If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭DJCR

From my facebook...... apparently my rant was 2170 charachters too long to post!!!

(DJCR/Dave Ryan) has just seen the title of the guest lecture on at 7:30 this evening ...“Ireland’s Economic Crisis: Implications for the Labour Market” .... not impressed, think i've seen it on the news quite a few times!!

FFS - Jobs lost, less jobs available, more people on welfare, govt. has to pay them, does that by taxing the **** out of the rest of us and cutting public service pay and putting a freeze on public sector jobs further lowering the amount they take in in tax (though apparently offsets the amount they have to spend in the first place) which further contracts the jobs market which further ****s up the economy cause no one has any money to spend which means VAT for the govt. goes down. I'm not going to mention the banks so the only way we can get out of recession is by massive government investment which can't happen because its broke and any little money we have we'll (feck it i'll say it) give it to the banks... or the Greeks as the case may be (Dunno which is worse to be honest: Banks or Greece - catch 22 can't see us getting the money back anyway).

Long and short of it Jobs market is royally ****ed until the world can afford our produce again which is royal ammunition for the lads in Dublin to say our wages have priced us out of the market we need a wage decrease which further ****s us all up because alot of families only have one wage coming in now or even if they have 2 wages coming in they are locked into aggreements with banks which they can no longer afford to pay them even though (didn't we just give a **** load of money to the banks)??

So basically when the world recovers from this hindenberg sized blip in the economic system and they can afford to buy our stuff... exports go up, investment/money comes in, business expansion occurs and then its back to the good old days of us having the pick of the jobs, getting bored, moving again and still being able to walk into a job...... God loves the good old days and I'm only 23... who knew there could be good old days!! And they told me I'd miss my school days hahahaha... they obviously never experienced a Celtic Tiger turn into a pile of ash in about a year!!

Rant Over

I know I've missed a nit of stuff.... but that will be the jist of it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭snazzy

Well this is a past bitch. Had I been on here the day this happened I'd have been raging!

Tuesday: 12pm

After a nice sleep, I get up and check my email before heading to college.
    Email from Politics lecturer: "Just a reminder that your major essay is due tomorrow at 4pm."

I FLIP.
    I thought a reading review worth 5% was due this week. Not the major essay worth 40%. :eek::eek::eek: Thought that was due in Week 12 like the one last semester
    I am absolutely bottling it.
    Get dressed and run to the library. I am in there from 1pm to 8pm and I go through good times and terrible times when I get writer's block and scrap the essay. I don't even eat :(

But then I got it done the next day and after citing and referencing for what felt like hours, and having to run from the top floor of the library over to the computer lab in Block A to get it printed, I handed it in at 3.55pm.
    :cool:

So it's a happy ending but I've never been more stressed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

DJCR wrote: »
    From my facebook...... apparently my rant was 2170 charachters too long to post!!!

(DJCR/Dave Ryan) has just seen the title of the guest lecture on at 7:30 this evening ...“Ireland’s Economic Crisis: Implications for the Labour Market” .... not impressed, think i've seen it on the news quite a few times!!

FFS - Jobs lost, less jobs available, more people on welfare, govt. has to pay them, does that by taxing the **** out of the rest of us and cutting public service pay and putting a freeze on public sector jobs further lowering the amount they take in in tax (though apparently offsets the amount they have to spend in the first place) which further contracts the jobs market which further ****s up the economy cause no one has any money to spend which means VAT for the govt. goes down. I'm not going to mention the banks so the only way we can get out of recession is by massive government investment which can't happen because its broke and any little money we have we'll (feck it i'll say it) give it to the banks... or the Greeks as the case may be (Dunno which is worse to be honest: Banks or Greece - catch 22 can't see us getting the money back anyway).

Long and short of it Jobs market is royally ****ed until the world can afford our produce again which is royal ammunition for the lads in Dublin to say our wages have priced us out of the market we need a wage decrease which further ****s us all up because alot of families only have one wage coming in now or even if they have 2 wages coming in they are locked into aggreements with banks which they can no longer afford to pay them even though (didn't we just give a **** load of money to the banks)??

