Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wannabe Freemason is now a CT mod.

• Registered Users Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Podman

Papa Smut wrote: »
    But do you not see since this is a private site, with rules and regulations that specify that you cannot have a second account, that you have to abide by them or find a new place? God knows the internet is big enough.

Boards isn't "just another web site" our usernames are us. I know so many boardsies in real life it's ridiculous (and sometimes scary:P). It's a community. There is absolutely no reason to have more than one login and if you do, you should be banned, permanently, as you obviously don't understand the basic ethic and community behind boards.

Well, if it's so serious then why not search all the IP addresses and ban the hell out of a bunch of unsuspecting people?

Alternatively, there is an option to ask the person which account they'd like merged, as happened in my case. At least that way, multiple users in the same house would have some protection, and single accounts would be spared the firing squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

demonspawn wrote: »
    They've now disabled my user CT so I can't disable my avatar. I hope this is getting through to people.
    This made me chuckle.

I'm off to troll Jim Corr on facebook.

Also, can anyone tell me the meaning behing the avatar? I don't know what it symbolises?
    Did anyone read that last sentence in an Australian accent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,805 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    It was 40 foot and they went willingly.
    Trinity, is that you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Whether or not subscribers add themselves to that 'group'; their names still appear here

My name is there and I left the Subscriber's group.. Demon'sPawn was not listed there before his ban..

Look, only an Admin can refute the claim that one of their crew altered a person's profile.. I believe that it happened.. bizarre as it may be that this is a thread about the CT forum, on 9/11

Actually, does mentioning those coincidences disprove my belief?

Until someone who can look at the database entries forensically we have no way of knowing. It can take anything from 24 hours to longer at the weekend for the lists including that of who is a subscriber to refresh.

Oh and I have been a subscriber and my name is not on that list, so I would notassume it's definitive and 100% correct all the time.

• Site Banned Posts: 8,331 ✭✭✭Brown Bomber

But do you not see since this is a private site, with rules and regulations that specify that you cannot have a second account, that you have to abide by them or find a new place? God knows the internet is big enough.
    [/QUOTE]
    Boards isn't "just another web site" our usernames are us. I know so many boardsies in real life it's ridiculous (and sometimes scary:P).
    It's a community.

There is absolutely no reason to have more than one login and if you do, you should be banned, permanently,
    Gordon

Aye that's right. Actually we don't have the privileges to merge accounts btw.

If you aren't using the second account to cause trouble then it's cool, we prefer you to use the same account, we can't stop you from signing up again, but please just use the one account. ta
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=61920816&postcount=6
    BuffyBot
    It's fine, once you don't use it to get around any forum bans on your old account and/or other nefarious purposes
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64121817&postcount=2
    BuffyBot

You can have a second account, once you're not using it for trolling/getting around a forum ban etc.

I don't believe it will allow you to create another account using the same email however.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=63318162&postcount=2
    Zaph
    Sugar free gummi bear

While we wouldn't actively encourage people to create and use alt accounts, as long as they behave themselves there's no rule against doing so.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64324643&postcount=2
    seamus
    Dental Plan!

There's a popular misconception that having another account is banned completely. Don't worry, all/most us Smods thought the same thing at one point.

There's no problem with people having more than one account, unless the second account can be used to circumvent a forum or site ban.

Our actions depend on the context. If someone has a known second account and gets banned from a forum, then it may be a matter of banning both accounts from the one forum, or sitebanning one account. If someone registers a new account *after* having gotten a ban, we'll usually ban both accounts from the site, and all future accounts belonging to that person.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64324643&postcount=2

as you obviously don't understand the basic ethic and community behind boards.

In light of this thread I certainly dont understand the "basic ethic and community behind boards".

The insults flown around about mental illnesses and nervous breakdowns were disgusting and anyone involved should be ashamed of themselves, especially people who are to represent the site itself.

