Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take Me Out - Irish Version [ATTN: Please read Mod Note in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

johnn wrote: »
    The guy going from 7 left to a Blackout because of his childhood love of Fireman Sam is still the most harsh thing i've seen on the programme.

Yeah. I don't get it. Surely all first dates are spent reminiscing about what went on in the Den, smiley bars etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

Yeah. I don't get it. Surely all first dates are spent reminiscing about what went on in the Den, smiley bars etc.

Jesus, there is a flashback :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

nicklauski wrote: »
    Jesus, there is a flashback :D

Remember chomps :)

Remember them! I used to love them. Remember they used to be 10p, could have been 8p at one stage as well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

Im really gonna' have to curb in the amount of crap I talk so! Gave some young one my life story in coppers the other night :pac:

Lads, the Chomp's still around! Cadbury's - 20/25 cent.

Looking forward to hearing from the girls and Keith tomorrow. (I imagine they're all locked now.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

It was that beard,lose the beard.More lights would have stayed on without it.

I know he is on here somewhere,you are a lovely guy and the guitar was great.
    You looked heartbroken :( chin up though i doubt you are short girls :D

oh someone said dress sense of the guys were off and not good.I think they are doing pretty well.
    Our dub guitar player was dressed nice.

Lads, the Chomp's still around! Cadbury's - 20/25 cent.

Looking forward to hearing from the girls and Keith tomorrow. (I imagine they're all locked now.)

Ah yeah but they are not like the chomps of old,they tasted nicer when you were younger and had no worries :)

BOOM. There you have it :)
    They did taste much nicer when we were younger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 lordbuckley

I know it's just a lightweight bit of a fun dating show but it makes my heart sink to think this is a cross-section of young Irish people. The girls wear too much make-up and let's just say that in my own personal opinion, they are lacking in elegance. That's not necessarily their fault, I imagine tv makeup is a particular skill and TV3 should help them out, but frankly, the combo of trowelled-on slap and mini-skirt does few of the girls any favours.

The men are also very badly-dressed; I haven't seen any smart suits or even many shoes on show, it has been jeans and trainers all the way. Nothing wrong with jeans and trainers...but if I were going on tv, I would try look my best and make more of an effort. The Irish lads don't exude much charm or even the cockiness or quirkiness we can find on the British version (I am not a fan of the UK version either, but at least the contestants have some attitude).

Finally, the production is very poor. The backstage shots look like a tea break on a building site, the studio audience appear less numerous than the congregation at morning mass and the canned laughter is just bleak. Ray Foley is limp as a dead fish, and his attempts at sarcasm are weak and formulaic - his quips going to ad-breaks are almost exclusively based on mundane chores not being able to do themselves.

Do I like the show?...emphatically not.

Will I be watching it again?...indeed I will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,528 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Well the thing with the clothes is, if all the guys "dressed up" a bit, ie shirt, polished shoes, slacks, etc they would all just look the same.

I would get a bit fed up if I saw endless shirt n tie after shirt n tie. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

So upset, internet down til now:( Only just caught up.
    Keith, keith, keith....why? That whiskey had definately taken hold:D
    The guitar was quite good and you are not too bad looking either;). But jeebus, why did you have to go on the attack? As much as it made good t.v. for the us, you would have definately had a few lights on in the end.
    Another thing, why did you attack the older lady, she is lovely. Perhaps the others were kinda looking for it, but her!!!!!!!!!
    Anyhow, at least you aren't that guy from Wicklow, count yourself lucky;).
    Just goes to show, from a distance you think they are alright and then they open their mouths.
    Last guy was lovely, but my God, all i would wanna do is cuddle him, couldn't even begin to imagine sexy time with someone that huggable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Mr. Emu

Wouldn't be my cup of tea. but I certainly wouldn't be everyones cup of tea either, so just goes to show you, beauty is in the eye of the beholder & all that!

I'm one of the guys on it next week

Mr. Emu wrote: »
    Oooohh which one? Give us a few hints. No spoilers though!

Mr. Emu wrote: »

Which one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭FrostyJack

Well the thing with the clothes is, if all the guys "dressed up" a bit, ie shirt, polished shoes, slacks, etc they would all just look the same.

