Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The ten best and worst things about being irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭gavney

Rebelheart wrote: »
    And where, precisely, did I tell anybody that? I didn't say or imply any such thing so kindly stop inventing straw men.

Well what the hell did you mean to imply when you say "watching complete and utter commercialised shi te straight from mother England"

and "and wannabe English shi tehawks blathering on about something which is completely and utterly pointless, contrived, market-orientated and devoid of community values."

I mean, fair enough, you like GAA (so do I) but why do you have to attack soccer in the process? It IS possible to enjoy both you know.

Face facts: the GAA does much more on the ground in local communities across Ireland than any other sporting organisation does. The GAA is much more than a sporting organisation, and you don't need to have a PhD in late 19th/early 20th century Irish cultural history to grasp that.

I never disputed that.

Good

- Superquinn sausages

-

+1. Can't believe I didn't think of that!
    non-drinkers are regarded with suspicion

Yeah, that bothers me. I drink regularly myself, but I hate criticism of people that don't.

At the same time, if you're going out for a BIG drinking night, someone whose not drinking at all can be kinda annoying- you feel like you have to stay sober so that they won't be isolated. Anyway, I don't know why any sober person would want to hang out with a bunch of drunken louts- I know I wouldn't!
    We kinda just need to grow up a bit. Rampant consumerism has come back to bite us and now we're like the spoilt child who's got a slap on the arse.

Yeah, well said

• Registered Users Posts: 956 ✭✭✭steve_

one thing i dislike about being irish is having a ginger beard even though my hair is brown!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Alexl

That just says Italians are starting to get drunk, wheres the violence, where's the puking??????
    I still disagree with you,
    After luxembourg, we're the worst!!!!

http://www.gadling.com/2007/06/12/which-country-drink-the-most/
    http://forum.ebaumsworld.com/showthread.php?t=206928
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beer_consumption_by_country
    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/22043142/

THank you for input though, very enlightening with regards to national pride, is just strikes me, that if I mention Dev around some people they will actually spite me, wierd stuff!!!!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

gavney wrote: »
    Well what the hell did you mean to imply when you say "watching complete and utter commercialised shi te straight from mother England"

and "and wannabe English shi tehawks blathering on about something which is completely and utterly pointless, contrived, market-orientated and devoid of community values."

I mean, fair enough, you like GAA (so do I) but why do you have to attack soccer in the process? It IS possible to enjoy both you know.

Given that the people who attack the GAA, such as the earlier character, are invariably dedicated followers of fashion, the latest being watching British soccer on Sky, then it is right to attack that culture and the values which underpin it, namely commercialism = cosmopolitan and the GAA = voluntary = backward. It all comes down to their pseudo-intellectual prejudice where anybody playing soccer is apparently "cool" and anybody playing Irish sports is not "cool". Indeed make that British soccer because the same people frown upon Irish soccer.

I don't care if they never watch a football or hurling match. What I will not accept is when they claim the GAA is shi te - as that character did - when their alternative "sport" is merely a business model which gives nothing back to local communities in Ireland. I can't abide soccer on TV because it reached saturation point many years ago. It's braindead. I can't enjoy a quiet pint in an Irish pub on even a mid-week night without it blaring in the background.

Even if these soccerheads supported a League of Ireland soccer team or a Spanish, German, French or Argentinian team that would be admirably independent-minded. At the moment they are falling over themselves to fit in, to conform, to be able to talk shi te with colleagues and the like. Slavishly depressing for a crowd who like to think of themselves as intellectually more sophisticated than GAA supporters. Give me the "boggers" over these insecure Dublin knackers supporting a business but convinced they are supporting a sport.

Given that the people who attack the GAA, such as the earlier character, are invariably dedicated followers of fashion, the latest being watching British soccer on Sky, then it is right to attack that culture and the values which underpin it, namely commercialism = cosmopolitan and the GAA = voluntary = backward. It all comes down to their pseudo-intellectual prejudice where anybody playing soccer is apparently "cool" and anybody playing Irish sports is not "cool". Indeed make that British soccer because the same people frown upon Irish soccer.

