If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Keen to see what the future may hold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Apoligies I thought you were in the sprint for Budapest

I usually take a decent slug about an hour before the race and leave it at that, tonic water is horrible stuff anyways so you wont drink much anyways (unless there is gin in it)

Make sure it has quinine in it though, some tonic waters dont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Well done in the race El D. You would have done even better if not for the cramps. I find taking Berocca on the days before a race helps with the cramps. And I have also taken Nuun in the water on the bike.

You'll wipe the floor with that time in a few weeks with uninterupted training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Well done on the progress El D. Considering the course was a couple of minsd slower due to the changed swim that result is even better.

Your run off the bike does not reflect the run training you are doing. The cramps no doubt cost you a bit. Sucks. Hate cramps!

The cramping. I got/get them a lot in my calves after the swim and mounting the bike and also after T2. Escpecially in hot weather. Lots of different remedies suggested to me including downing a tin of chopped tomatoes before a race!! Anyway 2 things spring to mind.
    1) Hydration. What colour was your pee that morning. I used to think I was hydrated but it was interesting to have Bambaata stay with me for a couple of days last month. The water bottle never left his hand the night before and morning of the race. Constant sipping.
    2) That set off 300s/200s on the track on thursday. Bit of a spicy session for the legs to recover from in time for an Olympic Tri methinks...

Anyway its all a learning process and fun too. As you said the great thing about the sport is that good honest hard work and smart training will yield dividends. As for the remedies, good luck discovering the method that works for you for those darn cramps.

Well done again. Onwards and upwards.. lets see what the future holds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭El Director

Well done on the progress El D. Considering the course was a couple of minsd slower due to the changed swim that result is even better.

Your run off the bike does not reflect the run training you are doing. The cramps no doubt cost you a bit. Sucks. Hate cramps!

The cramping. I got/get them a lot in my calves after the swim and mounting the bike and also after T2. Escpecially in hot weather. Lots of different remedies suggested to me including downing a tin of chopped tomatoes before a race!! Anyway 2 things spring to mind.
    1) Hydration. What colour was your pee that morning. I used to think I was hydrated but it was interesting to have Bambaata stay with me for a couple of days last month. The water bottle never left his hand the night before and morning of the race. Constant sipping.
    2) That set off 300s/200s on the track on thursday. Bit of a spicy session for the legs to recover from in time for an Olympic Tri methinks...

Anyway its all a learning process and fun too. As you said the great thing about the sport is that good honest hard work and smart training will yield dividends. As for the remedies, good luck discovering the method that works for you for those darn cramps.

Well done again. Onwards and upwards.. lets see what the future holds!

Thanks MCOS. I think perhaps you are right re the 200/30 on the track. I don't think they would have been a problem normally but seeing as it was my first run session in 3 weeks it probably was the cause. I felt I may have pushed it just a touch too much on my return week.

I was actually well hydrated, I always am! Bottle of water is always close to me, race week or not.

Me actually thinks this will sort itself out as my body gets used to the training again. Like I said before it has never been a problem for me before.

Macanri thanks for your suggestions also. I do the Berocca thing before races as I swear by them. These Nuun tabs I've heard alot of, what are they about? Do they help replace salt in the body?

Ok so since Saturday.....

Sunday Day of rest and recovery. Had a BBQ on Saturday and enjoyed kicking back. I was very stiff/sore on Sunday.

Monday Up at 5:30am, drove to the pool.....totally forgot it was a bank holiday and there was no training :( NAC wasn't open for another few hours so headed back to bed and didn't get up till 9:30 (had a grind at 10). Then off home to the GF's parents gaf and that was it for the day. Meant to do a long easy run but I was still very sore so I decided at this stage best just rest.

Tues 8th - Swim/Core Work

LC NAC 2000m straight, easy, concentrating on stroke. 40min 32sec

Core Workout Good core workout and stretch, actually felt great after it. Legs felt alot better after. Enjoy this session and will be doing it 3 times a week.

Nap time 12:00 - 12:30 - great power nap, hope to get one most days now.

