If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tri related splish splash notes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭El Director

Great session interested. My coach has now recommended paddles for me (last fri) he things they would help and he said he'd would introduce them slowly. Hope the running and biking is going well too. Getting sick of sitting around ALL day doing nothing but hopefully when I get back to it there will be a freshness and a new sense of eagerness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

Great session interested. My coach has now recommended paddles for me (last fri) he things they would help and he said he'd would introduce them slowly. Hope the running and biking is going well too. Getting sick of sitting around ALL day doing nothing but hopefully when I get back to it there will be a freshness and a new sense of eagerness.

It was ALOT more than I would have liked based on the fact that I intend to race saturday but it was manageable - and the small bit if sprinty stuff I did shows a bit of form so ... gotta just trust feel sometimes and let rip come race day.

I really really know exactly how you feel re:sitting around recovering from an injury or illness from experience. The paddles arent a bad idea and from memory you've access to a good swim coach who knows how to introduce these things sensibly. As a habit you might consider doing some stretches whilst on the bank of the pool ... shoulder rotations back and forward, kneck rolls ... loosens out the shoulders and neck before the swim warm up. Im sure your coach will tell you this but when using paddles slow the stroke right down - dont try and rip through the stroke as if you're swimming normally - tis all about feel.

Just make sure you're well and truly over that dose before you go back training and give yourself a week easing into it. When you're back and feeling better and ready for some OW stuff - drop me a PM and we'll sort something out in terms of some knowledge transfer to get you back where you need to be before any of your big events.

Cheers man, thats very helpful indeed. I will ease back into it and I'll pm ya for some OW swims, I am lucky in one sense, I have summer holidays coming up and I don't have any kids or other commitments so it will all work out I'm sure, thanks again.

It'll definitely work out .. once you get yourself over that infection. It doesnt sound trivial and you could damage things like long term lung capacity etc if you push things too hard too soon. Softly softly catchy monkey .. ease back into it ... look at things like core strength and stroke work in the pool at first, a little bit of running and biking ... and then plan your sessions. With free time and not too many real world responsibilities literally build in nap times and rest into your schedule. Results will come.

20/05/10 LC

1000 f/s warm up
    3 * 200 f/s pull with paddles on 3
    100 easy
    6 * 50's f/s on 60
    200 swim down

50's were the main set - focused on keeping stroke long whilst picking up the pace during the 50.

Best of luck this weekend man! I will be patiently waiting for the report!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

You mean the swimming report El D :D

Race well Interested

catweazle wrote: »
    You mean the swimming report El D :D

Race well Interested

Cheers lads
    Half way down - looking forward to an ow splash this afternoon - really really like this race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

+ 1 on the above. Enjoy your race man. And don't be coming back here with half a report we want the full story!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

Good luck and +1 to the full report requests.

21/05/10 - Valentia - mainland/island/mainland recon ;) - 1500 OW
    22/05/10 - Valentia - mainland/island 750 OW - 9.41

I reckon a record number of entrants for this race got a treat on Saturday with clear blue skies, great organisation and the usual local support. A far cry from the driving rain, hail and muddy transition of 12 months ago.

Anyone reading this loose ramblings will know my background is swimming. Long distance stuff to be specific ... and one of the things I really liked/like about those events a life time ago was that there was no where to hide if you hadnt done the work. With 50's or 100's you could be unfit and only be off the pace by a second or two. Get in the water for a 1500 when you're not quite right and you'd have been served up a nice slice of your own a*s and never hear the end of it from friend and foe along you were competing against. You could suffer the ultimate humiliation of being lapped because you were sick or just simply hadnt done the work. Those at the pointy end have a duty to pile the suffering on. Live by the sword and die by the sword. An honest test imho.

And so ... in the shimmer of heat rising up off the road upwards on the outbound 2.5km ish run route all those evenings I missed running caught up with me ;) Slowest run at Valentia yet, a snip under 24 mins, suffered wholesale ... maybe the course was long - it was definitely different than any other year in that it was a straight up and straight down route - but hey - it was the same run for everyone. The only good this was that it wasnt a 10km on a olympic distance ;).

Apart from a minor disaster getting my feet into my bike shoes at the top of the hill my bike split wasnt all that bad - took a little longer to recover from my swim than normal but this is Valentia where the first 5 mins of the bike is uphill and your heartrate is generally high after transition. Short bike distance (~18.5km) flattered the times a little but as usual second section of bike was faster and more comfortable that the first.