So basically when the world recovers from this hindenberg sized blip in the economic system and they can afford to buy our stuff... exports go up, investment/money comes in, business expansion occurs and then its back to the good old days of us having the pick of the jobs, getting bored, moving again and still being able to walk into a job...... God loves the good old days and I'm only 23... who knew there could be good old days!! And they told me I'd miss my school days hahahaha... they obviously never experienced a Celtic Tiger turn into a pile of ash in about a year!!

Rant Over

I know I've missed a nit of stuff.... but that will be the jist of it!!!

Thats not really UL Dave :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

finished my economics project early but didnt print it off until friday, turns out the printers are down in kemmy, schuman, and the venus labs, couldnt check the library because of queue and lab on in fishtank. had to pay snap 1.50 to print four pages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭imbroglio

I know this is the bitch thread but...

My FYP is handed up, gone forever, and the sun is shining!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

imbroglio wrote: »
    I know this is the bitch thread but...

My FYP is handed up, gone forever, and the sun is shining!

Yeah its the bitch thread, you are looking for this thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=64936389#post64936389 [The happy days thread]

My moan for today is the fact that its week 11 already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭bazkennedy

My moan for today is the fact that its week 11 already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Mindkiller

Sorry guys not a bitch but where is the 'job placement' room?

Mindkiller wrote: »
    Sorry guys not a bitch but where is the 'job placement' room?

Coop office I presume?

In the Ski Slopes, up the stairs to your left than in on the left hand side past the SAA office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,652 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

I'm in the library now. Have made camp for the rest of the day, there are some right messy, jammy bastards in here!

Some twit has left 2 bottles, a load bar wrappers and a half empty box of wedges on the ground :eek::mad:

And I'll inevitably have to clear them up, because I don't want people to think I left them there :(

Thanks for that cson. I don't think that its the Co-op office though
    "Job placement room in the Student Centre" is what the email says. Its for a co-op briefing.

Hmm, no harm head up to the coop office anyway, they'll tell you where it is for definite.
    I'm in the library now. Have made camp for the rest of the day, there are some right messy, jammy bastards in here!

Some twit has left 2 bottles, a load bar wrappers and a half empty box of wedges on the ground :eek::mad:

And I'll inevitably have to clear them up, because I don't want people to think I left them there :(

Tell one of the security guards. I'm not a munchies hitler myself as I do enjoy the odd lucozade and dairy milk when I'm in the library but honest to god people rip the piss in there sometimes with the stuff they bring in and more pointedly the mess they leave.

It's a serious issue in UL to be honest, not just the library. The level of littering around the Student Courtyard, Library, Student Villages and the Common Room just to mention a select few is nothing short of disgraceful. Short of hiring people to police it the only way I can see things improving are by students taking it into their own hands and pulling people up on it. And I can't see that happening because most people [me included] would be very tentative to publicly admonish a stranger. That and the very likely "**** off" response you'd recieve from some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

55% Group Project [30 pages + appendices]
    60% Group Project & Presentation [4,000 words + appendices]
    30% Group Project & Presentation [6000 words + appendices]
    20% Learning Journal
    10% Project Management Project
    Research for Thesis Literature Review

All of these are due next week! :(

Its a good thing I am running for election as well :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

One marketing module has taken over my life for the past number of weeks, with a 30 page (60 with everything included) submitted last friday and a presentation tomorrow. And the catch 22 is if you do well in it you go have to another one next week, prolonging the whole thing even further. And I've an essay on tuesday which I'd love to spend loads of time on becuase I actually like the subject, but despite my best time management efforts, my other 4 modules have barely got a look in. But everyone has their deadlines so I shan't bitch any further. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Firstly, TP office. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!! :mad:
    Secondly, oh holy **** it's week twelve and I'm ****ed :eek:
    Thirdly, ****e lecturers :mad:

But first year ball Monday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭mayo_lad

let's see it's 4 week's till my coop and i havent got one
    i've got 3 projcet's to do by next friday
    it's week 12
    i havent looked at an exam paper yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭bluedolphin

If it's not too late, the job placement room is in the SU. Go upstairs, take the left at the top of the stairs (i.e. sort of turn back on yourself) go through the double doors, through to where the Alumni Association is located, and the job placement room is on the right.