That aside, if you do care about "the basic ethic and community behind boards" you should try to salvage some integrity by sending out the the message of the "basic ethic and community behind boards" you espouse by transparently investigating and punishing whoever is responsible for ****ing around with his sig and avatar to make a fool out of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Ive read through this thread and noticed My name is Url Questions were not answered

Was Demons Account a Subscriber Account . Im sure this can be checked by an Admin .

If his avatar was being changed to a custom to mock him you were attacking the Poster and not the post which seems to be Rule 1.1

I would really like to know the answer to this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

If you're talking about me there brown bomber, I wasn't insulting the guy, I would have genuine concerns about the guys mental health, and it waobvious that his stress levels were climbing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Thaedydal wrote: »
    You are thinking of the order of Hibernian which was formed as freemasonry back that didn't admit catholics but this changed over time. But the Hibernian order still exists but the rosy cross is more active.

Isn't the Knights of Ni Columbus the Catholic version?

Edit: Sorry response to tbh
    That's fair enough, to be frank it was initially bluewolf/lonewolf (?) who prior to this thread had been taking the piss in the CT feedback thread too, aggraviting the situation with demonspawn farther still. I just find the whole thing very distasteful. Commenting on someone's mental state and nervous breakdown, which he had admitted to is incredibly low, especially for cheap laughs. It was like a gang of big kids gathered around a small kid with a deformity poking fun. Except we aren't kids, we have responsibilitys as adults, and further still admins/mods have a greater responsibilty again as they are the public face and the moral guides really on how to behave in the "community spirit" that was mentioned before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭FarmerGreen

Next time someone runs amok like that couldnt you give him a week off before he goes completely ever the top and gets banned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

That aside, if you do care about "the basic ethic and community behind boards" you should try to salvage some integrity by sending out the the message of the "basic ethic and community behind boards" you espouse by transparently investigating and punishing whoever is responsible for ****ing around with his sig and avatar to make a fool out of him.

I like to think of myself as open, honest and approachable. If somebody comes to me with a problem be it with the site itself, a forum/post or with something I personally have done, then I'm all ears.

That is, if the person approaching me does so in a rational, coherent and calm manner.

To be quite frank, anybody who starts throwing out wild accusations and personal insults is fair game. Demonspawn could have walked away from this thread, but no, he insisted on continuing his borderline hysteria nonsense, resulting in another admin banning both him and his alt account.

He could have kept his ideas to the Conspiracy Theories forum, but the moment he started a thread here on Feedback and started throwing out wild accusations was the moment he opened himself up to ridicule.

I never once engaged in personal abuse against him, yet he continued to hurl abuse at moderators and admins (pigs, burning in hell in particular springs to mind).

So, you and all your other "righteous indignation" buddies will have to accept the fact that, there isn't going to be any investigation, there isn't going to be any witch hunt and there sure as hell isn't going to be any punishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I like to think of myself as open, honest and approachable. If somebody comes to me with a problem be it with the site itself, a forum/post or with something I personally have done, then I'm all ears.

That is, if the person approaching me does so in a rational, coherent and calm manner.

To be quite frank, anybody who starts throwing out wild accusations and personal insults is fair game. Demonspawn could have walked away from this thread, but no, he insisted on continuing his borderline hysteria nonsense, resulting in another admin banning both him and his alt account.

He could have kept his ideas to the Conspiracy Theories forum, but the moment he started a thread here on Feedback and started throwing out wild accusations was the moment he opened himself up to ridicule.

I never once engaged in personal abuse against him, yet he continued to hurl abuse at moderators and admins (pigs, burning in hell in particular springs to mind).

So, you and all your other "righteous indignation" buddies will have to accept the fact that, there isn't going to be any investigation, there isn't going to be any witch hunt and there sure as hell isn't going to be any punishment.

Once someone like Demonspawn starts there is no way he is not going to try to finish or much more likely be finished as predictably happened this time. Anyone who has looked at his posts outside CT (which I am self banned from) can see what sort he is. This was only going to end one way.

