If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Does anyone know the key to being able to operate a 24 hour day, I get close with 17/18, but I'm going to be needing a week of 24 hour days in about a week's time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭RachPie

A mix of redbull, coffee, sugar on tap helps me an awful lot:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭ninty9er

RachPie wrote: »
    A mix of redbull, coffee, sugar on tap helps me an awful lot:)
    Red Bull does nothing for me unfortunately, same for coffee. Helpful to keep going for 2 hours on the road to Waterford, but a week of 24 hour days is completely different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭RachPie

Luckily I'm a lightweight when it comes to caffiene. Why would you have to do 24 days at any rate?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭pervertedcoffee

ninty9er wrote: »
    Red Bull does nothing for me unfortunately, same for coffee. Helpful to keep going for 2 hours on the road to Waterford, but a week of 24 hour days is completely different.

*snap* I've been trying to crack this conundrum myself for a looooong time and it will be a question I will be posing myself at various intervals this week, unfortunately. Although I find a moment of divine inspiration enthuses me enough to get me to work all night on an essay or some such thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭bazkennedy

try the red bull shots (available in the ulsu shop)- they are concentrate red bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,607 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Does anyone know the key to being able to operate a 24 hour day, I get close with 17/18, but I'm going to be needing a week of 24 hour days in about a week's time.
    After about 60 hours you start seeing things and becoming as coherent as the happy drunk in the corner of a country bar. Gets steadily worse as you pass 80 by which time you're generally rocking yourself forward and back in an effort to stay awake and looking goggle eyed at everything that moves. Past 100 hours it really isn't pleasant.

I'd suggest that a minimum of three to four hours rest or sleep a night will allow you to "function" without anyone noticing the difference if you correct that and collapse properly into a bed after about 10 days at the outside. Six hours a night and you can probably keep going for a year or two with occasional deficit corrections (having said that, some people only need this amount of sleep).

I wouldn't advise it. Not from personal experience anyway. You'll end up sleeping almost all the time. At worst that will stretch on for rather a long time, at best you'll just take out the week after which is defeating the purpose of the extended days. You can't function with repeated non-sleep. Trust me. And you can't build up a sleep reservoir in advance either.

They key to repeated 24 hour days? Get yourself an identical twin. As far as I know, there's never been a UL election candidate with an identical twin but I know one year there was a campaign manager that had his identical twin around to help out. Go home and ask your mother if there's an evil twin hidden in the attic, get him to shave off his goatee or take off his iron mask and no-one will know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Learning Journals! Whats the point of them?! :mad:

Having to write down each week what I've "learnt" and "what I've experienced" in class seems a futile exercise to me...I mean ffs, how can I be wrong?! Is it a case of just being too bored to correct meaningful projects that lecturers saddle students with these mundane tasks?

Its taking the gloss of what is a gorgeous day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,652 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

NOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

The SU shop is out of Blue Bear! :(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 dragonheart

had the remains of someones lunch tossed at me by what can only be described as a bunch of goths in the su.....fml :rolleyes:

New guy in the group has decided to omit a couple of minor details in his interview...just the entrepreneur's name, the company's name....and just what the company does...:rolleyes:

Sure they are just minor details :p

Mossin wrote: »
    Sure they are just minor details :p

Seriously though, I wouldn't mind but this thing is due on Thursday at 4, and this is the last one for me to do :mad::(

God I hate this module!!! :mad:

It would really make a lot more sense for this to be an individual project, really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭mayo_lad

TRYIN TO FIT 2 WEEKS WORK INTO ONE NOT A GOOD IDEA :(

but next week will be funn any way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭entropic

God damned search indexer that make the library computers unusable for about 10 minutes when you log onto them first. I only want to print off 2 bloody sheets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 tweety_bird

Trying to juggle FYP stuff and assignments when most people i see on pcs are on facebook!! cmon lads grand if ye have your own laptop but dont be hogging pcs for facebook when there are people who actually need them! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

Trying to juggle FYP stuff and assignments when most people i see on pcs are on facebook!! cmon lads grand if ye have your own laptop but dont be hogging pcs for facebook when there are people who actually need them! :mad:

I've bitched about that a few times. I think something of a compromise could be reached if you had something of a facebook free area in the library/fish tank/venus - where designated machines were blocked from facebook/bebo/boards :p

Kick them off the PC's, it is library policy to kick those people off the computers and they generally have no problem with students doing it. Alsoa great stress reliever as some poor first year gets your built up wrath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

entropic wrote: »
    Kick them off the PC's, it is library policy to kick those people off the computers and they generally have no problem with students doing it. Alsoa great stress reliever as some poor first year gets your built up wrath.