I don't care if they never watch a football or hurling match. What I will not accept is when they claim the GAA is shi te - as that character did - when their alternative "sport" is merely a business model which gives nothing back to local communities in Ireland. I can't abide soccer on TV because it reached saturation point many years ago. It's braindead. I can't enjoy a quiet pint in an Irish pub on even a mid-week night without it blaring in the background.

Fair enough, someone said GAA is sh te, you didn't like that, you responded cause you're passionate about it. But you responded with a much more scathing criticism of other sport.

You said that there's this prejudice that anyone playing soccer is "cool" and anyone not playing it is "uncool". Fair enough, I'm sure some people are arrogant about being soccer fans over GAA. But you're giving me the impression that you're prejudiced towards Irish people following the Premiership, and consider them "uncool", or "unIrish" because they're following a sport that's commercialized (and it's an impression that I've gotten off a few other GAA fans in the past). I mean, I don't enjoy soccer matches cause SkySports spends a week overhyping a match. That's one thing I hate about soccer. I also think that the players are way overpaid, and alot of them are complete whingy spas. But I still enjoy watching them play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭Dr Kamikazi

Going to a Premiere League soccer match would be fun, where else can you shout abuse and boo at millionaires?
    I seriously believe soccer players are nothing but overpaid ballerinas with a mental age of about 6.
    They are the most pointless celebrities on the entire planet and I include Jade Goody in that.
    They should all take up acting, so much diving and now special effects, like fake blood!
    There should be no red cards, just Oscars being awarded to the best performance.
    Big girls blouses, as soon as the breeze of another passing player catches them, they immediately fall down, clutch their leg and scream like a little sissy girl.
    Even though I'm not a fan of the GAA either, it's preferable.
    Those guys can take a hurley to the face, half their ear is ripped off and they'll go on playing.
    At least GAA is not played by 6 year old girlie boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Reindeer

Novella wrote: »
    The worst thing about being Irish is going to America and listening to, "Oh wow, you guys are Irish! Awesome! My family are actually originally from Cork, you know it?!" :mad:

The funny thing is you've only got the Irish to blame for that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭John-Holmes

I love the GAA!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

it rains 225 f****in days a year

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭murf313

im proud to be irish, especially while serving with the defence forces overseas.
    its great to see irish lads with the tricolour on their arm in less fortunate countries than our own, showing compassion and a skill to be peace keepers that other nationalities dont seem to have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

The best things are the people, our history, our culture and the beauty of our country. The worst things are our insular nature and the damage that colonization and religious indoctrination has done.

Im an extremely proud irishman and wouldnt want to be any other nationality. Especially considering our history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 mango85

I am so proud to be Irish, Ive done a good bit of travelling in the last 5 years to the States,Oz,Asia,a few countries in Europe etc and every country that Ive been living in abroad Ive had one of those moments where I think '**** I am so happy,proud and grateful to be Irish'. I am proud because as a nation we are (majority) honest,kind,funny,lovely up for the craic and intelligent people. There are so many reasons..the main one I think is that we are genuinely I think the soundest and most decent people in the world, we're down to the earth and kind and great craic. In my experience we make great friends/spouses/siblings etc and we really look after each other. If I had the choice I would pick to be born Irish every time, I think we are such a gorgeous race of people. No matter where you go in the world the Irish are loved which is no coincidence! I love our country and feel so lucky to have grown up here!! Eireann..an tir is fearr sa domhain..FACT! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 legsXI

Okay so best things about being Irish:

1) Manners.
    We are so apologetic, did you ever notice that? "Sorry luv didint mean ta spit on ya taut da wind was goin d other way"

2) Amenities.
    We have 345 golf courses but only 51 public hospitals. Hmmm.

