Garda Allowances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Dovers

willit wrote: »

I said that the Gardai pay tax.......therefore it goes to reducing the public service bill.

Well now that I've amended your earlier assertion I have made my point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭willit

You / They are the public service pay bill!!

Sorry your not retarded i retract that your very silly boy

How am I the public service pay bill??????

As I have stated on here I am not a public servant, not a Garda, not anything to do with the public sector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 pipesofpeace

Below taken from one of your numerous posts on trying to get into the guards
    leddpipe

You don't need to get the e-mail from publicjobs.ie prior to re-registering. It's just down to the sheer numbers trying to re-register then login and setup the alerts etc. as the reason why you can't log in.

I've re-registered, logged in and setup the alerts and have since tried to login and had it time out. I would assume it's going to be like that for a while to come as there was such a huge number of people already registered that have to go through this process. Remember, it's not just us Gardai wannabes that need to re-register but everyone that's looking for a public service job.

Anyway, I hope it all gets sorted soon and you get logged asap.

From your last post:
    As I have stated on here I am not a public servant, not a Garda, not anything to do with the public sector.

Sorry your not in an Garda or anything to do with the Garda or anything to do with the public service?????????????

Pull the other one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

^ Heh checkmate!

Below is an extract of post# 224 on page 15 of this thread by myself yesterday. You yourself replied to this post, which proves I have never hidden my desire to become a member of the Gardai, so you knew about my ambitions already.
    I would love to be a Garda and will make no secret of that. It's got nothing to do with the €27,000 I would stand to earn 2 years after joining, making do with the €200 a week whilst training, I've got my own reasons for wanting to join.

Just because I want to become a member of the Gardai makes no impact on what I do or am today. I said "I am not a public servant, not a Garda, not anything to do with the public service" Everything I have stated here is true and 100% accurate.

Do you actaully have a point or can you even remember why you're on here?

Hail to da chimp; "checkmate" ?????? How???? I have never made secret my ambitions, I don't hide what I am or what I want. Checkmate to a person trying to discredit me by stating something I have previously made mention of?????

No wonder our country is in crisis if these are the kinds of debates we can muster, pointless facts and insults are the domain of the ignorant.

I work overtime everyday, in early in the morning home in the evening stay till after 6 consistently with the odd Saturday thrown in for good measure there is no CULTURE of overtime in my job you do what you have to do to get the job finished (its the same all over the private setor).

I'm in the productive part of the economy my company makes a profit, they pay tax. I get paid by my company, i pay tax. My tax is used for public services fair enough, good stuff but lets not forget where the money comes from in the first place.

Without me there is no you.

Maybe if you actually did your job instead of spending the day posting pointless drivel on the internet you might not have to work late in the evening or the odd Saturday.

How is posting on boards productive or in the productive part of the economy? You give out about the Gardai and the cushy job they do well, while you're sitting in your cosy office right now trying to think of new ways to discredit me or anyone else that is making sense on here, spare a thought for the Garda that is walking the beat or attending a traffic accident or telling a mother her child has just died.

You don't have a clue mate.

I said "I am not a public servant, not a Garda, not anything to do with the public service".

your just on publicjobs.ie everyday trying to get into the Guards big difference from "anything to do with the public service.
    Just because I want to become a member of the Gardai makes no impact on what I do or am today.

Your on a thread about Garda pay and conditions, cop on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

As i stated before i work in the Financial Services Industry for multinational not banking or lending before anyone starts sayin i brought down the country

To get my job it required a minimum 2:1 Degree in Finance (3 years training with NO payments of €200 per week to get me through) i have now worked there nearly 3 years

I started on 24k was on this for 1.5years this rose after that time to 26k i recently took what could be called a promotion(more a sideways move) and my income has rose to 29k.

I work overtime everyday, in early in the morning home in the evening stay till after 6 consistently with the odd Saturday thrown in for good measure there is no CULTURE of overtime in my job you do what you have to do to get the job finished (its the same all over the private setor).

I get paid what i get paid every month i know i will have X amount i can't put up my hand and say sure Mickey Joe didn't come in i'll do his shift to earn an extra few bob for my holidays. What i get is what i get.

I have to work till i'm 65 my pension is at the mercy of the markets retire in a good year and i'll be OK retire in a recession and things might be less rosy.

Now contrast that with Garda after 6 years(my 3 years college + 3 years work)

Below from http://www.gra.cc/payscales.shtml

44,744 Basic Pay
    4,162 Rent Allowance
    380 Boot and Uniform Allowance

= €49, 286

My overtime rate at this point is €31.48 per hour worked

I reckon if i do a handy 5 hours overtime a week i can add another €8,184 on to my income

That means a Garda after 6 years can expect €57,470

Then of course there's shift allowance to kick in, retire at 55 10 years earlier then everybody else bla bla bla you get the point

I'm in the productive part of the economy my company makes a profit, they pay tax. I get paid by my company, i pay tax. My tax is used for public services fair enough, good stuff but lets not forget where the money comes from in the first place.

