Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

LWAUltra wrote: »
    Can I apply for the gardaí after I complete my leaving cert this yr?

If you are over 18, then once you have received your results and you meet the requirements go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

Hoffmans wrote: »
    more likely to be striking than recruiting this time:rolleyes:

and remember, theyre not 'checkpoints' anymore, theyre pickets! so dnt cross em ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Any1 still thinking there will be a recruitment campaign this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭I'm listening

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    Any1 still thinking there will be a recruitment campaign this year?

IF there's anything I say it will just be intakes from people already in the system, and thats a big IF :rolleyes:. Recruitment campaigns maybe mid to late 2011???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

IF there's anything I say it will just be intakes from people already in the system, and thats a big IF :rolleyes:. Recruitment campaigns maybe mid to late 2011???

I m going hold out for when hell freezes over or when pigs fly think thats an accurate predicition :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 hurler_87

How are all of ye?

Long time reader, first time poster!

I’m waiting to apply, rather than to go to Templemore!

I've spent a good while reading this particular thread, (and it has taken me a while to get from page 1 to 163???), and with all this reading I’ve got a lot of cluttered information. And I’m asking people on the site to help me with some clarity on particular information.

Before I get going, I just want to make clear that I’m fully aware that there’s a large number (is it in the hundreds or thousands) after passing all the stages and waiting for the word from Tipp.

Here are the areas that I have queries about:

1) Are public jobs the only “official” notification of when the Garda Siochana are recruiting!

2) When(hopefully), the recruitment phase is opened, the responsibility of the person applying to book a spot for the aptitude test in Garda HQ’s??? (is that right, or even close to be right)

3) The recruitment process is broken into three phases

a. aptitude test (to see if your mad or not, (as quoted in this forum a few times, ha);
    b. a face to face interview is that in Templemore or local garda station; and
    c. There’s medical examination and physical competence! (To what extent do they examine you, is it as much detail as GP, or go into further depth)

4) I’m a masters student, and when I finish college I know there’ll be a good period of time (hopefully not) between then and when the recruitment embargo is lifted. I want to gain a few little extra qualifications in that gap period whatever length it is, and was hoping someone could enlighten me into the best first aid courses and even swimming courses (it appears if I’m reading correctly)

5) From people who have done the interview, and are waiting (or even people already in An Garda Siochana); does the Garda Reserve prove any essential advantage for applying?

The reason for the long message, and number of questions is I want to ensure I’ve everything possible to get in, as I was talked out of applying after my Leaving Cert as I was deemed too young to apply and told “go to college and if you still want it at the end of that then apply”; great advice but bad timing!

6) What’s the easiest place to do the driving test??? Ha ha

Cheers; would really appreciate some responses, and apologies for the long post!

Thanks in advance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

hurler_87 wrote: »

Here are the areas that I have queries about
    1) Are public jobs the only “official” notification of when the Garda Siochana are recruiting!

2) When(hopefully), the recruitment phase is opened, the responsibility of the person applying to book a spot for the aptitude test in Garda HQ’s??? (is that right, or even close to be right)

3) The recruitment process is broken into three phases [/COLOR]

a.aptitude test (to see if your mad or not, (as quoted in this forum a few times, ha);
    b.a face to face interview is that in Templemore or local garda station; and
    c.There’s medical examination and physical competence! (To what extent do they examine you, is it as much detail as GP, or go into further depth)

I'm looking for the exact same answers as you :)

Here are the areas that I have queries about:

1) Are public jobs the only “official” notification of when the Garda Siochana are recruiting!..
    This is the only place where you can apply but when they start recruiting there will be ads in the media..

2) When(hopefully), the recruitment phase is opened, the responsibility of the person applying to book a spot for the aptitude test in Garda HQ’s??? (is that right, or even close to be right).
    Yes you will get and email and have to contact PAS to get a date for the aptitude test.

3) The recruitment process is broken into three phases

a. aptitude test (to see if your mad or not, (as quoted in this forum a few times, ha);
    its a way of seein are you suited to the job

b. a face to face interview is that in Templemore or local garda station; This is held in PAS hq and there is a report writing which no info shall be disclosed on here. also there is in an interview with your local super

c. There’s medical examination and physical competence! (To what extent do they examine you, is it as much detail as GP, or go into further depth) yes as much detail as a gp and a sight and hearing test also if you pass this you have to go to templemore to do Physical Comptence test basically a fitness test

4) I’m a masters student, and when I finish college I know there’ll be a good period of time (hopefully not) between then and when the recruitment embargo is lifted. I want to gain a few little extra qualifications in that gap period whatever length it is, and was hoping someone could enlighten me into the best first aid courses and even swimming courses (it appears if I’m reading correctly).
    Be Certified in first aid by HSE and be a certified lifeguard by either IWS or RLSS

5) From people who have done the interview, and are waiting (or even people already in An Garda Siochana); does the Garda Reserve prove any essential advantage for applying?
    Its a great experince and insight in to the job but its not for everyone i would suggest joining..

6) What’s the easiest place to do the driving test??? Ha ha
    Depends where you live.

hope i have answered yer queires

Really appreciate that response flash!!!

