Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

BlueBelle I and I'm sure most pople here on boards are getting on
    with their lives'. I am Going back to college and I am currently
    employed by a major pharmaceutical company.And this thing of
    preferring not to be in the system as opposed to actually being
    in the system is nonsense!.I would be counting my lucky stars
    if I was at least in the system.Why? well because I would have an
    extremely tough interview out of the way.I think I speak for most
    here We would all Love to be at least in the system.I for sure would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

ya i agree with ruarui we are all geting on with our lives im in college but its that we would rather be in the system atleast then we would have a step in the right directon. . i would rather be in limbo at least then i have a better chance of getting in to AGS. but the next time recuritment opens there will b thousands goin with the recession so dont think its all bad being in limbo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭I'm listening

I agree with her.

I'm just finished college and can't plan anything.. Cos we have no idea when the call will come. We don't have a clue whats happening!
    I'm not to bad cos I have everything done, but for the people waiting on meds and pcts can't even book holidays and stuff cos the call for those could be tomorrow!

Yes it's great being in the system but if you are not do other things. No point waiting hopelessly for another recruitment cos ye'll be waiting long enough when you are in the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

I_am_Jebus wrote: »
    We are in a recession at the moment and the current Government have implemented the moratorium.

It's more to do with Government policy really and the availability of funds. Would Fine Gael or Labour consider policing to be a priority portfolio?

Oh I know what they've done, I just think it was the wrong thing to do.

ya it was the complete wrong thing to do because the force will suffer now as a result of the mortituram and the goverment cant seem to see it :(

...that, and, numbers show that crime rises dramatically during a recession.

and yesterday our brillant goverment won a vote of confidence by 6 votes great thinking:D keep them in power so crime will rise more for another few years:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 bigass

da__flash wrote: »
    ya it was the complete wrong thing to do because the force will suffer now as a result of the mortituram and the goverment cant seem to see it :(

They will see it when it's to late, and the rest of us work our ass off for less the money.
    Considering there taxing everything that walks, next they will be looking for my boots. Boot Tax haha

yes they sure will see it when its too late and spend even more money trying to get numbers back up. . . o ya boot tax sure they ll prob start taxing the use of the ASP and torch next :pac::D:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Incidentally if and when they do start another recruitment drive, I wonder would it be more sensible to not apply the first time round and wait for the second. The competition will definitely be fierce so there will be a huge failure rate I would think, and those that fail first time round prob wont be able to apply again in the following competition. So you could effectively cut out the competition of those that are really serious right now about getting in. Just thinking out loud here...

Are you saying that if you don't pass the first competition, you can not enter the second?
    Something about that doesn't sound right.

no whats been said is that if you apply and dont get thru you have to wait 6 months before you can apply again so in theory if there s 2 campingens within 6 months of each other you would be better off going for the second one but that wouldnt b my opinon if recuritment opens grab it because who knows when the next one will be??:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭spudz21

Blue Belle wrote: »
    Incidentally if and when they do start another recruitment drive, I wonder would it be more sensible to not apply the first time round and wait for the second. The competition will definitely be fierce so there will be a huge failure rate I would think, and those that fail first time round prob wont be able to apply again in the following competition. So you could effectively cut out the competition of those that are really serious right now about getting in. Just thinking out loud here...

Definitely get the logic behind what you are saying!Was even thinking about it myself!:D
    If there is a first round of recruitment, there will be a huge amount of people applying so each stage will be even more tough to pass?!A second round after it, there would be (maybe only slightly) reduced amount of competition!
    Having said that though, I would never take the chance!!:p

Yep I reckon the influx of people rushing to apply will cause serious system failure. I think the whole point of the 6 month wait period was so you missed a competition before you could apply again if you failed a stage, they might lengthen the restriction period if the drives are 6 months apart.. Anyway, its just me thinkin out loud, I understand the temptation would prob be too much to not apply :) It could mean that people applying after you guys have an easier time of it though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 The Skipper

The accelerated recruitment of a having a competition every six months is out the window most definitely. It's back to the old fashioned way again surely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭michealc_87

The accelerated recruitment of a having a competition every six months is out the window most definitely. It's back to the old fashioned way again surely.

