Garda Allowances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

irish_bob wrote: »
    i dont believe you , i do believe the CSO figures

Er chief (a) no where on the CSO figures does it say that they are "take home pay figures", we have had a garda on this very thread laying bare his weekly paycheck itemised, and out of €571 total his actual net take home pay was €280, just under 50%. That is an average figure, but (b) like someone pointed out is highly disproportionate due to the few at the top taking in the largest incomes. Trying to average it out like you're doing is stupid.

I just did the same thing with as near estimates as I could in my job and it would give me a low level worker a salary of 45k a year. Actually I am on less than half that, but the figures are distorted by one or two at the top taking in 100k+ a year. Try to learn how averages really work Bob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

those on minum wage earn more than 300 per week , either he cant count or is baking pork pies

you clown, you said take home was 1200 for an average garda.
    i get 571 before deductions. 300 take home. not a trainee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭coolmoose

rant

this thread is so full of mindless idiots I really don't even want to become involved. I'm a Paramedic with the HSE, and all of this "the public sector is screwing the country" stuff is getting really irritating...I just need to say a few things and I'm bowing out of this thread instantly as some of the posters here have really wound me up with some of their ill-educated, pompous comments. My comments re particular to my job, but are equally applicable to Gardai, nurses, prison officers etc.

1. The frontline staff on the ground are not making huge money by any means, it is the over-inflated higher grades in all levels of the public sector that are earning money completely disproportionate to their job.

2. Allowances form the major part of frontline workers pay. Take these away and it would seriously not be worth my while working, I would earn the equivalent on the dole.

3. I feel completely entitled to my shift allowance, Sunday allowance, and overtime. Here's why: On Sunday when most people wake up, have a relaxing day, I'll be at work. I work day and night, weekends, most public holidays, and don't complain...I knew that was the way coming in to this job...but I was also aware of the allowances coming in to the job, and would strongly resent the terms of my pay being changed like this. Also, overtime is there because the service is under-staffed, which would you prefer, pay me extra to do extra work, or not have ambulance cover on a particular day/night?

4. I have never gotten share options, bonuses or anything similar to the perks enjoyed by some of my friends in the private sector.

5. The people on this "Be glad you have a job" or "I pay your wages" trip - grow up. We all make decisions in life, I chose to go the route I did. Just because you didn't, and have now joined the public sector bashing brigade does not give you the right to make out like I have some silver spoon in my mouth.

6. I work hard for my money, doing a job not many would do, and I don't want any praise, or glory...all I want is a decent wage for the work I put in...it's not much to ask is it? I'm already paying income lvey, PRSI, PAYE and pension levy, what more do you want?

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

pvt.joker wrote: »
    you clown, you said take home was 1200 for an average garda.
    i get 571 before deductions. 300 take home. not a trainee.

It still doesn't make sense.

Tax of roughly €40 if Single, PRSI and Health Levies of about €35, Income Levy of about €10 and the pension levy of about €25 after tax relief.

That's about €110/120 deductions. There's a discrepancy of about €150 there.

Unless you have other deductions or the wife works, it doesn't add up.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

K-9 wrote: »
    It still doesn't make sense.

Tax of roughly €40 if Single, PRSI and Health Levies of about €35, Income Levy of about €10 and the pension levy of about €25 after tax relief.

That's about €110/120 deductions. There's a discrepancy of about €150 there.

Unless you have other deductions or the wife works, it doesn't add up.

what is the issue here ? obviously i have loans, medical aid, gra contributions etc. Im debating the fact that irish_bob said an average garda takes home 1200. Im showing that to be completely false as im an "average garda" and my take home is 300. I have no more deductions than the "average" garda would have.
    It's irish_bobs facts that dont add up, he's about 800 euro a week out by the looks of things :rolleyes:
    This whole thread is bullshít to be honest.

what is the issue here ? obviously i have loans, medical aid, gra contributions etc. Im debating the fact that irish_bob said an average garda takes home 1200. Im showing that to be completely false as im an "average garda" and my take home is 300. I have no more deductions than the "average" garda would have.
    It's irish_bobs facts that dont add up, he's about 800 euro a week out by the looks of things :rolleyes:
    This whole thread is bullshít to be honest.

