Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭DustyMan

There is a very good doco series on You Tube about Police Recruits for the NSW Police Service. From their inital intake, training, being out on patrol, et cetera to graduation. It's compelling viewing if your thinking of becoming a Police Officer.
    Go to the You Tube web site and in the search box on the main page type in 'Recruits Episode 1 Part 1 of 4'.

Actually here is the link;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IiktRhb0-7k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 kevinclarke

HI.My name is Kevin.I'm hoping to be accpted in the forthcoming garda recruitment campaign,but im worrie dthat not having a drivers license is going to impede me getting in.It doesnt list it as a minimum requirment on the garda website.I would really appreciat eif anybody could clear this up for me.Thanks very much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

HI.My name is Kevin.I'm hoping to be accpted in the forthcoming garda recruitment campaign,but im worrie dthat not having a drivers license is going to impede me getting in.It doesnt list it as a minimum requirment on the garda website.I would really appreciat eif anybody could clear this up for me.Thanks very much.

welcome kev, it was listed in a list of recommandation which should be used on requirement to apply but they are only recommandations so they have not been made a pre requirement before applying so rest easy but this is not to say that it maybe need when the campign is annouced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 kevinclarke

hi thanks for that.i have my provisional and have learned ot drive a little.also i have question maybe u cud help me with.i have tattoo about 5 inches by 3 inches on my right forearm.its not offensive etc. but i wanted to know if tattos will disqualify me.again i cant find any info on the subject.i have seen garda with tattoos on their arms etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

hi thanks for that.i have my provisional and have learned ot drive a little.also i have question maybe u cud help me with.i have tattoo about 5 inches by 3 inches on my right forearm.its not offensive etc. but i wanted to know if tattos will disqualify me.again i cant find any info on the subject.i have seen garda with tattoos on their arms etc.

hhhhmm to be honest with u im not sure whether you would fail the medical or not over a tattoo but i know the if its in such a visible place like that then you would have to wear a long sleeve shirt all the time no exception. A few members i know have ones wear the arent visible so i assume they are ok. but if you still are worried give Hq a ring and they'll clear everything up :D:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

durin the medical when you fill out your form they will ask you to state any tattoos you have and the examining doctor will ask to see them. I have one that's always covered up so nothing was said. I couldn't imagine it to be a problem but i agree you should ring hr if you've any questions that's what they're there for!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 drllbit2

Was just wondering if there is any truth in all the stories i've heard about, if you don't have any conections in the AGS you have no chance of getting in, because a lot of people have told me if i don't have any pull, i have no chance. and as i don't know any one on the inside, i don't want to think that all the work i put into applying will go to waste just because i don't know any one who can pull strings for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

drllbit2 wrote: »
    Was just wondering if there is any truth in all the stories i've heard about, if you don't have any conections in the AGS you have no chance of getting in, because a lot of people have told me if i don't have any pull, i have no chance. and as i don't know any one on the inside, i don't want to think that all the work i put into applying will go to waste just because i don't know any one who can pull strings for me.

Absolute Rubbish!!!!! Dont believe a word of it!! Its true that if you know someone high up enough that they might be able to pull a few strings, as in any walk of life, but 99% of people have an equal chance!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

Sounds like a load of bull and a ready made excuse people use that dont get through the process....
    I know no-one and have no pull and am currently waiting with everything done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

Most of the Gardaí I trained with had no connections, sounds like sour grapes to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

itsallgood wrote: »
    Sounds like a load of bull and a ready made excuse people use that dont get through the process....
    I know no-one and have no pull and am currently waiting with everything done
    So who would yoou put down as your Garda reference then (as in the reference from an existing AGS member)?

I dont know any members, and I dont think just walking into my local station and asking for a reference would go down too well!

Max Power1 wrote: »
    So who would yoou put down as your Garda reference then (as in the reference from an existing AGS member)?

I dont know any members, and I dont think just walking into my local station and asking for a reference would go down too well!

Why would it not go down well?
    They request it for a reason and thats exactly what you should do...

Would go down better than not getting a reference and saying "sorry, but I dont know any Gardai".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Why would it not go down well?
    They request it for a reason and thats exactly what you should do...

