Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the most frightened you've ever been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

irish-stew wrote: »
    black run, austrian alps, only snowboarding 4 days.

:eek::eek::eek:

Yikes!!!....Swap Austrian for Italian, swap snowboarding for skiing and I know exactly how you feel. The underwear I wore that day were never worn again! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Getting lost alone in the jungle in Thailand at night during a tropical thunderstorm has to be the most terrifying experience of my entire life...I couldn't see a thing, only hear very,very strange noises. Only wearing shorts,t-shirt and sandals so could have stepped on all sorts of poisonous creatures.

Managed to find the road after 30mins and flagged down a local who brought me first to his home,gave me water,beer and offered me dry clothes and then back to the town where i was staying. I've never been so scared and then happy in my life,no exaggeration..

Dragged him and his mate into a bar that was open 24 hours and needless to say the three of us literately crawled out the door at about 5pm that afternoon absolutely demented from drink...The two of them missed work over me and everything:P

I wouldn't let them put their hand inside their pocket the whole day...Worth every penny:)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I've been on the receiving end of mortars, rockets and small arms. Not too bad.

However, one skiing trip when I was younger, I somehow managed to go off-piste, crested a ridge at a fair clip, and instead of a smooth run of snow, had instead in front of me a collection of very jagged rocks, sortof slate. No time to turn. I saw myself impacting face first and impaling myself on the rocks.

Somehow, I ended up just skiing over the rocks. Skis were torn to shreds though.

---

Most recently, about a week ago, I took my parents flying. Anyone with a PPL likely knows that though a C-172 has four seats, it hasn't a hope of carrying four adults, at least, not with any fuel on board. After calculating and re-calculating, I concluded that I could not have one parent up front with me, in order to stay within balance limits they both had to sit in back.

However, I had never flown with two adults in the back of a C-172 before. During the take-off roll, the airplane starts to rotate on its own. Odd, thinks I, as I add forward pressure to keep the nosewheel on the ground. Then I rotate at the appropriate speed, and the nose just shoots up towards the vertical. Between that moment, and when my sudden application of nearly full forward stick took effect, I was in fear that I had screwed up my calculations badly and was about to become a flaming wreck on the runway. Heavy and rapid application of elevator trim shortly followed...

Landing was a piece of cake, though. The problem with flying is that there are so many small little details which can kill you. Hours of boredom, and moments of terror...

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

My parents went on holiday to France when we were much younger, having given them the assurance that we were perfectly capable of looking after my 1 year old brother.
    My older sister was basically in charge. We were really good and responsible. The child never missed a feed and was treated like a king (all of our friends being older (split condom?).
    Then for some strange reason while I was babysitting, I put the kid on the snooker table. All great laughs as we tried to play trick shots around him. I never noticed that he was crawling closer to the edge of the table. He fell off the table and landed on the concrete floor with a sickening clunk that could only have been his head.
    He didn't make a sound. Those five seconds are without a shadow of a doubt the most frightened I've ever been.
    I can never explain the relief when his lungs finally overcame his shock and verified how hurt he was but also that he was still alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

My parents went on holiday to France when we were much younger, having given them the assurance that we were perfectly capable of looking after my 1 year old brother.
    My older sister was basically in charge. We were really good and responsible. The child never missed a feed and was treated like a king (all of our friends being older (split condom?).
    Then for some strange reason while I was babysitting, I put the kid on the snooker table. All great laughs as we tried to play trick shots around him. I never noticed that he was crawling closer to the edge of the table. He fell off the table and landed on the concrete floor with a sickening clunk that could only have been his head.
    He didn't make a sound. Those five seconds are without a shadow of a doubt the most frightened I've ever been.
    I can never explain the relief when his lungs finally overcame his shock and verified how hurt he was but also that he was still alive.