Ah, but there is an issue.

Take home pay is ahem, take home pay!

It's 571-Tax-PRSI-Levies.

St. Pauls Medical Aid, Garda Credit Union, GRA or AGSI Deductions shouldn't be counted. I don't count BUPA, AIB Loan or Trade Union deductions in my wage.

So, I'm sorry, Irish Bob is adding up or indeed, taking away correctly!

Loans and Health Insurance are individual choices!

Simple question, was Garda Credit Union Loans and St. Pauls Medical Aid contributions included in your €300 a week take home pay?

If Yes, it is misleading as they aren't counted in the definition of take home pay.

If No, something is wrong!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭itsallaboutme!!

cson wrote: »
    itsallaboutme!!,

I'd advise you to be a bit more discreet about your working conditions. Boards shouldn't really be used as a forum for complaints or comment on your employer. Solely for the fact that you do not know if you are being monitored and it is relatively easy to find out who you are.

I did not come on here to complain about my working conditions. If you read through my posts you will see that I have stated that I did not join for the money. I merely came on to, as touchingvirus has stated, to to highlight the fact that the job is not an easy high paid cushy number as many are lead to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

There's no solving this one.
    People are right to protest against pay cuts cause if they didn't then they'd be cut even more. On the flip side, it's nice to be able to protest knowing that you will have a job to go to the next day.
    For me I didn't get paid last month and this month my company can only afford to pay me half. Next year I'm not sure if I'll even have a job.

What we all need to do is stick together and rather then going at one another we need to sort out how this country is being run and what got us here in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

prinz wrote: »
    Er chief (a) no where on the CSO figures does it say that they are "take home pay figures", we have had a garda on this very thread laying bare his weekly paycheck itemised, and out of €571 total his actual net take home pay was €280, just under 50%. That is an average figure, but (b) like someone pointed out is highly disproportionate due to the few at the top taking in the largest incomes. Trying to average it out like you're doing is stupid.

I just did the same thing with as near estimates as I could in my job and it would give me a low level worker a salary of 45k a year. Actually I am on less than half that, but the figures are distorted by one or two at the top taking in 100k+ a year. Try to learn how averages really work Bob

only spoofers or spin doctors speak in terms of net pay , everyone else quotes gross pay , how do you like those apples chief

guards start off on around 35 k , the commisioner probabley earns close to 200 k , super intendants over 100 k , inspector , 80 - 90 and seargants 60 - 70 k , rank and file earn whatever they earn but the average is still 1200 per week or 60 k per year as stated in the CSO figures , thats how averages are worked out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

bullshít, get your facts right will you. Im an "average" guard, and take home 300 a week.

The thing is, Irish Bob has failed to grasp that a statistical average is only applicable when the range is evenly distributed. Yet he ironically talks about the cops lack of intelligence.

I stopped rewarding these kinds of threads because people believe anything that supports their arguments.

I suggest you do the same :P

tallaght01 wrote: »
    The thing is, Irish Bob has failed to grasp that a statistical average is only applicable when the range is evenly distributed. Yet he ironically talks about the cops lack of intelligence.

I stopped rewarding these kinds of threads because people believe anything that supports their arguments.

I suggest you do the same :P

Including take home pay of €300 a week! :eek:

It's important to get little things like take home pay right to avoid comparisons to other jobs that do actually have a Net pay of around that.

Edit: I agree with your point about the stats but it wouldn't be that hard to roughly work them out. No. Garda officers, Sergeants, Inspectors etc. Who gets paid Overtime, who doesn't, No. of top brass on big wages etc.

K-9 wrote: »
    Including take home pay of €300 a week! :eek:

It's important to get little things like take home pay right to avoid comparisons to other jobs that do actually have a Net pay of around that.

Edit: I agree with your point about the stats but it wouldn't be that hard to roughly work them out. No. Garda officers, Sergeants, Inspectors etc. Who gets paid Overtime, who doesn't, No. of top brass on big wages etc.

I agree it's very easy to work out. But it never is, because it's easy to just jump on figures. It's easy, and lazy. But happens all the time in public sector debates.

