Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst housemates ever?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,416 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Spore wrote: »
    Lived with a 'fashion designer' once before... Laziest, messiest freak I've even had the misfortune to share company with. She was recently graduated from some Tossy posh designer school her folks had to shell out for and seemed to think the world owed her some fabulous career cause she made a wedding dress in college (WTF? That's all you did in college in four years?!!)

Met her on daft, said she was a non-smoking professional and I thought "great" as am I'm also non-smoking professional. Lets rent together. Within two weeks she'd canned her job and was chain-smoking and reducing the place to a pig sty. Wore the worst clothes ever, incidentally, never washed them, became a kind of second skin - a greasy threadbare food-stained skin.

Needless to say we stopped 'getting on' when she just turned into a fat lump that smoked all day. She couldn't take the least bit of criticism or gentle reminders to clean and would leave the nastiest notes for me to find in the fridge e.g. "Dear Cúnt face..." Towards the end of our tenure (we stopped speaking for four months before) I came back during lunch (worked around the corner from the place) to find a seventeen page letter addressed to me! What a fúcking freak! Couldn't talk to me like? I never read her shítty letter and took pleasure in telling her this.

I could go on about her hygene etc. but it would sicken me to recall the details... my mate shagged her though :eek:

Dear **** face..lol...

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭figs86

Spore wrote: »
    I came back during lunch (worked around the corner from the place) to find a seventeen page letter addressed to me!

front and back?
    that you never managed to finish?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

figs86 wrote: »
    front and back?

They were on a BREAK! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Spore

figs86 wrote: »
    front and back?

No Rachel, I fell asleep. It was SEVENTEEN pages!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭dancingqueen

Where do I start :confused:

1. Lived with a girl when I first arrived in the smoke who was addicted to buying two packs of deodorant - If it was 2 for €4 etc. In her room (no joke) the floor was covered, the shelves were covered, everywhere was covered with 2 packs of deodorant and shower gel. It was freaky. She wore the exact same underwear - had like 14 pairs and 14 bras all the same and she'd wash 7 at the end of a week, all safety pinned together and dry them pinned together on the radiators - freaky.

2. Lived with a guy who owned the house. He had a safe in which we "posted" our envelope (constant supply by said safe) every Friday with our weekly amount. He only had girls renting the 3 rooms in the house. Wouldn't allow males. He locked the sitting room every day and the girls weren't allowed into it. He had an obsession with bleach and bought 3 or 4 huge bottles every week. He didn't clean?? :mad: Could often hear him and his girlfriend going at it in the small hours, caused many sleepless nights as he took up the entire attic above all our rooms. I bought a sweeping brush especially for banging on the ceiling with.

3. Lived with a very strange girl - she was a bit of a compulsive eater and thought that if she hid her eating from me, it would be like she wasn't eating at all. Example - she'd come in from work, turn on CARTOONS and sit on the couch scoffing biscuits and I mean Cookie Monster style. I'd walk into the room and cue her stuffing packet of biscuits under a cushion. I'd be like "got a few crumbs on your top there" :D There was crash diet after crash diet and taking diet pills. All sorts with this one.

Glad I'm not sharing with weirdos anymore! :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

We lived with a bunch of stoner girls a few years back. One of them was a real princess. Used to leave notes around the bathroom rather than actually asking us anything face to face.

One day we were having dinner, lasagna or Shepard's pie or something. She came in picked up the dish we baked our dinner in and goes, "Ah couldn't ye have washed this?"

I was gobsmacked

First, we always did the wash up, she never did.
    Second of all we were just finishing our dinner.
    and it was our bloody dish!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭DenMan

Wow some really good horror tales here I have to say.

When I rented in Dublin my landord was a complete di*k. Every morning he would ask us all to fill out a form telling him what we would be doing for the evening once we got back and settled in for the night. He was extemely attentative as to what the housemates were doing. He wanted to know if:

1) We were going to be bringing back any friends and he frowned upon girls if I had any over (which for some reason seriously pi$$ed him off).

2) What we intended cooking for dinner. He never wanted any chicken meals cooked in the oven if other meats were cooked in the oven very recently.

3) If we broke any rules he would lock the kitchen and told us to go to the takeaway. Miserable git.