Might seem really stupid question, but what's PAS??? (like i said loads of cluttered information, and it's not ringing a bell for me).

Lifeguard??? I was thinking more front stroke, back stroke, nothing too fancy... ha ha!

Driving test, I'd drive the length and breadth of the country for the driving test... ha ha.

again very much appreciate the response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭northside girl

Really appreciate that response flash!!!

Might seem really stupid question, but what's PAS??? (like i said loads of cluttered information, and it's not ringing a bell for me).

Lifeguard??? I was thinking more front stroke, back stroke, nothing too fancy... ha ha!

Driving test, I'd drive the length and breadth of the country for the driving test... ha ha.

again very much appreciate the response.

PAS is the public appointments service. They handle Garda recruitment up until Stage 3 (background checks, medical and PCT exam) after which Garda HRM take over. As it stands at the moment, you don't need to be able to swim to get into AGS but I think it's one of the new recommendations that eventually you will need to be a certified swimmer to join. Again though, it's only a recommendation at this point, as is the requirement for a driving licence. Also, I can't see it going as far as being a certified lifeguard but then again it wouldn't hurt you to have it either. It looks like it might be a while before a campaign starts again so at least you'll have plenty of time work on getting them :)

thanks for that...

if the embargo wasn't active, how long did the recruitment process take... what is the most recent batch gone down to Templemore? or to put it another way, what are the batch waiting the longest to go down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rugby

Im in Batch 2 from may 08 still waiting on my medical and physical ...alot of other people on this thrend have all four stages completed with ages

That's a long auld time to be waiting, hopefully it'll get up and running soon enough... but obviously due to the freeze it's prolonged compared to pre-freeze time!

Hopefully , but sure no ones knows..good thing is too have loads of patience, like i said there will be loads more people that will reply too your question tomorrow and will have everything done with a year or so. i suppose its just the luck of the draw. your just waiting too apply i take it :D

we ll all be full of patience by the time we get to apply :cool:

da__flash wrote: »
    we ll all be full of patience by the time we get to apply :cool:
    Lets hope the public are too :pac:

living in hope is a great thing:cool:

da__flash wrote: »
    living in hope is a great thing:cool:

Ha ha very true indeed, hopefully something will happen soon alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭seedorf117

Would anyone know how much prep is needed for the aptitude test?? From what ive heard its tricky enough, should one who wants to join the force start now? Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 GearoidOM

how do ppl? anybody know of a course or books to help with the tests and interview?pm me if you do,thanks:)....will they ever recruit goddmit!!!!:mad:...also,how would i get a copy of my LC results,i lost mine YEARS ago.i know how many points i got but i cant remember the exact grades i got in my subjects...cheers

seedorf117 wrote: »
    Would anyone know how much prep is needed for the aptitude test?? From what ive heard its tricky enough, should one who wants to join the force start now? Cheers
    Sudoku and mind puzzles I suppose. Or do mock tests online. Pretty sure you could find a site if you google it.
    GearoidOM wrote: »
    how do ppl? anybody know of a course or books to help with the tests and interview?pm me if you do,thanks:)....will they ever recruit goddmit!!!!:mad:...also,how would i get a copy of my LC results,i lost mine YEARS ago.i know how many points i got but i cant remember the exact grades i got in my subjects...cheers

Your secondary school should and most likely will still have record of your LC results.

Does your BMI have to be below a certain standard to enter the garda?

the reasoni ask is i was chatting to a friend who is also waiting to apply for the garda? and we're pretty fit lads bar the fact a dose of the love handles has appeared!:rolleyes:...

and if it is true, what is it like 25 or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭michealc_87

the reasoni ask is i was chatting to a friend who is also waiting to apply for the garda? and we're pretty fit lads bar the fact a dose of the love handles has appeared!:rolleyes:...

As far as i know from reading through other threads your BMI has to be below 30, anything above that is an automatic fail. But i stand to be corrected on that too. Just have a quick read through the medical thread you will find all you need to know in that.:)

BMI has too be below 30.... get rid of the love handles :D

rugby wrote: »
    BMI has too be below 30.... get rid of the love handles :D

ah they build character and give a certain level of definition, would ya not agree? ha ha

I think that's a bit unfair. One of my friends has also applied to AGS and he has a higher BMI than me but he'd be the fitter and faster out of the two of us, even with the extra weight. Imagine if he lost it :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

Bonito wrote: »
    I think that's a bit unfair. One of my friends has also applied to AGS and he has a higher BMI than me but he'd be the fitter and faster out of the two of us, even with the extra weight. Imagine if he lost it :eek:

They can make allowances but means getting doctors reports etc etc...
    I know of a few lads that love the gym and have very high bmi and they got in....but they were far from fat (apart from there heads)

Ha ha good one..go on off too the gym with ya :D ah im kidding honest, try put in a little effort and the love handles be gone in no time :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 bruno_12345

Whats the best way of getting rid of those love handle & a belly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

Whats the best way of getting rid of those love handle & a belly

These lads can help

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=252