I've talked before about the manual labourers in my dad's public sector job on 14 euro an hour, and people on here earning 25,000+ talking about tem being overpaid, under this big public sector umbrella. Same for the young copper on the streets here. I'm not a fan of the Gardai at all, but one of my closest friends is one, and he's far from being overpaid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

An other uneducated whinge fest then, I take it?

Nodin wrote: »
    An other uneducated whinge fest then, I take it?

I only managed 2 pages, but looks like it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Its quite obvious people in the Private sector want the Public sector to take the pain for them, many people in the private sector have suffered badly but not all, a mate of mine in the private sector was whinging about all the cuts hes taken, I asked him to break it down an he said "2% levy" and I'm not getting my pay rise 5%". Gardai have the 2% levy, have forgone their pay rises due and have a pension levy imposed of 6% and now face a pay cut. Benchmarking gave the rank and file garda nothing as they said back then that they had factored in our pensions. The solutiuon is to raise taxes and get the high earners in private and public sectors to pay equally, i dont buy the "you cant tax you way out of a recession" if you cut my wages you can call it what you like but I class it as a tax. Media is mainly private sector and they are driving the divide, Private sector banks and property developers caused this. If people in the private sector are able to take 50% pay cuts as they are saying on liveline then they were being paid far too much to start with!!! The state can have back what they gave me in benchmarking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 pipesofpeace

Rank and file Garda have had a much more effective process than benchmarking ever was the GRA has acheived one of the best slight of hand tricks seen in years they've kept basic pay low while increasing allowances and special payments significantly.

Its this kind of trick that enables whinging Garda to come on here and qoute figures for basic pay that make them look like paupers(itsallaboutme) when in reality there allowance check is really where the bulk of their income is.

There's a reason they call the their allowance cheque - their BIG cheque

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Rank and file Garda have had a much more effective process than benchmarking ever was the GRA has acheived one of the best slight of hand tricks seen in years they've kept basic pay low while increasing allowances and special payments significantly.

Its this kind of trick that enables whinging Garda to come on here and qoute figures for basic pay that make them look like paupers(itsallaboutme) when in reality there allowance check is really where the bulk of their income is.

There's a reason they call the their allowance cheque - their BIG cheque

prison wardens get the big cheque once a month too,

don't get me started on the "i'll be ringing in sick this wed" so the other guy gets double time, you do the same for him 2 weeks later,fkr's

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

the reason for allowences is because of shift work and unsocial hours, how many chrismas days have you worked, how many sundays do you work in a month I work 2, how many saturdays I work 3, how many bank holidays have you worked, how often have you finished work at 6am or started at 6am. Have you been tranfered all over the country in your job hense the rent allowence which does substitute an inadquate basic pay. you have a chip on your shoulder and no amount of money could pay members of the emergency services for some of the scenes they have to attend to and deal with. But you'll be sleeping soundly in your bed thinking that the sun only rises when you get up and nothing happened overnight, when you ring 999 do you look at the clock to see if its between 9am - 5pm, get a life man!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

only spoofers or spin doctors speak in terms of net pay , everyone else quotes gross pay , how do you like those apples chief

:pac: Do you know the difference between Gross Pay and 'Take home pay'? So I suppose that means you're a spoofer or a spin doctor...which is it? :pac:
    check out theese CSO figures , the average guard in irleand takes home 1200 euro per week

QFT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

1200 a week? Soooo.... if they worked 40hrs a week thats like making 30 euro per hour :eek:

But oh wait. Its not a desk job and half their time is not spent browsing boards or downloading porn. And I get the feeling they probably average more than 40hrs a week. :rolleyes:

Are couch surfers still bickering about this? Get back in line.

the problem is the country can no longer afford the highest paid cops in the eu

check out theese CSO figures , the average guard in irleand takes home 1200 euro per week
    http://www.cso.ie/quicktables/GetQuickTables.aspx?FileName=PSA01.asp&TableName=Public+Sector+Average+Weekly+Earnings&StatisticalProduct=DB_PS

