Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Miseducation of Jimbo Slice

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Skwaats 'n' sh1t

Power Cleans:
    40kg x5
    60kg x3
    70kg x2
    80kg x2
    90kg x2
    100kg x1
    105kg x1
    110kg x1
    115kg x1
    120kg x0, x1*

Speed Pulls:
    120kg 10x1

Power Jerk:
    50kg x3
    60kg x2
    70kg x2
    80kg x2
    90kg x1
    95kg x1
    100kg x1
    105kg x1
    110kg x1
    115kg 2x0

Front Squat:
    60kg x5
    80kg x3
    100kg x3
    120kg x3
    140kg 3x3

Pulldown Abs:
    warm ups
    plate 12 3x8

Reverse Hypers:
    40kg 4x12

solid sesh today all things considered. Spent 2 hours walking yesterday and was out from 3.30pm til about 2.30am with work, didn't put my hand in my pocket the entire night!! Woke up in ok shape this morning. Very tired now tho.

Pulled the first 120kg PC high enough but didn't commit to the rack. Took it again, caught 4-6 inches above parallel but wasn't tight enough and had to ride it down to a full clean. Gonna work on full cleans for a while going forward!!

The power jerks were good. Locking out a bit better. Was close on both 115's this time.

Front squats were really nice today, still lots there. 145 3x3 next week. All time PR's 150 or 155 x2, so out to break that.

Pulldown abs were good too.

The reverse hypers, as always, felt AMAZING. Keeping intensity low and increasing volume cos I don't wanna wreck Coan-Phillipi.

Decided it's time to kick the diet back into gear in a serious way now and put on a push for <10%. Was planning on a run or circuit or something tonight, remembered I did a 5k a while back and went to check it out. Turns out it was exactly 2 months ago to the day that I did it so I figured that was a sign I should do it again.

Here's the post from 3 August 2009;
    Hanley wrote: »
    5km run - 32mins 27seconds

My one objective today was literally to keep moving. Had 2 unavoidable traffic light stops of 10-15 seconds each, but other than that I went straight thru.

Have to say I'm VERY happy I managed it. 5km is roughly 2.5x longer than I've run non stop in about 4 years!! Average time was 6.5mins per km which is obviously beyond rubbish, but I'm happy enough to take it.

Did the exact same route today. The result....

5km - 27 minutes 35 seconds

That's a 4 minute 52 second PR!!! In other words, it's an improvement of 15%!! Stoked.

More fun in the gym....

Band Pull Aparts:
    monster mini 2x15

DC Shoulder Warm Up:
    2.5kg plates - 3 reps

Pull Ups (on monolift):
    2x6
    1x20

Close Grip Bench:
    60kg x5
    80kg x3
    100kg x3
    110kg x3
    120kg x3
    130kg x2 - grrr!!
    125kg 2x3

Rolling Dumbbell Extenstions:
    20kg 'bells 2x12
    15kg 'bells 2x12

3OH!3 Pulldowns:
    1) Chin Grip
    plate 10 x12
    plate 11 x12

2)Pull up Grip:
    plate 10 x12
    plate 11 x12

One Arm Barbell Curls:
    20kg bar 3x12

CF's Grace:
    60kg clean and jerks - 30 reps for time
    TIME: 2 minutes 26 seconds

Band Pull Aparts:
    monster mini 3x15

Another solid session today.. was feeling a bit rough when I got up after the run and didn't really loosen up til I started doing the pull ups.

The pull ups were done off the support bar on the mono, which is 3 inch box section steel, so a disaster to try and hang onto which makes me all the happier with my performance. I think I was a bit shy of full extension at my elbows for some of the reps but I've a vid I'll post.

The CGBP was nice.. raging I didn't hit 3 on the 130. Thought it was going and then the bar got back outta the groove and it was game over. Knew taking it again was a big ask, so just went for 125 for a couple of sets instead.

20kg's a bit heavy on the rolling extensions I think. I'll stick with it for a few weeks.

Like the 3OH!3 pulldowns... working on just "feeling" it and surpressing my scaps at the bottom of the rep.

The one arm curls were really solid today... dunno wtf was going on!!

Happy with kicking Grace's ass, but disappointed I didn't do it quicker. Feels like I wimped out of a really fast time cos I took too long between some of the reps. I guess the immediate goal's sub 2.15.