Without me there is no you.

Now look at your salary and allowances do ya think ya might be creaming it a bit

Financial services Industry! (good luck mate your credibility has just gone out the window and hey I'm sorry you once had to work a saturday and by the way I spent 2 years in college and worked in the private sector in business before I went to the Garda College, I wasnt born in the maternity suite at the Garda college like you think all gaurds are. The level of qualifications from 3 level colleges of most Gaurds would surpass yours any day. You earn what you deserve and probally alot more.

your just on publicjobs.ie everyday trying to get into the Guards big difference from "anything to do with the public service.

You're not making any points mate, just trying to discredit me, which you are failing miserably at.

I'll try to get you back on track; you said that cutting Garda allowances would go a long way to sorting out the countries finances. I retorted by saying if you completely cut all Garda allowances it wouldn't even cover 1/20 of the €4billion that is needed.

Why have you not come back with anything to that point? Instead you've gone fishing through threads on the emergency services forum trying to discredit the points I'm making.

You made a statement about cutting Garda allowances and I made it out for what it is, rubbish. Now, you're the one with the 2:1 degree from university, surely you can do better than that.

With dectective work like this pipesofpeace you should be in the guards yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Personally I would leave the Guards alone, its a cnut of a job.

You're not making any points mate, just trying to discredit me, which you are failing miserably at.

I'll try to get you back on track; you said that cutting Garda allowances would go a long way to sorting out the countries finances. I retorted by saying if you completely cut all Garda allowances it wouldn't even cover 1/20 of the €4billion that is needed.

Why have you not come back with anything to that point?.

Listen bud you need to use your brain:

The goverment has made clear its needs to cut the public service paybill by 1.3bn

217m represents a large chunk of the 1.3bn that needs to be saved about 17% which is alot more 1/20th crap your on about

There's your answer!!

I'm not askin the guards to cough up 4bn christ it doesn't cost a billion to run but 1.3bn needs to be found from the public service paybill.

FACT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

Personally I would leave the Guards alone, its a cnut of a job.
    not from the ones I spoke too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Mikefitzs

The Gardai do a great job. Anyone who puts their life on the line should be well paid. The government and so called celebs on the other hand are a bunch of crooks.
    3 cheers for the Gardai!

Just a passenger

Mikefitzs wrote: »
    The Gardai do a great job. Anyone who puts their life on the line should be well paid. The government and so called celebs on the other hand are a bunch of crooks.
    3 cheers for the Gardai!

Your more likely to lose your life working on a farm or on a building site. Thats just a fact.

Are you sayin we should start giving rent allowances and better pay to farmers because their life is on the line. Because i know they'd love you but we just don't have the cash

Mikefitzs wrote: »
    3 cheers for the Gardai!

No one disputes that. The problem is there is no money being taken in to pay them.

As a matter of interest what do police in other EU countries get paid? They face the same dangers in their course of work do they not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

dodgyme wrote: »
    not from the ones I spoke too.

Under caution? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭source

Your more likely to lose your life working on a farm or on a building site. Thats just a fact.

Are you sayin we should start giving rent allowances and better pay to farmers because their life is on the line. Because i know they'd love you but we just don't have the cash

You're more likely to be assaulted/have the crap beaten out of you and get spat on by a hepC/aids infected junkie in the Gardai than you are on a farm or a building site.

The rent allowance is not for our lives being on the line, the rent allowance is an allowance for having to up heave your life/family and move to the other side of the country for the job, the rent allowance is provided because we don't get a say in where we work, and can be moved at a moments notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

foinse wrote: »
    You're more likely to be assaulted/have the crap beaten out of you and get spat on by a hepC/aids infected junkie in the Gardai than you are on a farm or a building site.

That's got nothing to do with the expenses guards receive.

In fairness guards on the front line deserve to get a fair pay - but I don't see why a guard in an administration position should be allowed to claim expenses for not being able to do overtime.

The Uk on average are actually better paid than AGS, they start off with €23,000 for the first year, when members of AGS are on a €200pw training allowance, and after a year they move to €26,700, which is on average with AGS, when you take cost of living into account, the UK pay is higher. The average in the USA is $41,000 which translates to €27,000 which means that the on the whole AGS is earning the same as other nations police forces, but the difference is other countries have a much lower cost of living.

In fairness guards on the front line deserve to get a fair pay - but I don't see why a guard in an administration position should be allowed to claim expenses for not being able to do overtime.

I was responding to the claim that farming is more dangerous than policing.

I agree completetly they do a good job but something small like an allowance for missing out on allowances(Clerical Allowance) while it may ONLY cost 2.07m a year its another 2.07m we have to borrow, borrow people!!

