Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UPC - Channel Line Up and Package Changes from 4th January 2010 [Merged]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Ranicand

Cupart wrote: »
    How come they only added FX on the channel listings then (and of course the ITV's and ESPN's)?

UPC works in mysterious ways and I guess there is no point in even speculating... :D

As said a million times earlier, looking forward to Good Food and Yesterday :)

Don't know were the Sky Arts or Sky 3 idea came from?
    9 channels to be added and they are.

1 ESPN
    2 ESPN America
    3 ITV 2
    4 ITV 3
    5 ITV 4
    6 FX
    7 Watch
    8 Good Food
    9 Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I sent a mail to CS when the HD product was released asking if it was available in my area and I'm still waiting for an answer.

Also sent a mail asking for BB in my area and was told that they would contact me as soon as when the network had been upgraded (within 2-4 weeks) and that was 1.5 years ago :(

No answer yet :rolleyes:

I know. I amn't suggesting that you don't know how to email I am suggesting that for some reason UPC don't want to respond to emails. I personally hate ring Cust care of any company, I much prefer email, unless something has drastically gone wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,367 ✭✭✭campo

Ranicand wrote: »
    9 channels to be added and they are.

1 ESPN
    2 ESPN America
    3 ITV 2
    4 ITV 3
    5 ITV 4
    6 FX
    7 Watch
    8 Good Food
    9 Yesterday

I dont know where Watch, Yesterday and good food came from but I am pretty sure the new channels coming on line are

FX
    Sky Three
    Sky Real Lives
    Sky Arts
    ITV 2
    ITV 3
    ITV 4

I could be wrong but have it from a good source

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭celticbest

celticbest wrote: »
    Just wondering if anyone has tried cancelling there subscription and then straight away look to be resubscribed as a new customer??

If anyone has done this can you confirm if you get all the benefits of being a new customer??

If you do I'm going to do it today and everyone else looking to upgrade should do the same, I don't think it would take UPC to long to change there price plans so that existing customers get the same benefits as new customers.

Just thought I'd keep this one floating to see if anyone has every tried it....

campo wrote: »
    I dont know where Watch, Yesterday and good food came from but I am pretty sure the new channels coming on line are

FX
    Sky Three
    Sky Real Lives
    Sky Arts
    ITV 2
    ITV 3
    ITV 4

A good source told me my HD list was wrong but I was 100% correct.
    UPC are giving out my list over the phone and there is no food channel in your list?

Why did they get rid of Sky 3? I would have thought that with the two Sky premium packs that UPC have a good relationship with Sky, so I would have thought they would have access to all sky channels.

Elmo wrote: »
    Why did they get rid of Sky 3? I would have thought that with the two Sky premium packs that UPC have a good relationship with Sky, so I would have thought they would have access to all sky channels.

They never had Sky 3 and they are in competition with Sky.
    Sure they have some channels from Sky but no HD.

They never had Sky 3 and they are in competition with Sky.
    Sure they have some channels from Sky but no HD.

They did have Sky 3 when I first got NTL Digital, then they swapped it around and put Sky 2 on the air. Never understood why they would have ITV3 and Sky3 without ITV 2 or Sky 2.

Sky know that cable is a huge part of their business in Ireland. UPC and Sky have a good reseller/business relationship or at least the should for both their sakes.

Elmo wrote: »
    They did have Sky 3 when I first got NTL Digital, then they swapped it around and put Sky 2 on the air. Never understood why they would have ITV3 and Sky3 without ITV 2 or Sky 2.

Sky know that cable is a huge part of their business in Ireland. UPC and Sky have a good reseller/business relationship or at least the should for both their sakes.

Ok I changed to Sky for about two years they must have SKY 3 during that time I was wrong.

Sky and UPC have a good relationship but Sky look after there side of things first.

HD is being used by SKY to sell their packs right now they will not give this to another provider until they have a new feature to sell.

Sky is starting 3D this year I am guessing they will let us have HD then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Cupart

Here

I'm made believe that DingDong is a reliable source ;)

Here

I'm made believe that DingDong is a reliable source ;)

UPC call center are giving out my list.

Is it possible we will get them all maybe?

Only FX on their site I wonder if there is some confusion about the lineup from UPC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Chopper Dave

If you look at UPC's description of the Digital Max it says:

"A huge select of channels for all tastes from Sky Arts for culture, TCM for movie buffs and Boomerang for kids".

No Sky Arts logo in the channel list below though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

I wonder where this money came from in the first place? Could it be from all the over payment they have been taking from us?

Chorus and ntl under their previous owners were vastly under invested in. The amount of money UPC has been pouring couldn't even come close to anything that the customers were contributing (voluntarily or involuntarily ;)) - they are pinning their hopes on this investment making them a serious nationwide player - which I suspect it will, when it's eventually all done.

"A huge select of channels for all tastes from Sky Arts for culture, TCM for movie buffs and Boomerang for kids".

UPC call center are giving out my list and the site lists Sky Arts interesting.

Could I be right are we getting them all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,367 ✭✭✭campo

UPC call center are giving out my list and the site lists Sky Arts interesting.

Could I be right are we getting them all?

Be nice if we did but all I say is I would take what the call centre says as gospel

I guess we'll see the Sky Channels as reported earlier then.

