Garda Allowances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 pipesofpeace

Your going of the point were in deep finacial because were paying oursleves too much.

Below is the wage of guy with just about two years experience and a few months paid training in Templmore

The job he went for was oversubscribed ten fold suggesting the is no problem filling the positions

34,225 ( from http://www.gra.cc/payscales.shtml)
    +4,162 Rent Allowance
    + 380 Boot + Uniform Allowance
    +shift
    +overtime
    +god knows what else
    = 38,767euro ++++++++

plus he/she is able to retire at 55 becoming a huge financial burden on the State.

At the end of the day Garda retire ten years earlier than the rest of us poor sods who have to keep working till were 65+ to support their pensions

Thats the issue:

we don't have the cash as a country to pay Garda who live at home with their mammys but get rent allowance.

we don't the cash to over pay for positions that could be filled at a fraction of the cost

we don't have the cash to let 55/56 year old retired Guards sit at home watching diagnosis murder while drawing generous pensions

willit wrote: »
    So in your world the Gardai are the actual law makers, deciding when to charge someone and what for, just on the spot. No wonder you hate them so much.

I'm not saying that Gardai shouldn't use discretion in their job, of course they do, but recession is not reason enough to no longer enforce laws such as motor tax.

What other laws should be relaxed in your world???

Just that one
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=57006361&postcount=25

Would free up alot of court time and Garda resources.

I would advise anyone to sit in any district court in the country and observe just what goes on.

Gardai are under pressure to get a "return of work" and issue as many summonses as possible.

Innocent people are then summonsed to court and the cases are struck out.
    No conviction but the Garda has more work done on the system.

Sit in court anywhere and watch this its plain and obvious what goes on.

goes on everywhere:
    http://www.carlow-nationalist.ie/news/story/?trs=mheyojmhid
    ALMOST half of all road-traffic prosecutions taken by the gardaí to Carlow District Court in 2007 were thrown out of court.

http://www.roscommonherald.ie/news/story/?trs=qlsnsnmh
    A TOTAL of 2,692 road traffic offences were dealt with by judges in County Roscommon
    while a total of 1,266 road traffic cases were struck out

http://www.leitrimobserver.ie/news/Road-traffic-cases-were-most.4315850.jp
    Over 42% of cases were struck out

http://www.sligoweekender.ie/news/story/?trs=mhgbauqlau
    ALMOST half the road traffic cases that were due before Sligo District Court last year were dismissed or struck out, according to recently released figures.

http://archives.tcm.ie/waterfordnews/2008/07/25/story29004.asp
    THE Annual Report of the Courts Service shows that Waterford’s District Court heard mainly cases about road traffic offences and that in 2007 the majority of them were struck out.

Statistics issued show that 6,094 road traffic cases came before the District Court, with 3,438 (just over 56%) of them being struck out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

I see a lot of what the guards do on a daily basis, I have treated a lot who have been seriously injured at work, I have had to operate on some. ( including one who was injured when deliberatly rammed by a joyrider)

I have seen them tolerate verbal abuse, with calmness that I could not.

They are pretty good value for what they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭willit

Your going of the point were in deep finacial because were paying oursleves too much.

Below is the wage of guy with just about two years experience and a few months paid training in Templmore

The job he went for was oversubscribed ten fold suggesting the is no problem filling the positions

+4,162 Rent Allowance
    +shift
    +overtime
    +god knows what else
    = 38,767euro ++++++++

plus he/she is able to retire at 55 becoming a huge financial burden on the State.

At the end of the day Garda retire ten years earlier than the rest of us poor sods who have to keep working till were 65+ to support their pensions

Thats the issue:

we don't have the cash as a country to pay Garda who live at home with their mammys but get rent allowance.

we don't the cash to over pay for positions that could be filled at a fraction of the cost

we don't have the cash to let 55/56 year old retired Guards sit at home watching diagnosis murder while drawing generous pensions

It's already been stated many, many times in this thread that the only Gardai that retire at 50/55 are the ones that join at 19/20 and have been paying healthy sums into their own pension, the state pension kicks in at 65 and if you join in your 30's you work into your 60's. You weaken your argument by making those sort of claims without qualifying them by pointing out what I have above.