Would go down better than not getting a reference and saying "sorry, but I dont know any Gardai".
    But surely they are expecting your garda reference to vouch for your application - meaning you should be personally known to them, no?

What else can you do if you dont know a Garda?
    Its something they ask for....
    Local Garda will look you up on the system, if you have no criminal record or arent known to them for wrong reasons they will gladly give you a reference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 squadron

Sorry lads if this is ignorant of the previous 200 pages - havent time to read them....I'm basiclly wondering three things - would be very much obliged if someone could take the time to answer them:

1. when is the Garda Recruitment for 2010 LIKELY to happen - before the end of the year?

2. How many trainee places are expected to be on offer?

3. What % of the places on offer will be going to people who have everything done before ?? (estimate?)

You see, I have never applied before but amy very interested and am wondering if I have a chance on this round of recruitment given all the people on a shortlist?

Thanks in advance

squadron wrote: »
    Sorry lads if this is ignorant of the previous 200 pages - havent time to read them....I'm basiclly wondering three things - would be very much obliged if someone could take the time to answer them:

1. when is the Garda Recruitment for 2010 LIKELY to happen - before the end of the year?

3. What % of the places on offer will be going to people who have everything done before ?? (estimate?)

You see, I have never applied before but amy very interested and am wondering if I have a chance on this round of recruitment given all the people on a shortlist?

Thanks in advance

1. Probably November - this is when intakes usually take place
    2. No one knows. Could be 100, could be closer to 300.
    3. 100% of intakes will be from people on the list who have completed all stages, i.e people who applied in May 2008

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 xciarax

If what you are saying is correct Devil08 then does that mean that no one who applies during the 2010 campaign will get through this year as they will only be taking people who have completed all stages already????

xciarax wrote: »
    If what you are saying is correct Devil08 then does that mean that no one who applies during the 2010 campaign will get through this year as they will only be taking people who have completed all stages already????

Yes! there is about 300 on the list from may 08 - about 200 with everything done, and about 100 waiting for meds..these will all be in before anyone who applies in the next campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭gardapa

Just a reminder to all that anything you hear isnt definate unless its PUBLICLY announced by Public Jobs or An Garda Siochana so stoop worrying about things you have heard or even what people are saying on this! There are alot of people on this waiting along time and have had to deal with hear say so they know how to take it but for all the newbies dont be worrying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 squadron

Thanks for replies lads,

So re "if 100% of intakes will be from people on the list who have completed all stages, i.e people who applied in May 2008", how do you know this for sure???

And, if that is the case, why hold a public competition at all then??? Why not just discreetly inform those from 2008 a sopposed to wasting thousands on a fresh campaign????

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rugby

Thanks for replies lads,

So re "if 100% of intakes will be from people on the list who have completed all stages, i.e people who applied in May 2008", how do you know this for sure???

And, if that is the case, why hold a public competition at all then??? Why not just discreetly inform those from 2008 a sopposed to wasting thousands on a fresh campaign????

Cheers

Hey ,
    Dont think anyone knows for sure whats going on, as it stands there is alot of people who have all four stages complete and alot like my self waiting too finish the last two stages. it makes sense in my opinion that the next intake would be people with all stages complete that are on a waiting list. I can see exactly why your annoyed , i for one am waiting two years too be called for my medical, and well as it goes we gotta have patience.. maybe by having a public competition they are thinking that they will recruit bigger numbers for the guards over the coming year?. no one knows exactly yet , we just have too wait and see what happens. Best of luck too any one applying :D After all boards is just a rumours page and not fact, but it is nice too have people too chat too with the same interests as everyone here. :D Thats just what i think is going on, im sure otheres will think different ...