I would get a bit fed up if I saw endless shirt n tie after shirt n tie. :P

Your half right, that guy came out in a waist coat like a snooker player, it was going to end one way. Shiney trousers = no no. I wouldn't really complain about the rest (bar the "pretend army" looking guy who stole my Aishling last week). The girls looked fine, exactly what they would wear on a Saturday night out, I don't know what the complaints about "slap" were all girls wear it. I'm not a fan of it but c'est la vie.

FrostyJack wrote: »
    I don't know what the complaints about "slap" were all girls wear it. I'm not a fan of it but c'est la vie.
    I would kind of say leave them wear it without the criticism. Its t.v., they are being judged on looks and are in competition. Really its a confidence thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭FrostyJack

I would leave them, they look fine, it's only the attitude I would be against, looks, they are all fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 LouMc147

coffeyb6 wrote: »
    So what was the ginger guys smart answer to that money hungry one on the end?

She said something bout him being too quick and he said 'that's the first time I've had a girl complain about me being too quick'!! Love it....good man Eanna :)

LouMc147 wrote: »
    She said something bout him being too quick and he said 'that's the first time I've had a girl complain about me being too quick'!! Love it....good man Eanna :)

Fairplay to you,i think its a great show its just a bit of fun and i think people are starting to realise that,just wondering is that Sinead girl still single? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭santana75

There's a girl there called Angelique or something. Surely she's a man?

+1. Brilliant.

My god this gets better/worse by the week. That lad who came out and played the guitar........Jaysus he was in the wrong place that night. I cant believe your woman didnt know stairway to heaven???? That guy was way too rock n roll for a bunch of your average Irish girls. Sure they were singing along to the Michael Bubble song one lad came out to!! They probably all listen to fm104 or 98fm.
    Anyway has there been one decent looking replacement girl yet? The standard of the women, lookswise, is very poor. Except for Sinead with the fringe and long dark hair though, shes fairly gorgeous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 VisitorQ

Yes that was me! I was the nobber with the guitar!!!!!

A couple of things i want to say:

• I didnt mention on here that i got a blackout because it would have spoiled it!
    • the "thing on my face" is gone!!! i was experimenting but obviously picked the wrong time to experiment!
    • i actually noticed myself how many times i said "like" and im DISGUSTED! I can only blame it on the nerves.
    • I DID come across as a tad aggressive alright
    • I made an unholy ****in SHAMBLES of that guitar solo! After practicing it 100 times the day before and having a blister on my finger from playing it so much, i really thought i would have nailed it...the nerves got to me!!! Also, the tone was absolute MUCK!!!!

Now something you people NEED to realise about the show:

• Us lads were absolutely TERRIFIED backstage...hands shaking and all. Myself and Shane had to belt a few shots of whisky into us to take the edge off!!!
    • What you see of the bloke and your judgement of him is based on how he behaves in an intense few moments with cameras on him and 30 girls picking out flaws on him as a person and his image. It's hard to truly be yourself and put your best foot forward when the potential of rejection is SO high. So dont think that you have me all summed up based on those 10 minutes!!! Or ANY of the lads for that matter!
    • To the negative ****ers: It's all very good and well sitting at home on a friday night, shielded behind your monitor and LASHING out the criticism...but answer me this: would YOU have the balls to do it???? somehow i doubt it!
    • If you're feeling bitter because you haven't started up your own company and couldnt get your idea off the ground or whatever, i can understand why you would make cynical statements like "want your own company?? good luck!!! who doesnt". Do you have a problem with ambition?

Not trying to preach here or anything but I just wanted to issue a well warranted rebuttal to the cynicism and criticism.

Oscar Wilde summed it up well when he said "The cynic knows the price of everything and the value of nothing"
    -

Hey Keith, you didn't come across badly at all!

It was clear that much of the guitar problem was to do with tone.

Anyways, you were a relative hit with the ladies here last night, so well done, sounds like you enjoyed it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

When is the repeat of this?

