Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taoiseach caves in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Rookster

Ahern and the Unions screwed the country, and now Cowen and the Unions are going to screw the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

fintonie wrote: »
    what I laugh at is how many years have these groups been running this country,

do they not learn from previous governments and mistakes that were made,

it seems to me no matter who is in there will balls it up, how many years are needed to get it right,

good business people should be running the country, find them pay them and scrap the government to the lesser job of picking spuds.

Very highly paid and at one time one time considered "good business people" ran the banks all around the world and seem to have been capable of making very well paid f*ckups of it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭fintonie

Rob_l wrote: »
    Very highly paid and at one time one time considered "good business people" ran the banks all around the world and seem to have been capable of making very well paid f*ckups of it too.

I will take my chances, they make more than they lose,

they dont fook up time after time plus there is a chance you will get a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Reading a lot of the comments here, and a lot of you are saying "ohh ive always been a FF man but not anymore"

Seriously, THIS is the last straw for you lot? It always shocks me how much a party can get away with for somebody to say enough is enough

I'm quite surprised at the amount of FF 'hardliners' on this thread saying "I'm done with the party now". Anyone that was supporting the party at this stage was obviously a die hard supporter.

I'd really like to know the extent of the damage to Fianna Fail now, or will they backtrack once again after hearing all the negative feedback from the public over the new deal. They're just incapable of making decisions for the good of the country. They caved into the publicans on the new drink driving laws, and then sort of backtracked after a bit of a public outcry. They seemed to have caved into the unions now, although there's a hint of another backtrack in the media now. Enda Kenny must be ROTFL at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

OutlawPete wrote: »
    I have no faith in any of them, I'm too tired.

I'd nearly let Gerry and Mary Lou in for the crack. Sure it would only be mighty.

Communism ftw.

Wouldn't be bailling out the banks with NAMA at least...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Wouldn't be bailling out the banks with NAMA at least...

We'd still have a national airline too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

OutlawPete wrote: »
    We'd still have a national airline too.

and we'd be taxing the high earners who have been dodging tax for years

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,045 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

PomBear wrote: »
    And we'd put off investment from abroad who would be discouraged by the notion of being penalised for being successful and making profit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

PomBear wrote: »

And when we are short cash we could just get it from the banks up north ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

<Ollie> wrote: »
    I'm quite surprised at the amount of FF 'hardliners' on this thread saying "I'm done with the party now". Anyone that was supporting the party at this stage was obviously a die hard supporter.

I'd really like to know the extent of the damage to Fianna Fail now, or will they backtrack once again after hearing all the negative feedback from the public over the new deal. They're just incapable of making decisions for the good of the country. They caved into the publicans on the new drink driving laws, and then sort of backtracked after a bit of a public outcry. They seemed to have caved into the unions now, although there's a hint of another backtrack in the media now. Enda Kenny must be ROTFL at this stage.

I'm pretty sure you'll see the FF faithful on here go back to supporting them once they forget this in another month.

They seem to have short memories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭fintonie

thebman wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure you'll see the FF faithful on here go back to supporting them once they forget this in another month.

They seem to have short memories.

yepp I agree 100% fools supporting fools, 1 good speech and there all Daren browned,

me mammy and daddy supported them so I must follow Newzealand is where they belong,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

<Ollie> wrote: »

I'd really like to know the extent of the damage to Fianna Fail now, or will they backtrack once again after hearing all the negative feedback from the public over the new deal.

I wonder what deal will actually be agreed as opposed to the one that everyone has already come to the conclusion has been agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 glynn888

This nation gained its freedom not so long ago , we are now on the cusp of giving away what our brave forefathers achieved with their blood . traitors in FF giving in to unions who represnt the most greedy sectors in our nation : teachers , nurses , gardai, hse workers , fas idiots, etc ,
    when the IMF march in and take over lets hope the smugs in these jobs who earn so much get their just deserves first.
    I think its time for a new political consensus to start up to represent the remaining decent IRISH peope in this country .
    membership criteria would have to eliminate all cs -ps workers who are traitors , greens , lefties, unions , scroungers of all types, especilly those who seem to populate west Dublin who live in free houses and drive micras and other jap crap cars that they got from the HSE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

glynn888 wrote: »
    I think its time for a new political consensus to start up to represent the remaining decent IRISH peope in this country .
    membership criteria would have to eliminate all cs -ps workers who are traitors , greens , lefties, unions , scroungers of all types, especilly those who seem to populate west Dublin who live in free houses and drive micras and other jap crap cars that they got from the HSE.