This said, I could imagine that FX was put up as a mistake and/or there are some technical reasons for why it hasn't been released yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 742 ✭✭✭channelsurfer

ok I rang chorus and asked if i could get digital+ in mmds area in offaly and was told no its not available and it will unlikely be ever available as they havent found a way for it to work on the mmds aerials yet!!! anyone with knowledge of these systems have any further info?
    it means that no mmds customer will be able to record into the near future anyways??

ok I rang chorus and asked if i could get digital+ in mmds area in offaly and was told no its not available and it will unlikely be ever available as they havent found a way for it to work on the mmds aerials yet!!! anyone with knowledge of these systems have any further info?
    it means that no mmds customer will be able to record into the near future anyways??

UPC took over two MMDS systems former NTL and former Chorus.

The two systems are not the same and I think the former Chorus MMDS is not compatible with the UPC DVR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

UPC took over two MMDS systems former NTL and former Chorus.

The two systems are not the same and I think the former Chorus MMDS is not compatible with the UPC DVR.
    That's correct.

The original NTL MMDS system is built to DVB-C cable network spec, same as their wired cable network.
    The original Chorus MMDS system is built to DVB-T digital terrestrial television spec.

Both completely different systems and neither compatible with each other. You need one tuner module to receive DVB-C and a completely seperate one to receive DVB-T. Since their PVR boxes only come built to work on a DVB-C system, they won't work on the Chorus MMDS system. You would think UPC might get onto Thomson to develop release an adapted version of the PVR system to work on chorus - maybe they do not see the extra maintenance being worthwhile though or that they'll get a good return on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭Infoanon

campo wrote: »

FX
    Sky Three
    Sky Real Lives
    Sky Arts
    ITV 2
    ITV 3
    ITV 4

This is disappointing - Would prefer Watch,Good Food and Yesterday , although Sky Arts is ok, Sky 3 is a junk channel and the same goes for real lives - come on UPC you can do better !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Tarquin1970

Infoanon wrote: »
    This is disappointing - Would prefer Watch,Good Food and Yesterday , although Sky Arts is ok, Sky 3 is a junk channel and the same goes for real lives - come on UPC you can do better !

Just got off the phone from them (only 10minute hold!), and upgraded from my Go Max digital (€33.50 pm) to this new one (without the + option) for an extra 50c pm. I was told that for the extra, I would be getting ITV 2, 3, 4, ESPN, Classic (had until last night!) and America. I queried which ones would be added later and was told WATCH, Yesterday and Good Food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 742 ✭✭✭channelsurfer

Kensington wrote: »
    That's correct.

The original NTL MMDS system is built to DVB-C cable network spec, same as their wired cable network.
    The original Chorus MMDS system is built to DVB-T digital terrestrial television spec.

Both completely different systems and neither compatible with each other. You need one tuner module to receive DVB-C and a completely seperate one to receive DVB-T. Since their PVR boxes only come built to work on a DVB-C system, they won't work on the Chorus MMDS system. You would think UPC might get onto Thomson to develop release an adapted version of the PVR system to work on chorus - maybe they do not see the extra maintenance being worthwhile though or that they'll get a good return on it.
    thanks for that clarification. the digital+ was the main reason I would be interested as we have sky+ now and would find it hard to go backwards to just viewing without the equivalent. Its a pity really i think chorus would attract a lot more if they did develop a recorder,

Just got off the phone from them (only 10minute hold!), and upgraded from my Go Max digital (€33.50 pm) to this new one (without the + option) for an extra 50c pm. I was told that for the extra, I would be getting ITV 2, 3, 4, ESPN, Classic (had until last night!) and America. I queried which ones would be added later and was told WATCH, Yesterday and Good Food.

So to be able to get the ESPN's you have to contact UPC and change from the one to the other?

I'm also on Go Max and Digital+ so if I give them a call the monthly charge will be changed to EUR 34.00 and they'll switch on the ESPN's?

Did you have to sign up for an additional 12 months?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

Where they not offering you the + option aswell? Seems completely ridiculous that there loyal customers have to pay more (€4.50) month after month than new customers for the exact same product.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Heisenberg1

I have the old pace box as my multiroom box ive heard they will replace it

with the DVR box for no extra cost per month does anybody know if this is

true????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

luzon wrote: »
    I have the old pace box as my multiroom box ive heard they will replace it

with the DVR box for no extra cost per month does anybody know if this is

true????
    No its not, They will replace it with the UPC media box. The dvr would cost €5 extra a month

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

What new channels is the value package getting do any of ye know? I see ITV2, 3 & 4 were added yesterday,

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,790 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Did a scan when I went home, spotted ITV2-4 as you said and there is a religious channel called EWTN (Eternal World Television Network) at 815 which I hadn't seen before.

coylemj wrote: »
    Did a scan when I went home, spotted ITV2-4 as you said and there is a religious channel called EWTN (Eternal World Television Network) at 815 which I hadn't seen before.

EWTN and The God Channel have always been there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Tarquin1970

So to be able to get the ESPN's you have to contact UPC and change from the one to the other?

I'm also on Go Max and Digital+ so if I give them a call the monthly charge will be changed to EUR 34.00 and they'll switch on the ESPN's?

Did you have to sign up for an additional 12 months?

No mention of additional 12 month sign up, but was told if I downgraded any part of the package it would cost me €15. Enquired about getting the + option, but that would be an extra €5 per month....i'll hold off on that one as i have recordable DVD with HDD, so digital + not essential for me..