Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taoiseach caves in

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Consider this:

The Public sector has secure jobs.

The Public sector has very generous pension schemes.

The Public sector earns more money for the job they do.

The Public sector is badly managed and hugely under performs for the budget it has.

The government considered this and deemed it necessary to make the public sector more cost effective and efficient.

The public sector responded to this by striking.

Today THEY WON!

My conclusion:
    The Unions and the public sector workers that voted to strike are Greedy, out of touch and inconsiderate human beings.

The public sector and unions have done something that I believe will be extremely destructive, not just economically but socially.

Now consider this, there are more and more indications that the private sector(the entire country minus the Public Sector) are red hot angry about the Public sector's choice of strike , however the private sector has no unions to strike for it, it has no interest group, so what does it do?

It Riots.

I was until today a FF supporter. Today I don’t know who to support.

Are you actually trying to use boards to advocate a large public riot?
    Think carefully before you answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

The government considered this and deemed it necessary to make the public sector more cost effective and efficient.

how would a further pay cut on top of the one they already took (via the pension and normal levy) make them more cost effective and efficient? restructuring the public services would a far better way to achieve both these goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

how would a further pay cut on top of the one they already took (via the pension and normal levy) make them more cost effective and efficient? restructuring the public services would a far better way to achieve both these goals.

The pension levy was a pay cut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭douglashyde

I started a new thread for my comment because it as a whole piece is not based around today's events. So there was not a need to move it.

No I am not trying to start a riot.

I am trying to make a point that the private sector could decide to riot after all that has happened.

However Ill add a health warning at the bottom just not to confuse anybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

Lexus1976 wrote: »
    What a fecking wimp!!!! I am a support of FF and proud of it, but will not be voting for them again if Cowan is in the party. :mad:
    helmetjack wrote: »
    I too am a FF supporter/member,.........

I just cant believe that there are still people that are FF supporters and openly admit that. :mad: Stop voting for them and Fing up our country!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭jackthekipper

Consider this:

The Public sector is badly managed and hugely under performs for the budget it has.

Today THEY WON!

My conclusion:
    The Unions and the public sector workers that voted to strike are Greedy, out of touch and inconsiderate human beings.

The public sector and unions have done something that I believe will be extremely destructive, not just economically but socially.

Now consider this, there are more and more indications that the private sector(the entire country minus the Public Sector) are red hot angry about the Public sector's choice of strike , however the private sector has no unions to strike for it, it has no interest group, so what does it do?

It Riots.

Why didn't you riot when Bertie made the deals years ago?
    This country doesn't need riots, just a large dose of cop on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Rookster

That "Fat Sausage" (Cowen) is clearly not a leader!

The government as part of its 5 year plan, is suppose to restructure the Civil Service as well as cut costs.

Today's decsion effectively reduces the Public sectors work force by 5000 people is going to have negative effects on performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Bertie + benchmarking = the cause of all the trouble

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

gurramok wrote: »
    It'll be better to wait until the spanking new union funded Liberty Hall is built!

The present Liberty Hall was union funded too you know. Don't know why people think there is some sort of big scandal that they are building a new one. This plan was declared in 2006 btw, but of course people are only concerned about it now as a fake stick to beat the unions with.

Tbh the government's main mistake was to declare there would be no increases in income tax and to go after the public sector exclusively for money, while making no attempts at improving the way the HSE and other bodies were run. I believe most on this thread who are so pissed off are jsut annoyed they have no one to represent them.

Why didn't you riot when Bertie made the deals years ago?
    This country doesn't need riots, just a large dose of cop on!

Im not suggesting a riot.

Its not easy to see what effect decsions will have down the line.

However when you are faced with a potential problem, effects of decsions should become clear.

Any goverment should be able to see now, that action should be hard and it should be swift..... My Goverment, our Goverment, has failed us and only time will tell how much it has failed us.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

To cut a long (horror?) story short, between the utter confusion about many things FF and the Greens are up to with our state, I don't have a clue as if to even they know what the hell is goiing on any more!
    Its all re-actionary policies, here today - gone tomorrow plannned/unplanned confusion!