120kg Clean (from yesterday):

Grace - 2 minutes 26 seconds:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

i hate you calling that form bad :/ , makes mine look like a pile of crap by comparison, btw check my log please, i need someones input! id say grace was the most sickening thing ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭brutusthebarber

Pull ups on the mono, I've seen it all.

From the looks of the shaking, if you had of fully extended you probably would have lost your grip.

Anyway, fair play.

Feeling the burn.... it's a deep burn. So deep.

Pull Ups:
    3x10 - working on my kip. Still.

DC Shoulder Warm Ups:
    4kg 'bells - 3 reps

One Arm Dumbbell Scap Rows:
    32.5kg 'bells 3x8

3OH!3 Machine Preacher Curls (the one at the door - for my own records):
    warm ups
    plate 25 x12
    plate 30 x12
    plate 25 x12

Sunday's CF main site WOD:
    21-18-15-12-9-6-3
    Power Cleans w/ 45kg
    Hypers
    Sit ups on a hyper bench
    TIME: 10 minutes 19 seconds

Short, sharp and brutal session today.

The kips were ok... got a good rythm going on a few. Dunno wtf is going on with my extenstion, just cannot force my elbows to lock as much as i want :s

Dumbbell rows were tougher this week, I raced thru the first 3 exercises tho in one big giant set pretty much tho so it probably had an effect on em.

I really like the 3OH!3 curls in preacher form, and they work really well on the machine cos you don't have to worry about stabilisation (omfg did I just say that????)

The WOD suuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuucked. Total lung buster. 84 reps of complete and utter hell on each of the exercises. Serious back pump off it too. Hoping it doesn't effect DL'n tomorrow. Had to do it with a fixed 45kg bar so the power cleans weren't great but it got the job done.

Quick bit of home conditioning tonight...

Burpees x10
    Squats x20
    Skip x30

5 rounds in 8 minutes 20 seconds

Boring cardio.....

2.6 mile walk x2: 40-45 minutes each time

Decided to walk to and from work every day as part of my super-cut for the rest of October. Should give an additional 650-700kcals per day burned. Gonna cover like >30 miles a week walking now on top of everything else. I do love my

Coan-Phillipi Week 2 - caffeine fueled deadlifting madness

Power Cleans:
    70kg x3
    80kg x2
    90kg x2
    95kg 2x5

Deadlifts:
    95kg x5
    120kg x3
    150kg x2
    180kg x2
    200kg x2
    *belt*
    217.5kg x2 - Wooooooosh!!

Speed Pulls w/ 60 seconds between sets:
    175kg 8x3

----Start Giant Set (60 seconds between exercises)

SLDL:
    130kg x8

Bent Over Rows:
    85kg x8

Chins - chest to bar:
    bodyweight x8

GM's w/ pause at bottom:
    85kg x8

----End of set (90 seconds between rounds)----

Horrible week in work. 9.5 hour days on average since Monday. In from like 8.45 yesterday, lunch at my desk and finished at 7... Was up at 6.15am today, walked to work, was in and at my desk for 7.45am, 40 minute lunch and left around 6.30pm. Was WRECKED at that stage. Stopped off in Tesco on my way to the gym and grabbed one of their Red Bull rip offs, sugar free like. 30mg of caffeine per 100ml, drank about 600ml and was WIRED. Bouncing around the gym like. And even now 4 hours later I'm still buzz'n :)

The power cleans were fun... was only gonna do 3's, but like I said I was buzz'n. And coulda kept going too...

The deadlifts were SWEET. Was expecting them to be tough, but took a hit of some Tork before the 217 and they flew up. Coulda pulled at least 5, probably more. Feeling confident going into the 232.5kg x2 next week..

Speed pulls were handy this week again.... bounced thru the sets with no problem.

THe giant set had me sweating like a pig :s As I said previously, this cycle's being done entirely strapless in an effort to get my grip up. Hands aren't as tended as last week either which is cool.

Will go +10kg on the SLDL and +5kg on the GM's and Bent Over Rows.

More boring cardio.....

Oh and a 10.5 hour work day, 10 minute lunch break, 4 hours sleep and no food between 2 and 7 cos I was in a meeting.