You should go looking for a FÁS thread, you can spout whatever you want there because those guys really were cowboys.

By the way, can I ask if you were picketing outside Leinster house about Garda pay levels during the Celtic Tiger??? No, amazing how these things are so important now but didn't seem so when you had it easy. Cutting Garda pay will do nothing to get us out of the mess that this government has gotten us into.

Just that one

I would advise anyone to sit in any district court in the country and observe just what goes on.

Gardai are under pressure to get a "return of work" and issue as many summonses as possible.

goes on everywhere:

A TOTAL of 2,692 road traffic offences were dealt with by judges in County Roscommon courts last year, with 39 prison sentences handed down and 1,039 fines imposed.

Nine community service orders were imposed while a total of 1,266 road traffic cases were struck out

ALMOST half the road traffic cases that were due before Sligo District Court last year were dismissed or struck out, according to recently released figures.

THE Annual Report of the Courts Service shows that Waterford’s District Court heard mainly cases about road traffic offences and that in 2007 the majority of them were struck out.

Statistics issued show that 6,094 road traffic cases came before the District Court, with 3,438 (just over 56%) of them being struck out

You've done a lot of research there, now what are the statistics on how many of these were struck off because of some smooth talking solicitor? I guarantee you that would account for a large number, Gardai aren't solicitors and they get as much abuse on the stand as defendants, being made look foolish at every opportunity.

Solicitors feel big for it though I'm sure.

You've done a lot of research there, now what are the statistics on how many of these were struck off because of some smooth talking solicitor? I guarantee you that would account for a large number, Gardai aren't solicitors and they get as much abuse on the stand as defendants, being made look foolish at every opportunity.

Solicitors feel big for it though I'm sure.
    Its from an old thread if you check it out

But no thats not what happens at all.

Gardai in alot of stations are expected to have so many summonses per month. It varies from station to station.

Go out and investigate an assault and you might be several weeks chasing up people, taking statements, interviews maybe even an identity parade. End result of the work is at most a handful of summonses often only one or two summonses.

Go out and do a checkpoint or two on the week of nights and you can stop people and demand that they produce their driving license and insurance within 10 days at a station of their choice. They produce and you issue a summons anyway. After all when the court date comes you can strike it out.

I recommend if you doubt me at all to go to your nearest district court and sit in.

Management does not care about court case results but in the numbers of summonses on pulse:
    End result is Gardai being promoted and moved to preferable units (DDU, compol or Traffic) because of their trojan work issuing summonses, Gardai disinterested in regular policing duties because they wont yield them any results. Gardai kicking what they can to touch they will literally bluff people.

Gardai can be tax collectors with moral authority if they take cuts but without cuts they will lose credibilty.
    prinz wrote: »
    So take it up with the Department/government, the gardaí don't choose to do it by themselves. What all this has to do with pay and allowances is....uhm nothing.
    ^^ It has everything to do with it because they choose to tax collect over real investigative policing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭tracekins

Do you know that Gardai in some stations have to get (varies from station to station) a number of summonses a month?

Who told you that interesting fact?? Funnily being a member myself I have never been told by anyone in my station that I needed x amount of summonses a month!!! Very strange altogether!!!

Gardai do not walk by crime and do nothing, at all times in every district there are uniform and plain clothes gardai doing great work. Alot of this goes unnoted by members of the public. But we do it regardless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Have you been in the courts are you a mule yourself?

Yawn.....That, sir, is the vocabulary of a disgruntled ex-er. Get off the stage, you've (ahem) made your point. You're actually getting boring now. Have you nothing else to do with your life than troll around every forum on this site. You're even trying to hijack the ES site now. There are other problems facing this country other than alleged millionaire fat cat Gardai you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Just that one

goes on everywhere:
    ALMOST half of all road-traffic prosecutions taken by the gardaí to Carlow District Court in 2007 were thrown out of court.

A TOTAL of 2,692 road traffic offences were dealt with by judges in County Roscommon

In many cases it is the laws fault, not the Guards.

That is a big reason there'll be a delay in introducing the new alcohol limits. They know any technicality will be challenged and blame the solicitors all you want, hell even the Guards do it, it's the "cute hoor" who will not accept he is at fault who is the problem.

