Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭mufc4lfe

I am just being curious.This is a genuine question to everyone here.Why do you want to be a garda?Think of all the abuse you'll get,the average wages,the sh^tty working hours.......Well enlighten me people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

You get abuse in every job in the world! I have yet to meet a guard who doesnt love their job. That speaks volumes. Go into the emergency services forum there is a thread on this already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DK47

mufc4lfe wrote: »
    I am just being curious.This is a genuine question to everyone here.Why do you want to be a garda?Think of all the abuse you'll get,the average wages,the sh^tty working hours.......Well enlighten me people.

why do people become teachers, nurses, paramedics or fire fighters. why do people become plumbers, electricians and carpenters. abuse? average wage? working hours? you can apply this to all careers. its not a one answer fits all, everyone has there own reason .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭shanehillview

As a future member of the Garda (hopefully),the question of why people would want to be a garda is avery interesting one.

Personally speaking its a vocation, no person would want to sign up for a job where you're dealing with pure scum 99% of time, rushing to ascene that is probably going to be the worst moment of a persons/families life, a rape, a murder, child abuse, a suicude, the list is endless. Who wants a job where you get crap pay, crap resources, unsocialable hours and no support fom a government who promised the world and delivered nothing but pension / wage and staffing level cuts, and where your every move is watched and scrutised to pick holes in everything you do.

Personally speaking nobody wakes up one day and says i think ill be a gard today, your either born and want to do it from the age of two or you dont, its that simple, and judging from the posts on here people are born wanting to join the gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭michealc_87

As a future member of the Garda (hopefully),the question of why people would want to be a garda is avery interesting one.

Personally speaking its a vocation, no person would want to sign up for a job where you're dealing with pure scum 99% of time, rushing to ascene that is probably going to be the worst moment of a persons/families life, a rape, a murder, child abuse, a suicude, the list is endless. Who wants a job where you get crap pay, crap resources, unsocialable hours and no support fom a government who promised the world and delivered nothing but pension / wage and staffing level cuts, and where your every move is watched and scrutised to pick holes in everything you do.

Personally speaking nobody wakes up one day and says i think ill be a gard today, your either born and want to do it from the age of two or you dont, its that simple, and judging from the posts on here people are born wanting to join the gardai.

Well said shanehillview, couldnt have put that any better myself :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Here Here to shanehillview couldn't of put it ant better myself
    poetic!.To mufc4lfe does the simple fact of actually making a
    positive contribution to society appeal to you?. Well if its
    money that motivates you well you ain't got any business
    of being a Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

shanehillview hit it in one:D nothing more needs to be said. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭badlyparkedmerc

This being born to be a Garda is complete nonsense - it sounds like the "calling" to become a priest.

Does it not sound a teensy bit corny? Is the writer Cecilia Ahearn? Are people supposed to be teary eyed?

There's incredible demand to become a Garda - just check out the boards around here where every nuance of the recruitment process is analysed. Is there any other single profession being targetted by so many people?

Well while some people may well be "born to be Gardai" the reasons so many want to join are probably the same as no one wanting to leave despite complaining about the pay conditions, lack of respect for my "authoritay" etc..

In reality the pay is good, certainly better than most police forces, (obviously this may not continue) the retirement options are amongst the most attractive for normal people in the economy. Imagine someone in their 30's only needing another 15 years or so to have comfortable retirement options, whereas in another job it could easily be 35 years if ever.

If Gardai really hate the job or find it an incredible emotional and personal drain then they should be encouraged to leave - way before pension age, they clearly don't have what it takes, let the queues of people who want to do the job in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭I'm listening

At the end of the day whether someone is "born to be a guard" or an "impulse" to join. No1 has more right to join than the other. Doesn't mean if you are born to be a guard,it will make you a better guard than someone who decided to join only recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

This being born to be a Garda is complete nonsense - it sounds like the "calling" to become a priest.

Does it not sound a teensy bit corny? Is the writer Cecilia Ahearn? Are people supposed to be teary eyed?

There's incredible demand to become a Garda - just check out the boards around here where every nuance of the recruitment process is analysed. Is there any other single profession being targetted by so many people?

Well while some people may well be "born to be Gardai" the reasons so many want to join are probably the same as no one wanting to leave despite complaining about the pay conditions, lack of respect for my "authoritay" etc..

