If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tri related splish splash notes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

22/06/10 LC

1000 f/s warm up
    10 * 100 f/s on 1.30
    200 IM
    100 easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

interested wrote: »
    it really is that nice at the moment - water was perfect.

Maybe on the East coast. The sea is freezing here in Galway. I was in the sea on Sunday for the first time and I was shocked at how cold it was compared to the Corrib. My face, feet and hands were numb for 5 to 10 minutes. Was fine after that but it took quite a while to get used to it.

I'm hoping it's not as bad this evening when I venture out again.

How's the IM training going for you?

pgibbo wrote: »
    Maybe on the East coast. The sea is freezing here in Galway. I was in the sea on Sunday for the first time and I was shocked at how cold it was compared to the Corrib. My face, feet and hands were numb for 5 to 10 minutes. Was fine after that but it took quite a while to get used to it.

I'm hoping it's not as bad this evening when I venture out again.

The water temperature can be greatly effected by wind direction. Anything coming from the north and it seems as if the temperature dips.
    How's the IM training going for you?
    Non-existent to be honest. For loads of reasons I cant put any consistency together when training. Once I get some stuff out of the way Ill take a look at the big picture and decide if its worth taking the trip to Elba or not. Ive Swinford in July - about 4 weeks to go - and suspect my endurance is so bad Ill struggle with an Oly this weekend.

There was a northerly wind on Sunday alright and the lads commented that it wasn't that cold on Thursday evening. Makes sense.

Sorry to hear thraining isn't consistent for you. I assumed with some of your results of late you had hit a good patch of training. I'm hoping to go up to Swinford for a look and maybe do a swim leg if they're stuck for people. Are you doing Kilkee this weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

I'm hoping to go up to Swinford for a look and maybe do a swim leg if they're stuck for people. Are you doing Kilkee this weekend?

I must chat to you about this, Mrs C has provisionally signed up to do the swim and run but calved last night over this. We are more than likely going to book a flight to Portugal that evening from Knock so there is pressure on the finishing time for me, anything over 7 hours and she will kill me

But she is worried now as transition area is 15 minutes from finish line with mini-bus every 15 minutes so her provisional entry is up in the air now as she wants to be waiting revving the car as I hobble across the line.

Its only provisional entry at the moment now but the last email i got from them made it sound like more than likely shes in. Yer man in the Humbert Challenge thread Mayo Road Runner is the man to talk to.

Sure you might as well do the lot if you are going to do the swim and run though ;)

PS Interested dont mind pgibbo he is a wimp when it comes to cold water

Are you doing Kilkee this weekend?
    That decision will be made thurs night unfortunately - but Id hope to.

catweazle wrote: »
    I must chat to you about this, Mrs C has provisionally signed up to do the swim and run but calved last night over this. We are more than likely going to book a flight to Portugal that evening from Knock so there is pressure on the finishing time for me, anything over 7 hours and she will kill me

Yeah, I only noticed recently about the 15 min between the finish and transition - its not ideal but not the end of the world. In saying that it could be the end of your world if the missus and you are trying to make a flight. Anything can happen in a race but based on the times and training you've been posting up recently Id book the flight.

Good luck with the training lads.

Yeah I guess from talking to the lads in Swinford that the Knock check in is fairly easy going in comparision to Dublin. If I am not at the finish line in a time agreed with Mrs C I have no doubt I will be picked up by the collar and dragged into the car no matter where I am on the course.

Leaving me to frantically try and scrounge a ticket into the Lost Sheep instead in an effort to get one 1/2 Ironman finished this year. I suppose I better bring the phone with me on the course anyways. I cant afford to screw the holiday up as it is the wedding anniversary that day as well. Extra motivation to keep me moving forward anyways :D

Shes cute my normal restlessness and boredom on a sun holiday will be neutralised by utter exhaustion for a few days anyways if we fly out on the sunday

I meant to ask you Interested is your wife signed up for the swim?

catweazle wrote: »
    I meant to ask you Interested is your wife signed up for the swim?

not yet. I mentioned it a while back. Id imagine it'll happen.

23/06/10 LC

1000 f/s warm up
    2*200 on 3
    100 easy

24/06/10 LC

1000 f/s warm up
    8 * 50 f/s on 60
    200 IM easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭El Director

Are u staying in kilkee for the weekend man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

24/06/10 LC

200 IM easy

A question for you Mr. interested, if I may.:D
    What does IM stand for and what is it/how is it done? Could google it but didn't!

All the best for Kilkee

Are u staying in kilkee for the weekend man?

I can confirm that at this point. ;)

Macanri wrote: »
    A question for you Mr. interested, if I may.:D
    What does IM stand for and what is it/how is it done? Could google it but didn't!

All the best for Kilkee

Thanks Macanri

IM is Individual Medley - 4 strokes in the order Fly, Back, Breast, Free
    Because of the change in stroke they can really hurt and can really help with swim fitness when tired of f/s sets. The 200 this morning was a warm down of sorts to stretch out on.

I can confirm that at this point. ;)

Nice one. Any chance of a tow for the swim? :D

At this stage Ill have about 5 from the club and a couple of other stragglers attached to a drag belt ... hoping for a nice 6-8ft swell of big rollers coming in saturday morning - if Im gonna suffer on the bike and run I may as well clear the stomach with sea sickness before I get on the bike ;)

Sure you won't notice one more so...... :D

best of luck on Saturday.

Sure you won't notice one more so...... :D

best of luck on Saturday.

Make that 2;)

Good luck to both of you lads and hope to meet ye both and indeed MCOS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Thanks Macanri

IM is Individual Medley - 4 strokes in the order Fly, Back, Breast, Free
    Because of the change in stroke they can really hurt and can really help with swim fitness when tired of f/s sets. The 200 this morning was a warm down of sorts to stretch out on.

I see (said the blind man). So you do 4 strokes of butterfly, onto back for 4 strokes, 4 breast and then 4 freestyle and back into the cycle. Sounds tough. I reckon I'll wait until theres no one in the pool before I try that one - I would say it would be a messy sight. Cheers for the response.

Macanri wrote: »
    I see (said the blind man). So you do 4 strokes of butterfly, onto back for 4 strokes, 4 breast and then 4 freestyle and back into the cycle. Sounds tough. I reckon I'll wait until theres no one in the pool before I try that one - I would say it would be a messy sight. Cheers for the response.

sorry chief - its not quite that hard thankfully ...

In a 25 metre pool ... when I say 100 IM ... its 25m(1 length) fly, 25m (1 length) back ... etc

If Im in the NAC or another 50m pool its still possible to do sets of 100 IMs .. by changing stroke half way down a length but for the sake of sanity .. I just do 200 IMs there.

26/06/10 OW @kilkee

1500 f/s 20.27

With the time above for the swim Im guessing it was maybe roughly 150/200 metres short - either that or sections were tide assisted. I guess the 'hell' in 'hell of the west' is all about the run ;)

28/06/10 LC

1500 easy recover swim

Still sore from the weekends exertions so just a long recovery swim.

Great to meet you dude on Saturday. Didn't see you up at the hotel after but I'm sure you had a good one! Thats some time for the swim man, pity about the leg on the run, it's a togh place to be when you've an injury but you kept going fair play and still recorded a great time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

26/06/10 OW @kilkee

1500 f/s 20.27

With the time above for the swim Im guessing it was maybe roughly 150/200 metres short - either that or sections were tide assisted. I guess the 'hell' in 'hell of the west' is all about the run ;)

It sure is! Watched you come out of the water and you got off on the Bike in the top 5 in Wave 1. I reckon you were still in the top 30 when I first drove past you on the run, the 5k out can be a heartbreaker for sure. Well done on your performance chief :) No sign of Mrs interested? Was she in a relay?

No, she didnt travel. A little under the weather at the moment unfortunately. Hopefully we'll both be at swinford.
    Nice to put some faces to the names around here as well over the weekend.

Yeah - pretty easy for me to identify my limiters I think ;) It was my first time at Kilkee and definitely will go back better prepared.

Great job on the marshalling by yourself and the rest of Limerick Tri. Great event.

Well done at the weekend dude. Hope that leg injury clears up ASAP for you. Unreal swim time......:cool:

Nice to put a face to the name on Saturday. All the best in the build up to Swinford.

Well done at the weekend dude. Hope that leg injury clears up ASAP for you. Unreal swim time......:cool:
    Cheers - its very niggly - and ironically it was the only thing really causing me pain sunday morning. I tend not to drink at all these days so the mental imagery recorded at the hotel late saturday has me scarred ;)
    Unreal swim time
    Dont think I did anything special and was pretty much holding back on the swim since I knew I wasnt entirely prepared for the bike and run. I seemed to be away on my own for the middle of the swim - seemed to be out right of the bouy Id to go left around which I think cut me some time since the wind was pushing everyone into shore and they'd to come back out to the buoy. I havent been swimming that much or well recently so ... although it was slightly short, it was nice to watch the race unfold around me on the bike a bit from my position

07/07/10 LC

2000 f/s straight
    200 easy

Along time since ive done anything due to personal stuff. Nice to have a long swim of sorts.