3) Performing Arts.
    We can proudly say Westlife and Chris de Burgh are our homeboys.

4) Landmarks.
    €4.8million spent on the Spire which looks like a giant needle perhaps symbolic of the 13,000 heroin addicts in Dublin who have extremely limited services available to them.

5) Language.
    Feck and ****e are great versatile Irish words.

6) Education.
    Great support for the Irish language in the school system and advantages for students who do their Leaving Cert through Irish. Great for all those who attend posh South Dublin Gaelscoils and whose parents can afford to ship them off to the Gaeltacht every summer.

7) Excuses, excuses.
    I heard (from someone who studied sociology) that the Irish don't have a problem with race differentials but we have a problem with cultural differentials. So we're not technically racist... thats a relief.

8) Healthcare.
    The proposal of introducing a nationwide free vaccination against cervical cancer for young girls was rejected. Now if it had of been against pr**k cancer it might have been a different story...

9) Transport.
    Malahide bridge collaspe, Luas crashes into bus...hasn't been a good couple of weeks. On a better note Irish entrepreneur in the aviation industry, Michael O'Leary, is on the ball and full of innovative and interesting ideas:
    "In economy no frills; in business class it'll all be free - including the blowjobs." (2008)-The Ryanair chief's plans for a transatlantic service. What a legend.

10) Politics.
    Anyone else notice Dublin Council Staff taking down lisbon 'vote no' posters. It's great to live in such a democratic country.

and just in case your wondering I'm Irish born and bred I even have an Irish name... and freckles :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

I'm over in the UK and whilst I have had some negative comments from people about my nationality the majority has been positive. #
    People tend to tell their family history and memories of Ireland and Irish people they have met and how much they love our nation. These kind of encounters make me happy to be Irish.

Having a corrupt Government and our lack of proper infrastructure in many areas are for me some of the worst things about being Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

I've never understood this proud to be Irish nonsense. How can you proud to be something you had no choice in. Now you can be proud of what the Irish accomplished or if your a non national who takes on Irish citizenship you can be proud to be considered Irish but being proud of the fact that you were simply born here is nonsense.
    But you can hardly be proud that you are Irish if you were born here. That's like saying that you're proud of having 8 fingers and 2 thumbs.

Of course you can be proud of something you're born into/with.
    If say you are born naturally talented at singing,and through your life you achieve great success with it.
    You can be proud of your gift to sing,and also be proud of your achievements that you worked for, because of what you were born with.

So for example,if you can be proud of Ireland's achievements, then you can equally be proud that you were born as a citizen here,otherwise if you hadn't been born here,these achievements wouldn't be your country's to be proud off.

Sorry if I'm not putting my point across very clearly,hard to explain what I'm trying to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Even if these soccerheads supported a League of Ireland soccer team or a Spanish, German, French or Argentinian team that would be admirably independent-minded. At the moment they are falling over themselves to fit in, to conform, to be able to talk shi te with colleagues and the like. Slavishly depressing for a crowd who like to think of themselves as intellectually more sophisticated than GAA supporters. Give me the "boggers" over these insecure Dublin knackers supporting a business but convinced they are supporting a sport.

Wow, that's some knack for contradicting yourself you've got there. Clearly you're just as prejudiced as the previous poster, and are just as culpable for buying into stereotypes and sweeping generalisations.

What is interesting though is the fact that there can be a pretty civilized argument about just about anything, but as soon as it turns to the GAA all hell breaks loose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 REAL LIFE HOOD

judging by this thread we're a fairly arrogant bunch-'best people in the world'..''funniest people in the world(note this has to refer to anglophone world) 'best for the craic' believing in own publicity much? what a load of nonsense.