You realise a number of those founding fathers you're celebrating were lefties right?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

You realise a number of those founding fathers you're celebrating were lefties right?

Don't feed them man. Not worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭jackthekipper

glynn888 wrote: »
    This nation gained its freedom not so long ago , we are now on the cusp of giving away what our brave forefathers achieved with their blood . traitors in FF giving in to unions who represnt the most greedy sectors in our nation : teachers , nurses , gardai, hse workers , fas idiots, etc ,
    when the IMF march in and take over lets hope the smugs in these jobs who earn so much get their just deserves first.

Do you have a pamphlet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭zoemax

Theres money to be made in Drug dealing and prostitution also.

Its just that some of us have some self respect.

You're right...how can I argue against such a well made point....Gardai, nurses, teachers, doctors, street sweepers, fire men, clerical officers, social welfare staff, council workers, soldiers, civil servants...........we're all no better than prostitutes and drug dealers.

Let me guess, your either on the dole or work in a dead end job that pays between 30-40k and you have no prospects of ever getting promoted (probably in IT). You have a big chip on yuor shoulder about this. You probably have a degree and a masters and think that this qualifies you for a high end job and you cant understand why it doesn't. I actually feel sorry for you if thats the limit of your ability to put a coherent argument together. Must dash, have my public sector job and six figure salary to get back to :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

I hate everyone who gets paid more than me :mad:

Bah humbug

zoemax wrote: »

Let me guess, your either on the dole or work in a dead end job that pays between 30-40k and you have no prospects of ever getting promoted (probably in IT). You have a big chip on yuor shoulder about this. You probably have a degree and a masters and think that this qualifies you for a high end job and you cant understand why it doesn't. I actually feel sorry for you if thats the limit of your ability to put a coherent argument together. Must dash, have my public sector job and six figure salary to get back to :)

only read this post, but wow... that sounds like a pretty ****ty comment really.... Superiority complex?

It is a ****ty comment, but I've a pain in my arse having to listen to the sort of crap that's being said about public sector workers - I dont consider my job to be akin to prostitution. At this stage I could take a 90% pay cut and it wouldn't be good enough for some people. I was initially willing to take a pay cut, both the pension levy and the proposed 7% in the budget as its obvious to any idiot that they were / are needed but now I'm hardening in my approach. I'm not in a union and didn't strike last time (I passed the picket). However given that fact that I'm being demonised by the government and the Tony O'Reilly and Dennis O'Brein controlled media along with the mob mentality of many of the posters here I've adopted a **** you attitude to them all. Why should I have defend my salary and working conditions, its the governments job to set my salary, if they dont have the balls to take on the unions then that's not my fault.

Fair enough, what particular bit do you work in if you dont mind me asking?
    Hospitals or Schools etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

You're right...how can I argue against such a well made point....Gardai, nurses, teachers, doctors, street sweepers, fire men, clerical officers, social welfare staff, council workers, soldiers, civil servants...........we're all no better than prostitutes and drug dealers.

Hold the phones,

Did I just get accused of being in a dead end job by someone in the public sector?

Waiter, I didnt order irony with my meal, please bring it back.

Fair enough, what particular bit do you work in if you dont mind me asking?
    Hospitals or Schools etc?