When I lived in the UK I had a flatmate who always raided everybody's fridge items late at night. He used to have almighty feeds at 3-4am and feast on everybody's elses food. It was so bad that eventually it came to head when another one of my flatmates threw his bed outside the flat. He was a complete skiver who at any opportunity would rob you blind. The other thing and most importantly is that he would sneak into our rooms whenever we were away. For some reason I was the only person's room he wouldn't raid. Not sure why, maybe because I didn't like him and we had nothing in common. Everybody else was not so lucky. During trips to the shower he would sneak in and take cd's, de-odourant's etc. He would take my food though!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭thermo66

LolaDub wrote: »
    I have so so many its hard to pick a worst. One guy worked around the corner from an apartment with three of us in it and got home first in the evenings. He'd change into his nightclothes get the duvet and be on the couch watching tv by 4.30. He stayed there all night every night, would never let anyone else near the remote, even took it into the toilet with him. He'd only leave to go to the toilet when we weren't in the living room and would highlight all the shows he wanted to watch in the paper to 'book' them.

Why didn't you tell him it was your turn to watch something??
    Or change the station over when he was at the toilet !!!
    He probably did it cos he got away with it.

I thought i had some annoying housemates but i think i've been pretty lucky from reading these!!

One guy constantly banged doors really hard late at night and early in the morning. Don't think it was on purpose as he was sound enough but it was so annoying. Another girl had her boyfriend practically living in our place so often times there'd only be them and myself at weekends where i didn't go home so that was fun looking at them all over eachother :eek::eek: If they weren't that way they were fighting. I don't know which was more headwrecking. He also paid zilch toward bills. Got pissed off with it after a while so told her he was there too much why couldn't she stay in his place. So she started going over once a week on a Friday which was brilliant. She wasn't impressed though. Tried to make me feel guilty about it as he lived with his dad and the shower etc wasn't the cleanest and it basically put her out a bit. Like i cared!!

Why are people so selfish and weird? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Oh my god, this thread is so scary, there are so many weirdos out there! So thankful im moving in with my two friends shortly, if i could ever get anyone to take my frikkin room off me!

In College lived with a complete stoner, never went to college and hid copies of nuts behind the fridge?! WTF! Came home one night and decided to play loud rubbish dance music at 4am so i went to the breaker box outside my bedroom door and cut him off from the source.

Eventually enough was enough and em and the other girl had him tossed out, decided NOT to bring the drug thing into it trying to be nice and keep it about the basics, messy,loud,keeping a non - rent paying friend in his room.

So every time he saw me in college after he got tossed out he would shout obscenities at me for everyone to hear.

Then he THREATENED me one night in a nightclub with all my friends watching, said something about getting him kicked out of HIS penthouse apartment. I felt like saying ehhh its not YOURS dude, i was the first one renting that apartment, go FCUK yourself...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Dear diary......jackpot:D
    Giggidy...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

The last house I rented was bloody awful. I lived with four other people in total but two of them were going out with eachother. It was terrible. They were by far, the most disgusting human beings I have EVER come across in my life. They'd leave the house in a state that actually makes me gag thinking about it.

I remember I was away for a week and when I came back our kitchen was swarming with flies. There was not one clean plate in the house, the fridge was disgusting, the bins were overflowing onto the floor.

The bathroom was a nightmare altogether. The girl in particular was a fooking dog. She left used tampons on the floor, never ever ever flushed the toilet, left her razors scattered in the bath and on the floor. Just disgusting.

Anyway myself and the other two housemates had enough and after constant arguments and 'house meetings' trying to be civil to them became impossible. It turned into a huge bust up. The landlady was called, (who was also a wagon, may I add) and we all said what was what. These two filthmongers caused loads of damage to the house too, cigarette burns on the furniture, smashed pictures, wine spilled all over the carpet etc..

In the end we managed to get them to leave. They were moving out and the three of us were delighted, then the landlady came over and said she wanted us all gone by the end of the following week. Ugh.. :(

Lesson learned: Don't live with filthy muckbirds and always sign a contract!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 FebruaryFuhrer

hellodolly wrote: »
    His body was totally ripped, i mean tanned six pack...

