What Cars Have You Owned?

A lad I know from a Rover forum just got an Austin Princess, I can't remember ever seeing one in the flesh but it looks quite a respectable bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

RoverJames wrote: »
    A lad I know from a Rover forum just got an Austin Princess, I can't remember ever seeing one in the flesh but it looks quite a respectable bus.

Hope he doesn't announce that too loudly to the lads down the pub! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Longboard

94 Astra 1.4
    92 Vauxhall calibra 2.0 :)
    93 BMW 318is M-tec :)
    75 Datsun 260z
    01 Renault kangoo kar 1.4i :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭burger1979

first car - 1973 VW beetle GT model, fell in love with them when young and got one when i looked for my first car. spejnt a load on it mech wise, wanted to get it retored to full high standard but decided to go travelling instead. sold it to fund the travels. still miss it, the cold in the winter, was like driving with no shell on.

second car - 1990 subaru legacy (in NZ), auto had about 250K km's on the clock and everything still worked. bought it for 900 dollars and sold it for 1150.

third car - Toyota hilux surf (in NZ) 3 litre v6 petrol, drank petrol, almost ended going backwards on steep roads, such little power in it, great cruiser though on the flat, felt indestructible in it. bit of a stupid buy to be honest looking back

fourth and current car - mondeo ST TDCI 2005 reg, got it in england and no major problems with it. great cruiser, good bit of poke, well kitted out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭debbie123

driving with six months !!:D
    driven dads 96 2.5td jeep cherokee noisy bumpy uncomfortable but wont give up never had to put anything into it
    06 1.0l toyota yaris instructors car beautiful car to drive smooth easy to manoeuvre etc:rolleyes:
    00 1.1l fiat seicento which i've had since last year biggest ball of **** ever head gasket gone battery went noisy uncomfortable would be faster :owalking it gave up on me today im delighted:D
    from tomorrow on i'll be driving 99 nissan almera hatchback 1.6 very excited picking it up tomorrow:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Cionád

98 Almera 2ltr diesel - got it in 2005 with 120,000 miles, now has 178,000 and going strong - service it myself, so cheap to run! But slow, it's not a turbo.

Most likely replace it this summmer with either a faster diesel (VAG tdi most likely) or a petrol Fiat 500 under scrappage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,631 ✭✭✭MarkN

2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.25
    2002 Ford Focus Zetec Collection 1.4
    2003 VW Golf GTI 1.8T
    2004 Audi A3 Ambition 2.0TDI
    2005 VW Golf GTI 2.0T
    2006 VW Golf GTI 2.0T
    2007 Audi S3 2.0T
    2007 BMW 335 coupe 3.0 twin turbo
    2008 BMW M3 coupe 4.0 V8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭dermothickey

debbie123 wrote: »
    driving with six months !!:D
    driven dads 96 2.5td jeep cherokee noisy bumpy uncomfortable but wont give up never had to put anything into it
    06 1.0l toyota yaris instructors car beautiful car to drive smooth easy to manoeuvre etc:rolleyes:
    00 1.1l fiat seicento which i've had since last year biggest ball of **** ever head gasket gone battery went noisy uncomfortable would be faster :owalking it gave up on me today im delighted:D
    from tomorrow on i'll be driving 99 nissan almera hatchback 1.6 very excited picking it up tomorrow:D

Let me guess the fiat seicento had around 65000 miles on it when the head gasket went?.... Seems to be a common problem with fiats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 323gtr

96 peugeot 106 1.0 had it for 2 days head gasket gone - 91 nissan micra 1.0 11,000 miles in 3 months go on da micra - 90 ford fiesta van 1.8 gearbox all over the road - 95 citroen zx 1.4 ended up in the scrapyard - 94 opel astra 1.4 ended up in the scrapyard - 98 punto 1.2 scrapyard - 98 punto 1.0 automatic yellow body blue doors swaped for the sabb 900s - 96 punto 1.0 impound yard ha ha - 95 nissan sunny 1.4 best car ever for a rally ended up in the impound yard - 97 opel corsa 1.2 - 91 volvo 480 1.8 coupe - 98 volkswagon polo 1.0 - 98 renault megane 1.6 - 94 sabb 900s 2.0 (i never paid more than 400euro for any of these cars ha ha)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

MarkN wrote: »
    2000 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.25
    2002 Ford Focus Zetec Collection 1.4
    2003 VW Golf GTI 1.8T
    2004 Audi A3 Ambition 2.0TDI
    2005 VW Golf GTI 2.0T
    2006 VW Golf GTI 2.0T
    2007 Audi S3 2.0T
    2007 BMW 335 coupe 3.0 twin turbo
    2008 BMW M3 coupe 4.0 V8
    nice progression there, from a fiesta all the way to a 4 litre M3!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Because im a car salesman I've kinda owned a lot of cars but I'll post some of the worst ( as in condition ) just for fun....

