Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PSNI Recruitment - Stage 1 - The Initial Selection Test

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,885 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

0607 wrote: »
    Its 25 years service, and be at least 50 years old for full pension. Compulsory retirement at age 65. (for normal officer, it changes at a higher rank)

On topic, over 6 weeks since the first IST test, its a piss take.

Even last year results were out in 4 weeks, and they had 800+ more applicants...

I think that should read 35 instead of 25 no? When you joined in 2007, the New Police Pension Scheme was in effect and that meant 35 years service, so you can retire from 55 all the way to 65. If you are eligible (like if you join at 18 or 19), you can retire earlier than 55 but your pension will be deferred until retirement age. I'm on the old pension scheme, so I can retire after just 30 years service.

Better bring this back on topic before the mods come in...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭0607

My mistake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 c1964

My apologies Tashamc, you are correct, but retirement age is 65 years and as usual, you an Oracle PSNI regarding information about the PSNI, thank you all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 hereshoping

Well folks i have my IST results in. Did mine on 2nd March and got the long awaited letter on Saturday. On to the next stage i go! Its a quick turnaround on the next stage - mid may for me.

Best of luck to all those still waiting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭tashamc

Well folks i have my IST results in. Did mine on 2nd March and got the long awaited letter on Saturday. On to the next stage i go! Its a quick turnaround on the next stage - mid may for me.

Best of luck to all those still waiting!
    Well done & best of luck..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭B182

well done im sure its a great feeling hopefully mine will come this week

well done to you lucky ones so far! And wow mid May?? that is quick! Making me slighty nervous now but I'd say I've a while to wait for mine yet... didn't have my ist till the 25th so I'm guessing I'll not see the dreaded envelope till next week at the earliest :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 forestgrump

are you guys that got your results already from N.I. or R.O.I. or eng or where.....still no sign of mine:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Jay_Man

Congratulations :)... Did it give you the mark that you got or did it just say that you passed?

Can we start a list of names who got the results? Just put your name, pass or fail, date you sat your test & your location, ie. North, south, england etc.. That way we won't all be asking the same questions! :-)

hereshoping 2nd March Pass North

Jay_Man wrote: »
    Congratulations :)... Did it give you the mark that you got or did it just say that you passed?

No pass mark or the mark i got - i have emailed Delotte to ask what i got :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Jay_Man

Thanks.. Well done again.. Done mine the 15th so hopefully I'll get word sometime this week..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭beca

tashamc wrote: »
    Can we start a list of names who got the results? Just put ur name, pass or fail, date u sat ur test & ur location, ie. North, south, england etc.. That way we won't all be asking the same questions! :-)

I have a table saved on my computer of all the names from the Campaign 1001 thread list and im stickin in pass beside their name as they post. ill stick it up when a few more are posted :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 so0809

Im patiently awaiting the post lol. Was told by 20th so as soon as that postman leaves tomorrow and it isnt here ill be straight on the phone lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭wannabe2010

so0809 wrote: »
    Im patiently awaiting the post lol. Was told by 20th so as soon as that postman leaves tomorrow and it isnt here ill be straight on the phone lol

Here here!

beca wrote: »
    I have a table saved on my computer of all the names from the Campaign 1001 thread list and im stickin in pass beside their name as they post. ill stick it up when a few more are posted :)

Wow that is so like something I'd do, a little bit OCD are we?? :D It's a great idea except I don't fancy having a big fat fail beside my name...might just keep it hush hush and do a dissappearing act from here if I do!

Damn right its OCD! lol i cant be bothered trawling through the threads in a few weeks (and im gonna wanna know out of the list of 50 or so how many of us passed) so i just copied the list a few pages back and slapped it in a word doc. i doubt people that dont pass will want to come on here so if we never hear back, id take it they failed. thats what i did last year! :p

i knew the post wasnt gonna have my letter today but i still booted it home just encase and nobody was gonna have a letter from saturdays post anyhow. wishful thinking i suppose... going scatty with nerves now :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Bifbert

Still no word on mine. If its not here tomorrow I will flip!!!! Know a guy who got his on saturday and we did it exact same time. Makes me wonder :-(

Bifbert wrote: »
    Still no word on mine. If its not here tomorrow I will flip!!!! Know a guy who got his on saturday and we did it exact same time. Makes me wonder :-(

we dont know how they are ordered maybe its score , date or surnames

stomach was in knots yesterday as i work not far from home and came back at lunch to check lol

will be doing same if i dont come back take the hint :P nah il tell yas

just to update this again , another day and again no letter not good :(

chunkerz wrote: »
    just to update this again , another day and again no letter not good :(

when did you do the test?

im gettin so impatient!! :mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭odin_ie

No sign today, unlike most of ye, I was not nervous up to now, as I was expecting it to come on the specified date. But now, I am a little more anxious.

beca wrote: »
    when did you do the test?

im gettin so impatient!! :mad::mad::mad::mad:

3rd march so :(

but depends how they are ranking peoples letters as i said score , surname date of test

But i know results are only starting to come out but way i see it AC is very soon as someone said on here so maybe they are doing the 2000 letters first so make sure they get them told and fails to follow :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭princess deity

Just spoke with Deloitte for update and i was informed that Most results are only being posted out today, everyone should have results by END of week, if not recieved by next week contact them as letter will have most definitely gone astray... hope this helps lads and ladies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭grad10

Got letter this morning. Passed. Feeling very relieved! AC in less than a month but gonna have to change date due to final exams. All the best eveyone else. (Did my IST 2nd March).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭Bubbles34

OK..............Got my letter today. PASSED. Very pleased...........feckin over the moon if truth be told. (IST 9th March)

Big well done you guys, your soooo lucky!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭grad10

Thank you. Keeping my fingers crossed for all the rest of you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Agito

Its the 20th, the day they promised the results for me, and the post man usually shows up at around 12.00-13.00. C'mon its nearly 12.00 now!

Congrats to everyone who passed because for some reason I feel I'm gonna fail this one. lol Actually I promised myself that if I pass, I'll go do something crazy. Still thinking of what to do though. >_<