Im with The Skipper on this one. With all the numbers still waiting on med and PCT and those with everything done, I dont think there would be any need for another accelerated drive. If there is going to be another competition I couldnt see there being anymore than the one. Thats just my opinion though I could be way off the mark too.:P:P

Did the old fashioned way allow you to apply in subsequent drives if you failed a stage in the previous one? Was it a six month rule back then too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Blue Belle wrote: »
    Yep I reckon the influx of people rushing to apply will cause serious system failure. I think the whole point of the 6 month wait period was so you missed a competition before you could apply again if you failed a stage, they might lengthen the restriction period if the drives are 6 months apart.. Anyway, its just me thinkin out loud, I understand the temptation would prob be too much to not apply :) It could mean that people applying after you guys have an easier time of it though...

Blue Belle, I have to say I've been thinking about that also. I've been waiting a long time and I've noticed that the interest in AGS has just exploded since the recession started, people looking for secure jobs etc etc.. Competition is much fiercer now.

But, as you also say, temptation will be too much. I believe that if I am good enough to be a Garda then I'll get through the drive regardless. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Jasus Guys sell yourself short anyways!....Think most of Us here (Boards)
    are Begging,Dying and praying to the Gods of the earth,sun moon and
    stars for another recruitment campaign!.And Bluebell I think your mad
    your talking about applying for a 2nd campaign if t comes about!.I'll be
    counting My blessings' with the first one.If we are good enough which I
    believe every single one of Us here is good enough to be a Cop on Boards
    well then We should pump everything we got in getting through the next
    campaign whenever it arises!.

I for sure will.

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    Jasus Guys sell yourself short anyways!....Think most of Us here (Boards)
    are Begging,Dying and praying to the Gods of the earth,sun moon and
    stars for another recruitment campaign!.And Bluebell I think your mad
    your talking about applying for a 2nd campaign if t comes about!.I'll be
    counting My blessings' with the first one.If we are good enough which I
    believe every single one of Us here is good enough to be a Cop on Boards
    well then We should pump everything we got in getting through the next
    campaign whenever it arises!.

I for sure will.

i couldnt have put it better myself:D i think we are all praying, begging, dying and wishing for another recuirment drive. . . i m sure the system will weed out anyone who is just joining for the money and the pension plan. i for one will throw everything i have at the next campign becasue who knows when our next chance will be. and i believe everyone here on boards is a dam site good enough to be in AGS becuase we are putting the effort in here every day on this talking about it so let the praying continue:pac::D

I know you think Im mad, and if I was in your shoes I would probably grab the next drive with both hands too, but as an outsider looking in I would say the next drive is going to be a very difficult one to get through, so alot of people that should get through might not.. At least you are all doing the research by being on here and getting familiar with the process so you will be more prepared than others which will def be an advantage.. As I said it was just a thought! ;)

o yes we know its just a thought sure there just all our opionons up there ;) but yes i do believe that most people on here will have a clear advantage thru the research and joining the reserves i feel gives us a greater boost in the right directon all we can do is pull up a comfortable chair n hold it because thats what i ll be doing:D . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rugby

Glad too see and hear that so many of you guys are in the same boat as me :D pull up a chair is right...i for one am delighted that i have got this far and hopefully, we'll all pass the next two stages or what ever stage everyone is at... every one is entitled too their opinion on the recruitment drive..:D and at the end of the day what ever is good for your self will be the right choice regardless ,whether or not people will keep going with this drive...hopefully sooner rather than later we will hear something, thats what i believe in and ive no doubt some people will think different... keep posting guys :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Mainistir

Anyone been on to appointments recently? Any rumblings about an August intake or November or even January......is there anyone out there from the May 08 drove who has yet to do a medical and pct because thats me, im hearing of people from that drive with everything done....anyone wnat shed some light??

Mainistir wrote: »
    Anyone been on to appointments recently? Any rumblings about an August intake or November or even January......is there anyone out there from the May 08 drove who has yet to do a medical and pct because thats me, im hearing of people from that drive with everything done....anyone wnat shed some light??

Im in the Same boat as your self :D

ah sure grand jump aboard so caue id say we are in for a long haul....have they just stopped altogether calling folks for medicals or what....im batch 2...even if we got that done it might be something!!

I dont think so , i was chatting too one girl on boards and she only just did her medical lately so i dont know too be honest...im batch 2 as well... jump on board :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,267 ✭✭✭jos28

My son is the same as yourself, May 08- batch 2. He has heard nothing since he passed the interview last October. You are not alone :)

jos28 wrote: »
    My son is the same as yourself, May 08- batch 2. He has heard nothing since he passed the interview last October. You are not alone :)

Thanks for that i reckon there are loads of us in the same boat so :D

Ya this boat must be fairly crammed at this stage!