By the way I am doing my first club cycle race tomorrow eve, it is a 40k TT, any advice would be greatly accepted. It is handicapped so I will be sent off in the first group. Should I then try to latch onto the other groups as they pass by?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭kennyb3

By the way I am doing my first club cycle race tomorrow eve, it is a 40k TT, any advice would be greatly accepted. It is handicapped so I will be sent off in the first group. Should I then try to latch onto the other groups as they pass by?

id be 90% certain its non drafting, lads wont react well if it is and you hop on their wheel. there is usually a thread on the cycling forum on the day of these races maybe just check there to be certain.

kennyb3 wrote: »
    id be 90% certain its non drafting, lads wont react well if it is and you hop on their wheel. there is usually a thread on the cycling forum on the day of these races maybe just check there to be certain.

thanks Kenny. Because it's a TT I guess it is a non drafting race. Because it's a TT I was also wondering if I could use my TT bike.

yeah the lads had the TT bikes, aero helmets and so on out for the 10m TT few weeks ago when i was watching.

I was actually well hydrated, I always am! Bottle of water is always close to me, race week or not.

Me actually thinks this will sort itself out as my body gets used to the training again. Like I said before it has never been a problem for me before.

Macanri thanks for your suggestions also. I do the Berocca thing before races as I swear by them. These Nuun tabs I've heard alot of, what are they about? Do they help replace salt in the body?

El D, The Nuun tablets are a form of hydration, "electrolyte-enhanced sports drink tabs" is what it says on the tin. AFAIK one of the main things for stopping cramps is magnesium (which is one of the ingredients), also potassium I believe is good too (bananas are full of potassium. But like everything these should be taken in moderation - too much magnesium is not so good. As MCOS says its a matter of finding out what works for you. Also as you say it was probably due to only getting back training after been forced off. (When I started the cycling I was cramping a fair bit most cycles, but very seldom cramp now.) I only take the likes of the Nuun or the carbo:protein drink mix on race days as I feel I get more benefit from it - kind of like an added boost.

Easy knowing you're on your holidays, forgetting that Mon was a bank hol (a precious day off to the rest) and midday power naps:D. I'm going to have to stop reading this log before the jealousy gets the better of me.:P

Tuesday Evening 8th June

Warm Up 4.5k

200m x 6 strides Wasn't keeping a time on these as they were strides (we have our club 3,000m run on the track on Thursday evening-this will be my tempo run for the week)

Cool Down 4.5k

Felt good. Legs getting better and still feel strong at the end of the session.

Making a few changes to my "8 week plan" as obviously the first four didn't happen. So just a few changes, trying to incorporate the 4 key sessions outlined above. Most days will include a 30min nap. Key sessions in bold

Week 5 (Mon 7th June – Sun 13th June)

Mon - Day Off

Tues - 2,000m swim/core workout/stretch
    Club Running

Weds - Coached Swim Session
    Core workout/stretch
    Swords 40km TT

Thurs - 70/80k (morning) Cycle with club
    OW swim after cycle (easy/stroke work/sighting)
    Club 3,000m race (my tempo run)

Fri - Coached Swim Session
    Long easy endurance run 1 hour
    Core workout/stretch

Sat DAY OFF

Sun COPE Galway Sprint C Race

Week 6 (Mon 14th June – Sun 20th June)

Mon - Coached Swim Session
    Core workout/stretch
    Long Recovery Run 1 hour

Tues - Weights
    Tempo Run 4k

Weds - Coached Swim Session
    Bray Aquathon (OW swim)

Thurs - 70/80k (morning) Cycle with club
    Club Running

Fri - Coached Swim Session (Easy Session)

Sat - Mullaghmore Sprint B Race

Sun Rest/Recovery/Recovery OW swim perhaps

Week 7 Peak Week (Mon 21st June – Sun 27th June)

Mon - Coached Swim

Tues - Bike (Interval/TT Session, Race Bike)

OR (Go to Kilkee)

Mon - Bike Course, do hills hard the rest easy.

Tues - Swim Kilkee Bay/Run Course

Weds - Graded Run Santry

Thurs - O/W Swim

Fri - Short Morning Brick (30 min bike with 6 45 sec intervals/15 min run with 6 x 30 sec pick ups)

Sat - Race Day Kilkee A Race (This time it’s personal!)

Sun - Rest/Recovery

Week 8 Race Week (Mon 28th June – Sun 4th July)

Mon - Swim 2,000 easy

Tues - Brick Session (bike/run in Athlone)

Weds - Swords TT (Maybe Athlone Bike Course)

Thurs O/W Swim Athlone

Fri - Short Morning Brick (30 min bike with 6 45 sec intervals/15 min run with 6 x 30 sec pick ups) in Athlone

Sat - Race Day Athlone Euro Age Group A Race (This is it!)
    Party Time!