Today at 19:00 on TV3

Keith all I'll say is you're a legend for even doing it. Balls of steel man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭santana75

VisitorQ wrote: »
    Yes that was me! I was the nobber with the guitar!!!!!

A couple of things i want to say:

• I didnt mention on here that i got a blackout because it would have spoiled it!
    • the "thing on my face" is gone!!! i was experimenting but obviously picked the wrong time to experiment!
    • i actually noticed myself how many times i said "like" and im DISGUSTED! I can only blame it on the nerves.
    • I DID come across as a tad aggressive alright
    • I made an unholy ****in SHAMBLES of that guitar solo! After practicing it 100 times the day before and having a blister on my finger from playing it so much, i really thought i would have nailed it...the nerves got to me!!! Also, the tone was absolute MUCK!!!!
    Now something you people NEED to realise about the show:

• Us lads were absolutely TERRIFIED backstage...hands shaking and all. Myself and Shane had to belt a few shots of whisky into us to take the edge off!!!
    • What you see of the bloke and your judgement of him is based on how he behaves in an intense few moments with cameras on him and 30 girls picking out flaws on him as a person and his image. It's hard to truly be yourself and put your best foot forward when the potential of rejection is SO high. So dont think that you have me all summed up based on those 10 minutes!!! Or ANY of the lads for that matter!
    • To the negative ****ers: It's all very good and well sitting at home on a friday night, shielded behind your monitor and LASHING out the criticism...but answer me this: would YOU have the balls to do it???? somehow i doubt it!
    • If you're feeling bitter because you haven't started up your own company and couldnt get your idea off the ground or whatever, i can understand why you would make cynical statements like "want your own company?? good luck!!! who doesnt". Do you have a problem with ambition?
    Not trying to preach here or anything but I just wanted to issue a well warranted rebuttal to the cynicism and criticism.

Oscar Wilde summed it up well when he said "The cynic knows the price of everything and the value of nothing"
    -

Fair play man. Some people are saying that you were too aggresive/offensive but they seem to have selective memories. The girls gave it out, and if they can give it out they sure as hell should be able to take it. Case in point, when the lady said to you that she was looking for a man not a boy and you basically shot it right back at her saying she was a bit old for you. There was a gasp from all the girls as if she was innocent and you had taken a pop at her for no reason. But she had it coming for what she said to you. Like I said, if you can dish it out you better be able to take it. So its unfair of anybody to criticize you for giving back what you were getting.
    It would be very interesting to see what would happen if the tables were turned i.e. 30 blokes judging 1 girl. I have a feeling there wouldnt be many women brave enough to go for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 VisitorQ

santana75 wrote: »
    Fair play man. Some people are saying that you were too aggresive/offensive but they seem to have selective memories. The girls gave it out, and if they can give it out they sure as hell should be able to take it. Case in point, when the lady said to you that she was looking for a man not a boy and you basically shot it right back at her saying she was a bit old for you. There was a gasp from all the girls as if she was innocent and you had taken a pop at her for no reason. But she had it coming for what she said to you. Like I said, if you can dish it out you better be able to take it. So its unfair of anybody to criticize you for giving back what you were getting.
    It would be very interesting to see what would happen if the tables were turned i.e. 30 blokes judging 1 girl. I have a feeling there wouldnt be many women brave enough to go for that.

You hit the nail on the head man! Couldn't agree more! I give as good as i get and was quite surprised some of the lads on the episodes before me didn't retort to what the girls were saying! Having said that, I'm on great terms with all the girls from the show...ESPECIALLY Sharon!!! Myself and here were PISSING ourselves laughing at the whole thing last night!!!!!

The Aussie version Taken Out mixes it up with blokes being the selectors. It would be a ****in disaster in ireland i think though!!!!

Jesus, what a night out we all had...Most of the people from Series 1 and 2 BATTERING the booze into us!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Ruby-J

johnn wrote: »
    A few of the girls post on here don't they?

Yup!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Ruby-J

VisitorQ wrote: »
    Jesus, what a night out we all had...Most of the people from Series 1 and 2 BATTERING the booze into us!!!

Raging i missed it!!! :(

Id say it was a mad one alright!