1985 Alfa Arna

1980 Mini 850

1990 Citroen AX van

1999 Hiace Van....man it was rough :D

1991 Peugeot 309

1988 Volvo 340

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

2002 Toyota Starlet 1L.........('90) manual choke, reliable first car
    2006 Nissan Almera SXE........('05) company car no problems
    2007 Opel Astra 1.4.............('97) disaster
    2007 Toyota Carina E 1.6P....('90) taxi/wagon/great, suspension way too soft
    2009 Toyota Celica SS111.....('98) Best car so far if a bit boy racery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

I have my EG Civic....

I also owned an S13 Drift Silvia for 4 hours....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭I Was VB

I Was VB wrote: »
    99 Nissan Almera 1.4 Sport 80K
    90 Toyota Carina 1.6 GL 90K
    90 Toyota Carina 1.6 GL 78K
    91 Toyota Carina 1.6 GL 178K
    97 Toyota Carina 1.6 SLi 150K
    97 Nissan Primera 1.6 GX 90K
    96 Toyota Carina 1.6 GLi 110K (Still own now at 163K)
    89 Toyota Carina 1.6 GL 230K
    94 Toyota Corona 2.0D 213K Klms
    94 Peugeot 106 XN 75K
    94 Toyota Carina 2.0 GLi 189K
    00 Nissan Primera 98K
    92 Toyota Carina 2.0 Executive 70K
    93 Daiuhatsu Charade 1.3 CX 130K
    95 Toyota Carina 1.6 XLi 120K
    91 Honda Civic 1.3 Z3 201K
    00 Nissan Almera 1.4 Sport 140K
    94 Toyota Corona 2.0D 370K Klms (Still own now at 420K Klms)
    96 Toyota Carina 1.6 SLi 370K
    96 Toyota Carina 1.6 SLi 158K
    97 Toyota Carina 1.6 SLi 225K (Still own being used as parts car)
    97 Toyota Corolla 1.3 Plus 181K
    93 Toyota Carina JDM 2.0D 219K Klms (Still own currently being worked on)

03 Toyota Avensis 1.8 Luna 318K Miles (Current Motor)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

2004 Kia Sorento XSE Commercial - Lovely Jeep, really reliable, never let me down
    1999 Opel Astra 1.4 - Horrible car, died within 3 days, never drove right to start with
    2002 Peugot Partner 1.9 - Alright van, a little rattly, severley underpowered (non-turbo diesel)
    2010 Isuzu D-Max - if the bank says nice things next tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

1995 4dr Corolla 1.3 xli (2001) rip:(
    1994 4dr Corolla 1.3 xli (2002)
    1999 5dr Mondeo 1.6 (2002)
    2001 3dr Corolla 1.4 (2004)
    2001 4dr Avensis 1.6 (2005)
    2007 Accord TypeS 2.0 (2010)

RoverJames wrote: »
    1990 Rover 414si bought in 1999 as my first car at 18, loved it.

1995 Rover 214SEi bought at 20, kept that for 6 years, fine car but gearbox went at 120,000 miles or so. Sh1t happens

2005 Mondeo as a company car for a year, broke twice, DMF & intercooler prob, not impressive really.

1999 Rover 618, bought in 2006 for €2300 off a dealer and sold 6 months later for €3500 privately, fine cars, heavy on petrol though.

1995 Celica SS2, black, lowered, had an LSD and superstrut suspension, great car, always wanted one since I was a small dude, had that for 9 months

1997 Rover 400 diesel, loved that car, easy to tune, boost and fuel increase and she picked up nicely from idle, had that for a year.

1993 Prelude, 2.2 non VTEC auto, surprisingly quick and lovely except for fadey red paint, sold her to a lecturer in UCC after 4 months

1992 Merc 250 diesel, found her in Spiddle in Connemara, she had been off the road for a year or so and had over 220 thou on her, got her past an NCT and drove her for 3 months or so, was very slow though

Now have a Rover 216 Coupe (T bar roof, suits you sir :)), they are very rare, hardly ever see another, I'm happy enough with her, not too bad on petrol and comfy for the Cork to Galway trips, reckon I'll keep her till August or September or so, here she is

I like Rovers but as my car history shows I do buy other makes too :)
    Also I'm a believer in bangernomics, I do my best to avoid depreciation.

