Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 jim davis

being realistic,whats everybodies opinion at the moment when a campaign is gonna start.is it just me or is there more negative than positive the last few weeks.it seemed like things were goin the right direction there a few weeks ago and now its just stalemate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭CuteStuff

As a student Garda at the moment the best advise I can give anyone joining or hoping to join is have lots of savings, pay off any debts and learn to drive and have a car. It will help you. Trust me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 idmig

number13 wrote: »
    Im in the same boat waiting to join. Im 30 so time is ticking. I started a law degree part time id say it would brilliant on your cv come the interview. It would show i have an interest in law> was thiinking bout doing busines and law but thought law would look better I also started coaching kids in my local gaa club . Whats anyone else doing

The best thing that anyone can have going for them is membership of the Garda reserve. I would imagine that an applicant who is in a position to be in the reserve but hasn't even applied will face difficulties sitting in front of a board

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭number13

I know garda reserve would look good but i think other things would look too as long as you have a good enough reason for not joining.
    I work full time doing a law degree part time play senior football train 3 times a week and train kids 1 night a week so i just wouldn t have time. I think that s good eonough reason when i m sitting in front of the board. I just wouldn t have time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭clayton1

Firstly, I heard someone mention money on here. If you are looking to get rich, then this is the wrong career for you.

I am just over a year out of training as a Garda reserve in a busy Dublin suburb, I really enjoy it. I also did a course in criminology and forensic psychology, in which I think I did well. If that is not enough for me to get in full time, then I don’t know what more I can do.

First aid courses are handy, and i’m going to do one of them very soon. I have a full licence also. Swimming, hmmmm… I am not a bad swimmer at all, but I just wonder if we need certification in that regards. We shall see.

Once they recruit again, I would imagine that the intake numbers will be relatively small so the competition is going to be fierce - it will all come down to what have you got that the next person doesn't. Seems to be a lot of people now joining the reserves. Thankfully I know some reserves who had plans to join the full time, but they have since been discharged from the reserves as it wasn’t for them.

number13 wrote: »
    I know garda reserve would look good but i think other things would look too as long as you have a good enough reason for not joining.
    I work full time doing a law degree part time play senior football train 3 times a week and train kids 1 night a week so i just wouldn t have time. I think that s good eonough reason when i m sitting in front of the board. I just wouldn t have time

don't worry man, the reserves is not the be all and end all in regard to joining the full time.

"The new recruits will, for the first time, also face psychological assessment as part of the application process to join the force."

i wonder what this entails?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 idmig

clayton1 wrote: »
    don't worry man, the reserves is not the be all and end all in regard to joining the full time.

No the reserve is not the be all and end all but you better be in a position time-wise to justify not applying or joining it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭northside girl

When I interviewed for the job I was never asked anything about the reserves let alone justify why I never joined. It never came up. I'm sure if you're in the reserves and you mention that, especially in relation to discussing competencies, that it may help you in your application but you won't be penalised for not showing an interest in the reserves. For many people it's just not an option for whatever reason. It never hurt me anyway and I'm happily in the job.

idmig wrote: »
    No the reserve is not the be all and end all but you better be in a position time-wise to justify not applying or joining it

good point actually. you may have to explain to them in the interview why you didn't join the reserves.

i failed the aptitude test a couple of years ago, then there is a 6 month ban on you applying again - so then i missed the last recruitment drive.

Can you believe that? failing an aptitude test. cocky as feck i was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ForeverYoung90

good point actually. you may have to explain to them in the interview why you didn't join the reserves.

i failed the aptitude test a couple of years ago, then there is a 6 month ban on you applying again - so then i missed the last recruitment drive.

What does the aptitude test entail and when do you do it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rugby

I failed it first time as well, and no problem in admitting it..second time around i did my home work and passed. I suppose everyone is different, me for one i did no pratice for it the first time.. next time you will ace it for sure :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Saxobank

"The new recruits will, for the first time, also face psychological assessment as part of the application process to join the force."

i wonder what this entails?

A psychologist on the Interview board possibly, the interview will be extremely intense as it is but not a bad idea in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

Have to agree with Northside girl, not a word about the reserves came up in my interview and I honestly cant see them picking on people or asking them to explain why they didn't join the reserves.
    I'm sure they know not everyone is in a position to join and wont be asking you to explain your actions.
    They're more interested in the things you have done rather than picking on this.