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

That would honestly the scariest thing ever. I was in my sisters house on Sunday and we were all out the back. My 3 year old niece was on top of a 6' slide standing, not holding the rail. My other sisters idiot boyfriend decided to move the front of the slide. I saw my niece almost fall back, straight onto a wooden fence but luckily teetered forward and fell pretty roughly, but luckily down the slide. I was the only one that seen the close call so I'm about to punch the eejit and he's just saying "ah it was grand" and my sister giving out to me for giving out to him. Turns out my yet another sister did see what happened but didn't say anything so the close call was verified. The guy is a walking disaster.

... I have a lot of sisters...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

If thats what I think it is.......

I'm pretty sure it is what you are thinking of!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Insurgent wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure it is what you are thinking of!

I googled it :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

When I was about 10 I was on a rollercoaster and yer man running it hadn't strapped me in properly, so whenever I went upside down I was hanging on for dear life. Nightmare.

My brother actually ran off the side of a cliff, he was 8 years old, screamed "You have to be a man to do this!" and just legged it! He tripped, rolled through an enormous patch of nettles and thistles and came to a stop just before the edge. He pissed his pants. I lol'd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

FoxT wrote: »
    .. and our healthy, walking & talking, buy & sell all of us, third son, aged 18 months, was dead. That wasn't really frightening. It was lots of other things - but to get back on thread....

What turned out to be frightening was, 4 years later, we had another baby boy. We thought we had got over our loss, but for the first 2 years of his life my wife & I were terrified - waking up in the middle of the night with panic attacks etc. Neither of us had anticipated that we would have felt that way. This boy is now 8 years old. We are not afraid any more, we,and his older brothers, are delighted.

All of us still miss our son, but my wife, our older children, and myself , have all agreed that the joy he brought to us in his short life, outweighed the horror & grief that we, and his brothers suffered. We still talk about him, but these days it is in a fond, happy way.

I hope this is not OT... And I hope that,maybe, it may help someone. This is why I wrote it.

-FoxT

Oh that brings back a memory.
    I found my little 8 month old brother dead in his cot when I was 5.. I can still rememeber how I felt and the dread at going to tell my mum that he was all blue and cold...
    I'll never forget her running up the road in her nightie holding him screaming for someone to help her..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

When I was about 9 or 10 myself and a group of friends decided to go for a long cycle way out in the countryside, it was about a two hour cycle to a lake we knew off, literally in the middle of no were. So about an hour in the cycle I decided to take a p1ss so i stopped the bike and told the gang i would follow on. So i get back on my bike and turn the corner to my horror there is three durt roads at this point i panicked as it was starting to get dark, so instead of turning back I decided to head down one of the roads not a clue were i was going, when suddenly I heard this car come behind me, I was basically freewheeling the bike and not in the way of the car but it continued to follow me.

So I stopped to let the car go passed but it just stopped behind me and this point it was getting really dark, So I decided to peddle as fast as I could but the car continued to follow , at a glance I noticed that it was a grey hair man on his own in the car and was clearly following me. Now I was petrified as I turned the corner, my mates were coming coming back to look for me so I started roaring at them, as I met up with the lads the car reversed and drove in the opposite direction, unfortunately it was too dark to get the registration number. But F*ck that was one scary day especially for a 10 year old. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭JaneLane

Loopy wrote: »
    I found my little 8 month old brother dead in his cot when I was 5.. I can still rememeber how I felt and the dread at going to tell my mum that he was all blue and cold...
    I'll never forget her running up the road in her nightie holding him screaming for someone to help her..

Jesus, the heartbreak in that... :(

That'd be my worst nightmare.

JaneLane wrote: »
    Jesus, the heartbreak in that... :(

That'd be my worst nightmare.

Indeed, lets just say I have spent far too many hours hovering over my own kids with a little mirror to monitor their breath while they sleep..

Most recently, about a week ago, I took my parents flying. Anyone with a PPL likely knows that though a C-172 has four seats, it hasn't a hope of carrying four adults, at least, not with any fuel on board. After calculating and re-calculating, I concluded that I could not have one parent up front with me, in order to stay within balance limits they both had to sit in back.