Swim and T1 were as good as I could have hoped for. Cant help thinking that there was more focus on coralling 250+ in each wave into a very small section of beach for the start than normal due to the presence of RTE cameras for some show or other.

One thing of note was that for the first time ever some tool decided to 'test' the start horn ... I made good my escape only to be recalled after about 150m ... needless to say I lay on my back recovering doing breastroke legs until I was good and ready and recovered and back in line. Never seen this occur before where they actually call people back.
    Anyhow - when I did get away it was good and fast and to plan from a navigational point of view. Some recon with MCOS the day before certainly helped - what didnt was the lead lady swimming directly into me from my right ... thanfully I saw her coming but she was in a serious rush to get to my feet but missed and swam into my right elbow ... anyhow after some jostling I ended up on my favourite side and with a good view of the finish ... I was out on her shoulder and got a time 3 seconds slower for the swim so the mat must have been at the top of the slip.

So, there you have it, a report of sorts. My ITB blew half way through the marathon at Challenge Barcelona last Oct and Id been warned by my physio to take 3 months off running and get myself sorted stretching etc. With a whole heap of personal stuff going on I havent been able to make good on the plan of consistently working on my running. A national series race is fast and furious and there cant be many weaknesses if you want to finish in the top 10/20 etc. I finished my bike and t2 within 20 seconds of the leading lady so its abundantly clear I lost a stack of places on the run (I finished 39th). But thats the great thing about triathlon - over the 2.5km run uphill at valentia my weakness got exploited in a big way by those that had put in the work on the run. And this is why I really really like Triathlon as a sport. I knew I hadnt enough running done before the race but with the first half of the 5km uphill it made any hope of glossing over it alot harder.

Anyhow - I skipped my swim this morning and ran a 10km in the fog in the park instead. Im well aware it wont fix my running immediately but with some consistent running over the next while (some hill work and some fast intervals) and maybe not such a tough uphill run straight out of T2 I can get my runs back down closer to 21/20 mins over 5km again.

Anyhow - apologies for the rather long 'log update' this morning guys ;)
    BTW, An absolute pleasure to meet up with MCOS on Friday for a preamble 1500 across to the island and back. He must have been using one arm on Friday based on his swim time Saturday during the race - and he'd the juice to take it all the way to the line and a fantastic result from where I was. Im sure he'll be along soon with his own report of the weekend.

Onwards and upwards.

Well done interested and thanks for the report, a good read.
    100% agree with the tris showing specifically where the work is needed.
    I hope you're not too sunburnt - some weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Good to meet you and your OH at the weekend and well done to both of ye. Thanks for all the advice and encouragement too. Much appreciated :)

likewise chief
    great weekend and delighted to see you at the pointy end after the first half of the run. congrats again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

jaysus I'd say your knackered after typing all that ;)

Oh and fair play on the race

DustyBin wrote: »
    jaysus I'd say your knackered after typing all that ;)

Oh and fair play on the race

yep ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭griffin100

Jaysus Interested, for a poster of few words that's some race report, very entertaining. I had assumed that that was you being dragged back in by the canoe after the false start. Agree on the swim start being very tight, it was carnage even in the pleb wave when the hooter went. A question on the swim, was there tidal assistance or was your time about right? I ask as for me I had my best sea swim by over 5mins (just under 14.30). Would be nice to think it was due to training as opposed to a helpful current. You+can+read+all+about+it+when+I+get+around+to+writing+my+race+report,+which+I+can+guarentee+will+make+your+one+look+short.

Excellent stuff Interested, thanks for such a great report!

Love the outlook too....you love triathlon for the same reason I do and got involved indeed. I always said that I love the sport for it's cut throat way. You train hard you see the results, you don't train hard you suffer on the day, it works both ways.

You had a great race man. I think you have the hardest bit down....the swim. You are in contention coming out of the water. It's the hardest part IMO because you can work really hard on your cycle and run and that hard work is enough in it self to see big improvements. Whereas in swimming you can work really hard but if you don't figure out the technique/stroke then you will never see substansional gains. So well done again man, had I been fit I think we'd have been neck and neck!

griffin100 wrote: »
    A question on the swim, was there tidal assistance or was your time about right? I ask as for me I had my best sea swim by over 5mins (just under 14.30). Would be nice to think it was due to training as opposed to a helpful current.

