Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The ten best and worst things about being irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭gavney

2468 wrote: »
    Well first of all he spells his name with a 'G' :) and secondly he played a major role in bringing peace to the north of Ireland.

Oh, that Gerry Adams. Yeah, he's ok I suppose

starn wrote: »
    gavney wrote: »

Its a fair point. But Ive never met a English person or anyone of any other nationality boast about how open welcoming there country is, or how its the land of a thousand welcomes. Ask any tradesman his view on Poles or taxidriver there thoughts on Nigerians and youll find out very quickly how welcoming we are.

You're criticising Tradesmen and TaxiDrivers for being prejudiced, but in the process are being incredibly prejudiced about Tradesmen and TaxiDrivers.

I experienced a couple of racist comments from a Taxi Driver once. And I'm ashamed to say that, in order to avoid awkwardness (and a higher fare) I just agreed with him. But apart from that, haven't had any similar experiences. I tend to have the usual Peter Kay chat - "Busy?" and "What time are you on till?".

A good friend of mine is an electrician- is he therefore a racist?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

amos13 wrote: »
    @ El Siglo

your a bit of an oul misery guts arent ya? ye found fault in nearly everything there!

Listen amos13, you're about 50 years too late for the "dancing at the cross roads", agrarian, "3 R's", Catholic Church dominated, Rule 21 society that has been expounded in various posts in this thread. My pride in being Irish is not based on delusions of ethnic nationalist identity and superiority. There is no set list of things that can be used to describe the best and worst in being Irish, it's a futile excercise of nepotism in gargantuan proportions. The Ireland, whether you like it or not that we're faced with is one of; unemployment, majority with the inability to speak Irish, heterogeneous in both demographics, culture and language, globalised and materialistic, Flo Rida, DeadMau5, Tinchy Stryder, NDubz listening, girls of the playboy mansion watching, Honda Civics with turbos, drug dealing skangers, bottle to the head, stabbing people for no good reason, Jack and Jones wearing little squalid, oil deficient, natural gas depleted, toilet in the Northwest European Archipelago.

I think our friend, Mr. W.B. Yeats summed it up best with September 1913, and it's as applicable today as it was then:

What need you, being come to sense,
    But fumble in a greasy till
    And add the halfpence to the pence
    And prayer to shivering prayer, until
    You have dried the marrow from the bone;
    For men were born to pray and save:
    Romantic Ireland's dead and gone,
    It's with O'Leary in the grave.

Yet they were of a different kind
    The names that stilled your childish play,
    They have gone about the world like wind,
    But little time had they to pray
    For whom the hangman's rope was spun,
    And what, God help us, could they save:

Was it for this the wild geese spread
    The grey wing upon every tide;
    For this that all that blood was shed,
    For this Edward Fitzgerald died,
    And Robert Emmet and Wolfe Tone,
    All that delirium of the brave;

Yet could we turn the years again,
    And call those exiles as they were,
    In all their loneliness and pain
    You'd cry 'Some woman's yellow hair
    Has maddened every mother's son':
    They weighed so lightly what they gave,
    But let them be, they're dead and gone,
    They're with O'Leary in the grave.

Make a note of the bold, because truer words on the subject have never been spoken!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

starn wrote: »

You're criticising Tradesmen and TaxiDrivers for being prejudiced, but in the process are being incredibly prejudiced about Tradesmen and TaxiDrivers.....

With good reason

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/taxi-drivers-are-racially-abusing-colleagues-1092175.html

Taxi drivers 'are racially abusing colleagues'

Saturday September 29 2007

RACIST abuse by taxi drivers against their colleagues is a persistent problem in Drogheda, Dundalk and Galway, according to the National Consultative Committee on Racism and Interculturalism (NCCRI).

The anti-racism body regularly receives complaints from foreign national drivers working in these towns in particular, said director Philip Watt.

And he called on the National Taxi Federation to take the issue more seriously, and take proactive steps to stamp out any racist behaviour within.

Mr Watt made his comments to the Irish Independent after several drivers complained of racist abuse, during a radio discussion on Newstalk 106. One Nigerian taxi driver operating in Louth said he received a death threat from an Irish driver.

