999 BMW 318is coupe (needs a new engine at the moment)
    1993 Subaru Legacy turbo Wagon (for the rainy day drive)
    Couple of ford ka's 3 I think, Still have them.
    2004 Ford Mondeo Tdci (only because of the high mileage I'm doing)

And then the rally cars :)
    Ford Ka championship spec (one of 4 ex works cars built)
    Peugeot 306 gti6 (built by Peugeot sport UK, Crashed by me!!)
    Citroen C4 ( currently in build progress at the moment)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

1969 Ford Escort mk1..field car
    1977 Toyota Corolla K20...biodegradable
    1978 BL Mini 998cc(with 1275cc engine transplant)
    1972 VW Beetle 1200cc full resto
    1977 VW Beetle 1641cc Cal Look full resto
    1987 Renault 11 diesel
    1982 VW Golf GTi 1.8 mk1
    1984 VW Golf GTi 1.8 mk2
    1986 VW Golf GTi 1.8 mk1 Cabrio
    1996 VW Polo 6n 1.0
    1997 VW Polo 6n 1.0
    1996 VW Golf GTi 2.0 16V
    1997 VW Vento 1.4
    2001 VW Golf 1.4
    2000 VW Bora TDi
    2001 Audi A4 TDi
    2001 BMW 320d se

also had several company vans over the years.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,874 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Okay, trying to remember years and models so bear with me if i'm not 100% on the money;
    • 1985 Opel Ascona 1.8 SRE - Great first car from the Father. Scary for me and somewhat bare, but a little rocket,
    • 1988 Escort RS 2000 - Big Boys toy. Loved it and kept it for years before selling,
    • 1990 Sierra Ghia 2.0 - Inherited from the Father, fast, reliable, comfortable and made more selling than was paid for it. :D
    • 1994 Mondeo 1.6 Ghia, RS Kit - Had all the bells and whistles looks wise, reliable, but a little uncomfortable over long drives,
    • 1996 Opel Vectra 1.8 - Quick motor, comfortable, reliable for the most pat with some minor faults,
    • 1998 Escort 1.6 H/B - Guzzler on fuel. Lasted less than 2 weeks and handed it back,
    • 1999 Focus hatchback 1.6 Ghia - Decent motor. First brand new car. All the mod cons, but hard on motorway driving and not comfortable to drive,
    • 2001 Opel Vectra 1.6 Diamond (i think) - What you would expect, reliable, good MPG, but not a looke and not going to win any races,
    • 2003 BMW 320td - Nice car, quick enough, but gave me no end of trouble with electrics especially engine electrics (mass flow sensor, etc),
    • 2004 BMW 520 - Lovely car, roomy, more reliable than the 3 series diesel, quick, and fairly new so good trade in price,
    • 2006 Mitsubishi Pajero Comm - Brand new, under powered (speed wise), little heavy on fuel, excellent off road ability, roomy, good workhorse,
    • 2007 Nissan Navara 2.5 SE - Bog standard, good engine, quick , 6 speed which was needed on the Pajero, back seats, relatively comfortable,
    • 2008 Nissan Navara LE Premium+IT pack - Spoilt myself, more extras, tweaked engine, other than that same as the 2007 model.
    In between the cars and jeeps i have also owned:
    • 1994 CBR 1000R
    • 1999 Suzuki GSXR 1100
    • 2003 CBR 1100 Blackbird
    • 2006 CBR 1100 Blackbird
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭locomo

A year 1998 fiesta is the one and only car I ever owned. Its off the road at the moment and is too expensive to run. One day I'll have a good job and have a decent car...I have to finish my education first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

Heres Family cars for the last 10 years - always like to change around makes & models. Have got them all new, some regrets but there u go!

01 Merceedes E200 Kompressor 2.0 petrol
    01 Landrover Freelander Sport 2.5 TDs
    03 Landrover Freelander Sport 2.5 TDs
    04 Renault Megane Convertible 1.6 Petrol
    05 Landrover Freelander Sport 2.5 TDs
    06 Renault Megane Touring Sport 1.5dci
    07 Mitsubishi Pajero Commerical 3.0d auto
    07 Mini Cooper John Cooper Works 1.6 auto
    07 Audi Q7 s-line 3.0 TDi auto
    10 Ford Mustang GT LHD 4.5 petrol auto