Off to bench now. Fun!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭mdc5065

120kg Clean (from yesterday):

Grace - 2 minutes 26 seconds:

That's a brutal clean! Any tips on getting past body weight on those? I can't seem to ever go over at any stage.

mdc5065 wrote: »
    That's a brutal clean! Any tips on getting past body weight on those? I can't seem to ever go over at any stage.

It's brutal alright... but not in the good way!!! haha

The biggest thing is going to be your technique really. Best thing ya can do is flick back thru some of my vids and watch em in flow mo, my techniques by no means perfect, but it's come on a lot recently. The big thing that cracked it for me was to start to jump sooner than I thought I needed to, like literally as the bar clears my knees I start to extend.

Vids of ya trying it are about the best way to get feedback tbh!

Chest'n the sh!t outta myself

Incline Smith Bench:
    60kg x10
    80kg x10
    90kg x10
    100kg x7 - :(
    90kg x7

Incline Dumbbell Bench:
    30kg 'bells x10
    40kg 'bells x8, x7

Hammer Strength Bench:
    warm ups
    110kg x8
    100kg x7
    90kg x8

DC Shoulder Warm Ups:
    4kg 'bells - 4 reps

Seated Lateral Raise:
    10kg 'bells 3x12

*supersetted with*

Seated Dumbbell Powercleans:
    7.5kg 3x12

Lying Dumbbell Curls:
    15kg 'bells 3x12

Was totally FUBAR'd after work today and everything else outlined above, oh and did I mention I'm living off lemsip and uniflu too?? Really testing this theory of mine that I'm indestructible....

Bit fatigued on the smith benching today, but at the same time I could feel my chest working harder. I'm not too annoyed with it really as a result.

The dumbbells were grand... had a nice enough groove all the way thru. There's only one 42.5kg 'bell in TF so I'm gonna have to go straight to the 45's next week. Will spend 2 weeks there and take a run at the evil 50's.

HS bench went well... the 110 moved strongly surprisingly. Think I'll push for 115, 105 and 95 next week.

The lateral raise and seated dumbbell powerclean super set SUUUUUUUUUUUUCKS so hard. I was genuinely in a debilitating amount of pain afterwards. Absolutely amazing feeling.

<3 the lying incline dumbbell curls. Kills in all the right places. My biceps have always been at their smallest (all over) but really towards my elbow. And I know you're not allowed target specific parts of a muscle, but my god it tears up that part something fierce!! 17.5's next time.

More boring cardio.....

This. Again.

Off to the gym to do the following;

30 second rope climbs on The Grappler 2
    5 dumbbell snatches per arm w/ 20-25kg 'bell
    8 hanging leg raises
    15 push ups
    10 pull ups

5 rounds for time I think.

This. Again.

Off to the gym to do the following;

30 second rope climbs on The Grappler 2
    5 dumbbell snatches per arm w/ 20-25kg 'bell
    8 hanging leg raises
    15 push ups
    10 pull ups

5 rounds for time I think.

I completely underestimated how difficult that was going to be... shoulda know considering how fatigued and dead I was feeling going in, but goddamnit that was WAY too hard. And I only did;

5 dumbbell snatches per arm w/20kg 'bell
    8 hanging leg raises (feet to bar)
    12 push ups
    10 pull ups

5 rounds in 14 minutes 03 seconds.

I'm disgusted with my effort on the pull ups. Just couldn't get into a groove with em. Struggled to get 10 in a row on the first set. And it got worse from there. 3-2-2-2 on the last round I think. Vom!!

Can someone else please try this and report back with the time it took?? I need to find out whether it was genuinely tough, or whether I just sucked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Kev M

Can someone else please try this and report back with the time it took?? I need to find out whether it was genuinely tough, or whether I just sucked.

I would, but if I get up to the gym @ 8 that only gives me two hours til closing, so I wouldn't have time to complete it!
    When you say hanging leg raise are you talking about the shins right up over your head deal? If so then I wouldn't be getting through 1 round.

edit; yes (feet to bar)... wouldn't be happening!

Kev M wrote: »
    I would, but if I get up to the gym @ 8 that only gives me two hours til closing, so I wouldn't have time to complete it!
    When you say hanging leg raise are you talking about the shins right up over your head deal? If so then I wouldn't be getting through 1 round.

edit; yes (feet to bar)... wouldn't be happening!

Hahaha ledge. Strong abs FTW.