Pics or GTFO. Please :D
    hellodolly wrote: »
    the mental abuse of listening to 'dumb & dumber's' younger brother, 'Dumbest' was agony in the end! :D

Aw tease! Examples or GTFO.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,388 ✭✭✭✭road_high

phasers wrote: »
    I live with my brothers, who walk around in their underwear (normally standing to attention too), eat all the food, borrow my hair straightener and leave nudie mags in the bathroom. (I enjoy the articles, but it gives me ma a bit of a shock)

Anybody else find that a bit weird to say the least ? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 863 ✭✭✭cbreeze

I could go on about her hygene etc. but it would sicken me to recall the details... my mate shagged her though :eek:[/QUOTE]

No taste, mate

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

mfitzy wrote: »
    Anybody else find that a bit weird to say the least ? :D
    No.I find the borrowing of hair straghteners odder :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭taram

When I was studying in Germany lived with a guy who used to put pamplets about jesus under my door when he found out I didn't believe. We had a wash room for the corridor, so had shower cubicles, he used to come into the shower room and read the bible to me. Used to end up showering at like 4am after being clubbing and he'd be there! He'd also write biblical phrases on my food. He also used to watch that weird german car stripping woman thing (not sure of the name) in the kitchen EVERY evening, while the rest of us were cooking, very uncomfy! We also had a girl from the corridor across from us who used to walk across the windowsills (5 floors up!!) to get in our kitchen to load her bags and leave again, no one knew how our food was missing til we looked out one day to see her there Spiderman style. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

I <3 these threads

Never personally had any horrible housemate, but I did live in an apartment where you could hear the tenant upstairs beating his girlfriend senseless every so often

Was liviign with 3 people at the start of the college year. Two of them are the cheapest people I have ever met. One night for dinner the two of them shared 8 slices of Tesco value chees slices. For breakfast every day they would have half a tin Tesco or Lidl suasage in beans followed by half a tin of Tesco value sweetcorn. Their dinner would be the remainder of the two tins.

The cheapest of the two would always invite himself out drinking with me and my friends and would always want to do rounds ordering the most expensive drink he could get away with. When his round came he would always disappear to the bathroom before returning a short time later when he knew a new round was going and would ask for the same again. First time this happened I warned him and second time I flat out told him to go Fcuk himself. Worst thing was that at the time he was on a full grant, got some top up grant thing and a St Vincent De. Paul grant also.

He would go into my room when I was in college and take DVDs, my Xbox, cds and anything else he fancied. I had to start locking my door and even then I would come home to find the door handle screwed off as he had tried to get in. There were numerous other things he would do that we either downright cheap or creepy.

When he moved out a complet enut job moved in but that's a story for another time.

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭Chaosangel

I lived with a heroin junkie last year... beat that. :)

I lived with a heroin junkie aswell who used to always have mates up in his room doin gear for hours,and also another lad in the gaf was one of the towns biggest pushers,sold everything like,handy for smoke but anyway he's in jail now and there was this bird,a mate from skool who was seriously messed in the head,she talked to herself all the time,put makeup on before going to sleep every nite,you couldnt really hold a full conversation with her,her reply to everything was 'what,oh my god,what,who what oh my god' all different variations on that but to be honest it was hilarious!! one nite some of the neighbours were in sessioning with a load of us,every nite there would be a session but anyway one of the lads had a load of yokes upstairs and was convinced one of the neighbours robbed them and decked him in the hall and left him there till he woke up,this guy was mental,just as well he's locked up really.
    here's a good story actually,one nite there was a few lads up in the gaf and they were dyin to get some gear so they got a lift out to a nearby dealer but needed a phone to call whilst out there and after alot of persuasion I gave mine to them,was new on top of it all but anyway they went out to get this gear and after getting it the cops had caught onto em and followed em,and one of the lads dropped my phone out the window and fair play to him he jumped out of a moving car at about 60miles after me phone,they all got arrested that nite and spent the nite in the cells and one of the lads had to swallow the gear and the next morning when he was back up in the gaf he had to **** it out and used it then. that was just a normal tuesday or wedesnday nite though,ive hundreds of storys like that. alot of them though are really bad so ill stop here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

This was not my flatmates but an exs flatmate.

He shared a house with his brother and a friend of theirs, his brother was lovely but his girlfriend was a complete cow.

My bf and i would be sitting on the couch watching tv hugging(not kissing or nothing id just have my head on his shoulder) and she,d be sitting across from us rolling her eyes muttering "Jesus get a room" . One night she was muttering away again so i said " Seen as you dont mind us hugging we might as well get more comfortable here" so i went over and started pretending to pick a porno out of the boys stash:) She went mad and stormed out, and she didnt dare do it again.

Also she was VERY loud during sex. Her room was across the hall from my bfs and at 5am she would wake us up. It wasnt just moaning it was her yelling "Oh yea im a bad girl and you love it" I was like "Ew":(

Was watching Top Gear in my bfs room with him one night and his brother and 2 of his mates came in to watch it aswell, she accused me an hour later of trying to have a gang bang with them all.