Bomb

The man, who identified himself as Buky, told presenter Brenda Power that he was told a bomb would be put in his car. The threat followed an altercation at the rank when an Irish driver skipped the queue.

"We were all there for more than an hour queuing for passengers. I saw one Irish driver pull in front of another car, jumping the queue. So I put my car in front of his. He then opened my car door and said that I should go back to my country.

"He then said he was going to kill me and bomb my car. So I had to call the guards. When they came around, they couldn't really do anything. This sort of thing happens every day."

http://www.tv3.ie/pr_sub.php?type=1&view_pr=37

GOVERNMENT MINISTER CONDEMNS TAXI DRIVERS AFTER TV3 NEWS INVESTIGATION SPARKS RACISM ROW
    fade

TV3 GROUP NEWS RELEASE IMMEDIATE: Tuesday 31st March 2009

GOVERNMENT MINISTER CONDEMNS TAXI DRIVERS AFTER TV3 NEWS INVESTIGATION SPARKS RACISM ROW

Minister for Labour says "Law is Colour Blind"
    Head of Drivers Federation Threatens to Cut of Relations with Cork Branch

The refusal by a group of taxi drivers to accept non-nationals into their union has been condemned by a Government Minister.

Minister for Labour Billy Kelleher TD was responding to a TV3 News investigation which revealed that the Cork Branch of the Irish Taxi Drivers Federation is not accepting membership applications from non-nationals.

When asked by Southern Correspondent Paul Byrne whether race or colour should play a part in these decisions, he said: "Certainly not. The law is colour blind and there are plenty of laws to deal with that kind of thing."

A number of foreign drivers have told TV3 News that they have been rebuffed in their attempts to join the union. Tensions came to a head on Monday when many crossed picket lines during a twenty four hour national work stoppage by drivers.

They say it is offensive and not good for working relationships.

Michael Akinsanya, a driver originally from Nigeria, said: "For now, they said we should not take coloured people. We are not here to fight, we are here to work. We are all human beings."

Fellow driver Kelly Kelani, also from Nigeria, said: "On Monday they asked us not to work. Fine, but then when we went to the union they refused us."

Local Branch Secretary Derry Coughlan confirmed that membership is only open to Cork drivers. He said "The policy was enshrined in the branch's constitution".

John Ussher, head of the national Irish Taxi Drivers Federation, also condemned it. He said: "If foreign nationals are not allowed to join then I will have to review our situation and working relationship with the Cork Association."

A good friend of mine is an electrician- is he therefore a racist?

As is a good friend of mine and he is increadibly racist. As are his work mates. I also know a few snaggers, plasters, painters and labourers and they are all exactly the same

• Registered Users Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

The worst thing about being Irish is going to America and listening to, "Oh wow, you guys are Irish! Awesome! My family are actually originally from Cork, you know it?!" :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Novella wrote: »
    The worst thing about being Irish is going to America and listening to, "Oh wow, you guys are Irish! Awesome! My family are actually originally from Cork, you know it?!" :mad:
    Yeah.Why would they admit their families from cork :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Yeah.Why would they admit their families from cork :mad:

EXACTLY!!!!!! Fools!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Anonomyte

Sure the women love the accent

@starn

Wow! I'm quite taken aback by those links. Makes for quite shameful reading. Touche!

However, I'd love to know if that's something specific to Irish taxi drivers and tradesmen, or is it the same with taxi drivers in say Britain? I'm not trying to dig myself out of a hole btw ( I concede defeat on this part of the discussion!)- I'd just be interested to know

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Sir Molle wrote: »
    GAA is shite.

At least it's Irish "shite". I suppose in your book it's far more intelligent to be glued to the TV every night watching complete and utter commercialised shi te straight from mother England.
    The amount of absolute bullsh it on the TV and in papers every single day about soccer is breathtaking. English and wannabe English shi tehawks blathering on about something which is completely and utterly pointless, contrived, market-orientated and devoid of community values.