I can assure you there was no tidal assistance out there on Saturday.
    Straightest line between the start and finish is the shortest obviously but the wind and prevailing movement of the water was coming from the left so you HAD to aim left to get to the relative shelter of the pontoon/marina.

In 2008 I swam 9.42 for the same stretch and was 10th out of the water. I went 9.41 on Saturday. I can assure you Im swimming alot faster this season than 2008. The reason my time wasnt faster is that they pushed the start as close to the mainland as possible.

Anyhow - pat yourself on the back - you'd a great swim because you put int he work (or did enough work to get on a pair of feet and stay there ;))
    Either way, well done !

It's the hardest part IMO because you can work really hard on your cycle and run and that hard work is enough in it self to see big improvements. Whereas in swimming you can work really hard but if you don't figure out the technique/stroke then you will never see substansional gains. So well done again man, had I been fit I think we'd have been neck and neck!

Thanks chief ... but ...
    I think in draft legal races this might be true - since if you can get out of the water in the front group you dont have to go killing yourself to jump to a front group on the bike since you should be already in it.
    Since its very unlikely Ill ever do a draft legal race I think its fair to say I need to sort my run out to progress ... this is ok - Im kinda lucky - my limiters are so obvious ;) there are a few people around I know that have done savage work in training all winter and havent raced all that well so far this season - figuring out why is both frustrating for them and hard to do to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭griffin100

Cheers for that, nice to see that the IM training is paying off. I was lucky on saturday. i spoke to someone at the swim start who advised to 'aim for the cleavage' which I did and took a straight line to the slipway (apart from some small detours to avoid the breaststrokers who had positioned themselves at the front of the wave)

griffin100 wrote: »
    Cheers for that, nice to see that the IM training is paying off. I was lucky on saturday. i spoke to someone at the swim start who advised to 'aim for the cleavage' which I did and took a straight line to the slipway (apart from some small detours to avoid the breaststrokers who had positioned themselves at the front of the wave)

you'll be amazed how all your hard work and distance will come together. sorry I didnt get to put a face to the name chief. great day for it ... apart from the running business ;)

25/05/10 SC

400 f/s warm up
    10*100 f/s on 1.30
    10 * 50 f/s on 50
    2 * (4*100 f/s on 2min) with 2 min between the 2 sets @ 90% (~1.11)
    200 easy
    4 * 50 BF on 1.30 @ 90% (32,33,32,31)
    100 easy

Snappier set than normal. Fairly tired due to my new found zest (necessity) for running ;)

26/05/10 LC

1500 f/s

Tired this morning so nothing creative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Nice report there interested. Savage swimming as usual and good solid biking too. Fair play. Best of luck with the run training. I have a feeling that won't be long coming back to you either. Sounds like a cracker of a weekend :cool:

pgibbo wrote: »
    Nice report there interested. Savage swimming as usual and good solid biking too. Fair play. Best of luck with the run training. I have a feeling that won't be long coming back to you either. Sounds like a cracker of a weekend :cool:

Thanks chief ... just call me Forrest ;)
    Valentia is always a good weekend, but the weather made it even better.

31/05/10 OW

Alot of OW swim - helping at club day plus - 4 laps of 600 loop following (at distance) an Mr. Open Water from 220 - Id his hip for the first 200 metres and then decided to let him off ;)

I see you have hit 300,000m + on the SCR Challenge. I think MCOS needs to invest in some Titanium coloured ink. Well done Mr Fish.

Macanri wrote: »
    I see you have hit 300,000m + on the SCR Challenge. I think MCOS needs to invest in some Titanium coloured ink. Well done Mr Fish.

yeah, maybe - but now that Im a (re-invented) runner these days ;) ... struggled through a 5km 'race' in the park for my sins at the weekend. I would have preferred swimming it and it was wet enough that I could of ;)

03/06/10 LC

2000 f/s straight
    100 f/s stretch

No time, not much sleep and little energy leaves me .... absolutely spot on for a race saturday lunch time @ crooked lake ... swimming crap, havent biked in an age (and the glorious weather we're having is typically ironic) but Im running great (for me) ... all bodes well for focusing on T1 and T2 and running hard come saturday - what a sport ;)