Evidently not so. I came to you with a problem and in the same post you make this comment directed at me
    you and all your other "righteous indignation" buddies

That is not "all ears" to addressing a problem.
    To be quite frank, anybody who starts throwing out wild accusations and personal insults is fair game.

Isn't that the Scientology position too?

Seriously though, I was led to believe that nobody on the site is "fair game" in line with the ethos of the "community".
    Demonspawn could have walked away from this thread, but no, he insisted on continuing his borderline hysteria nonsense, resulting in another admin banning both him and his alt account.

I have no intention of defending demonspawn, his actions were indefensible, especially in the CT feedback thread in his actions towards yekahs. I don't question his ban in any way,

However, anything he has done does not excuse an admin from abusing his position and privelidges to abuse and insult a user of the forum, because that is what he still was.

Or am I missing something?

So bottom line - One rule for us and one rule for you's and if you don't like it you can **** off!

Not very community orientated...

And if nobody has done anything wrong surely there should be no issues with sharing who changed the avatar/sig?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

And if nobody has done anything wrong surely there should be no issues with sharing who changed the avatar/sig?

Particularly when it was denied (I think) earlier...

Your man's actions were indefensible, the actions of those who responded, were less so, despite the very dubious statements that no insults were thrown and everything was said out of genuine concern.

Poor show, not the ultimate outcome, but the execution thereof...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Edit: Sorry response to tbh
    That's fair enough, to be frank it was initially bluewolf/lonewolf (?) who prior to this thread had been taking the piss in the CT feedback thread too, aggraviting the situation with demonspawn farther still. I just find the whole thing very distasteful. Commenting on someone's mental state and nervous breakdown, which he had admitted to is incredibly low, especially for cheap laughs. It was like a gang of big kids gathered around a small kid with a deformity poking fun. Except we aren't kids, we have responsibilitys as adults, and further still admins/mods have a greater responsibilty again as they are the public face and the moral guides really on how to behave in the "community spirit" that was mentioned before.
    Okay, lets go back and see...
    Ok, I love a joke now and again but seriously, what the f**k? Is this a really bad joke? Yehaks has been so openly critical of CTers and denies any and all CTs on that forum and now someone at the top as seen fit to make him a moderator.

As conspiracies go, this one is just so obvious it's not even funny. Great job, this whole website has just been sussed.

Obvious conspiracy is obvious
    He starts off by crying conspiracy on the choice of mods. We make those choices and remain completely impartial in doing so.
    There's a link to the Grand Lodge of Antrim in yekah's signature. There's a rumor that DeVore is a Freemason. You must think we're all thick or something.
    Rumours and speculation.
    Insults and mockery are the first defense, right? Make the person look foolish so others don't bother investigating. I know how it all works.

Actually, the lies are the first defense. Make yourselves look like some ordinary men's club, charitable and kind, when behind the scenes we know what really goes on. When the lies fail you resort to character assassination.
    He knows what is really going on?
    Nope, nobody is out to get me. I'm out to get you lot. Don't you see that? Freemasons and their kind are the scum of this Earth and their time is up.
    I'm out to get you lot?
    Freemasons are Godless pigs and they will burn in Hell forever for what they do.
    Enough said.
    They've now disabled my user CT so I can't disable my avatar. I hope this is getting through to people.
    Disabled the user CT. I'll give him the benefit of the doubt here and say he probably meant CP but as far as I know, that can't be done.
    That this site really is run by Freemason pigs. I forgot to mention something. My family are well known and these actions by the administrators of this site will also be well known.
    We are all "freemason pigs?"
    I can't take a screenshot. The user control panel button just doesn't work anymore. As I said, my family is well known and this will become public.
    The user control panel doesn't work??? My family is well known???
    This is the problem with you Freemasons. You're all quite thick when you think you're clever. This is why we all know about your secrets, you let too many halfwits in and ruin the whole thing.
    Freemasons and quite thick?