In contrast to your beloved English soccer on your beloved television set, the GAA gives something real, something that is ours, back to every community in Ireland. It supports this state, this political system and thousands upon thousands of Irish business people in towns and villages across this island who benefit from the huge crowds who attend matches. It supports families and it honours families particularly when there is a tragedy. It keeps communities together. It adds something real (look that word up)to our cultural life, our community, our economy - something that all you wannabe English soccer heads clearly don't know your arse from your elbow about.

The GAA is easily the most progressive and dynamic organisation Irish society has produced in the past century. No voluntary organisation in this country has given so much back to local communities. It's sheer bitterness, and not a little undereducation, to contend that what the GAA does is "shite".

• Registered Users Posts: 55,049 ✭✭✭✭walshb

But you can hardly be proud that you are Irish if you were born here. That's like saying that you're proud of having 8 fingers and 2 thumbs.

Well, prouder than if I had no fingers or thumbs...

I am proud of the Irish easy going nature and general friendliness...

Rebelheart wrote: »
    At least it's Irish "shite". I suppose in your book it's far more intelligent to be glued to the TV every night watching complete and utter commercialised shi te straight from mother England.
    The amount of absolute bullsh it on the TV and in papers every single day about soccer is breathtaking. English and wannabe English shi tehawks blathering on about something which is completely and utterly pointless, contrived, market-orientated and devoid of community values.

In contrast to your beloved English soccer on your beloved television set, the GAA gives something real, something that is ours, back to every community in Ireland. It supports this state, this political system and thousands upon thousands of Irish business people in towns and villages across this island who benefit from the huge crowds who attend matches. It supports families and it honours families particularly when there is a tragedy. It keeps communities together. It adds something real (look that word up)to our cultural life, our community, our economy - something that all you wannabe English soccer heads clearly don't know your arse from your elbow about.

The GAA is easily the most progressive and dynamic organisation Irish society has produced in the past century. No voluntary organisation in this country has given so much back to local communities. It's sheer bitterness, and not a little undereducation, to contend that what the GAA does is "shite".

It's that sort of arrogance about GAA which turns alot of people off it. Look, it's sport, just like any other. Some people find soccer more entertaining, and yeah it's partly because it's shoved in your face no matter where you go. But, it's just a more popular sport.

Ok, I accept that GAA isn't sh*te. In fact, I love hurling. The final today was fantastic. And I think that the committment of the players is absolutely incredible, and a reason to make me proud of being Irish.

I find the bull**** that goes which soccer annoying too. But just as annoying is the "our sport is REAL, yours isn't" crap that goes with GAA

You're really not making GAA more attractive sounding by telling people they should watch it or otherwise there a sell-out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

@starn

Wow! I'm quite taken aback by those links. Makes for quite shameful reading. Touche!

However, I'd love to know if that's something specific to Irish taxi drivers and tradesmen, or is it the same with taxi drivers in say Britain?

I think its just something "specific" to Irish people in general

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,133 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

the worst thing about being irish is definately knowing the eejits that are representing our country overseas.

what about this stuff though? Taxi Drivers going around with "British taxi driver" bumper stickers

http://www.thenorthernecho.co.uk/news/1264166.british_taxi_stickers_are_racist_says_cabbie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 REAL LIFE HOOD

In Ireland Mr. Mackowiak would be fine because I distinctly remember some bigot taxi driver saying on a TV3 Report ''we don't mind other Europeans coming here, its them we have a problem with'' Could have been a scene from that District 9 movie.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

What's with the obsession with Tayto?
    It's gone to sh1te, it's a load of bollix nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

So I'm listening to some radio station the other day and they're getting people to text in the best things about being irish. And I come onto boards.ie today and read some threads giving out stink about us, our government, our "moaning" etc so I'm thinking, who's doing the bloody moaning here? In the pub last week while discussing the upcoming GAA finals someone mentioned they were proud to be irish and someone else asked "why?". So go on, give me some reasons why your proud to be irish or not. I for one love our culture and I regularly holiday both in ireland and abroad so I believe I can draw up some comparisons which work in our favour.

I holiday every year if I can in Killarney, Kerry. Has to be in the top ten most beautiful places on earth. Check it for yourself in May when the rhododendrons bloom. Of course you only have to look at sports of different nations to realise why you should be proud of our national games.
    Ours require athleticism, skill and bravery.