Its death by a thousand cuts lads a couple of million here a couple of million there before you know it the IMF is in

The Uk on average are actually better paid than AGS, they start off with €23,000 for the first year, when members of AGS are on a €200pw training allowance, and after a year they move to €26,700, which when you take cost of living into account, is considerably more than AGS. The average in the USA is $41,000 which translates to €27,000 which means that the on the whole AGS is earning the same as other nations police forces, but the difference is other countries have a much lower cost of living.

Fristly the UK is not a great example they're engaged in quatitive easing basically printing money to pay for their public service. We don't have that luxury i'm afraid.

The UK is having the same deabte were having why the public pay bill has ran out of control so to compare one over paid public service with another is not a great arguement

Secondly before you start comparing figures lets get real currency fluctuations play a huge part in anything like this. Check figures one week and they suit you check them again and they don't.

The EURO has reached a peak against the US dollar now i could come on and show that the Gardai get paid 25% more than their US counterparts. Then six months later the US dollar appreciates 25% and they get paid the same.

Compare across the Eurozone, Finland would be a good choice same currency, similiar size, similiar cost of living. Might be an interesting excersise

If you or one of your family are unfortunate to be attacked in the future feel free to call a farmer, I'll stick with the Gardai.

How many will be killed on construction sites this and next year? very few because there will be no one working there. The ones that have been killed are as a result of either their employer or their own negligence.
    The state is the employer of the Gardai and cannot prevent a drunken asshole from trying to stab a garda on duty, a building contractor can make his site safe so that no one gets hurt.
    I am happy to keep the public service pay levels as they are (especially the gardai) so that they will continue to spend their cash which helps out the rest us.

Well done all the Gardai out there, keep up the good work!

Just a passenger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

Yeah and you are much more likely to drown in slurry as a farmer or get crushed by a jcb as a builder than you are working as a guard.The chances of being killed on the job are also substantially increased in either of those professions compared to working as a guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Liamo08

The Uk on average are actually better paid than AGS, they start off with €23,000 for the first year, when members of AGS are on a €200pw training allowance, and after a year they move to €26,700, which is on average with AGS, when you take cost of living into account, the UK pay is higher. The average in the USA is $41,000 which translates to €27,000 which means that the on the whole AGS is earning the same as other nations police forces, but the difference is other countries have a much lower cost of living.

Am I missing something in your calculation here? According to http://www.cso.ie/quicktables/GetQuickTables.aspx?FileName=PSA01.asp&TableName=Public+Sector+Average+Weekly+Earnings&StatisticalProduct=DB_PS

the average person in AGS earns €1,207 a week which translates into nearly €63k a year how exactly is that similar to the €27k in the US?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭green123

If you're going to start calling posters on here retarded you better have some damn good information to back up your claims pal.

stupid gaurds on here quoting their pay as only €280 or €300 a week is retarded.

you dont quote your pay after you pay your personal loans and medical insurance.

gaurds get 27k basic + 4k rent = 31k minimium
    then they get some shift and ot

so gaurds must get at least 500 or 600 on average per week after tax

to say anything else is either :

1. lies
    2. stupidity

so which is it ? 1 or 2 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭green123

pvt.joker wrote: »
    bullshít, get your facts right will you. Im an "average" guard, and take home 300 a week.
    , after 5 years of service i come out with 350e !
    I am currently coming out with net €280pw

so 1 or 2 ?
    are you telling lies ?
    or are you just a bit stupid ?

jonsnow wrote: »
    Yeah and you are much more likely to drown in slurry as a farmer or get crushed by a jcb as a builder than you are working as a guard.The chances of being killed on the job are also substantially increased in either of those professions compared to working as a guard.

You're missing the point or away with the faries.

A member of the Gardai does not create a dangerous situation for them to be killed in, those situations are created by others (normally known as criminals).
    A farmer doesn't have to play God by walking on a slurry pit nor does a builder have to stand in the way of a JCB. These fatalities are avoidable. Someone attacking a Garda is not avoidable but the Garda will always do their best to stop that type of situation occuring.

Just a passenger

green123 wrote: »
    stupid gaurds on here quoting their pay as only €260 or €300 a week is retarded.

you dont quote your pay after you pay your personal loans and medical insurance.

gaurds get 27k basic + 4k rent = 31k minimium
    then they get some shift and ot

so gaurds must get at least 500 or 600 on average per week after tax

to say anything else is either :

1. lies
    2. stupidity

so which is it ? 1 or 2 ?

That's got nothing to do with me pal as I'm not a Garda, while the retarded quote was aimed directly at me. Just jumping on the bandwagon blindly there green123????

Let me pick on your post having actually read it:

the word is guards not gaurds and

they are Gardai not guards

a person earning 31k a year gets 31000/52 per week which = 596.15
    that's before tax, not after tax

to say anything else is just 1) stupidity or 2) well stupidity

that works out somewhere a lot closer to the 260 or 300 that those "stupid gaurds" talk about.

If you're going to post on here then plesae at least try to make sense.

Unless anyone has anything sensible to say I'm done with this thread, some people are just blinded by their ignorance of the subject or dislike of our Gardai.