Now, as you are all for fairness, equality and community spirit, am I to take it that as Admins/Mods on boards.ie, we just have to suck these allegations up? You may have noticed that we didn't rise to the bait but if he wishes to say things in a public forum that, to put it bluntly, are total and utter crap, and if he really believes in these statements, isn't he leaving himself open to being questioned by people here?

The he posted this gem in the CT forum...

Great. Well, seeing as you're a mod now how about you enforce this.

Go fuk yourself and fuk this forum. Now ban me and go fuk yourself again.

I'm all for defending people here but you know, at some stage, things can become indefensible.

First of all Devore was a Freemason. He talked about it in a CT thread.

Secondly, I agree his actions were indefensible but nobody is trying to defend them, least of all me.

However, these type of comments are also indefensible
    go talk to a doctor

Thick isn't the word that springs to mind.

I think you have mental issues and I shouldn't be winding you up, but.

Since his breakdown I would imagine
    Which makes me feel a little guilty
    but oh well

Yet they are defended or conveniently ignored at least.

The actions of the admin(s) who changed his avatar and sig is also indefensible. Yet it appears you have closed ranks because its one of your buddies who broke the rules and not some Joe Bloggs user.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

The actions of the admin(s) who changed his avatar and sig is also indefensible. Yet it appears you have closed ranks because its one of your buddies who broke the rules and not some Joe Bloggs user.
    What rules were broken?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

smashey wrote: »
    What rules were broken?

The "don't be a dick" rule. He should have just been banned, messing around with his avatar just inflamed the situation.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Rubik. wrote: »
    The "don't be a dick" rule. He should have just been banned, messing around with his avatar just inflamed the situation.

In retrospect I can see this might have irked people but from my POV this guy was insulting the community and out to troll and ruin a new mod's start on a forum. He had previously called problems in after hours. I would think that tbh, changing the avatar was done in jest and perhaps considering the reaction might not have necessarily been the best move. Objectively, the guy is going crazy on a thread about freemasons moderating the conspiracy theories forum and then he gets his avatar silently changed to an image that presumably has something to do with the freemasons? I'd think it funny myself rather than necessarily dickish.
    I've seen it happen before from time to time (They changed me name to dr.sucksbollocko!!) and I think the posters usually took it as a joke in good spirit. Perhaps in the context of such a hot-headed thread it was a step too far. The whole series of events is unfortunate, particularly for the poor guys who have to start modding under a cloud like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

So bottom line - One rule for us and one rule for you's and if you don't like it you can **** off!

Not very community orientated...

I have never ever agreed with BB and probably never ever will again; and Demonspawn was one of the most cretinous and moronic posters to ever wander through this site, and deserved much of the ridicule he got.

Having said that, if it is true that some Mod/Admin was fcuking around with his Avator etc., it really is pretty pathetic - its like pulling the wings off a dying fly - and the fact that TomDunne is essentially defending the practice is quite unedifying.

smashey wrote: »
    What rules were broken?

Are you serious? Surely it is the time for common sense and not pedantry?

You want me to quote from the Admin handbook:

• All users are equal but some are more equal than others.
    • Thou shall not commit abuses of power by accessing users accounts and altering them to take the piss, further escalating an already volatile situation.
    Of course there is no need to actually publish such a rule because it goes with saying,

Any number of rules or guidelines have been breached in this thread, this one in particular
    • defame, abuse, harass, stalk, threaten or otherwise violate the rights (such as rights of privacy and publicity) of others

This is also pertinent from the FAQ's
    Suggesting to someone that has a serious problem that <insert alternative therapy here> might cure it is very irresponsible. Don't diagnose anyone on the site either. You simply can’t and we don’t want you doing it. Don't do it.

