Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bono is a Wanker

• 29-07-2009 11:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭

Man i've had enough of this prick preaching to us, when you start paying TAX here you prick, then you can have your say. Rant over.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

If you don't like him, just ignore him, ;)
    As for the Tax situation, he didn't make the rules and he can live anywhere he wants to for whatever reason if he can afford to.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

Meh, I don't like him but I'm sick of people giving out about him, he's such an easy target

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,805 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Man i've had enough of this prick preaching to us, when you start paying TAX here you prick, then you can have your say. Rant over.

He does pay tax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

when you start paying TAX here you prick, then you can have your say. Rant over.

What's his username?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Its old news that hes a wanker

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

If I could live in another country to avoid paying taxes, I would. I don't see why he should live in Ireland just because he's Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,532 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Here's my €0.02. In any circumstances in life, we strive to be careful with our money. But when Bono spends so much time asking governments to give more to developing nations, despite the fact governments main source of income is tax, i guess you could indeed call him a wanker:rolleyes:

In before the lock btw(:D), already enough bitching about this in that other U2 thread

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭pokerface_me

eddiehead wrote: »
    Meh, I don't like him but I'm sick of people giving out about him, he's such an easy target

Was just reading an article with him talking about our economy, and how he'd do it, makes me sick to think that him and his buddies contribute nothing of their earnings to our economy. Yet he wants to save the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL
    FAIL

God it's like the DaVinci code...what does it mean...

Dudess wrote: »
    If I could live in another country to avoid paying taxes, I would. I don't see why he should live in Ireland just because he's Irish.

Exactly my thoughts, if he has no interest in contributing here, why should he be let live here TAXFREE.

Was just reading an article with him talking about our economy, and how he'd do it, makes me sick to think that him and his buddies contribute nothing of their earnings to our economy. Yet he wants to save the world.

Our economy got a major shot in the arm after last weekends concerts, the spending power of 240,000 people contributed a lot of money to the state coffers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭ODS

An article on some of his lesser-known interests that was in Phoenix about two years ago:

From PHOENIX MAGAZINE, 2007:

SIR BONO'S PROFIT FROM WARGAMES

WHEN NOT saving the world or relocating companies off-shore, Bono KBE (Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire) has been busy recently in making interesting investments – with one such gambit being into a software firm which specialises in "extremely realistic videos to be used as training games for the US military".

The recently elevated knight has become part owner in Elevation Partners – a massive US-based investments company set up in 2005 where, along with five other non-U2 partners, Sir Bono has a one sixth partnership. But, regrettably the activities of this and related companies don't always seem to match the world-saving rhetoric of Hewson's finer words.

Only last August Elevation bought a substantial stake into Forbes Media, publisher of Forbes Magazine, which is responsible for printing various "Top 100" type lists – the best known being that of billionaires. Editor-in-chief Malcolm 'Steve' Forbes is, of course, well- known for his "traditional" US Republican agenda. Featuring on a variety of platforms such as his own TV show, "Forbes on Fox", Steve is known for being against gun control, pro death penalty, opposing pollution control, and a world perspective that promotes, as he succinctly puts it himself, a "US not UN Foreign Policy".

Happily the part acquisition of Forbes ran smoothly, with Elevation partner, Roger McNamee, telling the NYT that Bono "was attracted to the magazine because it has a 'point of view,' adding that Bono 'drove this part of the discussion and likes the fact that there has been a consistent philosophy throughout its history'".

However the really cool move by Elevation is over on the US west coast, where it invested a reported $300 million in 2005 on a company called Pandemic/Bioware Studios. As reported in the Boston Globe, Pandemic is currently preparing to launch a product called 'Mercenaries 2: World in Flames, "a violent video game in which players become hired mercenaries who invade Venezuela, where a tyrant has tampered with the country's oil supply" – in other words the opportunity to re-run the CIA's failed 2001 coup attempt in cyberspace, except this time there can be victory.

Not surprisingly, this has not impressed a number of parties including the Venezuela Solidarity Network and the Boston Bolivarian Network, who last July first wrote to Bono to protest.

Helpfully Venezuela Network issued a release stating "Pandemic is a sub-contractor for the US army and the CIA funded Institute for Creative technologies which uses Hollywood techniques to mount war in California's high dessert in order to conduct military training. Pandemic's target market is young men of military recruitment age and indeed this is not Pandemic's first military adventure. Micro Soft NBC reported that the videogame Full Spectrum Warrior was created through the Institute for Creative Technologies in Marina Del Rey, California, a $45 million endeavor formed by the Army five years ago to connect academics with local entertainment and video game industries. The institute subcontracted work to Los Angeles based Pandemic Studios."