Sun - Rest/Recovery

Mon - Cyprus here I come! Going to use this as a 2 week transition. Plenty of long, easy paced runs and core workouts.

After I come back I will return to some base training and getting many miles in for the half iron man.

Then after the half it will be build time for Budapest. DCT is there at the end of August which is perfect prep. I really hope my endurance will be there with me in Buda because I will be working very hard on it.

Midday power naps... jealous isn't a word :rolleyes:

Weds morning 9th June

75m x 10 off 1:45

1) 1:22
    2) 1:27
    3) 1:22
    4) 1:24
    5) 1:22
    6) 1:26
    7) 1:22
    8) 1:24
    9) 1:22
    10) 1:27

400m x 3 off 8:15

1) 7:52
    2) 7:47
    3) 7:50

75m BC/Kick/FS off 15 sec rest

2,700m in total.

Good session. Times are still down on a month ago but to be expected. Swim fitness seems to be the one you lose the fastest and then the hardest to get back.

I also want to at this time access/re-access the seasons goals, training objectives and my A races

Just a reminder of the season goals and then where I am with them:

1) Obtain 650 points-Top 20 in Age Groups Too early to say yet. Only one NS race complete (missed Valentia)
    2) Finish in the top 30% in Hell of the West 2010 Again too early, if I was doing it oday I certainly won't make it....but I'm not :rolleyes:
    3) Finish in the top 30% in the Euro Champs Age Group Not long now to find out

Ok, not sure if this is the right thing to do at this stage but going to add two more.

4) Finish a half ironman (groomsport) This will be torture for me
    5) Finish in top 50% in the World Champs Age Group My new second half of the season goal

A reminder of my training objectives and where I am with them:

1) Do a 20k TT in under 32 mins Still not done, will be tough to do this in a tri, might have to try it myself one day
    2) Feel stronger climbing hills by May Done, much stronger this year
    3) Run a 90 min half marathon Will give this a tilt in Dublin in September
    4) Run a 45 min 10k in a triathlon Thought this would definitely happen in Athy but pneumonia/cramps put paid to that. So either DCT or Budapest, or both

Season A races (as of Feb)

1) Hell of the West
    2) Euro Champs Age Group 2010
    3) Half Iron man* (Kenmare or Groomsport)

Revised A races:

1) Hell of the West
    2) Euro Champs Age Group 2010
    3) World Champs Age Group 2010

Ok so still a lot to play for. A lot to be gained yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭dare2be

Just a quick one El D. Was it you who posted up cycling intervals earlier on in the year? If so, could you point me in the right direction. Thanks

dare2be wrote: »
    Just a quick one El D. Was it you who posted up cycling intervals earlier on in the year? If so, could you point me in the right direction. Thanks

Hi dare2be. I have a word document of good interval sessions for the turbo trainer, is this want you are looking for? If so I will pm you the document.

I also found two websites that helped me set up some intervals for on the road. Here they are....

http://www.tri-ecoach.com/art21.htm
    http://www.active.com/triathlon/Arti...e_Workouts.htm

I used the two sites and made my own session, something like.....

Warm up

6 x 45sec on/1min15sec off

Recovery Easy Spin

5K TT

Cool Down

Hope this helps!!

40k 1h06min10sec - Speed Ave/Max 36.4k/51.1k; HR Ave/Max 169/178

Conditions Dull damp night. Strong cross wind; head wind on way back.

I think I made a training objective tonight!! The first 20k 31min12sec - Sub 32min 20k. Does this count? I think it should :rolleyes:

We were let off in one minute intervals (i think). So one guy caught me at 30k mark, I wasn't the only one he caught, he was a savage cyclist, justified the disc! Then I caught one guy at 38.5k, keep pushing to the end and almost caught another. There was a young lad flying it (noticed him when we turned around) was sure he'd catch me, put he didn't, he was close to me though, again great cyclist. So not sure were I was placed but will post when I do. I didn't come last and it was a good experience despite the dull night. Actually the wind coupled with the greasy surface had me wobbling at times. Another thing to note was how sore my ass was for the last 15k, odd as this never really affects me, not even on Sat (which was 40k to).