I am Irish an bluddy lucky to be born here. Thing I hate about this place is
    people who hang their head low when they talk about their country or religion. Man up men! Or eh.... women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

One of the worst is smug and superior native Irish speakers (which appears to be a lot of them), bloody Blaaaawhnadge Ni *illegible mucous-y noise*, GTFO.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    What's with the obsession with Tayto?
    It's gone to sh1te, it's a load of bollix nowadays.

True dat. Bought a packet during the week and dumped most of them, they were absolutely disgusting and far too greasy to boot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Alexl

Being born in australia but having lived here for 11 years will give me a slightly different view to most of you.
    Things to be proud of
    1) Retaining the Irish Language
    2) GAA Sports
    3) Free Fees scheme, realising importance of education
    4) Strong sense of family and heritage
    5) Unarmed Garda force, go to serbia or jamaica and then you;ll be happy for an unarmed force.
    6) Bringing in smoking ban first
    7)Natural beauty, kerry/mayo/donegal etc.
    8) Rise out of poverty, not as impressive now, but we're nowhere near being a developing country, as we once were
    9) Irish Pubs, few pubs across the world retain the same feel as an Irish pub (in rural Ireland, not Majorca or spain), ignoring the alcoholics, I suppose Guinness can come under this heading too.

Reasons why I'm not proud of Ireland
    1) Harsh treatment of foreigners, being a blow-in I can vouch for this myself, despite everyone here going on about how Irish people are so welcoming, it's complete bollix in regards to foreigners.
    2) Government/Banks (read: Brian Goggin)
    3)Binge drinking, mainland europe doesn't have anywhere near the same problems we do with underage (or overage bingers)
    4)Up until very recently, the effectively non-existent separation of church and state, especially with regards to education.
    5)Overly crazy obsession with national pride
    6) General laziness, "sure it'll be grand"
    7) Compete lack of culinary prowess
    8) health system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭scubakid

And Galtee sausages....sweet sweet Galtee..........
    Galtee isn't Irish.. Used to be once upon a time until Hinchy wrecked Mitchelstown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 REAL LIFE HOOD

Alexl wrote: »
    Being born in australia but having lived here for 11 years will give me a slightly different view to most of you.
    Things to be proud of
    1) Retaining the Irish Language
    2) GAA Sports
    3) Free Fees scheme, realising importance of education
    4) Strong sense of family and heritage
    5) Unarmed Garda force, go to serbia or jamaica and then you;ll be happy for an unarmed force.
    6) Bringing in smoking ban first
    7)Natural beauty, kerry/mayo/donegal etc.
    8) Rise out of poverty, not as impressive now, but we're nowhere near being a developing country, as we once were
    9) Irish Pubs, few pubs across the world retain the same feel as an Irish pub (in rural Ireland, not Majorca or spain), ignoring the alcoholics, I suppose Guinness can come under this heading too.

Reasons why I'm not proud of Ireland
    1) Harsh treatment of foreigners, being a blow-in I can vouch for this myself, despite everyone here going on about how Irish people are so welcoming, it's complete bollix in regards to foreigners.
    2) Government/Banks (read: Brian Goggin)
    3)Binge drinking, mainland europe doesn't have anywhere near the same problems we do with underage (or overage bingers)
    4)Up until very recently, the effectively non-existent separation of church and state, especially with regards to education.
    5)Overly crazy obsession with national pride
    6) General laziness, "sure it'll be grand"
    7) Compete lack of culinary prowess
    8) health system

On point 3, thats not true

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/aug/16/rome-binge-drinking-street-ban

But on point 1, I completely agree with. The Irish are not really all that welcoming at all, maby to gullible American Tourists who are here for a few weeks but I think the notion of the Irish are very welcoming is a real exaggeration and theres no point continuing with the myth as its a bit embarrassing when you see some of the **** that I haves seen with as you say regards to foreign people who live here. I'm not saying we're the worst and for every xenephobe we have, there is open welcoming people, but the céad mile fáilte is no national trait in the same way the 'ah sure it'll be grand' mentality is.