There isn't a tradition in this country of saying "hands up, I got caught".

The example of no road tax proves it. Whether you agree with it or not, thems the rules. You aren't above the law, no matter how stupid you think the law is.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Cutting Garda pay will do nothing to get us out of the mess that this government has gotten us into.

Oh but my friend your most definetly wrong cutting Garda pay would do alot to help us get out of this mess

€940m Total Garda Pay Bill

€643m regular pay

€217m for allowances

€80m for overtime

Lets cut allowances for the craic. WOW the country has saved €217m that might come in handy to pay disabilty benefit or save us cutting the old age pension or taking medical cards off people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,507 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Just that one

goes on everywhere:

Did you not get the responses you wanted when you posted that sh!te last year or do you just like reading your own old posts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

the majority worked the system guards, prison wardens, all public servants , wages allowances sick days blah blah blah I have worked for the public sector as an outside contractor it was fkn mindnumbing to see some of these guys in action,beat all I had a guy ring me one day to say I was doing some of their guys out of work,so after explaining my position to him about trying to run a business I said I was so busy at the time that anyone losing a job should give me a shout as I was up the walls..........needless to say no-one called

its just now the system is about to bite back, like it or lump it, get on a plane and leave if you can't hack it or if you can find something better,all the yap makes no difference,same as the private sector overpricing work as there was a glut of it, its gone stop moaning about it, everyone is going to take a hit,allowances and sick days being used up,cervical cancer situation etc. yada yada yada......it's time for an overhaul

If I was < 30 I'd be out of here so fast

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

+4,162 Rent Allowance
    +shift
    +overtime
    +god knows what else
    = 38,767euro ++++++++

Thats the issue:

What do you work at yourself? Great thing about these forums is that people can hide behind their computer screens with their greivences and attack other groups for various reasons often not obvious, very often in the case of Gardai the people who do so have agendas and many have been convicted of offences in court by Gardai so its probally more about payback than garda allowences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

And here was my reply to your post

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=57020410&postcount=32

Just that one

goes on everywhere:

TheNog wrote: »
    Ok I see the point you are trying to make here but if you read all the newspaper reports that you have kindly provided links for us you will see that no where is it mentioned that any summons or charges were struck out or dismissed due to the fault of the Gardai.

What could happen in court

1. is if the Judge feels that the Garda evidence is not strong enough then of course the Judge will strike it out but honestly I have seen very few of them. It does happen on occasion but we are only human and do make mistakes.

2. a person is facing many charges/summons and the judge convicts on the more serious charge and dismisses the rest. Example I had a case where I arrested a man for drunk driving, dangerous driving, no insurance, failing to produce insurance, no licence and failing to produce licence. That man was convicted of drunk driving and dangerous driving after he pleaded. I requested the judge strike out the remaining charges which was what the judge was going to do anyway. I knew he was going to convicted of two more serious charges so what would be the point to kicking him while he was down. End of the day he was an alright fella and was gonna be disqualified and fined.

3. the judge feels accused gave a reasonable explanation for a silly mistake such as failing to produce and decided to offer the accused the chance to pay into the poor box or donate to charity so as not have a conviction. THis was reported from the Waterford News ( the last link )/

"Innocent people"??? A Garda is hardly going to summons a person to court when he knows in his heart and soul he will not win. The majority of people that are summons to court are for minor traffic offences only. And if all these people that are going to court and annoyed their cases were struck out and wasting their time, why hasn't anyone tried suing the state yet??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

On Deadwood Mountain, we didn't go in for that fancy book learnin' much. Pa reckined, what with the minimal leaving cert and knuckle dragging requirement, me and the other seven Deadwood brothers could mosey on down from the mountain into Templemore and join the poliiiiice.

So there I was, laughing at them fancy city types with their degrees and masters settling for €26k jobs 'cos they thunk the guards was for simple folk like me.

It was fine purdy there too. They gave us food and learned us how to say veh-hicle proper, like. I even shot me some stuff.

Then after we learned to tie our shoe laces, they gave me a hat with a shiny badge on it and i've spent the last few years meeting some mighty fine city folk, what with their drugs and crashin' into trees and suchlike.

Pa sure is mighty proud.