Its not that any particular rule has or hasn't been broken, the real issue for me is that demonstrated that the laws don't appy to them, someone essentialy hacked into demonspawns account and modified the details of his account. Which is perfectly fine, your site you can do what you want but it is then misleading to proclaim yourselves as a community when in reality it works like some kind of monarchy where the serfs do as they are told and the royalty have no accountability.

This could've easily been resolved. Whoever done it holds there hand up say they shouldn't have and then we could all move on. **** happens in the heat of the moment, no big deal. However, what we have had is apparent initial denials followed a closing of ranks.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Yes, we should not pour gas on fires, regardless how idiotic those fires are. I think its time this thread wound down so I'm putting a 24 hour warning on it now, unless someone has anything useful to bring to the discussion.

DeV.

DeVore wrote: »
    Yes, we should not pour gas on fires, regardless how idiotic those fires are. I think its time this thread wound down so I'm putting a 24 hour warning on it now, unless someone has anything useful to bring to the discussion.

Perhaps the Admin who was fcuking with his avator should say 'yeah, it was me, i was acting the d!ck, apologies', the thread should be closed and everyone should move on. What leaves a bitter taste in the mouth is that there is a very big smell of 'one rule for them, one for us' here; in fact its more than a smell - it has been openly articulated. A little bit of openness and transparency wouldnt go astray.

drkpower wrote: »
    Perhaps the Admin who was fcuking with his avator should say 'yeah, it was me, i was acting the d!ck, apologies', the thread should be closed and everyone should move on. What leaves a bitter taste in the mouth is that there is a very big smell of 'one rule for them, one for us' here; in fact its more than a smell - it has been openly articulated. A little bit of openness and transparency wouldnt go astray.

I agree
    People get forum banned and site banned for there sense of humour .

I dunno what to say at this point, so here's a lol(not really)graph™.

Disclaimer, I made this up.

Another Disclaimer; say "Cwisis" like Michael Palin did on Life of Bwian, it works better.

Boards_Graph.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Fair game or not, it looks really bad/unprofessional (paid or unpaid) for moderators and especially admins to be absolutely ripping the piss here (even if a little bit of sarcasm would be understandable). And jibes (as opposed to serious concerns) about mental illness directed at an individual - bad form.

Aye, that rattled me a bit as well. Specially given that it was coming from folk I otherwise have a lot of gra for, but who seem to pop up in defence of the status quo far more than they used to.

Anyway, that aside I'd summarise my feeling (rambling posts and spurious lolgraphs aside) as follows;

Did yer man deserve the ban? Yep.

Did he deserve to have his mental health called into account, and be turned on by whoever happened to be online at the time? Nope.

Have there been fibs told about the meddling with his account? Don't know, but if people are telling untruths or are posting without all the facts to hand, we should be told out of courtesy, not be given a tacit warning that the only way we have of communicating our concerns (this thread) is about to be closed off to us.

Is the said meddling, if it happened a big deal anyway? I'd say not, but times have changed, and such things may be unacceptable these days. Either way, that doesn't concern me so much as the *perception* that the ranks are closing yet again, ad nauseum ad infinitum etc etc.

Anti mod whinges can irritate me as so much of what's said is completely unfounded and often just paranoia (I used to moderate - mods are unequivocally NOT all singing from the same hymn sheet) but then stuff like this helps to justify it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

bluewolf wrote: »
    First of all, having someone objective and not a CTer helps the range of moderatorship, just like there are non-muslim mods in Islam forum
    Secondly, go talk to a doctor
    tbh wrote: »
    With all due respect, the mental health of some posters would be better served by their access to this site being withdrawn, IMHO.
    You seems to be expressing the belief that everyone is out to get you. Tell me, how long have you felt like this?
    bluewolf wrote: »
    You posted a link to this thread, what else were we to do but follow it?

Since his breakdown I would imagine
    Which makes me feel a little guilty
    but oh well

Wow. The nastiness of the above bullying is one thing.

The outrageous references to mental health and snide comments suggesting this is abhorrent to anyone experiencing mental health issues.