And number 5 is an interesting point. It probably stems from the fact that the country has a weak history(dominated by a country which is roughly the same size and dominant culture left is that of the same country) so people cling do this idea of national pride in an exaggerated way. Irish identity is often very insecure.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

I really don't see why anyone would be proud to be Irish... There really isn't much we can do better than other countries. Only recently have we had anything above other countries (the economy) and I don't think that was down to our intelligent government or anything.

My opinion:

1) We have bad public transport
    2) We have under-equipped schools
    3) We're over religious
    4) We have a truly idiotic government
    5) We generally lag behind other countries as regards infrastructure (Broadband, 3G, Roads etc.)
    6) We, as a nation, are bad at building (Our architecture is generally either bland, ugly and modern or built by the British and never cleaned)
    7) We never plan for the long-term
    8) The Irish tend to be terribly ignorant, compared to people I've met from other countries (I know that's a generalization but it's the way I see the majority of Irish people)
    9) We are slow to change.
    10) Our healthcare system is in ruins, regardless of the amount of money (which was) available
    11) Personally I find our police force is completely incompetent.

Sorry if my post reeks of despair and hate :D:D:D

EDIT: I also agree with Alexl's 'General laziness, "sure it'll be grand"' point

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭captainspeckle

I really don't see why anyone would be proud to be Irish... There really isn't much we can do better than other countries. Only recently have we had anything above other countries (the economy) and I don't think that was down to our intelligent government or anything.

My opinion:

1) We have bad public transport
    2) We have under-equipped schools
    3) We're over religious
    4) We have a truly idiotic government
    5) We generally lag behind other countries as regards infrastructure (Broadband, 3G, Roads etc.)
    6) We, as a nation, are bad at building (Our architecture is generally either bland, ugly and modern or built by the British and never cleaned)
    7) We never plan for the long-term
    8) The Irish tend to be terribly ignorant, compared to people I've met from other countries (I know that's a generalization but it's the way I see the majority of Irish people)
    9) We are slow to change.
    10) Our healthcare system is in ruins, regardless of the amount of money (which was) available
    11) Personally I find our police force is completely incompetent.

Sorry if my post reeks of despair and hate :D:D:D

EDIT: I also agree with Alexl's 'General laziness, "sure it'll be grand"' point

we also have a load of "moaning michaels". :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

we also have a load of "moaning michaels". :rolleyes:

Touché, but wouldn't you agree that change doesn't happen until people moan?? :D:D

So in a way, I'm saving this country..... and you should be thanking me!! :pac::pac:

Touché, but wouldn't you agree that change doesn't happen until people moan?? :D:D

So in a way, I'm saving this country..... and you should be thanking me!! :pac::pac:

you know what, you are right! thanks a bunch! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

You're really not making GAA more attractive sounding by telling people they should watch it or otherwise there a sell-out

And where, precisely, did I tell anybody that? I didn't say or imply any such thing so kindly stop inventing straw men.

Face facts: the GAA does much more on the ground in local communities across Ireland than any other sporting organisation does. The GAA is much more than a sporting organisation, and you don't need to have a PhD in late 19th/early 20th century Irish cultural history to grasp that.

Rebelheart wrote: »
    Face facts: the GAA does much more on the ground in local communities across Ireland than any other sporting organisation does. The GAA is much more than a sporting organisation, and you don't need to have a PhD in late 19th/early 20th century Irish cultural history to grasp that.

even though i aint a GAA head, you have to admit that in the majority of communities it plays a huge role in creating a sense of pride and belonging for many people. also it keeps lots of kids away from from other less deirable distractions.....

Good
    - Irish people have a wicked sense of humour, you just won't get it elsewhere (although reading this thread made me wonder for a minute)

- We have some of the most stunning scenery anywhere in the world

- Superquinn sausages

Bad
    - We're insular and don't do other languages very well. How many multi-lingual Irish people do you know?

- We have a huge drink problem. We spend an inordinate amount of money and time on alcohol and non-drinkers are regarded with suspicion. We moan about hospitals and waiting times yet a quarter of all A&E admissions are alcohol-related.

- We kinda just need to grow up a bit. Rampant consumerism has come back to bite us and now we're like the spoilt child who's got a slap on the arse.