Well, it has to be said on a good day this country is fabulous. Took the car out today, went to the beach, went for a walk along the seashore (bit nippy for a swim), went on to Lahinch (the Atlantic does fabulous food), home again. Around my area there's plenty of nature walks and great for cycling too. People are easygoing by and large and the country has not yet drowned in a sea of red tape, unlike the UK who will hop onto any PC, Enviro nutjob, namby pamby. health and safety, anti car, anti freedom bandwagon they can find or chase down. The only problem is that if you're elderly or very young, mentally or physically handicapped, seriously ill, in need of an A&E in Kilkee, in need of any type of care, or dependant on any kind of special support for any kind of condition whatsoever, you are basically f*cked. So, I'm not 25 anymore, I want to have kids and my parents are getting on a bit. That means it's time for me to get out, cause this country is only great if you're 20-ish, healthy, have an income of E30k minimum, like the GAA and going to the pub and getting slaughtered. Cause anyone else is just not catered for.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

alot of people in our capital city (alot of very well educated and professional people I might add) drone on about world cultures and far flung places they have been to, when they cannot tell you where other irish counties are on the map. Its really funny.

But thats usually the same for alot of other capital inhabitants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭HereNorThere

Been reading this thread and except for a few things here and there, find that we seem to all be the same in the end.

That being said, just had to say that Ireland is my vacation destination point. If I ever go on one that is! I love the accents, and the green landscapes. It seems God kissed Ireland with that one, cause the bible says that God's own throne is made of Emerald..... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

The best has to be being able to say ''I'm Irish''.

The worst is having nothing to show for it.

Well, it has to be said on a good day this country is fabulous. Took the car out today, went to the beach, went for a walk along the seashore (bit nippy for a swim), went on to Lahinch (the Atlantic does fabulous food), home again. Around my area there's plenty of nature walks and great for cycling too. People are easygoing by and large and the country has not yet drowned in a sea of red tape, unlike the UK who will hop onto any PC, Enviro nutjob, namby pamby. health and safety, anti car, anti freedom bandwagon they can find or chase down. The only problem is that if you're elderly or very young, mentally or physically handicapped, seriously ill, in need of an A&E in Kilkee, in need of any type of care, or dependant on any kind of special support for any kind of condition whatsoever, you are basically f*cked. So, I'm not 25 anymore, I want to have kids and my parents are getting on a bit. That means it's time for me to get out, cause this country is only great if you're 20-ish, healthy, have an income of E30k minimum, like the GAA and going to the pub and getting slaughtered. Cause anyone else is just not catered for.

Post-ironic now.

Some of the best **** ever I read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭I_AmThe_Walrus

There's conclusively nothing to be proud of until those monkeys in Government get a kick in the arse.

There conclusively nothing to be proud of until those monkeys in Government get a kick in the arse.

Sir Digby, in the skys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭I_AmThe_Walrus

Sir Digby, in the skys.

Que?

There's conclusively nothing to be proud of until those monkeys in Government get a kick in the arse.

It is Sir Digby Chicken Caesar. Or very close by. Choob.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Missed this thread, some great stuff on it.

1. GAA
    2. Easy going, make the best of things.
    3. Sense of Humour
    4. Beautiful country, beaches and scenery.
    5. Denny rashers and B & W Pudding.
    6. Barrys and Lyons Tea.
    7. Wonderful writers.
    8. Generally friendly in a genuine way.
    9. Make the best of things and get on with it.
    10. McDaids Banana and Football Special (Donegal thing).

Worst:

1. Tend to go to extremes. Everything was brilliant 5 years ago, we are doomed now!
    2. Begrudgers.
    3. Doomsayers.
    4. FF and anybody but FF'ers.
    5. Non appreciation of how good a country this is.
    6. Recent growth in racism.
    7. Materialism replacing the old religion.
    8. Extreme Republicans.
    9. Celtic shirt wearing Republicans.
    10. Attitude of not paying taxes, doing a nixer is grand and then moaning about politicians.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Extreme Republicaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaans.

Bit over the top.