In reality the pay is good, certainly better than most police forces, (obviously this may not continue) the retirement options are amongst the most attractive for normal people in the economy. Imagine someone in their 30's only needing another 15 years or so to have comfortable retirement options, whereas in another job it could easily be 35 years if ever.

If Gardai really hate the job or find it an incredible emotional and personal drain then they should be encouraged to leave - way before pension age, they clearly don't have what it takes, let the queues of people who want to do the job in.

For me your post displays a lack of understanding of the job of a Garda as it would with the life of a Doctor, a Nurse, a Paramedic, a Firefighter. In the context of this thread the job of Garda cannot be compared to any other job such as an Accountant, a Banker, a General Operator, a Cleaner etc etc

There is no other job similar to that a Garda. No other job are you expected to pull down a remains hanging from a tree or view the remains of someone who has taken their life using a shotgun or receive phonecalls from your station or another station about a person or be required to work on due to a Section 4 arrest or to attend a traffic accident or expected to put your own life on the line to catch a burglar or car thief. There are many many more examples I could give you.

In essence being a Garda is not a job, its more of a way of life so I think calling it a "calling" or a "vocation" would be fairly near the mark.

Also a Garda can only retire after 30 years service, no more, no less.

TheNog wrote: »
    In essence being a Garda is not a job, its more of a way of life so I think calling it a "calling" or a "vocation" would be fairly near the mark.

How I like to believe that statement is true and probably is for a number of Gardai, but in reality for many, at the end of the day, they joined because it was a job and at that a good "job" to have.

Again if someone joins out of a "calling" or just to have a good job, doesn't mean that the person joining out of a calling will make the better guard or deserves it more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Again if someone joins out of a "calling" or just to have a good job, doesn't mean that the person joining out of a calling will make the better guard or deserves it more.

Agreed

badlyparkedmerc and i'm listening

can i ask what your motives are for joining up with the gardai, or if your serving members what was your original motives for joining up?

badlyparkedmerc and i'm listening

can i ask what your motives are for joining up with the gardai, or if your serving members what was your original motives for joining up?

I agree fully with your post you made but just not so keen on the statement that "someone is born to do it".

If that was the case, the age limit would be 18/19. The majority only realise they want to be guards in there late 20's, earlier 30's and for the unlucky ones, 35+. So they weren't necessaryly born with it, just came to that conclusion during life. For myself came to that conclusion during leaving cert. I wasn't born with a desire to join the guards just came with time.

The thing I had an issue with your post was only, that part, you don't have to be "born with it to be a guard". The rest i agreed with.

So don't know why you are questioning my reasons for joining, they were for the right reasons, the same as yours and the majority of others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Guys' were kinda getn sidetracked here on the real issue. We are
    supposed to be informing and tipping not questioning when we got
    the feeling to become a Guard. But isn't it a matter of personal opinion
    maybe some people do feel that they were born to be a Guard and
    some realise they want to be in time.I'm not saying I got this so called
    "calling" but ever since I was mature enough to understand the nature
    of the job that's when I felt I wanted it.

I do believe though that you have to have the basic reasons to become
    a Guard ie. genuinely interested in bettering your community and making
    it a safer place overall making a positive contribution towards society etc.

So anyway I heard there recruiting tomorrow.

Ruairi88 wrote: »

Wouldn't that be great :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Guys' were kinda getn sidetracked here on the real issue. We are
    supposed to be informing and tipping not questioning when we got
    the feeling to become a Guard. But isn't it a matter of personal opinion
    maybe some people do feel that they were born to be a Guard and
    some realise they want to be in time.I'm not saying I got this so called
    "calling" but ever since I was mature enough to understand the nature
    of the job that's when I felt I wanted it.

I do believe though that you have to have the basic reasons to become
    a Guard ie. genuinely interested in bettering your community and making
    it a safer place overall making a positive contribution towards society etc.

lol

Everybodys reason for joining is personal and thats what the interview is for, so you can get your reason across.

I offered an opinion, i was just curious as to yours. wasnt questioning your reasons or saying mine was more valid just curious.

Everybodys reason for joining is personal and thats what the interview is for, so you can get your reason across.

I offered an opinion, i was just curious as to yours. wasnt questioning your reasons or saying mine was more valid just curious.

K, Lets put it behind us now.

Besides I heard that they're recruiting tomorrow

tomorrow can't come quickly enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

if the garda are recruiting tomorrow ill eat my hat

for the life of me I cant see it happening

Headshot wrote: »
    if the garda are recruiting tomorrow ill eat my hat

for the life of me I cant see it happening

If they do, I'll even eat another hat you have.