Bob, that is an average based on the earnings of 14 - 16,000 members. Some of whom are only starting their career on 27,000 up to the commissioner who earns over 200,000. If you want to see the weekly wage before paye, prsi, pension deductions, pension levys and the income levy then go here.
    +1 , the challenges facing guards in this country are no different to those facing police in london , paris or berlin , the only difference is the police in ireland earn at least 30% more than in those other countries

You could say the same about the private sector. Hence a lot of multinational companies pulling out of the country and moving to cheaper workforces.
    those on minum wage earn more than 300 per week , either he cant count or is baking pork pies

As I said above, the CSO figure is an average. After all of my taxes, levies, health insurance (€52 p/w) and loan repayments I come out with €260. It's not a lot and if there are cuts in december it will be less. I have one years service and spent a year in training where I earned €190 p/w and had to pay for my travel and food both in templemore and at home in dublin where i was also paying my mortgage and household bills. The loans that I took out were mainly to cover me while in templemore because the money was crap. I would have put money aside but i had only moved into my house (bought at the height of the boom) and got four days notice to begin training or drop out after having waited two years to get in.

After all of my taxes, levies, health insurance (€52 p/w) and loan repayments I come out with €260.

ok when i tell people my wages and how much i come out with i don't include my car loan repayments, my personal repayments. They are your own buisness!!!

Your not helping your argument here deducting your life expenses and telling us you come out with 260p/w alot of people using your rational including me come out with alot less than 260p/w

How much is your big cheque though with your allowances? No word on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Im only going to make one post on this. I wont be replying so take it as ye will.

I am a member of An Garda Síochána and have been for quite some time. Im appointed to the Divisional Traffic Corps. Throughout my service I have been spat on, assaulted, hit with bottles, blood smeared on my face and been on the recieving end of a knife attack.

I have cut ropes from peoples necks, seen some of the most horrific road traffic collisions imaginable, both single and double fatals and have seen people take their lives in front of me. I have called to so many houses at all times of the day and night and informed parents/wives/husbands that their loved on is dead I have now lost count.

The above is common occurance for me. It is common occurance for all Gardaí, Paramedics and Fire service. Its our job......and yes we get paid for it. I would love to see some of the posters here spend one night working and a member of a frontline service. Until you do you wont cant understand what we put up with.

I make a decent wage at present. I get my weekly payslip and my allowances.....but by god I work for it. And at the end of the day after my morgage is paid (I live in a small town) my heath care for myself and herself is paid and the levies/tax etc is taken out I dont have much left. Whether posters here believe members here or not I really dont care. At the end of the day I know NO person of Garda rank that makes over €1200 a week!! I only bloody wish.

There are no holidays in nice guys world and xmas is going to be tight. I own my home and thats all I can afford. I dont have 25 houses and 31 appartments. I have one and its hard enought to pay for that!!

Cutting my pay/allowances will make wonder why should I be working. Hell with the scum we deal with I wonder would I be better of on the dole.

Seemingly the CSO says everyone on the dole have new cars every year....they must be correct.....they are never wrong:rolleyes:

Frontline services get paid ok. But we deserve it. A Garda will never be rich. When I joined AGS in the boom times most of my friends from school became engineers/blocklayers etc and they made a hell of a lot more than I did. And they had no problem saying it.

Civil servants are not the problem with the crisis at the moment. We didnt suddenly destroy the countrys bank balance......last time I checked the Banks/Bankers did. This whole Private vs Public "war" was developed by the Government to create a smoke screen so that they could back the banks. They have to now get the money from somewhere so now the evil civil servants caused the whole thing! Easy targets. If people really cant see the roose then ye are more foolish than I though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,291 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Im only going to make one post on this. I wont be replying so take it as ye will.

I am a member of An Garda Síochána and have been for quite some time. Im appointed to the Divisional Traffic Corps. Throughout my service I have been spat on, assaulted, hit with bottles, blood smeared on my face and been on the recieving end of a knife attack.

I have cut ropes from peoples necks, seen some of the most horrific road traffic collisions imaginable, both single and double fatals and have seen people take their lives in front of me. I have called to so many houses at all times of the day and night and informed parents/wives/husbands that their loved on is dead I have now lost count.