Despite the fuss, 10 months on, with the product due out this autumn, there's still no word from the new KBE about the ethical criticisms of his investments. This hasn't stopped a head of steam building up in the meanwhile. One petitioning letter by US clerics Reverend David A Bos, Rabbi Michael Lerner, and Pax Christi USA Ambassador for Peace, Fr. Joe Nangle OFM, has secured further signatures from the US Fellowship for Reconciliation and other religious organizations.

Apparently he's since sold on the shares - at a profit :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

galwayrush wrote: »
    Our economy got a major shot in the arm after last weekends concerts, the spending power of 240,000 people contributed a lot of money to the state coffers.
    +1 ATM Bono has brought himself up abit in my books.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭Shellie13

Ah sure look at how much we all give out about taxes...
    If we were all that wealthy wouldn't we all do what he's doing?!

His "ranting" may come across as annoying at times yet if Celebs don't use their fame to highlight issues they may simply be forgotten... how often are the "small" "boring" "everyday" injustices around the world highlighted. They are old news and unsexy to the media - so unless the message is conveyed in the form of a rant from a Celebrity there is a danger it may totally be lost...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Maybe he should f*ck off as far away as he possibly can

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

He shouldn't preach to the Irish about giving money from the coffers when he himself deliberately moved his earnings abroad to avoid taxes in which a proportion give money for his cause.

Thats the crux of the issue with U2.

Don't give me that tripe, he also earned megabucks TAXFREE from these concerts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Wow, how unselfish of U2 :rolleyes:

Shellie13 wrote: »
    Ah sure look at how much we all give out about taxes...
    If we were all that wealthy wouldn't we all do what he's doing?!

His "ranting" may come across as annoying at times yet if Celebs don't use their fame to highlight issues they may simply be forgotten... how often are the "small" "boring" "everyday" injustices around the world highlighted. They are old news and unsexy to the media - so unless the message is conveyed in the form of a rant from a Celebrity there is a danger it may totally be lost...

I would intentionally ignore it because Bono highlighted it.

gurramok wrote: »
    He shouldn't preach to the Irish about giving money from the coffers when he himself deliberately moved his earnings abroad to avoid taxes in which a proportion give money for his cause.

Thats the crux of the issue with U2.

Hypocrisy is the word you're looking for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

orourkeda wrote: »
    I would intentionally ignore it because Bono highlighted it.

Are you 12?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,532 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Somehow, i doubt one of the reasons behind the concerts was the economic benefit to our country:rolleyes:

He's out there looking for funds for Africa and the likes and although it is tragic what happens out in these continents, Charity starts at HOME mr u2. Take a look around this Country we have people living below the poverty line and probably starving, nobody his helping them. And mr U ****in 2 wants us to send our money to Africa, get a grip man and start giving your own people a dig out.

If you don't like him, just ignore him, ;)
    As for the Tax situation, he didn't make the rules and he can live anywhere he wants to for whatever reason if he can afford to.:cool:

I agree, but he can f*ck off with his "I'm Irish and proud" shpiel, while doing so. He can f*ck off in his tax exile and take his nose out of the hellish goings-on in his former country. He can f*ck off with his croke park gigs, and his preachy bullsh!t stage-speeches.

He's an easy target cos he makes himself one - he's a hypocritical, two-faced, media whore.

Zonda999 wrote: »
    Somehow, i doubt one of the reasons behind the concerts was the economic benefit to our country:rolleyes:

I am not a U2 fan, Bono can be a pain at times, but so what if the band made a fortune, no one was forced to go to their concerts and buy their albums and make them rich. Obviously it wasn't the reason why the concerts were held, but the weekend did put a lot of money back into the state.

Who put him where he is today?????? The people of Ireland my good man, talk about forgetting your roots.

You're missing the point - Bono went out of his way to take his money out of the state. That he made millions last weekend, and happened to help things along in doing so, is purely circumstantial.

I'm serious though, he can do what he likes, but shut the f*ck up when it comes to talking about this country's affairs - he has suspended his right to do so, with so many struggling.

Who put him where he is today?????? The people of Ireland my good man, talk about forgetting your roots.

I think breaking into the American market made U2 most of their money.;)
    145 million est album sales worldwide, :cool:

I think breaking into the American market made U2 most of their money.;)
    145 million est album sales worldwide, :cool:

You're right. Now they can keep him.