I've used the phrase "mod conspiracy" before, but even when the red mist had descended, I never truly thought that there was a hivemind at play, even back in the days when there were about a third of the number of mods there is today.

What there are, are groups within that, who would hold the same opinions, and are vocal in expressing them, be it on the mod forum (which is a driver in collective opinion in itself) or in general. People work side by side with others, get to know them online and off, and tend to back them up when the need arises. That's human nature.

I still say that the presence of mods here yesterday and today was more or less coincidental, I wouldn't get bogged down in that aspect of it alone.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,939 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Darlughda wrote: »

The outrageous references to mental health and snide comments suggesting this is abhorrent to anyone experiencing mental health issues.

Demonspawn never made a secret of his previous mental health issues. I think some of those quotes were genuine expressions of concern, and shouldn't be lumped in as bullying.

If you're talking about me there brown bomber, I wasn't insulting the guy, I would have genuine concerns about the guys mental health, and it waobvious that his stress levels were climbing

Lol. Pull the other one. Genuine concerns my ass.

Demonspawn never made a secret of his previous mental health issues. I think some of those quotes were genuine expressions of concern, and shouldn't be lumped in as bullying.

If you knew this why did you thank an post like this

Ridiculous. It was out and out snide commenting. No sense of compassion or genuine engagement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

And thus concludes this edition of mock the weak. Tune in next time when the poster is shunted off to the nearest helpdesk or prison forum where he or she will have no one else to stick up for them. Don't forget the popcorn!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

I think that some were not genuine expressions of concern, and I'm not sure about the rest. In any event, it is at best unwise to bring up questions of the mental health of a poster in any discussion here.

It really is starting to look like the institutional side of boards.ie are circling the wagons. And for what? To fight off suggestions that admins or mods might have behaved inappropriately.

Not good.

I think this thread should not be locked in 24 hr by a mod or Admin as its moderation and administration called into Question

Dav or Darragh should give us a Jerry Springer moment of reflection to end this thread:)

Lol. Pull the other one. Genuine concerns my ass.

Believe what you like. My record speaks for itself. I had no idea the guy had posted about mental health issues before. I said on this thread that I thought he was being harmed by being on boards and I stand over it. I wasn't rude to him or snide to him and to be honest, you and roundy can read whatever motives you want into why I posted what I did. I think it was in the guys best interests that he be banned, at least temporarily. If you and roundy can't see any other reason for me posting that other than a cheap jibe, that's grand, but It doesn't make it true.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,939 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

WIZE wrote: »
    If you knew this why did you thank an post like this

I thanked it because I agreed with the sentiments expressed by the poster, and because I admired them for biting the bullet and saying what needed to be said.

Sometimes, in very rare cases, people need to just forget about the rainbows and candy-floss and be told how they come across to others. As adults, if you dish out abuse to the entire team behind a website, then it shouldn't be a surprise to get it back. This is the Internet. If you're too sensitive to deal with the mildest of derogatory terms, you shouldn't be dishing them out.

I can't see where all the sympathy is coming from in this thread. The OP went on an unprovoked rampage half an hour after a new moderator was announced. It was the final straw after a series of prolonged fights he got involved in. For someone who did nothing but give out about the site, he did very well to last as long as he did. By revealing his alternate (troll) account, he should have lost whatever lingering respect was left for him among his fellow CT posters.

Bull****. Why can't people make references to mental health? Why do you assume that it can only be mentioned in an attemp to belittle someone? You think the guys rants were the product of a sane mind? I don't, and I think now and thought then that posting on this site woul be harmful for him.

Sometimes, in very rare cases, people need to just forget about the rainbows and candy-floss and be told how they come across to others. As adults, if you dish out abuse to the entire team behind a website, then it shouldn't be a surprise to get it back. This is the Internet. If you're too sensitive to deal with the mildest of derogatory terms, you shouldn't be dishing them out.