However, I had never flown with two adults in the back of a C-172 before. During the take-off roll, the airplane starts to rotate on its own. Odd, thinks I, as I add forward pressure to keep the nosewheel on the ground. Then I rotate at the appropriate speed, and the nose just shoots up towards the vertical. Between that moment, and when my sudden application of nearly full forward stick took effect, I was in fear that I had screwed up my calculations badly and was about to become a flaming wreck on the runway. Heavy and rapid application of elevator trim shortly followed...

Landing was a piece of cake, though. The problem with flying is that there are so many small little details which can kill you. Hours of boredom, and moments of terror...

NTM

Holy Crap!!.....and if it scared you that badly, how did it affect your parents??
    That's a few flying stories in this thread now.....I'm canceling my holiday for Sunday! :eek:

Loopy wrote: »

I have 2 siblings that are both younger. My Sister especially 7 years younger was my heart and soul growing up. Now as an adult i have 2 daughters and a son that I idolise...... I just could not possibly fathom how that felt. Either for you or for you mother and father.
    Your post and the one you quoted are very moving. I just don't know how I would cope. In truth I probably couldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Saw a bull running at full speed towards me as a child. Jumped over a while but I still needed a new pair of pants after.

Time travel, always handy to get out of harms way.

I have 2 siblings that are both younger. My Sister especially 7 years younger was my heart and soul growing up. Now as an adult i have 2 daughters and a son that I idolise...... I just could not possibly fathom how that felt. Either for you or for you mother and father.
    Your post and the one you quoted are very moving. I just don't know how I would cope. In truth I probably couldn't.

Yeh cot death is horrendous, it almost destroyed my mum, but they went on to have more kids, although she didnt sleep easy ever, really after it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,005 ✭✭✭Ann22

Jesus Loopy, that was horrific. I'm so sorry to hear that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭sean corcoran

last july i got mugged at the central bank in dublin in broad daylight about 2 o clock in the day. two (big) junkies came up and said listen yous are getting robbed. it was just me, my girlfreind and a guy we had just met 10 mins before they got there. they pulled out a hammer and checked the guy we had just met and took his mobile phone. one of them checked my girlfreinds bag and pockets while the one with the hammer kept telling me if i moved i was getting it. he checked all my pockets and took my phone. the only pocket he didnt check had €100 in it. this guy had dried blood on his hand and it was also on the hammer. i found out later that day that the junkie had hit a guy with the hammer mabye 15 mins before we got mugged. they were arrested later that night after trying to mug another group outside the g.p.o. they are now in mountjoy. the made the mistake of mugging people at the central bank where there were 14 camera angles on them. the thing that really scared me though was, it could have been me he hit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Pensk

^That always happens. Got followed once with my friends, the druggies there are animals.

I remembered another scary time, America 2008, going from..Vegas? to Anaheim. The cars there seem to swerve or something, so my dad had to keep swerving a tiny bit. It wouldnt stay in a line and went straight towards a truck..my mam had her face covered so I was terrified.

That memory doesnt help imagine her after a drunk driver hit her :( That was one of the scariest times ever, being woken up to my dad in hysterics, trying to tell me what had happened. Every time I go back to my aunties house I cant help but wake up and for a split second, I see him running through the door frantically telling me and my sister to wake up, then going home without her being there. Easily the worst memory I have...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭clikityclak

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    First time I had sleep paralysis, before I knew what it was.

Woke up completely unable to move or breathe, with what felt like someone pushing down on my chest.All I could do was move my eyes. Felt like someone was at the end of the bed out of sight just standing there.Then I felt the bed springs lower like someone was sitting down beside me.Couldn't even scream because the muscles were paralysed.

Could move and breathe again after about a minute but it was absolutely terrifying.The relief when I could move again was incredible.