I hope you're messing?

I've said it before and I'll say it again, there are loads of pcs available throughout the campus, go and find one.

It's NONE of your business what anyone else does on a pc.

Stop blaming first years. :mad:

entropic wrote: »

Pick on the wrong first year and you could be nursing a broken nose ;)

mud wrote: »
    I hope you're messing?

I've said it before and I'll say it again, there are loads of pcs available throughout the campus, go and find one.

I am not at all, and although I don’t discriminate between the years, that was a joke :P If I have gone the fish tank, the venus labs and the library and there are no PC's available I will go straight to the first person who I see that has nothing open other than Facebook and ask them politely give up their PC so that I can get some work done, if they refuse I will just get staff whose policy it is to remove students who are blatantly not doing anything in favour of those who need the resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭KerranJast

I hope you're messing?

First years usually have the least workload and deadlines and therefore usually spend more time using library computers for non-research. Every survey by the library staff has found that which is why they started kicking people off PCs who were dossing when there's a large queue.

Just over 20 hours till the deadline tomorrow.

I have now sent your man 2 e-mails asking for the name of the fecking entrepreneur, and what the company actually does. Still nothing :mad:

I really can't do anything with "the industry" when I don't know what the fecking industry is!!:eek:

God I hate group projects :mad: And I especially hate last minute changes to group projects!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭constantg

I hope you're messing?

Stop blaming first years. mad.gif

Last i heard it was also ITD policy that they don't generally interfere with what you look up on your pc. As long as its not child porn or the ilk of course. Although i know ppl who've looked it up for a law debate.....so caveat empor....user beware....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

Personally, I think those PC's will become redundant in a few years or at least they should. I think ITD should start concentrating on providing a reliable and fast wireless service in the library and buildings around UL - they should be able to tie it into the printer network too by making the printers wireless thus making the need for the PC's redundant. It would seem to be a natural course of action to me as the proliferation of laptops amongst the student populace is on massive upward trend from what I can see. Obviously they should keep a small number of labs/PC banks around the campus but overall I think the emphasis should shift toward making the University as laptop friendly as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭daithi_lacha

I hope you're messing?

If you look at ITD's 'Regulations on the Usage of the Internet from the University', Section 1, article 2, you'll find that it reads:

"Staff and students may use the Internet for personal use provided that it...does not preclude others with work-related needs from using the resources"

So, if one is using the library pcs for 'personal use', regardless of what it is, and there are no other available computers in the library, ITD are perfectly entitled to kick you off.

Hope this helps :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

If you look at ITD's 'Regulations on the Usage of the Internet from the University', Section 1, article 2, you'll find that it reads:

"Staff and students may use the Internet for personal use provided that it...does not preclude others with work-related needs from using the resources"

So, if one is using the library pcs for 'personal use', regardless of what it is, and there are no other available computers in the library, ITD are perfectly entitled to kick you off.

Hope this helps :D

Helps what exactly?

My argument is that there are plenty of pcs to go round, just coz someone isn't arsed finding one ain't my problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

PM me and I'll let you know where there are a couple of Post Grad PC labs.

Don't want any pesky first years to know :p

I officially despise filling in this Excel database...I have to research 61 UK universities, and so far I've done 42 of them...its tedious and boring, and I've got other modules which are being neglected whilst I spend my time on this nonsense :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 tweety_bird

YFlyer wrote: »
    PM me and I'll let you know where there are a couple of Post Grad PC labs.

Don't want any pesky first years to know :p

thanks, thanks to some post grads i did indeed find some quiet ones :) and as for looking around...that day i tried 3 pc labs all to be full..definately think there should be at least one pc lab on campus facebook,bebo,twitter etc free