What a spa!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭who007

Was liviign with 3 people at the start of the college year. Two of them are the cheapest people I have ever met. One night for dinner the two of them shared 8 slices of Tesco value chees slices. For breakfast every day they would have half a tin Tesco or Lidl suasage in beans followed by half a tin of Tesco value sweetcorn. Their dinner would be the remainder of the two tins.

The cheapest of the two would always invite himself out drinking with me and my friends and would always want to do rounds ordering the most expensive drink he could get away with. When his round came he would always disappear to the bathroom before returning a short time later when he knew a new round was going and would ask for the same again. First time this happened I warned him and second time I flat out told him to go Fcuk himself. Worst thing was that at the time he was on a full grant, got some top up grant thing and a St Vincent De. Paul grant also.

He would go into my room when I was in college and take DVDs, my Xbox, cds and anything else he fancied. I had to start locking my door and even then I would come home to find the door handle screwed off as he had tried to get in. There were numerous other things he would do that we either downright cheap or creepy.

When he moved out a complet enut job moved in but that's a story for another time.

ehhmmmm... only after he moved out?!

I have a fair few - the english bird who accused me of stealing her key from teh front door while she was moving in. She hammered on my door and kept shouting at me which woke me up since I was on nightshift at the time.

The Welsh ole geezer who, when I walked into the sitting room the first day there with a turkey sandwich on a plate said - "That's my plate that is". (I was to know whose plate was who's in the cupboard - as if it was important anyway!!)

They young guy who couldn't understand the concept of flushing the toilet after taking a crap.

The nurse from Kerry who couldn't ever get my name right, took her foot completely off the accelerator when she got to the speed limit and jerked the car when she put it back every time the speed dropped.

The german couple who annoyed everyone in the house - they owed me for phone bills and the day they were leaving they left the money they owed - £15 in a bag of 1p and 2p coins! She couldn't watch the Simpsons on TV cos it was too violent. They always went on about how ugly the Irish were. She put up horrendous paintings she had done on every surface of every wall in the house. She would ring the front doorbell at 12 midnight and fall around laughing. One of us would get up and ask what was going on - she thought it would be funny to get her bf out of bed. he didn't give a toss and would stay in bed, leaving everyone else pissed off that she had woken them.

There are so many tbh I just can't remember them all. I think sharing with people brings out the worst in them and am glad not to be doing it any more or ever again!

Mind you I have been a bit of a handful myself at times but I won't go into that - I'll just let someone else tell those stories...

so i went over and started pretending to pick a porno out of the boys stash:)

It wasnt just moaning it was her yelling "Oh yea im a bad girl and you love it" I was like "Ew":(

Those two sentences don't seem to fit in the same post! lol

who007 wrote: »
    Those two sentences don't seem to fit in the same post! lol

what ya mean?

ah ya know - just that "I'm a bad girl and you love it" would be kinda tame in a porno, so a bit ironic to say "ew".. that's all.

who007 wrote: »
    ah ya know - just that "I'm a bad girl and you love it" would be kinda tame in a porno, so a bit ironic to say "ew".. that's all.

I was saying Ew because you dont want to hear that coming from someone you know

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭AlkalineAcid

Is reading else reading this and hoping they don't find a post from one of their roommates?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I've recognised myself from 5 seperate posts on this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭AlkalineAcid

I've recognised myself from 5 seperate posts on this thread.
    All of the junky posts?

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭tannytantans

I lived with a born again christian from africa, he used to corner us and ask us how much we loved jesus, he'd email and text us passages from the Bible. I got Angel cards for my birthday and a few days later he called a house meeting. he's found them (even though they were in my room) and began pointing at me and saying i was carrying out the work of the devil. He wanted my parents number so he could call them and tell them I was a witch.........

My roommate used to keep chocolate and crisps in our room. I'd often wake up at 3 or 4am to the sound of her chomping on them in the dark!Also our first night in the house she went sleepwalking and I woke up to find her standing over me with a knife from the kitchen!!!

A guy who was in my course moved in with us. Turned out he was super competitive and would hide his books, assignments in case i saw them. If i asked a simple question like when an assignment was due in he'd just say 'you should have listened in class'. He'd 'tell' our housemates on me if I got a question wrong in class. He'd hack into my college account to check my results as soon as they came out. And when I got higher than him in our Summer exams he refused to leave the house and moaned to anyone who listened that I must have cheated :rolleyes: