Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Sweetie-Pie

DK47 wrote: »
    hi sweetie, as for the eyesight, i wear glasses for reading driving ect and cant do without them, but i got it checked and my eye sight will pass, so get it checked out to make sure your sight is bad enough. as for the next recruitment drive, its best you just except it could be 2011 if were lucky, the reserves is a good idea, i'm at the background check stage myself, check out the reserve form, there is some good people on there. :)

Yeah I'm defo gonna go see an optician first and hope for the best. If there's any doubt I'm lucky to have the option of laser... though it's kinda scary the idea of the pain and of course it could go wrong :eek: but i'll try to remain positive nevertheless ha!
    I'd say you were delighted to pass the eyesight DK47!

Well I'm gonna go ahead with applying to the reserves now. It will keep us going for now anyway :)

I want to prepare as much as I possibly can so have a query. One which I already did bring up but didn't really get the answer I was looking for....
    I got English, Irish and 2 other subjects in my LC but I didn't get maths.
    I have a FETAC L 5 and am going into my final year of my Degree -BA (Hons).
    Anyone with personal experience or know of anyone in the same predicament??
    Could I be accepted with those results and go by my degree??
    Or will I have to repeat maths first??
    OMG I cannot stand maths, seriously it is the last thing I would want to have to do...... But if I have to, in order to join the AGS.... I will :(:confused::)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

Yeah I'm defo gonna go see an optician first and hope for the best. If there's any doubt I'm lucky to have the option of laser... though it's kinda scary the idea of the pain and of course it could go wrong :eek: but i'll try to remain positive nevertheless ha!
    I'd say you were delighted to pass the eyesight DK47!

Well I'm gonna go ahead with applying to the reserves now. It will keep us going for now anyway :)

I want to prepare as much as I possibly can so have a query. One which I already did bring up but didn't really get the answer I was looking for....
    I got English, Irish and 2 other subjects in my LC but I didn't get maths.
    I have a FETAC L 5 and am going into my final year of my Degree -BA (Hons).
    Anyone with personal experience or know of anyone in the same predicament??
    Could I be accepted with those results and go by my degree??
    Or will I have to repeat maths first??
    OMG I cannot stand maths, seriously it is the last thing I would want to have to do...... But if I have to, in order to join the AGS.... I will :(:confused::)

There are exemptions for people who have not required a leaving cert. But that is generally for the Reserves only as the age limit is over 35 and many might have grown up at a time when the LC was as important.

No harm in trying tho but if you did go up in Ireland and below 35 don't think an exemption is possible.

There are exemptions for people who have not required a leaving cert. But that is generally for the Reserves only as the age limit is over 35 and many might have grown up at a time when the LC was as important.

No harm in trying tho but if you did go up in Ireland and below 35 don't think an exemption is possible.

Oh no... another year studying! :( Can't take being broke and getting old anymore ha! I'll be 27 by the time Im finished :eek:
    I guess it's a personal achievement I can be proud of though... if I pass it. I'v got a bit more cop on now than I had while in school so please god I can take to maths a bit better than I did then, cos I did find it as difficult as brain surgery!... True Story :P
    I want to join An Garda Siochana more than anything though so I'm going for it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭mufc4lfe

K, Lets put it behind us now.

Besides I heard that they're recruiting tomorrow
    See.....this is exactly my point there seems to be no logical reason to becoming a garda unless you like what I have stated in my previous post lol.

mufc4lfe wrote: »
    See.....this is exactly my point there seems to be no logical reason to becoming a garda unless you like what I have stated in my previous post lol.

There's bucket loads of logic. Now there's no logical reason in posting on this Thread at 3 o'clock in the morning on a bank holiday weekend. Hope it doesn't worry you that much.

Oh no... another year studying! :( Can't take being broke and getting old anymore ha! I'll be 27 by the time Im finished :eek:
    I guess it's a personal achievement I can be proud of though... if I pass it. I'v got a bit more cop on now than I had while in school so please god I can take to maths a bit better than I did then, cos I did find it as difficult as brain surgery!... True Story :P
    I want to join An Garda Siochana more than anything though so I'm going for it!!!

if it's just maths you need you can just apply for it as an external student. All you need to do is pay the fee on time and you'll be assigned to a local school to sit it on the day.

You can get past exams on examinations.ie,, this site provides a record of past papers for leaving cert subjects, and with a subject like Maths where there's a set answer, you can check the examiners correction sheet aswell to see a breakdown of the marking system

what they take marks for.
    what a perfect answer looks like.
    what to write for attempt marks

If your finding ''ordinary'' to much to try teach yourself, you could just drop to foundation.

I did foundation last year, had been out of school for a few years, i only spent a few nights on that site and i got a B2, and i was worrying i might even fail the second paper(as i couldnt get my head around a few of the Q's).

So if you put more effort in then the few hours i did I'm sure you could easily take the pass paper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭dentalnurse

hi, im currently waiting on background checks for the reserves.
    I failed maths for the leaving and got an exemption (as you need foundation level B3).... I decided to go back and repeat the maths this year, i think more than anything thats why they gave me the exemption, anyway, im awaiting my LC results and am almost certain iv failed!!! i thought because im older now and more focused on what i want id do the maths and pass... i just realised i did my best in school and maths just isint for me, i dont have a head for sums.... i hated every minute of maths this year and it was only 2 hours a week!!!! so now im a stone throw away from the reserves, sure i failed my maths and all i want more than anything is to be a guard!!!! there has to be a way around it, there just has to be!!!!! so apply for the reserves while ur repeating you'll get the exemption!! and if u dont get the maths pray with me!!! but im sure u have a better brain for maths than me!!! lol :D

Thanks gilberto eire and dentalnurse for the encouraging words. You both obviously have worked hard to get where you want and I hope it all works out for you :)
    I know what it feels like to have all these hurdles to get around, just to get the dream job.
    Maths is one of my hurdles and also my eye-sight... update today... my eye-sight is an even bigger problem than I previously thought. :(
    I went to see an optician today to get a full eye-test and her opinion on if I would pass the medical. Her hopes for it were dim :(
    My left eye is lazy. I have blurry vision in it but my right eye is perfect.
    I can see just perfect without glasses or contact lenses like.
    She said I would be tested in two ways in the medical, how my sight is without glasses and how it is with glasses. My sight without glasses is way below the requirement and with glasses is just about cutting it.
    I asked her if laser surgery would correct it and she advised me that my sight can only be improved a certain amount and she doesn't think laser surgery will bring it up to the required standard either.
    She was brutally honest with me and said that I should look into other job avenues.... I am so upset about it cos if there was 'anything' I had to do to get in, I would! but this is out of my power :mad:
    I will go get a consultation with a laser surgeon anyway for one more bit of hope and see what they say....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 wetgarden

I've a question about recruitment for the fulltime Garda.

I'm 33 and will be 34 in November. I'm thinking of applying for the full time force if/when they start to recruit again. I did apply to the Reserves, was successful but decided not to go to templemore in the end. I would have used this as a stepping stone. However with all the negative talk about the reserves etc. I changed my mind.

I know I should have applied for the fulltime position before this but with college, work, life, etc. I never did.

I know the age limit is 35, but does anyone have any idea as to when they might possibly lift the recruitment ban (maybe before I'm 35!!). If I was 35/36, would this be an issue or would I be entitled to apply. I know you have to serve 30 years.
    Is it too late for me?

I would be grateful for any feedback on this, maybe from some full time members also as I have a great interest in this profession.

Thanks guys
    :D:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭jt123456

wetgarden wrote: »
    I've a question about recruitment for the fulltime Garda.

I'm 33 and will be 34 in November. I'm thinking of applying for the full time force if/when they start to recruit again. I did apply to the Reserves, was successful but decided not to go to templemore in the end. I would have used this as a stepping stone. However with all the negative talk about the reserves etc. I changed my mind.

I know I should have applied for the fulltime position before this but with college, work, life, etc. I never did.

I know the age limit is 35, but does anyone have any idea as to when they might possibly lift the recruitment ban (maybe before I'm 35!!). If I was 35/36, would this be an issue or would I be entitled to apply. I know you have to serve 30 years.
    Is it too late for me?

I would be grateful for any feedback on this, maybe from some full time members also as I have a great interest in this profession.

Thanks guys
    :D:confused:

You got to be 35 or under when you send in the first application through publicjobs.

You will be ok if there is a recruitment campaign before November 2011.
    I feel bad for those who want to join now and are about to turn 35 or 36. The moratorium means they have missed their chance for good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭jypo

Just read there on another thread that the Defence forces are recruiting again, i visited their webiste and a competition is opening for cadetships. I hope to god this is a good sign for possible Recruitment Campaign for AGS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭shanehillview

heard an unofficial story from a well placed person that a large hospital is to start recruiting for nurses very soon. has to be a good sign.

an bord snip recommended the cuting of the defense force numbers so that proposal must have been ignored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭spudz21

jypo wrote: »
    Just read there on another thread that the Defence forces are recruiting again, i visited their webiste and a competition is opening for cadetships. I hope to god this is a good sign for possible Recruitment Campaign for AGS.

Could be a good sign:D
    fingers crossed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 GoingBk2School

How is it that the army can be recruiting and not the Gards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

saw that

very interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭mufc4lfe

Just to bring all our moods up as we wait for things to pick up.
    What do you think is the best part of being a garda?
    For me......
    1.Respect(well mostly haha)
    2.Wages(just above average but quite good when your willing to put in extra hours)
    3.Being able to help society(cheesy i know:pac::pac:)

come on everyone lets get this rolling....!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Id say the adrenaline and satisfaction when you catch some gouger and get them off the street would be the best part! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

Ummm... They are completely seperate organisations? An Bord Snip Nua is a proposal just a suggestion thats all so far.

There are too many guards at the moment in my opinion. I know a bunch are retiring, but its nothing compared to the loads that McDowell took in the last three years and thats the truth. They will recruit again eventually to keep it going, it has to. Although the intakes will be marginally smaller than before. I dont mean to put a downer on applications but thats reality, yous have to shine when you go for recruitment and on phase 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭dentalnurse

the locust wrote: »
    They are completely seperate organisations? An Bord Snip Nua is a proposal just a suggestion thats all so far.

There are too many guards at the moment in my opinion. I know a bunch are retiring but McDowell took in a heap of new Gardai in the last three years and thats the truth. They will recruit again eventually, but the intakes will be smaller than before.

are you for real???? do you read the papers or watch the news?? there are not enough gardai thats why every day you see murders and gangland crime splashed all over the place. ask any guard u know, they will tell you that their sargents are struggling doing up rotas, there are not enough at all, not by a long shot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

are you for real???? do you read the papers or watch the news?? there are not enough gardai thats why every day you see murders and gangland crime splashed all over the place. ask any guard u know, they will tell you that their sargents are struggling doing up rotas, there are not enough at all, not by a long shot!

Crime is on the up as well so it's needed. As stretched as the government is at the moment they will be even more stretched if they don't do something about Garda numbers now. I know there's still people in the system, but there needs to be a constant stream coming in replacing those going out.

I'm still waiting and I'll wait as long as it takes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

The Locust...Are you hoping to join the Guards?
    My advice is if you're thinking about it don't you'll
    probably fail on a mental assessment!.Why don't you
    pick up today's paper I'm sure you wont read about
    Ireland's well policed Cities,Towns & roads.

I was out for a night out in April of this year in a very
    busy night club in Athlone.Athlone being one of the biggest
    towns in Ireland.One of my mates got into a row with a another
    fella and it kicked off anyway about a half hour later a Garda
    car arrived on sceene.He didn't make any arrests and failed to
    take the particulars properely.Why?.I don't drink at all so I was
    sober.I asked the Guard why He was in such a hurry....He turned
    around and told me we are the only Squad car on duty in Athlone
    tonight.That's about 2 Gardai servin roughly 25,000 people in the
    urban and rural areas' of Athlone.So tell me now is Ireland's Police
    force over strength?.I could bore you with statistics on our
    under strength police force but Im not.

You I'm sure have no statistics or facts to back your statement
    up!.

Um I'm pretty sure The Locust is a member of AGS. Either way hes entitled to his opinion. There was a fairly intense recruitment drive for a number of years when Michael McDowell was minister for justice so the government can swing that to not have to recruit more Guards. In fact they have already said that the Guards are in a good position to take the hit because of the previous accelerated drives. The numbers have improved considerably from what they were. They may drop quickly due to retirements though..

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    The Locust...Are you hoping to join the Guards?
    My advice is if you're thinking about it don't you'll
    probably fail on a mental assessment!.Why don't you
    pick up today's paper I'm sure you wont read about
    Ireland's well policed Cities,Towns & roads.

I was out for a night out in April of this year in a very
    busy night club in Athlone.Athlone being one of the biggest
    towns in Ireland.One of my mates got into a row with a another
    fella and it kicked off anyway about a half hour later a Garda
    car arrived on sceene.He didn't make any arrests and failed to
    take the particulars properely.Why?.I don't drink at all so I was
    sober.I asked the Guard why He was in such a hurry....He turned
    around and told me we are the only Squad car on duty in Athlone
    tonight.That's about 2 Gardai servin roughly 25,000 people in the
    urban and rural areas' of Athlone.So tell me now is Ireland's Police
    force over strength?.I could bore you with statistics on our
    under strength police force but Im not.

You I'm sure have no statistics or facts to back your statement
    up!.

Ruairi you need to relax a small bit I think.
    Locust is a current member of AGS and I'm pretty sure he knows the problems that face them at the present time.

Even if he wasn't a member, I found your post ever agressive and out of order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

An apology is Due to The Locust.I didn't mean to come out
    hot and heavy So Apologies to all.I was just making a point
    and now noted that it was a little over the top.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

Don't worry i'm well used to takin a lot more abuse than someone disagreeing with me! :) It is a discussion board after all, Apology accepted... i pm'ed people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

If the Locust is a member of AGS he's probably just pissd off at overtime cutbacks........
    Bluebell your getting very negative, not like you at all.......
    Dont mind what the government says or thinks, if they where that good theywouldn't have needed McCarty's report to advise them how to do their jobs....and they recommended zero reduction in numbers.
    Dont mind what people say here when they are venting their anger,
    I think the locust is just looking to rise a few people caus something is affecting him with regards another intake ad cutbacks.

Heads up people, it will happen (its not a case of if),:D

We'll all be laughing about this in Templmore soon when we're putting faces to names and quotes in here.

Not being negative at all itsallgood, I'm just trying to be realistic. No point getting hopes up only to be disappointed again. It will happen when it happens and we have no control over it so I'm aiming for early 2011 coz even if there is an intake next year I may not be in it. So 2011 it is, and anything else is a bonus ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

I'm happy to pencil in 2011 and then I'll be pleasantly surprised should anything crop up beforehand. Think people just gotta sit tight for now.

funkyflea wrote: »
    I'm happy to pencil in 2011 and then I'll be pleasantly surprised should anything crop up beforehand. Think people just gotta sit tight for now.

You are right about the sitting tight alright. If you haven't been one of the few called for a medical recently, best bet is to sit tight.
    However for the people with everything done or who were called for a medical, have a right to be optimistic, balls rolling again.
    You shouldn't bring their mood down, just because you are still waiting on the call for a medical.
    Bet if you or belle got the call in the morning, ye be on here, happy as Larry too and all optimistic.

Of course I'd be happy. And I'm delighted for anyone with a medical date. My 'negative' post was simply defending The Locust to say he has a right to his opinion. I also said that the retirements could effect numbers so that could be a good thing for us. I dont begrudge anyone their excitement, quite the opposite in fact. But I personally am not getting my hopes up. The last time I spoke to HR they told me they would talk to me 'in a year or 2'. Im quietly optimistic that it wont be that long but who knows?