Then my fancy city lawyer cousin told me to read the internet about these allowances. Gosh darn, I feel mighty foolish. I was just happy to get a cap with a shiny badge. Should be mighty grateful, I guess, unlike them other fellers looking for actual money?

Bosco boy wrote: »
    What do you work at yourself? Great thing about these forums is that people can hide behind their computer screens with their greivences and attack other groups for various reasons often not obvious, very often in the case of Gardai the people who do so have agendas and many have been convicted of offences in court by Gardai so its probally more about payback than garda allowences.

As i stated before i work in the Financial Services Industry for multinational not banking or lending before anyone starts sayin i brought down the country

To get my job it required a minimum 2:1 Degree in Finance (3 years training with NO payments of €200 per week to get me through) i have now worked there nearly 3 years

I started on 24k was on this for 1.5years this rose after that time to 26k i recently took what could be called a promotion(more a sideways move) and my income has rose to 29k.

I work overtime everyday, in early in the morning home in the evening stay till after 6 consistently with the odd Saturday thrown in for good measure there is no CULTURE of overtime in my job you do what you have to do to get the job finished (its the same all over the private setor).

I get paid what i get paid every month i know i will have X amount i can't put up my hand and say sure Mickey Joe didn't come in i'll do his shift to earn an extra few bob for my holidays. What i get is what i get.

I have to work till i'm 65 my pension is at the mercy of the markets retire in a good year and i'll be OK retire in a recession and things might be less rosy.

Now contrast that with Garda after 6 years(my 3 years college + 3 years work)

Below from http://www.gra.cc/payscales.shtml

44,744 Basic Pay
    4,162 Rent Allowance
    380 Boot and Uniform Allowance

= €49, 286

My overtime rate at this point is €31.48 per hour worked

I reckon if i do a handy 5 hours overtime a week i can add another €8,184 on to my income

That means a Garda after 6 years can expect €57,470

Then of course there's shift allowance to kick in, retire at 55 10 years earlier then everybody else bla bla bla you get the point

I'm in the productive part of the economy my company makes a profit, they pay tax. I get paid by my company, i pay tax. My tax is used for public services fair enough, good stuff but lets not forget where the money comes from in the first place.

Without me there is no you.

Now look at your salary and allowances do ya think ya might be creaming it a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭Paulzx

As i stated before i work in the Financial Services Industry for multinational not banking or lending before anyone starts sayin i brought down the country

To get my job it required a minimum 2:1 Degree in Finance (3 years training with NO payments of €200 per week to get me through) i have now worked there nearly 3 years

I started on 24k was on this for 1.5years this rose after that time to 26k i recently took what could be called a promotion(more a sideways move) and my income has rose to 29k.

I work overtime everyday, in early in the morning home in the evening stay till after 6 consistently with the odd Saturday thrown in for good measure there is no CULTURE of overtime in my job you do what you have to do to get the job finished (its the same all over the private setor).

I get paid what i get paid every month i know i will have X amount i can't put up my hand and say sure Mickey Joe didn't come in i'll do his shift to earn an extra few bob for my holidays. What i get is what i get.

I have to work till i'm 65 my pension is at the mercy of the markets retire in a good year and i'll be OK retire in a recession and things might be less rosy.

Now contrast that with Garda after 6 years(my 3 years college + 3 years work)

Below from http://www.gra.cc/payscales.shtml

44,744 Basic Pay
    4,162 Rent Allowance
    380 Boot and Uniform Allowance

= €49, 286

My overtime rate at this point is €31.48 per hour worked

I reckon if i do a handy 5 hours overtime a week i can add another €8,184 on to my income

That means a Garda after 6 years can expect €57,470

Then of course there's shift allowance to kick in, retire at 55 10 years earlier then everybody else bla bla bla you get the point

I'm in the productive part of the economy my company makes a profit, they pay tax. I get paid by my company, i pay tax. My tax is used for public services fair enough, good stuff but lets not forget where the money comes from in the first place.

Without me there is no you.

Now look at your salary and allowances do ya think ya might be creaming it a bit

Well with your massive intelligence did it not seem to be a good idea to join the bleedin guards then. You made your choice of career. Nobody forced you into it. Gardai also made their choice and that included the allownaces and salary. Its the new form of begrudgery in this country- public sector begrudgery. Nobody gave a flyin f**k about public sector pensions 4 years ago when their own funds were outperforming anything the public sector could retire on.