Just a vicious rumour :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Sweetie-Pie

Hi, I have recently been seriously thinking hard and researching what career I want to do for the rest of my life. I can't believe I never thought of it before, but once I did and looked into it, I realised that joining the Garda Siochana is most definately for me. It interests me alot and is such a rewarding and exciting career... I could go on but won't :rolleyes:
    This is what I really want to do!!!

Anyway, the reason I came on here is because I have a query... I didn't get maths in my LC :o
    However I am now 25 and have since achieved a pass with distinctions in a FETAC accredited Level 5 course (Media Production and Photograhy) and am ready to complete my final year in a BA (hons) Degree in Communications and PR. Is this sufficient enough to go through?? :confused:

I am aware of the wait and the phases thanks, have read almost this entire thread :eek:
    I'm just anxious to know if I will be an eligible candidate to apply in the future :)

Many thanks in advance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭michealc_87

Hey sweetie pie

Sounds like you really know what you want, so when a recruitment drive does start again, go for it. Here is a link to tell you about the educational requirements for entry into AGS. Hope that helps.:P

http://www.garda.ie/FAQ/Default.aspx?FAQCategory=13#FAQ332

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

Feck ya anyway,,,,,,,,,,,,i'm going to spend the day now sitting, watching my email just in case,
    your an awful man Ruairi. :confused::confused:

Thanks MichaelC_87, Hopefully I will be okay to apply. I would say it might take a while to brush up on the aul Gaeilge aswell :confused:

My left eye is lazy also, I got an eye-test for my drivers licence and was told that my right eye is very strong and does the work for both my eyes, my sight is just quite blurred in my left. I don't need to wear glasses though. Think the optometrist said I'd have trouble if I ever wanted to join the Gardai or the Defence Forces though :(
    I will have to go get them tested again see if I have the required vision... I would be gutted if it counted me right out :( cos I can see perfectly without any trouble day to day.

Are you waiting for their next recruitment drive also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭number13

Thanks MichaelC_87, Hopefully I will be okay to apply. I would say it might take a while to brush up on the aul Gaeilge aswell :confused:

My left eye is lazy also, I got an eye-test for my drivers licence and was told that my right eye is very strong and does the work for both my eyes, my sight is just quite blurred in my left. I don't need to wear glasses though. Think the optometrist said I'd have trouble if I ever wanted to join the Gardai or the Defence Forces though :(
    I will have to go get them tested again see if I have the required vision... I would be gutted if it counted me right out :( cos I can see perfectly without any trouble day to day.

Are you waiting for their next recruitment drive also?

If you have trouble wiith your eyes you can get lazer threatment . as far as i know if you do a medical and you fail it just on your eyesight you gat the chance to get lazer and repeat the medical:D. thats the way bit used to be anyway as far i know

Thanks for that number13. I thought laser treatment wasn't allowed in the Garda just as it isn't in the Defence Forces so finding out that it's an option is a relief :D
    I would rather not have to get it done but if I have to I won't hesitate!

I just hope that they get the recruitment up and running again very soon... it's awful just having to wait and wait to hear anything :mad:
    2011 is a long way away.
    I would say I'll join the Reserves for the time being. The experience would be an advantage too.

Is there anyone else thinking of taking that route and joining the Reserves aswell??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 cathykelly

hey

There are loads of us taking that route and some are further along than others(me:(). I applied in June. Have my 1st interview in Oct..
    Best of luck..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DK47

Thanks for that number13. I thought laser treatment wasn't allowed in the Garda just as it isn't in the Defence Forces so finding out that it's an option is a relief :D
    I would rather not have to get it done but if I have to I won't hesitate!

I just hope that they get the recruitment up and running again very soon... it's awful just having to wait and wait to hear anything :mad:
    2011 is a long way away.
    I would say I'll join the Reserves for the time being. The experience would be an advantage too.

Is there anyone else thinking of taking that route and joining the Reserves aswell??
    hi sweetie, as for the eyesight, i wear glasses for reading driving ect and cant do without them, but i got it checked and my eye sight will pass, so get it checked out to make sure your sight is bad enough. as for the next recruitment drive, its best you just except it could be 2011 if were lucky, the reserves is a good idea, i'm at the background check stage myself, check out the reserve form, there is some good people on there. :)