How is gods name did they get to fcuk things up so much!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭cranoo

Why is there so much need? because of greed!! and all Ive seen in the last few years is one big greedy private sector who has eaten itself alive :pac: with greed, so up your bollix now :p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

Lexus1976 wrote: »
    What a fecking wimp!!!! I am a support of FF and proud of it, but will not be voting for them again if Cowan is in the party. :mad:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/cowen-caves-in-on-public-sector-pay-1960583.html

Ireland will not be making an economic recovery for a long long time. Cowan for muppet of the year.

You are a support of FF? and you can't spell Cowen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Our Republic is slowly slipping into the abyss

Holy smoke. I hope those aliens are still friendly then! :eek:

All the parties are the same. Fine Gael and Labour arguably talk a good talk but if they got in then they would do f**k all different.

Look at the Greens.

Before they got in they were full of bulls*it about what they were going to demand from Fianna Fail and then they did squat.

They did so much back peddling since that, that they should be in Duffy's Circus.

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Look at the Greens.
    They did so much back peddling since that they should be in Duffy's Circus.
    Post of the day for me! :D
    LOL Funny :pac: - but true!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,868 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Consider this:

Today THEY WON!

My conclusion:

It Riots.

Unions aren't only for Public Service workers. Loads of people I work with are in a union (not me) and it is not public sector.

I feel dirty having sort of defended unions. First time for everything I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

I haven't been keeping up with developments today so the situation might have changed but as Richard Bruton put it this morning, this plan of 12 days unpaid leave:
    1. Will not meet the required cuts in spending
    2. will effect the level of service (or will show that the PS is extremely overstaffed)
    3. Is not fair on the lower earners because it effects everyone at all levels of the PS equally

Gobsh!tes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Boards should become a party and rule this country with an iron fist :D

The-Rigger shall be Minister Of Free Donuts since he came up with it. Who wants to be the dictator Taoiseach?

Duggy747 wrote: »

The-Rigger shall be Minister Of Free Donuts since he came up with it. Who wants to be the dictator Taoiseach?

Us AH lot though would sidelined as the lunatic fringe I suspect! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Biggins wrote: »
    Us AH lot though would sidelined as the lunatic fringe I suspect! :(

Our methods may be questionable but dammit we'd get the job done!!

Eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

According the the new item on this that i read this morning, Brian Lenihan, who has insisted all along that there must be PS pay cuts, was not included in the meeting with the unions. If that's true then I would think he is spitting nails at the moment:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Please remember that people generally get the government that they deserve.

Please also remember that these Unions are made up of their members. They are representative of the population in which they live and work.

In a nutshell, you did it to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

OutlawPete wrote: »
    All the parties are the same. Fine Gael and Labour arguably talk a good talk but if they got in then they would do f**k all different.

Only one way to find out, it's not like we could do worse than FF. Then again FF seem to be deliberately following a scorched earth policy, leaving the country as smouldering rubble, for the next lot to deal with.

Nate

Only one way to find out, it's not like we could do worse than FF. Then again FF seem to be deliberately following a scorched earth policy, leaving the country as smouldering rubble, for the next lot to deal with.

Nate

I have no faith in any of them, I'm too tired.

I'd nearly let Gerry and Mary Lou in for the crack. Sure it would only be mighty.

Communism ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

Reading a lot of the comments here, and a lot of you are saying "ohh ive always been a FF man but not anymore"

Seriously, THIS is the last straw for you lot? It always shocks me how much a party can get away with for somebody to say enough is enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭fintonie

Duggy747 wrote: »

are you crazy do you not see how the mods work together:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭fintonie

what I laugh at is how many years have these groups been running this country,

do they not learn from previous governments and mistakes that were made,

it seems to me no matter who is in there will balls it up, how many years are needed to get it right,

good business people should be running the country, find them pay them and scrap the government to the lesser job of picking spuds.