Everybody has choices. You made yours

deadwood wrote: »
    On Deadwood Mountain, we didn't go in for that fancy book learnin' much. Pa reckined, what with the minimal leaving cert and knuckle dragging requirement, me and the other seven Deadwood brothers could mosey on down from the mountain into Templemore and join the poliiiiice.

So there I was, laughing at them fancy city types with their degrees and masters settling for €26k jobs 'cos they thunk the guards was for simple folk like me.

It was fine purdy there too. They gave us food and learned us how to say veh-hicle proper, like. I even shot me some stuff.

Then after we learned to tie our shoe laces, they gave me a hat with a shiny badge on it and i've spent the last few years meeting some mighty fine city folk, what with their drugs and crashin' into trees and suchlike.

Pa sure is mighty proud.

Then my fancy city lawyer cousin told me to read the internet about these allowances. Gosh darn, I feel mighty foolish. I was just happy to get a cap with a shiny badge. Should be mighty grateful, I guess, unlike them other fellers looking for actual money?

I think you might be overqualified Deadwood

Paulzx wrote: »
    Everybody has choices. You made yours

Oh but my friend your most definetly wrong cutting Garda pay would do alot to help us get out of this mess

€940m Total Garda Pay Bill

€643m regular pay

€217m for allowances

€80m for overtime

Lets cut allowances for the craic. WOW the country has saved €217m that might come in handy to pay disabilty benefit or save us cutting the old age pension or taking medical cards off people

So firstly you are suggesting that Gardai get absolutely no allowances; no shift allowance for working weekends or bank holidays no? That's something that alomost every private sector worker gets that's on shift. Anyone I know in the private sector that works on the road gets a lunch allowance, but not the Gardai if you've anything to do with it.
    You wouldn't happen to be living in a Charles Dickens novel by any chance?

Also the country needs to make up a shortfall of at least €4billion a year. I say at least because so far this shower we call a government has underestimated, or maybe intentionally sold us short on every figure to date.
    Now you state that you work in finance so I'm sure you're aware that €1billion is a thousand million. So, the €217million that you would take off the Gardai, which would leave them with no allowances at all, would make up less than 1/20 of the overall deficit. Now that's not exactly a WOW moment in my day I have to say. Other than the fact that you now have taken entitlements away from the very people you expect to keep you safe.

Another note, in your last post you, once again, started spouting on about the retiring at 50 as if this is what every single Garda does when you know it's not the truth. Then you put some figures down and came up with the idea that a Garda with 6 years experience would be coming out with €57,470 when actual members of the force have been on here and stated that they get nowhere near that amount.

You've got no argument friend, you're just repeating the same diatribe over and over and ignoring FACTS that don't suit you.

I know a guy with a degree in finance that is working in a large multinational, with 5 years experience that earns in excess of €65,000 a year. Now by your logic that means that everyone with a degree in finance earns that much after 5 years. He pays a large sum into a pension fund, just like the Gardai, so he will be able to retire at a young age. Again by your logic that would mean that everyone with a degree in finance is in the same boat. I can't understand how anyone works past 50, it must be the solicitors and architects and other such suckers.

Finally, the Gardai pay tax too in case you missed that, I thought you worked in finance, so I guess they kind of pay for themselves really. "Without me there is no you", classic, did you get that from your favorite chick flick?

brayblue24, well we know what yo do!!!

Its the i'm alright jack mentality that stikes me with you guys.

Heroes my arse

Your employer is the Irish State, the Irish state is going broke

what do you propose to do then keep borrowing 34bn every year to pay your allowances if you don't take the cut who will - pensioners, school children, the disabled

I would take another tax increase to get us out of this mess. Why won't you's

Your wage level and that of other public servants is not sustainable get over it

Finally, the Gardai pay tax too in case you missed that, I thought you worked in finance, so I guess they kind of pay for themselves really. "Without me there is no you", classic, did you get that from your favorite chick flick?

You don't pay tax its an accounting excerise you do not have any positive effect on the states income tax take.

