Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

C+H Sports Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭msbrightside

Aw Sligo, you could never just win the match could you?

*sigh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Football Qualifier draw
    Kildare or Antrim v Leitrim

Dublin v Tipperary

Cork v Cavan

Offaly v Waterford

Galway or Sligo v Wexford

Fermanagh v Armagh

Down v Longford

Westmeath v Derry

Hurling:
    Dublin v Clare

Offaly V Limerick

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

unknown13 wrote: »
    Football Qualifier draw
    Kildare or Antrim v Leitrim

Dublin v Tipperary

Cork v Cavan

Offaly v Waterford

Galway or Sligo v Wexford

Fermanagh v Armagh

Down v Longford

Westmeath v Derry

Hurling:
    Dublin v Clare

Offaly V Limerick

I completely forgot about the draws, thanks for posting them up.
    And call me crazy but I think Dublin Clare could be a good game..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Offaly vs. Limerick.
    Lads, deja vu of '08 or could we be in for a close one like in the league? Best we could have asked for tbh.

Offaly vs. Limerick.
    Lads, deja vu of '08 or could we be in for a close one like in the league? Best we could have asked for tbh.

When did yee play Offaly in 2008? We played Offaly? And almost lost to them... -_-

The match before ye in the qualifiers. And we lost to them by like ten points or something :P

Oooh yea they went on to play us then.. Fairness we nearly lost to them too, but got 2 last minute goals.. :pac:

I actually think Offaly might be a little under rated, like theyre not gonna beat the big names but they can give them a good game.. Like who woulda thought they'd do so well against Galway!

Yea, I don't think we'll win but then again I didn't think we'd win an all-ireland anyways. Since it is Offaly v. Limerick, is it gonna be played in tullamore?

Errmm I think it will, unless they have it as a double header with another game:)

Looks like it's in tullamore from aertel :( Bus for me up then!

I wanted Limerick. Ah well it is probably going to a 46A or 145 trip into Croker possibly for a double header with the hurlers and footballers. It better be that because Football is my favorite of the two but Dublin / Clare is a much competitive game.

Everyone wanted limerick :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Anyone see the Netherlands goalkeeper just make a savage save...with his face? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

Both Roddick and Hewitt out of Wimbledon.:( It's Federer all the way from here on.:)

Djokovic is my man.

Gwan Novak boi! :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

That was a beautiful goal by Robinho.
    So good to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭DylanS09

Aw no!
    I've been so busy today I forgot all about Wimbledon!:( Wanted Roddick to win! Ah well...C'Mon Nadal!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭cheesefiend

I love Andy Murray and Nadal. Also I really hope one of the Williams sisters doesn't win. Enough already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭DylanS09

I love Andy Murray and Nadal. Also I really hope one of the Williams sisters doesn't win. Enough already!

I like Nadal, but I hate Murray with a passion! I just think he's a snobby git tbh!:eek::pac:

I hate Andy Murray and Nadal and Federer :(

Love those Serbs though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Ally7

Wimbledon will be unbearable for the next couple of years if Murray wins, the BBC will never let anyone forget it! I'd like to see nadal win this year personally.

Hearing reports the Dubs are getting a Double header in Croker, hurlers first and footballers second. Makes sense to me, especially if they want to try to kick hurling off in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,043 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

unknown13 wrote: »
    Hearing reports the Dubs are getting a Double header in Croker, hurlers first and footballers second. Makes sense to me, especially if they want to try to kick hurling off in Dublin

The crap thing bout it is, if, and its a big if, I'm not working that day, theres already another thing lined up for me to work at, so will have to miss it all. Would go see the hurling match, even if mainly there for Tipp football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

DylanS09 wrote: »
    I like Nadal, but I hate Murray with a passion! I just think he's a snobby git tbh!:eek::pac:

+1. While Murray is undoubtedly the best player Britain has produced for years, he is unbearably arrogant for a guy who has yet to win a grand slam. Even the way he acts when he's on court makes me want to punch him in the face. Genuinely hope he NEVER wins any grand slam. Compare him to Federer, who is possibly the greatest man ever to play the game and who still comes across as a humble, likeable guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭syncosised

Come on, Andy! Andy Murray's being doing very well so far, he hasn't dropped a set. Very un-Murray like. I'll shout for him until the semi-finals, because he can't do better than Tim Henman! :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Japan -v- Paraguay is going to extra time.

I'd put money on penalties too, if I were a betting man.
    Hardly any goal-chances so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

Does anyone know if clean sheet points in fantasy football apply just to 90 minutes? I've got a Japanese defender, if they concede now will he still get the clean sheet points?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

+1. While Murray is undoubtedly the best player Britain has produced for years, he is unbearably arrogant for a guy who has yet to win a grand slam. Even the way he acts when he's on court makes me want to punch him in the face. Genuinely hope he NEVER wins any grand slam. Compare him to Federer, who is possibly the greatest man ever to play the game and who still comes across as a humble, likeable guy.

Actually, Federer, while being known as a polite and gentleman-ly type in the sport, is also quite well known for being quite bitchy when players tend to have a good record against him or are doing well. I've seen him being quite insulting towards some very talented players in interviews and tbh it made me lose a lot of respect for him. You can say as may things as you like about Murray, but he'll always be honest (to the point of bluntness, which is why many people don't like him!)! :P

Also, for arrogance on court.. Remember the old saying "Act as if until you are"? You have to act like a winner to be one eventually! :)

syncosised wrote: »
    Come on, Andy! Andy Murray's being doing very well so far, he hasn't dropped a set. Very un-Murray like. I'll shout for him until the semi-finals, because he can't do better than Tim Henman! :D

This, except I'll be cheering him into the final and hopefully a win! I've been following him since he was a junior and he's definitely more than capable of getting a grand slam title - if he wins one, I think he'll go on win a few, especially the hard court slams (U.S. and Australian Open).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Aoibheann wrote: »
    Also, for arrogance on court.. Remember the old saying "Act as if until you are"? You have to act like a winner to be one eventually! :)

It's worth pointing out that even Djokovic has only won one grand slam title.

Loosing on penalties is the worst to way in the whole of sports.