I can't see where all the sympathy is coming from in this thread. The OP went on an unprovoked rampage half an hour after a new moderator was announced. It was the final straw after a series of prolonged fights he got involved in. For someone who did nothing but give out about the site, he did very well to last as long as he did. By revealing his alternate (troll) account, he should have lost whatever lingering respect was left for him among his fellow CT posters.
    So you're saying (and I'm speaking in general here): someone makes themselves look like an asshole, deal with them by making yourself look like an asshole too rather than being the bigger person and addressing them in a more mature manner? I thought that was confined to the playground.

Dudess wrote: »
    So you're saying (and I'm speaking in general here): someone makes themselves look like an asshole, deal with them by making yourself look like an asshole too rather than being the bigger person and addressing them in a more mature manner? I thought that was confined to the playground.

I agree with this, tbh. User should have been banned with no fuss, all the other stuff was pointless.

I thanked it because I agreed with the sentiments expressed by the poster, and because I admired them for biting the bullet and saying what needed to be said.

Ive seen one Post get forum banned

Admins and Mods let it continue to get reactions out of the OP
    Tome Dunnes Post looks like it was attcking the Poster and not the Post

Anyone who gets banned in other Forums for the type of post like the here by Admins and Mods can use this thread as an example of getting bans over turned as it looks like no infractions will be handed out to ****ty behavour by people who run this site

Im 99.9 % behind Mods and Admins decissions but when rules only Apply to users its a joke

I curious if I go back through this thread and report lots of the Posts who will Action them . The same Admins and mods who posted them or thanked them

Sympathy for the OP is a red-herring. He was a grade A twat and may well have had issues. That isnt the issue. The issue was the manner in which one Admin (? identity) decided to go completely over the top by abusing his authority unneccessarily provoking the guy by changing his avatar etc and yet still hasnt taken any responsibility for those actions, and his fellow Admins dont seem to think anything untoward has happened at all.

If the Admin in question had the balls to step forward, the issue would go away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Two cents time:

Knickers have been so thoroughly twisted over this it would make Escher shed a non-Euclidean tear. I think the over-reaction is very stupid. If an admin did change that avatar, I'll be disappointed if they apologise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Bull****. Why can't people make references to mental health? Why do you assume that it can only be mentioned in an attemp to belittle someone?

You should not make references to an individual's mental health because you do not have the competence to make an informed professional judgement.
    You think the guys rants were the product of a sane mind?

I don't know, and neither do you.
    I don't, and I think now and thought then that posting on this site woul be harmful for him.

Making a public pronouncement like that is outrageous.

I suggest that you reflect on what you said, and apologise to everybody.

Relax tibbers, I know you're not a bully.

That is because I've interacted with you on here for years, and know better. If I read that comment cold as it were, I would draw a different conclusion, as I suspect did some or more or those who milled in to thank the post.

This isn't about you or me, so I'll leave it at that.

Nor is it about the OP, for that matter.

Sarky wrote: »
    Two cents time:

Knickers have been so thoroughly twisted over this it would make Escher shed a non-Euclidean tear. I think the over-reaction is very stupid. If an admin did change that avatar, I'll be disappointed if they apologise.

Sarky our accounts are our Identity as our Avatar are

If I spray painted the front of your house would it piss u off if you called the Garda and they told you to piss off ?

Mods & Admins are really the Garda of this site

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

Sarky wrote: »
    Two cents time:

Disappointed?

In the interest of fair-play, they should be punished the way any regular user would.

You should not make references to an individual's mental health because you do not have the competence to make an informed professional judgement.

I don't know, and neither do you.

Making a public pronouncement like that is outrageous.

I suggest that you reflect on what you said, and apologise to everybody.

Nah. I'm not qualified to make the judgement but I'm entitled to give my opinion, same as anyone. I said what i said because I wanted to help the op, not because I wanted to take a pop. I don't really care if you don't believe me, but no way I'd apologise for that