You get paid from the state coffers you don't get paid 30k from some magical company called Eire and then 6k goes back to the goverment. You get paid 24k from the state.

I work for a company producing goods and services bought overseas by individuals and buisnesses this gives me an income i then pay tax on my income. Net affect the goverment gains X amount in income tax receipts.
    Finally, the Gardai pay tax too in case you missed that, I thought you worked in finance, so I guess they kind of pay for themselves really.

thats one of the most retarded things i've ever seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

brayblue24 wrote: »
    I think you might be overqualified Deadwood
    Maybe so.

I can also do joined up writing, read quietly without moving my lips and cycle my bike really fast. I don't claim allowances for any of those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Dovers

Paulzx wrote: »
    Nobody gave a flyin f**k about public sector pensions 4 years ago when their own funds were outperforming anything the public sector could retire on.

Reference please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭source

deadwood wrote: »
    Maybe so.

I can also do joined up writing, read quietly without moving my lips and cycle my bike really fast. I don't claim allowances for any of those.

Jeebus deadwood you fool, don't you know the "reading quietly without moving your lips" allowance, will if correctly applied for make you a millionare in a matter of months!!!!

I'd be breaking out my 85 if i were you and claim claim claim!!!

You don't pay tax its an accounting excerise you do not have any positive effect on the states income tax take.

You get paid from the state coffers you don't get paid 30k from some magical company called Eire and then 6k goes back to the goverment. You get paid 24k from the state.

I work for a company producing goods and services bought overseas by individuals and buisnesses this gives me an income i then pay tax on my income. Net affect the goverment gains X amount in income tax receipts.

thats one of the most retarded things i've ever seen

If you're going to start calling posters on here retarded you better have some damn good information to back up your claims pal. What is retarded about it?? I would like to point out the idiocy of your argument if I may:

I said that the Gardai pay tax, this is the same income tax you or I pay, therefore it goes to paying the public service bill.

You called this retarded, very strong language there by the way, don't know what the mods would make of it.

You went on about how it's some accounting exercise whereby the Gardai don't pay tax by saying if you get 30k and pay 6k in tax this isn't the case because you just get paid 24k. Now how does that tie in with you nonsense about a Garda with 6 years experience getting €57,470??????? Is that figure not actually before tax????????

So you have pretty much made two conflicting arguments to suit yourself and called me a retard in the process.

What company do you work for, I want to make sure I never do business with them. It's like watching an episode of the apprentice reading your posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Dovers

I said that the Gardai pay tax, this is the same income tax you or I pay, therefore it goes to paying the public service bill.

They should really do a module in Templemore on this to explain to all the mules using diagrams that the net effect for a garda paying tax is a reduction in the garda pay bill.

All the tax paid by all the guards will still leave a deficit to be paid by the exchequer. It will not cover the garda pay bill.

brayblue24, well we know what yo do!!!
    I would take another tax increase to get us out of this mess. Why won't you's

I've never hidden what I do-why would I?

And yes, I would also take another tax incresase to get us out of this mess-like anyone else I wouldn't be happy but I would accept it if it was necessary AND EQUITABLE-and this is where most public sector workers probably come from.

This entire thread only enhances the vile spin that has been put on a public/private divide that did not even exist 12 months ago.

Ultimately, we are all PAYE workers so if the sh*t hits the fan, and it does everywhere at some stage, then yeah, increase the taxes if necessary, but do it fairly at least.

Dovers wrote: »
    They should really do a module in Templemore on this to explain to all the mules using diagrams that the net effect for a garda paying tax is a reduction in the garda pay bill.

All the tax paid by all the guards will still leave a deficit to be paid by the exchequer. It will not cover the garda pay bill.

I don't think there is a single person on here that believes the tax paid by Gardai covers all Garda wages. They'd have to be paying 100% tax for that and I'm sure they don't. I don't think they would need to do a module in Templemore to cover that, it's simple maths.

Either way I've never been to Templemore so I can't say whether they do or don't.

Did you have a point or was it to just see your name on the internet that you posted?

What is retarded about it?? I would like to point out the idiocy of your argument if I may:

They are the public service pay bill!!

Sorry your not retarded i retract that your a very silly boy