Was only when I read up on it that I realised it's pretty common and that some people get pretty bad hallucinations.

Holy Sh1t I just had to look this up... I've been having this for about 2 years, it is unbelievably scary, like something out of a horror film... you literally cannot move and a feeling that there's something(OK a ghost haha) pushing down...

Other scary experiences include friend getting beaten by scobies, and them recognising us around the place after, still always scared walking home on my own...

I often get a feeling that someone/thing is in the house when I'm on my own.. in the schticks! Eery... Paranoid or what?!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

We need Biggins on this thread, he definitely has something to add to it ;)

My scariest experience was probably just three years ago. I was trekking the Everest Base Camp trail (alone) in low season. I decided to approach Everest Base Camp from an unconventional route as it had been recommended to me as a good challenge and having better views. It meant treking up a valley parallel to the one where Everest is and then traversing over a 16,000ft pass to drop down into the next valley.

I set off just after sunrise at 6am and made good way up a very steep slope. After 4 hours of puffing I came to a spot that looked like a pass (a split between 2 huge mountains) and figured I'd done it. I set off down the valley on what looked like a trail but after a while it turned into a gigantic boulder field where massive rocks the size of buildings had fallen off the sides of mountains all around. I was still convinced I was on the right track and according to my map there was a village with lodgings just 4kms away so I plugged on.

Next thing I knew it was 5pm, the sun was dropping fast and there was no sign of any lights around whatsoever. I then realised that I was on the wrong trail and that I was about to face a night homeless in the cold at an altitude of over 15,000ft where every rock and surface seemed to have snow and ice on it.

I searched around for shelter in the last 30 minutes of light before the sun passed over a ridge, out of sight and out of heat. Luckily I found a massive boulder which had a narrow cave like formation where some of the rock just fell short of meeting the ground completely. I tried to get a fire going but any available wood was wet and I soon used up all 10 of my matches.I had no sleeping bag and only had a jacket and canvas trousers to cover me. I hadn't eaten since 5.30am and had limited water (but ample snow around) By 8pm I was shivering constantly and beginning to feel hypothermia set in. I knew I was in for a long night and one I might not emerge from with my life- shouting out was pointless as there was no-one around to hear any screams. I looked constantly at the thermometer on my compass and could see the temperatures shooting down rapidly after the sun left the scene. It started at 7 degrees but with an hour had fallen to 2 and then -4.

I endured the night by trying to sleep for 30 minutes by which time I would wake up shivering uncontrolably. I knew if this went on I'd most likely die of hypothemia if this carried on. So I set a schedule of 30 minutes rest, 30 minutes exercise- I'd get out of the cave and go through all of the exercises we had to do in P.E. at school- starjumps, running on the spot, toe- tipping, you name it- just anything to keep my body warm and prevent me literally dying of the cold. It was without doubt the longest night of my life- constantly trying to sleep, then getting woken by uncontrolable shaking and then hopping outside and jumping up down and around like an idiot in the Himalayas for half an hour. At 3am I looked at the thermometer again and it was now -11 degrees outside. But I plugged on determined to survive. The exercise plan worked a treat and I emerged unscathed when the sun finally came back over the opposite ridge at 6am that morning.

I trekked onwards for another 3 hours in the morning, not having eaten in over 24hrs. Finally I came across a yak herder and showed him my map. He pointed out where we were and I was way off course. I went down the valley I was in, did a U-turn up the Khumbu Valley and finally made it to Everest 5 days later. It was one of the most enduring moments of my life to date because I could have laid back and waited for death to come but instead chose to fight it in every way I could and luckily now I am still here to tell the tale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

We need Biggins on this thread, he definitely has something to add to it ;)

My scariest experience was probably just three years ago. I was trekking the Everest Base Camp trail (alone) in low season. I decided to approach Everest Base Camp from an unconventional route as it had been recommended to me as a good challenge and having better views. It meant treking up a valley parallel to the one where Everest is and then traversing over a 16,000ft pass to drop down into the next valley.