Thank you. Found it in time anyway for the Argentina co-op briefing.
    Was a really crap place to have a briefing though.

I hate group projects. So much. I also hate presentations.

But not as much as I hate group presentations.

Group presentations make me angry.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭mayo_lad

dam ****in controle project i've spent the last 3 hour's trying to get it done with no luck :(:(:(

Oscar. Mike. Golf.

If I say that I don't want to pay €3 for something at the Lodge (yes, I realise that it's for charity), then I don't want to!.
    Stop asking me. You aren't going to change my mind. I'm not going out tonight, and I am not going to "donate anyway".

LEAVE ME ALONE!! :mad:

As we type, I am in a 70% empty lecture hall (only the Jean Monnet, not hard to fill) with a certain Science Maths lecturer who can barely speak english let alone advanced calculus!! This makes me an angry panda :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭dee8839

Stuck in the Venus because the "Postgrad" computer room is completely full of stupid 4th years trying to write an entire FYP in one day. I'm being a total hypocrite by complaining since I lived in there last year when I was a 4th year but now that I'm a postgrad I find their presence to be irrationally annoying!!

Second day in a row stuck beside some guy who smells alarmingly like weed and leaves the room every hour or two, only to return smelling even more strongly like weed! Surely that's not helping him study?!

Stuck writing a 3,500 word essay that is supposedly law but is in fact completely about economics and history. I HATE economics. If I wanted to do an economics essay, or a history essay, I'd have done a Masters in economics or history dammit!!

And although I know I shouldn't complain about this, I have a job lined up next year and they don't give a flying *beep* what I get in this Masters. Seriously, I told them what I got last semester and their response was "Good for you". Hardly giving me much motivation to strive for good results! Right now I'm tempted to just say f*ck it and not bother with this essay, or just hand in the crap I've written up to now. But I know if I don't try I'll be mad at myself for throwing away a 1:1 so I'm gonna give it a go.

And finally, I'm sick of the fact that I know almost no-one on campus any more. I miss the sense of comradery there was around exam time every other year. Now I find it hard to even find someone to go for lunch with.

Its my last week ever in UL after 5 years and I can honestly say THANK GOD.

End of rant.

dee8839 wrote: »

Well done for lasting that long, it's only my last week in first year and I'm seriously pissed off already :P good luck with the 1:1!!:D

End of rant.

Really? It's gonna kill me to leave the place. Eternal student and all that! :P

My bitch: Why must coop last through the summer when other places [UCC] have it off? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

And finally, I'm sick of the fact that I know almost no-one on campus any more. I miss the sense of comradery there was around exam time every other year. Now I find it hard to even find someone to go for lunch with.

I'm in the same boat :( Damn my stupidity last May, needing to repeat :mad:

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    As we type, I am in a 70% empty lecture hall (only the Jean Monnet, not hard to fill) with a certain Science Maths lecturer who can barely speak english let alone advanced calculus!! This makes me an angry panda :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!

I assume its N.K.!

it took me a semester to figure out that "phoooiii" was "pi"
    love it when she says "cororally"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭JoseJones

I assume its N.K.!

it took me a semester to figure out that "phoooiii" was "pi"
    love it when she says "cororally"

Zees can be wery wery cheeky!!! (translation: this can be very very tricky).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭dee8839

Anyone else finding the net very slow in college? I need my Youtube fix!!!

It was ridiculous today.

It took me about 5 minutes to get into my email :mad: