Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TONIGHT With Vincent Browne

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭dambarude

He also gets a tough time because of his flailing and wailing.

I used to watch it nearly every night. I don't anymore- it seems to get very repetitive. Someone says something, he wails and flails, they try and talk again, and he continues to wail and flail.

He's quite rude too.

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭friendface

He seems to get on well with Martin Manseragh. Personally, I think Manseragh is awful annoying, the way he tries to overshout everyone when he's making a point. It can be funny at times though. This debate hasn't got heated enough yet though :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

dambarude wrote: »
    He also gets a tough time because of his flailing and wailing.

I used to watch it nearly every night. I don't anymore- it seems to get very repetitive. Someone says something, he wails and flails, they try and talk again, and he continues to wail and flail.

He's quite rude too.
    I've only seen it about 4 or 5 times. I used to listen to him on the radio, but like your experience he can be repetitive. He does have some interesting guests on though. He also raises topics/issues that don't usually get touched upon on RTE or in news media.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 kerrymaninld

He is a smart guy but (to me at least) :eek:is not happy unless he comes across smarter than his guests.

friendface wrote: »
    He seems to get on well with Martin Manseragh. Personally, I think Manseragh is awful annoying, the way he tries to overshout everyone when he's making a point. It can be funny at times though. This debate hasn't got heated enough yet though :D
    I have to laugh at Mansergh, in every interview-type situation he starts off real measured. Before long he's high pitched, high-pitched laugh. It's difficult to take what he says seriously.
    His grasp of the current economic situation leaves a lot to be desired. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

imme wrote: »
    I have to laugh at Mansergh, in every interview-type situation he starts off real measured. Before long he's high pitched, high-pitched laugh. It's difficult to take what he says seriously.

Mansergh comes off as being a complete bluffer and buffoon. His first statement tonight was that the bank guarantee was widely admired and he couldn't come up with one economist, newspaper or foreign leader as evidence of this admiration, not a single one.

Then when Browne confronted him about the government paying €3.5bn being paid for shares worth €1.25bn he went into a complete frenzy, shouting and blustering and trying desperately to deflect away from the point.

And he's deputising for Brian Lenihan??....makes one shudder at the thought...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,589 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I tune in quite regularly. The show is good for the most part and the guests are usually well informed. Browne always has to have the last word whether he's right or not. The amount of ad breaks in the show is criminal however and has been turning me off it recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Black Magic

Banker just told Vincent he is shovelling sh!t

yeah, was about his best line all night.
    He is Michael Soden, former Chief Executive of Bank of Ireland from 2002 to 2004. He's forever being referred to as such, even though it's so long ago. He doesn't add much to the discussion imo.
    I've started a thread over in Politics asking why he's still referred to as former.....
    if anyone's interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Ah got to love TV3's murdoch-esque journalism ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Trouser_Press

calex71 wrote: »
    Ah got to love TV3's murdoch-esque journalism ;)

Murdoch-esque journalism?!

Bizarre. The only non-Murdoch-esque example of journalism on TV3 is Vincent Browne's show, love him or loathe him at least his programme provides a modicum of intelligent debate.

Unless you think Ireland's Top 10 Biggest Willies is discerning stuff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭fcussen

What do you make of the TV3 show Tonight With Vincent Brown.

He gets a tough time on the Politics threads on Boards as being mad left wing. Some of them are right to extreme right-wing.

Anyone watch it?

There are also people on the Politics forum who think Bertie Ahern was a good Taoiseach.

Even though TV3 only put it on because the law forces them to have current affairs programming, Vincent Browne is far superior to the gutless FF-sycophancy on RTE.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭scargill

Aidric wrote: »
    The amount of ad breaks in the show is criminal however and has been turning me off it recently.

That used to annoy me until Sky+ came along. I now watch it about half an hour behind so I can whizz through the ads and Manseragh's screeching!

• Registered Users Posts: 17 koplegend

fcussen wrote: »
    There are also people on the Politics forum who think Bertie Ahern was a good Taoiseach.

Even though TV3 only put it on because the law forces them to have current affairs programming, Vincent Browne is far superior to the gutless FF-sycophancy on RTE.

Have to agree , Browne is much more incisive with politicians. RTE guys and gals just let FF politicians off the hook whereas Browne persists until he either gets an answer or states ' you keep evading the question, why dont you answer..............'.
    To those of you bored with repetition, thats the reason he is repetitive. These fcukrs will not answer!
    Simple really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I always rub my hands together when I see he has Masergh on. Like was said above, it all starts off very pleasant, then Vincent keeps pushin him and pushin hm until he gets a reaction. Hilarious. Surprised that such a toff would be elected by the people of Tipperary.

I'm not sure about Mike Soden. He's only out of the bank cos his IT staff caught him on an escort website. He no doubt would have been part of the Titanic crew had he not been fired.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I like Vincent Browne but I find the show is just a long discussion show which is too much every night, but then I only ever flick in and out of it.

I also think technically it looks really cheap.

His presentation can be annoying last night he was asking one of his long rambling question which the usual amount of pause, one of the guests interrupts and he tells them to let him finish the question :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭serfboard

Aidric wrote: »
    I tune in quite regularly. The show is good for the most part and the guests are usually well informed. Browne always has to have the last word whether he's right or not. The amount of ad breaks in the show is criminal however and has been turning me off it recently.

Agree about the ads. Of course, I understand that TV3 has to get their revenue, and this might be considered a flagship show, thus attracting a lot of advertisers. I find however, that after the first 20->25 minutes, the amount of ads gets so pervasive, that it puts me off. I prefer the first part of the show - the bit without the papers. After the papers are introduced, the panel gets bigger, so each individual gets less time, and the number of ad breaks increases. I'd usually be switching over at that stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Yeah they tinkered with the format over the last couple of years and they need to tinker some more. The first 25 minutes of debate without an adbreak is nice but the fact that they then have to squeeze three ad breaks into the final half hour is a complete joke.

The best way to deal with it is skyplus the first 15 minutes of the show and then watch it from the beginning at around 11.20. Then just fast forward through all the ads. Simples, as they say.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,589 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Elmo wrote: »
    I also think technically it looks really cheap.
    This bugs me also. From certain angles the guests heads look pixelated. Considering it's a flagship show and attracting sponsorship they could at least sort this out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

serfboard wrote: »
    Agree about the ads. Of course, I understand that TV3 has to get their revenue, and this might be considered a flagship show, thus attracting a lot of advertisers. I find however, that after the first 20->25 minutes, the amount of ads gets so pervasive, that it puts me off. I prefer the first part of the show - the bit without the papers. After the papers are introduced, the panel gets bigger, so each individual gets less time, and the number of ad breaks increases. I'd usually be switching over at that stage.

But in fairness
    I) TV3 have to get revenue in as they are not subsidized by the taxpayer, and
    II) This show is basically his old Radio One show on the TV (and nothing really gained by this either bar you can see the newspaper pictures), and his radio was littered with ad breaks as well ... Mostly for Des Kelly and his own Phoenix magazine.

It's a good enough show, but again they have WAY too many on the panel for the amount of actual time allocated, and amount of subjects usually dealt with. Vincent can be very petty and childish as well, he's asks too many facetious questions, instead of asking the right questions.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

I like to watch all current affairs shows, sometimes I enjoy VB, sometimes not. He can hardly be classed as an impartial participant, therefore he does not get the notion of being Devils Advocate like Pat or Miriam are so adept at doing.

The show does also seem to attract quite alot of the chaff like that c**t Terry Prone.

It's a grand show, not great, not crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

IMO TV3 could do a better job of spreading their advertising around. It seems to me that the heavily load their own shows with advertising yet they aren't their top shows. TV3 are allowed more advertising time than RTÉ and TG4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Lemondrop kid

Yeah, it's a pity he does the wailing old woman thing. Bit more slow build up and pounce would be better*. He gets close to important stuff, then gets locked into the wailing routine. Pretty good last night, but kind of wasted - esp as the advert structure is so crazy

*Either that or some bitch slapping:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

I watch this show when I get the chance. It covers a lot of the news stories that get the most public interest and I do enjoy hearing the opinions of the, mostly, capable guests that are on.
    Vincent, himself, I hated at first - all that bumbling and his ummms, ermms, and his "oh, I can't understand this new fangled text machine". It's called a mobile phone Vincent!
    But, the more I watch him, the more I've convinced that he is acting in a way to endear the public to him. Either, he's on your level and asking the questions you want to know the answer to, and he's getting distracted and mixing up his words - hey, he's just one of us! Or else, he's a political tv person interviewing guests who are of high enough prestige in their fields. His questions are good enough, but I could do better. I feel both informed and superior in watching him.
    And, everything in between.
    Mark my words. Our Vincent knows exactly what he's doing, right down to the smallest "errrm".

z_topaz wrote: »
    I feel both informed and superior in watching him.

Me too, but in a different way.;):D:D:D
    In fairness he's not the worse, imagine Turbidy trying to get away with five nights in a row, or the Plank. Ugh.
    Not sure if he's really hitting the nail on the head, but he does throw the hammer in its general direction - more than most

Wow - he just apologised for suggesting Bernard McNamara was a crook. This is a man who wants his other companies (so called 'family' company of Micheal McNamara) to be viewed as separate from the indebted one.
    Vincent you back -pedalling wuss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Black Magic

Love Vincent's sarcasm. On the topic of the New Criminal Court and the underground passage which stops the photographers capturing the convicted leaving court.

Girl says - "we wouldn't have seen the scissor sisters"

Vincent - "Oh, that's terrible, we won't see the scissor sisters. Isn't that great. Alright. We'll take a break."

But in fairness
    II) This show is basically his old Radio One show on the TV (and nothing really gained by this either bar you can see the newspaper pictures), and his radio was littered with ad breaks as well ... Mostly for Des Kelly and his own Phoenix magazine.

It's a good enough show, but again they have WAY too many on the panel for the amount of actual time allocated, and amount of subjects usually dealt with. Vincent can be very petty and childish as well, he's asks too many facetious questions, instead of asking the right questions.
    Phoenix was never Brown's baby. Magill was Brown's mag, then sold it at the height of the BOOM to Mike Hogan. Brown went off and started his own mag again Village. Village had trouble, was resurrected somehow, but not with Brown at the helm. Village is still around, diverting enough stuff, I think Brown still contributes an article to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

can mod correct the thread title. its Browne. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭TobyZiegler

Not the worst show.

Vincent Browne is good at not letting a question go and really attacking points made by guests.

BUT

He also thinks the whole show is about him and often cuts people off who know more about the particular topic than he does. Wailing and flailing is a great way of putting it!

I also thought he did a bad job on the issue of the Brian Lenihan cancer debate. at the start he went on and on about how he was not representing TV3 and then was completely biased towards Tv3 during the show even giving their side of the story - when none of their representatives would come on the show.