All in all a good days work. The GF is sick so I am going to stay home to nurse her tomor so will be missing my key session tomor morning, might get it in on Sat morning.

Thanks for that Mac! I've gone and ordered me some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭dare2be

Hi dare2be. I have a word document of good interval sessions for the turbo trainer, is this want you are looking for? If so I will pm you the document.

I also found two websites that helped me set up some intervals for on the road. Here they are....

http://www.tri-ecoach.com/art21.htm
    http://www.active.com/triathlon/Arti...e_Workouts.htm

I used the two sites and made my own session, something like.....

Warm up

6 x 45sec on/1min15sec off

Recovery Easy Spin

5K TT

Cool Down

Hope this helps!![/QUOTE]

Yes El D. Ping it on in a PM and i will have a look although i'm more out on the road these days but may be useful for the winter training. I'll have a flick through the websites too and maybe find something to work with.

Thanks v much for that..

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

40k 1h06min10sec - Speed Ave/Max 36.4k/51.1k; HR Ave/Max 169/178

Conditions Dull damp night. Strong cross wind; head wind on way back.

I think I made a training objective tonight!! The first 20k 31min12sec - Sub 32min 20k. Does this count? I think it should :rolleyes:

We were let off in one minute intervals (i think). So one guy caught me at 30k mark, I wasn't the only one he caught, he was a savage cyclist, justified the disc! Then I caught one guy at 38.5k, keep pushing to the end and almost caught another. There was a young lad flying it (noticed him when we turned around) was sure he'd catch me, put he didn't, he was close to me though, again great cyclist. So not sure were I was placed but will post when I do. I didn't come last and it was a good experience despite the dull night. Actually the wind coupled with the greasy surface had me wobbling at times. Another thing to note was how sore my ass was for the last 15k, odd as this never really affects me, not even on Sat (which was 40k to).

All in all a good days work. The GF is sick so I am going to stay home to nurse her tomor so will be missing my key session tomor morning, might get it in on Sat morning.

I guess it was the Swords race - hopefully the results will be on the website in the next day or so - some debate as to whether handicaps will be applied (they didn't on the 10m TT a couple of weeks ago, although in previous years they have)

The "young lad" is actully topping the league, and went under 1hr last night - as you'll see from the cycling forum thread the other guy, who went off a minute after me, clocked 55 minutes or so. Fastest club member was around 61 minutes I think

Thats right Beasty it was the swords TT. Must be great to be so young and so fast! We're all trying to make it up now :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Just catching up on your log now. Congrats on getting a slot in Budapest. How do you get picked for events like that? Do you apply or are you approached?

Looks like you're back on form after the bout of illness. That's very encouraging. I guess having lots of time on your hands at the moment will really accelerate the training too. :cool:

Good luck on Sunday.

3,000m Time 10min 36sec; Pace 3:32/km

7 and a half laps of the track. First track race of this type, 800m previously in May being my only other. Ass still sore from the cycle :D Can I go faster yes but I really feel not tonight. It was the second lap when I got going and by then a lad of similar speed as me was just too far ahead. End up 6 secs behind him, great having someone to push you but I left it too late. Great session though. :)

pgibbo wrote: »
    Just catching up on your log now. Congrats on getting a slot in Budapest. How do you get picked for events like that? Do you apply or are you approached?

Looks like you're back on form after the bout of illness. That's very encouraging. I guess having lots of time on your hands at the moment will really accelerate the training too. :cool:

Good luck on Sunday.

Well P. Thanks. You apply for a place P, open to everyone. 20 places per AG per event (olympic/sprint) is up for grabs. So I got in by only doing 4 NS races last year, still good enough for 44 in my AG so I chanced my arm! Hoping to be top 20 this year though :)

There are other ways to qualify too, finishing top 5 in certain races. Check out the link re this.....

http://www.triathlonireland.com/staticpages/index.php?page=20090429133707725

Go for it!! You racing sunday dude?