Rover currently having a rest, now in a 1993 520i touring, great car I have to admit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭DUBLINHITMAN

1st car 98 ALMERA SI
    2001 147
    98 318is coupe
    99 318is coupe
    99 520
    95 Sir civic
    2003 DC5
    95 EVO 3
    95 EVO 3
    2005 120D
    2001 EVO7
    present car 2006 EVO 9
    next car is coming next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pcardin

1984 Audi 100 2.3 - had no reverse gear but was good enough for teen years
    1981 Opel Senator A 2.5 - fantastic limo
    1984 BMW 520 e28 - my first BMW. Lot of fun and memories.
    1987 BMW 323 e30 - fast 2 door rocket.
    1991 Fiat Tipo 1.4 - total s**t but very economical.
    1989 Honda Accord Aerodeck 2.0 (3rd gen.) - fantastic car. still miss it.
    1992 BMW 525 e34 - was gone in 60 seconds one morning
    1994 BMW M5 e34 - fast. F..ck the fuel economy
    1995 BMW 730 e38 - nice black limo.
    2000 Peugeot 406 Coupe 3.0 - limited edition with B&O stereo inside. Rare.
    1996 Lancia Kappa 2.0 - Nice and rare.
    1999 Lancia Kappa Coupe 3.0 - one of 3500 manufacured.Still have it!
    1999 Maserati Quattroporte 2.8 biturbo. crushed. still have this one.
    2003 Alfa Romeo 166 2.0 - wifes car.
    2005 Lancia Thesis 3.0 - very beautiful.
    1999 Maserati Quattroporte 3.2 V8 Bi-Turbo Evoluzzione. Still have it!
    1996 Mercedes-Benz E320 (w210)
    1996 Mercedes-Benz S320 (w140). Panzer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

2004 E63 Bmw 645ci 4.4 V8 cool.gif ( current car )
    2003 E46 Bmw 330d M-Sport biggrin.gif
    2000 E39 Bmw 523i SE smile.gif
    2003 E46 Bmw 325i M-Sportbiggrin.gif
    2001 C5 Audi A6 2.4 V6 :(
    2005 E90 Bmw 330i SE biggrin.gif
    2005 E46 Bmw 320d ES frown.gif
    2004 E46 Bmw 320d M-Sport biggrin.gif
    1995 E36 Bmw 316i SEsmile.gif

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

kceire wrote: »
    1998 Honda Civic
    2002 Honda Civic
    1997 Honda Integra Type R
    1998 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 5
    2001 VW Golf GTi (Mk4)
    2002 BMW X5 4.4 V8 Sport
    2005 Toyota Avensis D4D
    2005 BMW 320d (E90 Shape)
    2002 MG ZR

all started off in March 2002 when i bought the 98' Civic from my parents.

Current Car - 2001 Audi S3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭I Was VB

I Was VB wrote: »
    Originally Posted by I Was VB viewpost.gif
    99 Nissan Almera 1.4 Sport 80K
    90 Toyota Carina 1.6 GL 90K
    90 Toyota Carina 1.6 GL 78K
    91 Toyota Carina 1.6 GL 178K
    97 Toyota Carina 1.6 SLi 150K
    97 Nissan Primera 1.6 GX 90K
    96 Toyota Carina 1.6 GLi 110K (Still own now at 163K)
    89 Toyota Carina 1.6 GL 230K
    94 Toyota Corona 2.0D 213K Klms
    94 Peugeot 106 XN 75K
    94 Toyota Carina 2.0 GLi 189K
    00 Nissan Primera 98K
    92 Toyota Carina 2.0 Executive 70K
    93 Daiuhatsu Charade 1.3 CX 130K
    95 Toyota Carina 1.6 XLi 120K
    91 Honda Civic 1.3 Z3 201K
    00 Nissan Almera 1.4 Sport 140K
    94 Toyota Corona 2.0D 370K Klms (Still own now at 420K Klms)
    96 Toyota Carina 1.6 SLi 370K
    96 Toyota Carina 1.6 SLi 158K
    97 Toyota Carina 1.6 SLi 225K (Still own being used as parts car)
    97 Toyota Corolla 1.3 Plus 181K
    93 Toyota Carina JDM 2.0D 219K Klms (Still own currently being worked on)

03 Toyota Avensis 1.8 Luna 318K Miles (Current Motor)

97 Toyota Carina 1.8 GLi 212K miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

well the years i cant remember

daihatsu charade gtti /the best car in the world for engine size and power
    renaullt 5 gt turbo
    bmw 520
    renault laguna
    hyundai coupe
    535 bmw
    saab 2lt turbo
    c 180 merc
    e300 merc
    mx5 mazda
    3ltr twin turbo 300 zx now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

99 Opel astra 1.4 served me well, was good for a starter car well till the head gasket in it went :mad:.

currently 06 Honda accord type s well pleased with it such a step up from hte astra.