It's actually feet/shins to the bar because I can't hold a full hang position so all the reps are done in a partial pull up position, which is probably why my actual pull ups sucked so bad. But whatever!!

The hanging leg raises will come with a bit of work. Gonna try Podge's sit ups on the decline bench like Kev next time I'm there.

Squatting. Ish.

Cleans - trying to anyway:
    40kg 2x3
    60kg x3
    70kg x3
    80kg x3
    90kg x3
    100kg x2+plop
    100kg x3
    105kg x3
    110kg 2x3

Front Squat:
    70kg x5
    90kg x3
    110kg x3
    130k x3
    145kg x1 - vom

Beltless Squats:
    70kg x3
    100kg x3
    120kg x3
    140kg x3
    160kg x3
    180kg x3

Sin é.

Decided I'm gonna try do some proper cleans for the next while. Was going grand until I caught the 3rd rep with 100kg on my heels and promptly fell back with the weight. I pushed it forwards, it pushed me back and a bruised ar5e and ego followed. Re-did it solidly and kept going. Feeling good thru the rest of them, was gonna go up to 115kg for the final set but decided to just bank it and get 3 more good reps in with 110kg.

There was no one around to spot the front squats and I didn't really feel like pushing anyway so they were crap. PR's only 152 x2 so I'm not miles away.

Decided to get some actual squats in today considering I haven't hit any in like 4+ weeks. They felt grand, groove was ok and strength was just about there.

Wiped after all of that tho so didn't do anything else. Still trying to keep that balance there so my DL training doesn't suffer.

Good to meet ya today man, bit of a cock up on my part that I didn't get to press with ya. I never even knew what that small rack was for downstairs, I would have thought that power rack would be more suited to the floor presses.

I'll floor press next sunday using that though!:D

Good to meet ya today man, bit of a cock up on my part that I didn't get to press with ya. I never even knew what that small rack was for downstairs, I would have thought that power rack would be more suited to the floor presses.

I'll floor press next sunday using that though!:D

Good to meet you too!! That little rack downstairs is awesome for floor presses. nightmare to set up tho... had to rearrange a whole load of stuff for it!!

Tbh when I first seent that little rack someone was using it for curls, never thought it could be used for the floor presses. Must get a better look at it next time.

It does look like a nightmare though, that's why the rack upstairs is handy. Is there not a lot of stuff just crammed down into that corner?

Bench'n

Band Pull Aparts:
    monster miniband 3x15

Floor Press:
    60kg x5
    80kg x3
    100kg x3
    110kg x3
    120kg x3
    130kg x3
    140kg x1
    145kg 3x1

Bench:
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg x5
    120kg x5
    *1 board*
    130kg x5
    *2 board*
    140kg x3
    *3 board*
    150kg x3

Pull ups:
    3x10

Fran:
    21/15/9 45kg thrusters and pull ups off the monolift
    TIME: 4.09 - gutted

The obligatory qualification... I went out to watch Ireland yesterday (the less said the better). Left my house about 6pm, got home around 1.30am so I was tired etc...

The floor pressing was good and solid. Surprised with how well it went. Not sure what my PR is, but I'm not too far away afaik.

The bench build up was cool... my first 2-3 reps on all of the heavier lifts are super solid and then my form just falls apart.

GUTTED with Fran. Tested it today on the spur of the moment, genuinely had no intention of it so I imagine well rested (ie not at the end of a training week, and not after a mad night out) I'd be able to go under 4.

I'll post comments on it when I get the vid up. I'm still FUBAR'd an hour after it :s

Be warned, the last round of pull ups are crap;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

man i am smiling my ass off here watching that!!

Fair play and you know about the chins already

Transform wrote: »
    man i am smiling my ass off here watching that!!

Fair play and you know about the chins already

Thanks!! :D And h aha is that cos you like to see fat bastards suffering, or is it cos ya still have me by over a minute?? :p

Looking back, I’m VERY disappointed at my performance. I quit on so many occasions thru it, just didn’t take the pain and keep going. Like based of bar speed I shoulda finished all my 21 thrusters quicker, there was no reason to drop any of the 15 round, and my 9 was rubbish too.

I coulda hung on for more reps on the 15 pull ups, and the 9 in particular. GUTTED I didn’t get straight thru those cos that woulda took me under 4. I definitely know I can do it now tho.