Foreveryoung......the aptitude is the first step on completion of applying you will find all you need to know about it on www.garda.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

Saxobank wrote: »
    A psychologist on the Interview board possibly, the interview will be extremely intense as it is but not a bad idea in fairness.

in my opinion i think it will be a seperate part of the overall application but this is from my take on the new requirements as there will be the interview and if you are to pass this you shall be subject to a psy test just my 2cents

da__flash wrote: »
    in my opinion i think it will be a seperate part of the overall application but this is from my take on the new requirements as there will be the interview and if you are to pass this you shall be subject to a psy test just my 2cents

it might well be a seperate part alright, but i don't think it will be in anyway strenous for the "normal" person.

i think it's just to make sure that lads aren't "mad" if you get me. As in, they have a circle of friends, and if they are out going etc.

for normal people (and only normal people should be interested in joining the gards :rolleyes:) it should be a piece of cake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

yes someone that is "normal" should have no problem at all its just to suss out what people are like... and it can only be postive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 jim davis

does anyone know when an announcement will be made on what requirments will actually be needed for the next round of applicatants.i know it is all just recommendations at the moment but you would like to know if your gonna need to do courses.espically now while theres plenty of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭spudz21

jim davis wrote: »
    does anyone know when an announcement will be made on what requirments will actually be needed for the next round of applicatants.i know it is all just recommendations at the moment but you would like to know if your gonna need to do courses.espically now while theres plenty of time.

It would be helpful alright:D
    The report is dated June 2009 and there has been no announcements since then so its hard to know!

jasus, i have a feeling that the next in-take will be quite small - 80 or so. And probably a thousand people applying for those spots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭I'm listening

jasus, i have a feeling that the next in-take will be quite small - 80 or so. And probably a thousand people applying for those spots.

The next 2-3 intakes will be covered by people in the system already. But yeah when the next campaign opens (whenever that is) there will be thousands applying, will be crazy!
    Anything you can do to stand out from the crowd, do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

When they do start taking applications it will be a lot more than a thousand.......when i applied years ago 11,000 applied for it......and that was year by year comps......

Saxobank wrote: »

I had a psychologist on by interview....a senior HRM from an outside company and a Supt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I had a psychologist on by interview....a senior HRM from an outside company and a Supt.

How did you manage to get past the psychologist?:D

eroo wrote: »
    How did you manage to get past the psychologist?:D

It was in the days of brown envelopes:D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

When they do start taking applications it will be a lot more than a thousand.......when i applied years ago 11,000 applied for it......and that was year by year comps......

there will be thousands of applicants but you can be assured the numbers will be weeded down, by people thinking any thicko can be a garda and through the interview,though it will still leave a high number no doubt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 bruno_12345

Does anyone know do you need Irish to join the Garda. Just read post (see Below) about chap failing Irish & having to go about a long painful way of getting in. I also failed my Irish so while this recruitment ban is in place I might go back & redo the Irish but am also thinking am I wasting my time due the fact I'm 33 & the ban might not be lifted until I'm well over the 35 year limit. Can anyone send me in the right direction for answers.

The story is, I failed my Irish in school so i used English as my Primary language and used French which i did in college for 2 years as my secondary. I was told i had to apply through the NQAI ( National Qualifications Authority of Ireland ) Which meant a longer procees for me and with this i was able to go through all the stages while they assested my French ( i recieved a 90% average ) to see if it would be equivalent to the leaving cert (A in Foundation or so) It was not till i did stage2 that i recieved any infomation on my process.
    I went back and redone my Irish in the LC after i recieved the letter and was successful.
    So my Question is: Would i have to redo all the stages again, even though i did not fail on any of them or is there any way that i could jump in too where i was before.
    I have a Degree in Computer Science and my main love would be to get in to the Technical Bureaudo and do Computer forensic and cybercrime investigations. So with the cut down on the recruiting, im just wondering is there any way of getting back in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 LWAUltra

Can I apply for the gardaí after I complete my leaving cert this yr?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

LWAUltra wrote: »
    Can I apply for the gardaí after I complete my leaving cert this yr?

if they are recruiting, of course you can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Hoffmans

more likely to be striking than recruiting this time:rolleyes: