If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tri related splish splash notes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

interested wrote: »
    24/04/10

1500 ow swim - still freezing - but tides were perfect and very early in the morning so the light was nice - real reminder how fortunate we are sometimes to have the time and health to simply for for a swim. Thankfully beach was clear so no witnesses to see my agonizing stutter back to the car park whilst trying to walk on ice feet ;) mental note, bring some flip flops.

Am dreading getting in to the OW. I reckon I'll have to bite the bullet fairly soon.

What's your target for Joey this weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

pgibbo wrote: »
    Am dreading getting in to the OW. I reckon I'll have to bite the bullet fairly soon.

You'll be alright, I generally am a big girls blouse when it comes to the cold.
    What's your target for Joey this weekend?

Joey ? pool-based triathlon ? ... not for me chief ;)

Ill be attending (freezing my a*s off in a lake) the waterville tri on saturday instead. My objective is to get around in one piece based on local information re: road conditions in parts of the bike route.

It'll be nice to be attending a race again though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Fair play for jumping into the water outside in the early morning! Hope to venture in myself in soon, at least once or twice before Valentia. I'll never forget how cold it was down there last year...

yeah - it really was bad last year - the 3 inches of mud in transition was fairly interesting along with the driving rain. But hey,triathlons in ireland. The previous year we had glorious sunshine until after the race - and then the heavens opened.

With the increased number it looks like transition will be at the harbour again so ... no mucky field or charge up the hill from the water with flip flops on ... hooorah

27/04/10

1000 f/s warm up
    2 * 400 IM on 7.30
    200 easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭griffin100

how about this one for a pre Valentia OW swim

griffin100 wrote: »
    how about this one for a pre Valentia OW swim

Nice. I think this race has some real potential since it comes so early in the season - and offers a half distance without the associated costs of travelling to somewhere like lisbon to get one under the belt before a full in July or August.
    If your luck is in wrt the weather it could be a cracking day out.

For this year at least, Ill be doing my usual mainland to island crossing the day before Valentia if I can get down early enough.

27/4/10 PM

400 f/s warm up
    6 * 200 f/s on 3
    30 seconds
    3 * 400 f/s on 6
    30 seconds
    4 * 150 f/s on 2.15
    30 seconds
    6 * 100 IM on 1.45
    300 swim down

Good long session. Pace on 400's was probably best of the set. Decided to do the 100's at the end as IM - holding 1.25's and working hard on the f/s leg to pick up the pace. Always feel better on f/s on IM - probably something to do with how awful my breastroke feels.

28/04/10

1500 f/s swim
    5 * 100's IM on 1.45
    200 easy

04/05/10 Long Course

1000 f/s warm up
    3 * 200 IM on 3.45
    6 * 100 f/s on 1.30
    300 easy

Early morning at the NAC, loads of room, sunshine coming through roof onto water - still loosening out after weekend but felt alright during my first splash in a 50m pool in a while.

04/05/10 PM

400 f/s warm up
    5 * 200 f/s on 3
    800 f/s on 12
    5 * 200 f/s on 3
    800 f/s on 12

200 easy

Good long session as usual. Still feeling it in my legs from the weekend but swim went fine.

05/05/10 Long Course

1000 f/s
    10 * 100 f/s pull with paddles on 1.30
    2 * 200 IM on 3.45
    200 easy

Still getting used to the long course pool. Not too bad a session. Havent used paddles in about a months and shoulders fine so all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

How did waterville go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

+1 on that I logged in to Waterville website to have a look and results coming soon, that drives me nuts it doesnt take too much to put up results in a prompt fashion

great race, brilliantly organised ...
    a) 5 blokes with yard brushes sweeping ... yes sweeping the transition area (about 4 tennis courts).
    b) a dump truck depositing sand at the edge of the lake so none of the tough triathletes hurt they're little tossie wossies when getting out ;)
    c) all road junctions well marshalled, local guards effectively closing junctions and locals enthusiastically waving you on instead of trying to drive you off the road.
    d) I got to have a chat with the legendary Mick O Dwyer before the race - now theres a guy who could write a book on both personal fitness and political dodge balling with the GAA ;)
    e) Race was funding a local charity for a school and the whole event was really well supported.
    f) the lake where the swim was is an absolutely sensational place to swim

On the day the wind picked up (actually its ALWAYS windy at Waterville) which dramatically effected the swim difficulty for some and the 25km bike route included a fairly challenging up and over a fairly rough and ready road that the TT bike didnt appreciate too much. The run was an out and back affair and based on my exhausted run preparation in the pool and on the bike it hurt like like ... actually it still hurts on my right ITB ;)

Still waiting on them to publish results but a good day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

.....a good day out.

It was wasn't it. Mr Modest ;)

hey, its a serious anomaly and the world will re-balance itself soon ... Im off back to the pool ;)

Spill the beans Chief! :cool: How did you do? I'm assuming pretty damn well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Finally got him, I will say no more but a well done

http://www.visitwaterville.ie/news_detail.php?item=781&full=y

catweazle wrote: »
    Finally got him, I will say no more but a well done

http://www.visitwaterville.ie/news_detail.php?item=781&full=y

CONGRATS. Fantastic result :cool:

cheers lads
    as I said, total anomaly.

07/04/10 longcourse

2000 f/s straight
    4 * 100 f/s pull with paddles on 1.30
    100 easy

Long swim to start since Ive felt crap all week with bad headcold. 100's pull were coming in on 1.20 so warmup of sorts did the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭El Director

Very well done dude! Thats terrific! Is this your first tri win or is this a common thing?? Well done again!

10/05/10 Long course

1000 f/s warm up
    4 * 100's on 2
    1. 50 fly hard, 50 f/s easy
    2. 50 fs hard, 50 f/s easy
    3. 50 fly hard, 50 f/s easy
    4. 50 fs hard, 50 f/s easy
    100 easy

Still not 100% health wise, breathing not quite right due to head cold / chest infection but hey ho. Aquathlon no.1 of the summer tomorrow evening so better go dust off the runners again ;)

Very well done dude! Thats terrific! Is this your first tri win or is this a common thing?? Well done again!

Thanks Dir.
    it was my second, but still a total anomaly and a surprise. congrats on your day out at velvet strand yesterday. With the initial delays the tide was flying out and the white water beach starts were interesting to watch. The stretch of road is not the place to have a bike leg in what was typical traffic for a sunday morning in that spot. There were a couple of very badly cut competitors I saw but thankfully they were still smiling .... just.

Id imagine I might see you fly by me at some stage in Valentia based on your running ;)

11/05/10

750 OW Clougherhead aquathlon 1 of 3 .... brrr

Still coughing, probably shouldnt have raced but glad I did. Water was the coldest Ive experience since swim in April but the view of the mourne mountains makes it a really nice place to swim. Started strong, first to initial turn, felt a familiar tap on the toes and knew Id a passenger. On second turn he moved up to take over and on last leg decided to take a closer line towards rocks than I was happy with so used the tide a bit and ended up finishing swim together. Transition hampered a little by very cold hands but was first out and onto the hills ... the following run ... well thats nothing to do with a swim (ish) log ;) but I was happy enough and not too sore after it.

12/05/10 LC

1000 f/s warm up
    8 * 50's f/s on 50

Recover kinda session. 100's were strong coming in around 1.20. 50's at the end were more to do with keeping a long stroke and concentrating on some hand entry things than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭El Director

Damn you Interested! You can't do that....giving a half race report! I will have to use my own resources to find out how it all ended! But the swim section was excellent, what was your time coming out of the water? You did well to get back at your passenger there in the end. Fair play to for getting up this morning for a session, you would have been forgiven for staying in the bed.

17/05/10

1000 f/s warm up
    10*100 f/s pull with paddles on 1.30
    200 easy swim down

Tired this morning but pull set was good and strong. Need to sharpen up a little over the course of the week for valentia island.

18/05/10 sc

400 f/s warm up
    8 * 150 f/s on 2.15
    10 * 100 f/s on 1.30
    4 * 200 f/s on 3
    10 * 100 f/s on 1.30
    200 easy
    50 hard / 50 easy

Never a big fan of 150's so used this as part of warm along with most of the 100's. 200's were'nt bad - second set of 100's better than the first and pace was around 1.20's. 50's hard at the end was faster than I have been pushing so all good considering it was right at the end.