I was genuinely shattered after it tho, and didn’t feel right for an hour afterwards so I obviously pushed hard. But I only pushed normal person hard. I shoulda dug in deep and just turend off that bit of my brain that tells me when I’m hurting. Dunno why I didn’t. I blame it on the belly full of Weissbeir.

My forearms were destroyed after it. Trying to hold on for the pull ups was near impossible. I literally couldn’t bear the pain in the lumpy bit 4-6 inches below my elbow. Was lying on the floor in agony cos of it. Probably means I’d do better on a straight bar, but why make it easy?? If I can go sub-4 under those conditions, I should be good for better with a proper pull up bar.

Think the quality of most of my pull ups has improved a bit too? I genuinely cannot lock out my arms without fcuking my shoulders up. I dunno whether it’s just cos I’m not keeping them retracted, but it’s like the only way I can get my arms to unlock absolutely fully is if I jerk down on em, which obvs isn’t good. I think the size of my arm probably makes it a bit deceptive too (I know, I know!!).

Trying to decide what to do tonight…. Have some scap work, dumbbell rows and biceps on the cards to be followed by something conditioning orientated. Something’s telling me to try Helen, but I don’t wanna drive all the way to TF Sandyford for it! Might map the outside of TF blanch and bail out the side door to see how it would work there… What’s a good time to shoot for??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Thanks!! :D And h aha is that cos you like to see fat bastards suffering, or is it cos ya still have me by over a minute?? :p

Looking back, I’m VERY disappointed at my performance. I quit on so many occasions thru it, just didn’t take the pain and keep going. Like based of bar speed I shoulda finished all my 21 thrusters quicker, there was no reason to drop any of the 15 round, and my 9 was rubbish too.

I coulda hung on for more reps on the 15 pull ups, and the 9 in particular. GUTTED I didn’t get straight thru those cos that woulda took me under 4. I definitely know I can do it now tho.

I was genuinely shattered after it tho, and didn’t feel right for an hour afterwards so I obviously pushed hard. But I only pushed normal person hard. I shoulda dug in deep and just turend off that bit of my brain that tells me when I’m hurting. Dunno why I didn’t. I blame it on the belly full of Weissbeir.

My forearms were destroyed after it. Trying to hold on for the pull ups was near impossible. I literally couldn’t bear the pain in the lumpy bit 4-6 inches below my elbow. Was lying on the floor in agony cos of it. Probably means I’d do better on a straight bar, but why make it easy?? If I can go sub-4 under those conditions, I should be good for better with a proper pull up bar.

Think the quality of most of my pull ups has improved a bit too? I genuinely cannot lock out my arms without fcuking my shoulders up. I dunno whether it’s just cos I’m not keeping them retracted, but it’s like the only way I can get my arms to unlock absolutely fully is if I jerk down on em, which obvs isn’t good. I think the size of my arm probably makes it a bit deceptive too (I know, I know!!).

Trying to decide what to do tonight…. Have some scap work, dumbbell rows and biceps on the cards to be followed by something conditioning orientated. Something’s telling me to try Helen, but I don’t wanna drive all the way to TF Sandyford for it! Might map the outside of TF blanch and bail out the side door to see how it would work there… What’s a good time to shoot for??
    yes helen is hard if you cant just run - we did it 2 weeks ago using a treadmill and we all went under 10mins but that was using a 20kg kettle bell (supposed to be 24kg).

we are doing this today -

10 rounds of 10 band pulls, 15 thrusters 10-15kg, 20 OH squats (hold the band overhead).

One of my female clients did this in 15.33mins using 6kg dumbbells.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Way to wreck the gaff after the last round of Thrusters.

Transform wrote: »
    yes helen is hard if you cant just run - we did it 2 weeks ago using a treadmill and we all went under 10mins but that was using a 20kg kettle bell (supposed to be 24kg).

we are doing this today -

10 rounds of 10 band pulls, 15 thrusters 10-15kg, 20 OH squats (hold the band overhead).

One of my female clients did this in 15.33mins using 6kg dumbbells.

Fcuk it. I'm doing Murph tonight. It's been 6 weeks. I should probably run it straight thru again for comparisons sake, but I really don't fancy that. Sure fcuk it, I'll do it anyway. Sub 50 or die trying (PR's 53.59)