Friday 11th June

Warm Up 200m Time 3:46

100m x 10 FS off 2min

1. 1:47
    2. 1:50
    3. 1:51
    4. 1:49
    5. 1:50
    6. 1:53
    7. 1:53
    8. 1:52
    9. 1:51
    10. 1:50

100m x 10 50 kick/50 FS off 2:25 coming in between 2:10 - 2:15

50m BC

50m x 12 Pull off 1 min coming in between 50 sec - 55 sec
    Breathing to the left x 6/to the right x 6

Total 2,850

Tough session but beginning to really feel strong again. 100m are way down on Aprils, I really hope with hard work alone I can turn this around before Athlone. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

2hrs 30min is some result for a man recovering from recent dose of pnemonia!! - fair play
    2 min cramp break on the bike and you still managed to post a pb and a high ranking

Delighted for you with your Budapest slot as well - look forward to it

(just catching up now!)

Do you think that Kilkee might negatively impact on your performance in Athlone? Or maybe Kilkee is the more important one for you?

DustyBin wrote: »

Do you think that Kilkee might negatively impact on your performance in Athlone? Or maybe Kilkee is the more important one for you?

I was going to ask about your approach to these too. 2 'A' goals a week apart.

Are you planning to go all out in Kilkee? Its a very tough race and even more so if its is a hot day like last year. I spent May last year recovering from a chest infection (2 rounds of antib's) and although I was fine to race it knocked the stuffing out of me for weeks

BTW thats a smashing 3k time!!

Savage TT EL D, i know you havent done huge amount of cycling this year but you must have last year or in a former life. thats a great time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

I'm not racing on Sunday but I'll be there as a spectator. Saving myself for Kilkee...LOL

TBH, I think the price is a bit steep so I didn't even contemplate entering. Must bring the camera on Sunday actually. Best of luck.

Nice 3k time there. Fair play. :cool:

Distance 11.25km Time 49:53; Pace 4:26/km Ave/Max HB 158/169

Kinda felt good doing this run this afternoon so didn't really hold back all that much. It isn't a long run but it is my first of this distance in a while, like I said at the weekend, I've neglected my endurance runs. I will up the distance each week to a max of 18km. Felt good, and a really good weeks training thus far :D

DustyBin wrote: »
    2hrs 30min is some result for a man recovering from recent dose of pnemonia!! - fair play
    2 min cramp break on the bike and you still managed to post a pb and a high ranking

Delighted for you with your Budapest slot as well - look forward to it

(just catching up now!)

I was going to ask about your approach to these too. 2 'A' goals a week apart.

Are you planning to go all out in Kilkee? Its a very tough race and even more so if its is a hot day like last year. I spent May last year recovering from a chest infection (2 rounds of antib's) and although I was fine to race it knocked the stuffing out of me for weeks

Cheers Dusty, ya it felt great (all be it very painful:rolleyes:) to be back racing again, thats why I do this sport (this might answer your/MCOS's question, in part anyway)

Last year I was nowhere near as prepared as I am this year for Kilkee. Last year Kilkee killed me, I couldn't imagine it to be ever that bad again. I know what to expect this year after last. Even though it was like hell on earth last year, I still turned around and did my best sprint distance of the year in Athlone the very next week! So, again, being better prepared this year should leave me fine to compete at my best in Athlone.

I based, like many triathletes on here, my training plan on The Training Bible book. In it it sates that when peaking it is possible to do two A races on back to back weekends. You must also remember that on those two weeks I will lessen the volume and what I do will be of a high intensity, low volume type. Hope this answers the very very valid question and please criticise if ye feel I am wrong :)
    kennyb3 wrote: »
    Savage TT EL D, i know you havent done huge amount of cycling this year but you must have last year or in a former life. thats a great time.

Thanks Kenny. I was very happy with that. The truth is, this year like last year I really have done feck all on the bike. Now I tend to forget my turbo milage which I a good bit during the winter, but nothing compared to others. Last March was the first time I cycled in about 10 years. I plan doing alot between now and this time next year, perhaps this is where I could save minutes!;)
    pgibbo wrote: »
    I'm not racing on Sunday but I'll be there as a spectator. Saving myself for Kilkee...LOL

TBH, I think the price is a bit steep so I didn't even contemplate entering. Must bring the camera on Sunday actually. Best of luck.

Nice 3k time there. Fair play. :cool:

Thanks P. I was very happy with my 3k TT.
    I will be the one with the blue/white Giant Trinity 0, with silly teardrop blue helmet....feel free to say hello!;)

All the best for tomorrow man.

Great weeks training by the way, and super 3km and bike TT times.

Macanri wrote: »
    All the best for tomorrow man.

Great weeks training by the way, and super 3km and bike TT times.

Thanks dude, I had a good week :)