The above is common occurance for me. It is common occurance for all Gardaí, Paramedics and Fire service. Its our job......and yes we get paid for it. I would love to see some of the posters here spend one night working and a member of a frontline service. Until you do you wont cant understand what we put up with.

I make a decent wage at present. I get my weekly payslip and my allowances.....but by god I work for it. And at the end of the day after my morgage is paid (I live in a small town) my heath care for myself and herself is paid and the levies/tax etc is taken out I dont have much left. Whether posters here believe members here or not I really dont care. At the end of the day I know NO person of Garda rank that makes over €1200 a week!! I only bloody wish.

There are no holidays in nice guys world and xmas is going to be tight. I own my home and thats all I can afford. I dont have 25 houses and 31 appartments. I have one and its hard enought to pay for that!!

Cutting my pay/allowances will make wonder why should I be working. Hell with the scum we deal with I wonder would I be better of on the dole.

Seemingly the CSO says everyone on the dole have new cars every year....they must be correct.....they are never wrong:rolleyes:

Frontline services get paid ok. But we deserve it. A Garda will never be rich. When I joined AGS in the boom times most of my friends from school became engineers/blocklayers etc and they made a hell of a lot more than I did. And they had no problem saying it.

Civil servants are not the problem with the crisis at the moment. We didnt suddenly destroy the countrys bank balance......last time I checked the Banks/Bankers did. This whole Private vs Public "war" was developed by the Government to create a smoke screen so that they could back the banks. They have to now get the money from somewhere so now the evil civil servants caused the whole thing! Easy targets. If people really cant see the roose then ye are more foolish than I though.

That is possibly the best post in the history of all Garda bashing threads.

Good post, must be on clerical duty with allowance!!!!

:> :>

listen point taken suppose what gets people is the issue of transperency garda sayin they earn x amount a year basic pay is not a true reflection of their income all these rent allowances and premuim payments(57 at last count) sound like some kind of accounting trick to keep basic pay figures low

My only point would be that no garda recruitment drive has ever been undersubscribed so i mean alot of people must be happy to get paid X whatever X may be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ste88m

Well I believe him. CSO figures are an average for all members of all ranks of the gardaí, not to mention that these are probably average figures from 2007. Not 2009.

We get 3 'small' cheques and one 'big' cheque per month. The small cheque is basically just your 40hours. Your "big" cheque, and I've put big in inverted commas there because it seems to be getting more and more like the small cheque.

On average. I'd be on €400 for a small cheque and maybe €600, occassionally more, for the 'big cheque'. So basically I'm on roughly €1800 a month, NOT €1200 a week. And I can assure you that very, very few gardaí are on €1,200 p/w.

How much is your big cheque though with your allowances? No word on this?

Add about €200 including overtime. And I got that working at Croke Park and attending court which had dates decided by the courts service, not myself. I'd rather attend court while working so I can enjoy my days off away from work. And if you are lucky enough to work away for your station for 8 hours it is only worth €21. Not €200 as is in the first post on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

My only point would be that no garda recruitment drive has ever been undersubscribed

I don't recall any public sector job being undersubscribed. When I went for the Civil Service jobs there were over 10,000 applicants I beat to get offered a job in Revenue. There were not 10,000 jobs. The pay for a clerical officer is not great. Job Security is important too and that is what is very attractive about public jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭FGR

Where's my free health insurance and 5 hours overtime for 10 mins in court? :D

Last time I checked I was paying 18 a week for Garda Medical Aid and only getting 3 hours OT for 3 hours work in the other.

If you were to read the whinging iv'e heard about getting up at 6am and workin Sundays and the horrible work and 260 euro p/w it makes me wonder why something so god awful and lowly paid would have a que a mile long to get into.

Clerical officer is completely different - basic pay with no allowances and little to no chance of overtime

Listen i appreciate the work that is done but we all need to have a look at ourselves and ask are we being paid to much. My job when benchmarked against other countries comes out somewhere in the middle but behind the likes of the UK, Germany, France.

Benchmark our police officers against their European counterparts on we come out on top. Something not right their and it needs to be fixed seen as the country is going broke

I'm sure a bobby workin in Londons East End with the real hardcore filth would be surprised to hear the wages of our boys