I set off just after sunrise at 6am and made good way up a very steep slope. After 4 hours of puffing I came to a spot that looked like a pass (a split between 2 huge mountains) and figured I'd done it. I set off down the valley on what looked like a trail but after a while it turned into a gigantic boulder field where massive rocks the size of buildings had fallen off the sides of mountains all around. I was still convinced I was on the right track and according to my map there was a village with lodgings just 4kms away so I plugged on.

Next thing I knew it was 5pm, the sun was dropping fast and there was no sign of any lights around whatsoever. I then realised that I was on the wrong trail and that I was about to face a night homeless in the cold at an altitude of over 15,000ft where every rock and surface seemed to have snow and ice on it.

I searched around for shelter in the last 30 minutes of light before the sun passed over a ridge, out of sight and out of heat. Luckily I found a massive boulder which had a narrow cave like formation where some of the rock just fell short of meeting the ground completely. I tried to get a fire going but any available wood was wet and I soon used up all 10 of my matches.I had no sleeping bag and only had a jacket and canvas trousers to cover me. I hadn't eaten since 5.30am and had limited water (but ample snow around) By 8pm I was shivering constantly and beginning to feel hypothermia set in. I knew I was in for a long night and one I might not emerge from with my life- shouting out was pointless as there was no-one around to hear any screams. I looked constantly at the thermometer on my compass and could see the temperatures shooting down rapidly after the sun left the scene. It started at 7 degrees but within an hour had fallen to 2 and then -4.

I endured the night by trying to sleep for 30 minutes by which time I would wake up shivering uncontrolably. I knew if this went on I'd most likely die of hypothemia. So I came up with a plan and set a schedule of 30 minutes rest, 30 minutes exercise- I'd get out of the cave and go through all of the exercises we had to do in P.E. at school- starjumps, running on the spot, toe- tipping, you name it- just anything to keep my body warm and prevent me literally dying of the cold. It was without doubt the longest night of my life- constantly trying to sleep, then getting woken by uncontrolable shaking and then hopping outside and jumping up down and around like an idiot in the Himalayas for half an hour. At 3am I looked at the thermometer again and it was now -11 degrees outside. But I plugged on determined to survive. The exercise plan worked a treat and I emerged unscathed when the sun finally came back over the opposite ridge at 6am that morning.

I trekked onwards for another 3 hours in the morning, not having eaten in over 24hrs. Finally I came across a yak herder and showed him my map. He pointed out where we were and I was way off course. I went down the valley I was in, did a U-turn up the Khumbu Valley and finally made it to Everest 5 days later. It was one of the most enduring moments of my life to date because I could have laid back and waited for death to come but instead chose to fight it in every way I could and luckily now I am still here to tell the tale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Just remembered another incident that really scared me-
    About 2 years ago I was at my OH's house and for once we had it to ourselves(he lived with 4 mates). We were watching a movie and started fooling around a wee bit;) Next thing I knew I was getting the most horrifcally painful convulsions in my stomach (or as it transpired,uterus).

I staggered to the downstairs bathroom to splash water on my face, and that's the last thing I remember...according to my OH he heard me hit the deck outside the bathroom door.I was out for just a few seconds,and when I came around he was putting me in the recovery position....I sat up and then got sick.

According to the doctor,it was some kind of hormonal surge caused by running 2 packs of pill back to back....never did that again:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Was involved in a car crash, I thought I was dead for sure.

I was waiting to pull onto the main road at a T junction. I was a couple of feet away from the yield markings. An older lady decided to turn onto the road I was coming out of. She must have decided very late to go that way and was going far too fast to take the turn. She tried to pull out towards the main road again but ploughed into me instead. I was driving an awful yoke at the time so it wasn't great at absorbing any impact.