Dont really want to say specifically but its public as opposed to civil service. What I can say is that some of my colleagues are on twice what they would get in the UK for the same job. I took a massive pay cut to take this job but that was a decision I made, I wanted the security of a public sector job over the rollercoaster that was self employment. If needs be I'll go back to the private sector, as I've said before I've got open definite job offers, but at the same salary that I'm on now as opposed to the significnat premium I was being offered to leave 18 months ago. I have no doubt whatsoever that I'm damn lucky to be where I am, I've had two siblings loose their jobs and I can see the damage that its done to them. Again as I've said before, across the board pay cuts whilst necessary do piss off those of us who work hard and have to look at the dead wood doing feck all and working towards their pension. I'm a big fan of compulsory redundancies, every manager in the public sector could give you a list of those in their unit who could be let go without any significnat impact on operations, particularly if those that remained behind were put on a 40hr week. It always amazes me that my contracted hours are equivalent to a 4 day week (I work well in excess of these hours btw, without overtime. I'm not a teacher either).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

BennyLava wrote: »
    in one way it's a good move by FF

the measure is temp one for next year only, FF know they are going to loose the next election, if that happens next year, whoever takes control will have to sort out the PS ( becoming the "bad guys" in the process), FF from the opposition benches, can start the usual hand wringing, about how they always worked with the PS and others, and things were never as bad under their leadership,
    setting themselves up for reelection 5-10 years down the line

always remember (and Cowen himself said this) FF first, they couldn't give a ****e about the country as long as they have power

Have you got a source for what Cowen said?
    Dont really want to say specifically but its public as opposed to civil service. What I can say is that some of my colleagues are on twice what they would get in the UK for the same job. I took a massive pay cut to take this job but that was a decision I made, I wanted the security of a public sector job over the rollercoaster that was self employment. If needs be I'll go back to the private sector, as I've said before I've got open definite job offers, but at the same salary that I'm on now as opposed to the significnat premium I was being offered to leave 18 months ago. I have no doubt whatsoever that I'm damn lucky to be where I am, I've had two siblings loose their jobs and I can see the damage that its done to them. Again as I've said before, across the board pay cuts whilst necessary do piss off those of us who work hard and have to look at the dead wood doing feck all and working towards their pension. I'm a big fan of compulsory redundancies, every manager in the public sector could give you a list of those in their unit who could be let go without any significnat impact on operations, particularly if those that remained behind were put on a 40hr week. It always amazes me that my contracted hours are equivalent to a 4 day week (I work well in excess of these hours btw, without overtime. I'm not a teacher either).

Do you work in the mint?

im not gonna be mean, its a difficult one innit?
    Teachers & nurses are really important people and i'd hate numbers to go down as they are vital people in any community.
    However, i was gobsmacked at a principal saying he got approx €70,000 and couldn't manage with a pay cut on a tv report.
    I mean, thats actually over double my wages.. and im managing (just) on mine, so the mind boggles. But yup - like you said its the Dead Wood.

Do you work in the mint?

No, he works in the land of make believe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Teachers & nurses are really important people and i'd hate numbers to go down as they are vital people in any community.
    However, i was gobsmacked at a principal saying he got approx €70,000 and couldn't manage with a pay cut on a tv report.
    I mean, thats actually over double my wages.. and im managing (just) on mine, so the mind boggles. But yup - like you said its the Dead Wood.

I manage on about 14K a year... Madness.
    Fuhrer wrote: »

Linky

Public Sector Workers: "If we all just go around agreeing with each others posts and attacking everyone else, we wont have justify our position"

Do you work in the mint?

No

Yup, I'm imagining myself at work now (being unproductive as I've made 3 or 4posts to boards today)

I cant comment on teachers and nurses as I'm not familiar with their working conditions, but consider this - teaching is essentially a part time job when you factor in all of the holidays; a couple of years ago nurses reckoned that they could do a shorter working week for more money without impacting on service levels i.e. they are currently working inefficiently but could work smarter if they get more money - how about being more efficient now in return for no pay cut?

I dont think you can compare peoples ability to live on different salaries. During the good years a lot of people allowed their mortages, credit cards, loans etc to get to a level where they now cannot cope with a pay cut. I know that despite my wages I still struggle some months with the 20% drop in take home pay I've taken in the last year. That said its better than a 100% pay cut.

Public Sector Workers: "If we all just go around agreeing with each others posts and attacking everyone else, we wont have justify our position"

please explain....or does your user name say enough?