Thats it short list compared to some on here:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Mitsubishi Colt
    Hyundai Coupe
    BMW 318
    Nissan 350z
    BMW 520d
    BMW 535d

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭analfabets

1975 Lada 21011 1.3L petrol
    1986 Opel Ascona 1.8L petrol
    1986 VW Golf MKII 1.6L petrol
    1991 Audi S2 2.2L turbo petrol very fast, comfortable, rare car. I still miss it.
    1997 Fiat punto 1.2L petrol A ball of s***e
    1993 Audi 80 B4 2.0L petrol
    1994 BMW 520i E34 2.0L petrol. Was breaking down a lot.
    2003 Mazda6 1.8L petrol. very reliable car. Never had any problems with it.Only sold it last week.
    Currently drive 2001 Fiat punto 1.2L petrol.
    Cars in linked pictures are the same colour and as similar looking as I could get. Mazda is the actual car I had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

1990 Honda Civic 25XT 1.5
    1994 Renault 19 Rsi 1.4 (best 200€ ever spent)
    1997 Toyota Cynos 1.3
    1990 Renault 5 GT Turbo
    2005 Volvo S60 2.0t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭high horse

1996 Seat Ibiza (1043cc, 45bhp and 0-60mph in 21.6 secs!!!:eek::eek::eek:)
    1997 Peugeot 406 (1.9TD....yawn)
    1991 BMW E30 318iS ( 1.8, 136bhp and so much fun to drive)
    2003 BMW E46 320d M-Sport touring (quick enough and can load all my stuff)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

2005 - Ford Fiesta 1.25L (1994) - No power steering, no electric windows, mirrors or anything. A guy pulled up alongside me (to my left) at traffic lights in an S-class Merc. He pointed at something on my car. I had to lean over to wind down the passenger side window so he could tell me my hubcap was falling off. Needless to say I was mortified. :o
    Over the next few years it was my goal to have a car with power steering, electric windows, remote central locking, a centre armrest, alloy wheels (no more hubcaps falling off) and buttons on the steering wheel (no matter what they did.) I accomplished this through the following...

2006 - Seat Ibiza 1.0L (1999) - Got my power steering.

2007 - Seat Toledo 1.6L (2000) - Added electric windows and central locking but after a year this car gave me awful trouble...some of it was amusing though (such as an indoor swimming pool in the rear footwell).

2009 - Mazda 6 1.8L (2004) - All electric windows and mirrors, remote central locking, buttons on the steering wheel, centre armrest and alloy wheels. I even got climate controlled a/c and cruise control so now I'm happy as a pig in sh**e. I have everything I want in a car so this should do me for a good few years. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

1992 Fiesta (bought in 1999) - red, obviously the colour was the most important thing, cost me 1,500 punts to insure, I cried walking into PMPA with the deposit of 700 for the INSURANCE - the car cost me 3,000 punts.......kept it for 3 years, like the first boyfriend, haha!!

2000 Ka (black) - bought in 2002 - can't believe this, but I put a 6 cd-changer into it at a cost of 600 punt - it's actually for sale at the moment, couldn't believe it when I found it there a second ago on carzone! kept it for 2 years

1999 Avensis (black) bought in 2004 - my favourite car to date - cried the first day I drove it - had never driven anything that big in my life!!! bought a house in the sticks and someone said I should get something with a bonnet!!! kept it for 11 months!

2002 Almera (silver) bought in 2005 - was BORED of it after 6 weeks - held onto it for 10 months

2006 Grand Vitara (kashmir blue) - my first and only new car - sold my baby for a job up the country cos the mpg was slaughter!!! paid 26.5k for it in March 2006 - sold it in March 2008 for 18k to a dealer - it's still sitting on his lot........lucky escape, eh (didn't realise it until I got the Mondy but the ride is hard on the back, and the boot was non-existent!)

2007 Mondeo (sliver) bought in March 2008 with 33k kms on it - just been serviced at the w/e with 115k kms on it - diesel - it's like driving a couch, I know they get a lot of slack, but jaysus, it's a savage car..........would recommend them to anyone on the road, will have to drive it till it dies though cos of my mileage............(got my first penalty points 3 hours after I collected it)

next car will be a DB9 when my lotto number come in!