The part of it that was the most frightening was glancing to my right out the window to see a car ploughing towards me and thinking, right, this must be it.

I didn't get any lasting injuries from it thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

When I was around 12 I was in the gaeltacht, one morning myself and a friend missed the bus to the school so we decided to walk it. While walking we decided to take a shortcut through some fields thinking it was a good idea.

The gaeltacht was in rural donegal so these fields turned out to be bogs, after about 10 minutes of walking through them, there was thorns higher than us andwe were sinking into the ground, somehow we got spilt up and I began to panic, lost in the bogland.

Reached for my phone and realised I had taken the wrong one, it was a housemates with no numbers that were useful. I began to panic as I sunk more and more and cut myself more on thorns.

At one stage I honestly thought I would drown alone in the bog. Then I decided to just go crazy, for half an hour I marched through the bog tearing my skin and clothes to pieces on razor sharp torns, not caring about the cuts. Eventually I found a road and then the school, when I arrived the teachers paniced when they seenme covered head to toe in cuts and my clothes were destroyed along with having lost a shoe in the bog.

Was pretty scary at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭gamgsam

Didn't want to post this, but it has been nagging me since the thread started.

My scariest experience was seeing my good friend off her face on drugs. She was absolutely wild, had a ****ty life and went off the wall one night

Things turned bad, and sadly, she died.

Very few of us know it was drugs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=53690146&postcount=92

wrote this in 2007, but it still applies. I will never be more scared than I was that night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Some really good story's here. Thanks for sharing everybody:)

Just thought of another couple of hairy moments there...

First one being a 7 or 8 years ago i was working on a building site standing
    next to a wall when a JCB digger reversed back into me knocking half the wall
    with the bucket. I just managed to jump out the way in time but the bucket
    actually touched my jacket, it was that close:eek::eek:...I nearly had a heart
    attack and was shaking like a leaf afterwards. If that had hit me i would have
    been crushed to death...

Another one that frightened the life out of me was about 3 years ago. My
    best friend was after killing himself only 3 weeks before so i was in a bit of a
    state.

Was in my flat,in the bedroom alone. I closed the bedroom door....It
    opened.....I closed it again, it sprung open again.
    I did this 4 or 5 times and then started totally sh1tting myself thinking it was him....
    Turns out that there was the handle of the kitchen MOP resting in the jam(Is
    that the right word?) of the door on the other side and it was this that was causing the door to spring open....Massive relief after that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Before getting my exam results.
    I'm always straddling on the border...

But I think that's more anxiety than fear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

Before getting my exam results.
    I'm always straddling on the border...

But I think that's more anxiety than fear...

That is fairly pathetic by comparison to some of the others.

In Ghana myself and my girlfriend were walking down the beach. I picked her up and threw her into about 3 feet of water. The water rushes in and we're up to our chests. Laughing that now I was wet too. I grab her hand, but as the water goes back out, the current pulls us with it. We're 15 metres from the shore. I let go of her hand so that I can keep my head above water. Waves are huge. Crashing 3 feet above my head. But we're still being sucked out. 30 metres from the shore now and the waves are crashing in front of us and we're still being brought out.

I look around for somewhere to swim to and there's a rocky island maybe 30 metres away. I'm not a great swimmer and already have swallowed some water. I look to the lodge where we were staying, but we had wandered maybe 100 metres from it and it had started to get dark. The waves in front of me would bring me in, but I had to get in front of them. I'd lost sight of my girlfriend long ago. I swim as hard as I can to get in front of the wave, but the current against me was still very strong. I get in front of the wave at last and it starts to bring me in. In some more. In some more until my feet finally touch the sand.

I stand on the beach and stare into the sea for some sign of my girlfriend. She's still 30 metres from the shore. I see the top of her head between crashing waves. I start to run to the lodge to get help, but she has started swimming and is being brought to the shore also. Closer and closer until finally her feet touch the sand and she's safe. We both collapse on the sand.