Dermot Ahern has stated on a number of occasions that the current panel will be used on the next intakes and people will only be called strictly in order of where they are on the order of merit....
    The order of merit is based on exam results when you applied.....
    The longer you are waiting the higher you are on the panel,
    So the next intake will be 100% people waiting unless they decide to call more then is waiting.....
    Which would mean people applying in new batch would have to everything complete by October (If thats when intake is), which is highly unlikely as we all know background checks can take some time.

http://www.kildarestreet.com/wrans/?id=2010-06-09.687.0&s=garda+intake#g690.0.q

http://www.kildarestreet.com/debates/?id=2010-06-30.385.0&s=garda+recruit+150+200#g400.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Thanks in advance

Hi Squadron, I think its important for new applicants to get to grips with how the process actually works. The media have managed to muddy the waters alot by implying that there would be an intake of at least 100 for new applicants. This is not the case. You have to pass all stages of recruitment: aptitude, interview including exams on that day, medical, physical, background checks, interviews with local sergeant and with super. This process takes a significant amount of time and you're kidding yourself if you think you'l be in templemore by then end of the year. Background checks alone take between 2 months and 2 years to complete. And they dont begin until after the aptitude test is passed. But dont let that put you off. The reason they're starting a new competition is because they need a panel with all stages complete to recruit from. You are not going for one of 100 places. You are looking to pass all stages of recruitment so that you will be offered a place in Templemore at some stage in the future. If you pass everything you will get there. It's a lengthy process and patience is, in some ways part of the tests of endurance! If you want it badly enough you will be willing to wait, but they do advise you to get on with your life in the meantime so don't be under any illusions that you will be there soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 belfastbhoy

Hello. I just had a few questions about joining the guards and I think this thread seems to be the best place to find the answers.

Can I jst start by saying that I have spent the last 4hrs on the comp looking for info on differect aspects of becoming a Guard and I cant believe how rigorous and competetive the actual selection process is........

Question 1) Will not have two languages disqualify me from joining the guards? I have a BA hons Degree from QUB, and grades A A B in my 3 A levels ( think this is the equivalent to the leaving cert ), i.e exams to get into Uni. I have GCSE English but not Irish or another lang.

Question 2) Is it worth while investing in one of those courses that can help you with the selection process i.e the aptitude test etc? If so, could someone please private message me and suggest which one is best?

Thanks Very Much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭glhoran121

hi there just a question i have alot of prep done for a apptitude which shud be grand and am now looking at prep for the interview just wondering would a reserve backround checks be done considerably quicker?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Hugo13

I've a general query which I hope someone might be able to help me with. I plan applying for the gardai in the upcoming recruitment drive. As I know it's a lengthy process and as of yet it's unknown when recruitment will commence, I want to use my time waiting as best I can and am thinking about starting a 12 month masters. Does anybody know/or have a rough idea how long the process can take, and assuming the guards should go in the next month or two, would it be likely that I would have time to complete a masters (assuming that I was successful at all stages of recruitment that is). I appreciate it's a dificult one to answer but just wondered if anybody had an idea,

Thanks in advance.

Hugo13 wrote: »

I've a general query which I hope someone might be able to help me with. I plan applying for the gardai in the upcoming recruitment drive. As I know it's a lengthy process and as of yet it's unknown when recruitment will commence, I want to use my time waiting as best I can and am thinking about starting a 12 month masters. Does anybody know/or have a rough idea how long the process can take, and assuming the guards should go in the next month or two, would it be likely that I would have time to complete a masters (assuming that I was successful at all stages of recruitment that is). I appreciate it's a dificult one to answer but just wondered if anybody had an idea,

Thanks in advance.

TBH I dont think you will be waiting a year. Id say 6-8 months max from time of applying. They wouldnt be starting a new campaign to leave people waiting any longer than that. Before the embargo came in people were waiting on average probably only 3-6 months max depending on background checks.

Hugo13 wrote: »

Thanks in advance.

Never put anything in your life on hold, especially over a possibility and not a certainty....
    There are people waiting since May 08, over 2 years, some waiting even longer....
    There is no definitive time scale, if you get through aptitude and interview then you have to wait on background checks, could take 6 months or 3 years.
    If you do your masters and get called you can always defer till the next intake.

Devil08 wrote: »
    TBH I dont think you will be waiting a year. Id say 6-8 months max from time of applying. They wouldnt be starting a new campaign to leave people waiting any longer than that. Before the embargo came in people were waiting on average probably only 3-6 months max depending on background checks.

Some people were waiting up to 3 years, there are people waiting to go to Templemore from 2007 on the panel at the moment.....you never know

Yes but thats because of the embargo..that has been lifted now. Things will run quickly once the ball starts rolling in a couple of months